Lorraine O’Grady

1934 | Boston, United States 

Informations
Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Untitled (Mlle Bourgeoise Noire Shouts Out Her Poem), 1980-83/2