Irma Blank

1934 | Celle, Germany
Informations
Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, © Photo: Maria Mulas

Sponsor
— P420 Art Gallery

German-Italian artist.

Originally from northern Germany, Irma Blank moved to Sicily in 1955. This uprooting was fundamental for this great reader who is passionate for writing. She realised that “the correct word does not exist”, as even in her own language words couldn’t fully express the accuracy of a thought. In 1968 she began the series Eigenschriften (Writing for the self). In her pastel-coloured drawings on paper, she repeated signs, a meaningless written language, that she explored until 1973. That year marks the date of her settling in Milan which led to a radical change in her work and life. She came into contact with the very active scene of concrete poetry and began to exhibit in art spaces and bookshops. The cycle Trascrizioni, born in 1973 (and continued until 1979), are transcriptions of black ink on transparent paper of the printed material that the artist had on hand: newspapers, philosophical treatises, poetry, and so on. She would place her paper on the original whose layout she reproduced with repeated and regular hatching, while reading it with her mouth closed, emitting a monotonous sound. As a high school art teacher, she devoted herself to her own work in the silence of the night and thus became aware of the sound produced by the drawings being made. She decided to record herself at work, systematically for all her series. From then on she saw her practice as a total sensory cycle, which in addition to sight and hearing, includes touch – with the one-off books (with drawings to be manipulated) she has been making since the 1960s – as well as bodily presence – with actions and readings performed since 1979. She took part in Documenta 6 in Kassel in 1977 and in the Venice Biennale in 1978.

I. Blank then began the series Radical Writings (1983-1996) that took on the form of a linear writing based on the duration of her breath. In oil, acrylic or watercolour on canvas or paper, these works bear witness to a path towards colour. The first were made in pink and purple, colours of experimentation. The artist then exclusively explored blue, which represents infinity, writing and determination. Between 1984 and 1993, she spent part of the year in Düsseldorf, where she had a studio. Aware that society was entering an era of communication, after her definitive return to Milan she experimented with tdigital tools in the Hyper-Text series (1998-2002) where superimposed words, extracted in three languages from her writings were silk-screened on canvas. At the same time, and in contrast to the coldness of the computer, she worked on the Avant-testo series (1998-2006), for which she drew on canvas or polyester holding Bic pens in each of her hands in an unprecedented circular movement, a pure explosion of energy.

I. Blank began the protean Global Writings series in 2000 with works executed both by hand and computer. She invented an eponymous alphabet, composed of eight consonants with which she writes texts and books creating an unintelligible but universal language, pronounceable by anyone.

A victim of a serious health problem in 2016, I. Blank now re-appropriates her body and adopts a new way of working with her left hand. The series Gehen-Second Life (since 2017) led her to her second life as a woman and artist with lines drawn on sheets or in notebooks, revealing her ability to face physical adversity in order to move forward.

Highly regarded in Italy, I. Blank has finally received growing international attention in recent years. Her work was shown at the Venice Biennale exhibition Viva Arte Viva in 2017. From 2019 to 2022 the retrospective Blank dedicated to her work will unfold across seven different exhibitions. Her works are present in the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, the Kunstmuseum in Düsseldorf, the Museion in Bolzano, the Getty Center for the History of Arts and the Humanities in Malibu, the Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea (GAM) in Turin, the Archivio della Poesia del Novecento in Mantova, as well as Harvard University in Cambridge.

Read more

Johana Carrier

Translated from the French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Gesetztafel V [Law table V], 1993, oil and acrylic on board, 231 x 101 x 5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna, © Photo: C. Favero

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Denkmuster 2 [Thought patterns 2], 1996, oil on contact paper, 25 x 17.5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna, © Photo: L. Palmieri

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Avant-testo, 30-9-2000 [Pre-text, 30-9-2000], 2000, ballpoint pen on canvas on wooden stretcher, 30 x 45 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna, © Photo: C. Favero

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Eigenschriften [Own writings], 1969, pastel on paper, 50 x 70 cm, Courtesy the artist and P420, Bologna, © Photo: C. Favero

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Eigenschriften, Schrift-felder [Own writings, Writing fields], 1968, indian ink on paper, 35.5 x 26.5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Horizont n.19 [Horizon n.19], 2007, ballpoint pen on polyester, diptych, 10.7 x 91 cm each, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Radical Writings, Dal libro del silenzio AX-21 [Radical Writings, From the book of silence AX-21], 1985, watercolor on paper, 48 x 36 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Trascrizioni [Transcripts], 1974, indian ink on parchment like paper, 33 x 43.5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Ur-schrift ovvero Avant-testo 26-8-1999 [Original or pre-text], 1999, ballpoint pen on canvas on wooden stretcher, 200 x 95 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Irma Blank

1934 | Celle, Allemagne
Informations
Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, © Photo : Maria Mulas

Soutien
— P420 Art Gallery

Artiste allemande-italienne.

Originaire du nord de l’Allemagne, Irma Blank s’installe en Sicile en 1955. Ce déracinement est fondamental pour cette grande lectrice, passionnée par la forme écrite : elle réalise que « le mot juste n’existe pas », même dans sa propre langue, les mots ne pouvant refléter pleinement l’exactitude de la pensée. Elle entame en 1968 la série Eigenschriften [Écriture pour soi-même]. Elle répète dans ces dessins au pastel de couleur sur papier un signe, une écriture asémantique, qu’elle explore jusqu’en 1973. Cette date marque son installation à Milan, qui entraîne un changement radical dans sa vie et son travail. Elle entre en contact avec la scène très active de la poésie concrète et commence à exposer dans des espaces d’art et des librairies. Le cycle Trascrizioni émerge en 1973 (jusqu’en 1979), transcriptions à l’encre noire sur papier transparent du matériel imprimé que l’artiste a sous la main : journaux, traités de philosophie, poésie… Elle place son papier sur l’original, dont elle reproduit la mise en page à l’aide de hachures répétées et régulières, tout en le lisant à bouche fermée, émettant un son monotone. Professeure d’arts plastiques au lycée, elle se consacre à son propre travail dans le silence de la nuit et prend ainsi conscience du son produit par le dessin en train de se faire. Elle décide de s’enregistrer au travail, ce qu’elle systématise dans l’ensemble de ses séries, et envisage dès lors sa pratique comme un cycle sensoriel total, qui, outre la vue et l’ouïe, inclut le toucher – avec les livres uniques (des dessins à manipuler) qu’elle réalise dès les années 1960 –, ainsi que la présence corporelle avec des actions et des lectures performées depuis 1979. Elle participe à la documenta 6, à Cassel, en 1977 et à la Biennale de Venise de 1978.

I. Blank entame ensuite la série Radical Writings (1983-1996), qui prend la forme d’une écriture linéaire fondée sur la durée de sa respiration. À l’huile, acrylique ou aquarelle sur toile ou papier, ces œuvres témoignent d’un cheminement vis-à-vis de la couleur : les premières sont réalisées en rose et violet, couleurs de la recherche, puis l’artiste explore exclusivement le bleu, qui représente l’infini, l’écriture et la détermination. Entre 1984 et 1993, elle passe une partie de l’année à Düsseldorf, où elle a un atelier. Après son retour définitif à Milan et consciente que la société entre dans une ère de communication, elle expérimente l’outil numérique dans la série Hyper-Text (1998-2002) où des mots superposés, extraits en trois langues de ses écrits, sont sérigraphiés sur toile. Concomitamment et en contraste avec la froideur de l’ordinateur, elle travaille à la série Avant-testo [Avant le texte, 1998-2006], dans laquelle, tenant des stylos Bic dans chacune de ses mains, elle dessine sur toile ou polyester, dans un mouvement circulaire inédit, pure explosion d’énergie.

I. Blank commence en 2000 le cycle protéiforme Global Writings avec des œuvres exécutées à la main ou à l’ordinateur. Elle invente un alphabet éponyme, composé de huit consonnes, avec lequel elle écrit textes et livres, créant une langue inintelligible mais universelle, prononçable par tou·te·s.

Victime d’un grave problème de santé en 2016, I. Blank se réapproprie désormais son corps et adopte une nouvelle manière de travailler, de la main gauche. La série Gehen-Second Life [Aller-deuxième vie, depuis 2017] la mène vers sa deuxième vie de femme et d’artiste, avec des lignes, tracées sur feuilles ou cahiers, révélant sa capacité à affronter l’adversité physique pour aller de l’avant.

Très réputée en Italie, I. Blank jouit enfin depuis quelques années d’une reconnaissance internationale croissante. Son travail a été montré à la Biennale de Venise en 2017, intitulée Viva Arte Viva. De 2019 à 2022, la rétrospective Blank qui lui est consacrée se déploie en sept expositions différentes. Ses œuvres sont notamment présentes dans les collections du musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou à Paris, du Kunstmuseum de Düsseldorf, du Museion de Bolzano, du Getty Center for the History of Arts and the Humanities à Malibu, de la Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea (GAM) à Turin, de l’Archivio della Poesia del Novecento à Mantoue, ou encore de Harvard University à Cambridge.

Lire plus

Johana Carrier

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Gesetztafel V [Table de droit V], 1993, huile et acrylique sur planche, 231 x 101 x 5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne, © Photo : C. Favero

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Denkmuster 2 [Modèles de pensée 2], 1996, huile sur papier contact, 25 x 17,5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne, © Photo : L. Palmieri

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Avant-testo, 30-9-2000 [Avant-texte, 30-9-2000], 2000, stylo à bille sur toile sur châssis en bois, 30 x 45 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne, © Photo : C. Favero

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Eigenschriften [Écriture pour soi-même], 1969, pastel sur papier, 50 x 70 cm, Courtesy the artist et P420, Bologne, © Photo : C. Favero

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Eigenschriften, Schrift-felder [Écriture pour soi-même, Champs d’écriture], 1968, encre chinoise sur papier, 35,5 x 26,5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Horizont n.19 [Horizon n°19], 2007, stylo à bille sur polyester, diptyque, 10,7 x 91 cm chacun, Courtesy Irma Blank and P420, Bologna

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Radical Writings, Dal libro del silenzio AX-21 [Écrits radicaux, Du livre du silence AX-21], 1985, aquarelle sur papier, 48 x 36 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Trascrizioni [Transcriptions], 1974, encre de Chine sur parchemin comme du papier, 33 x 43,5 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne

Irma Blank — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Blank, Ur-schrift ovvero Avant-testo 26-8-1999 [Original ou avant-texte 26-8-1999], 1999, stylo à bille sur toile sur châssis en bois, 200 x 95 cm, Courtesy Irma Blank et P420, Bologne

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29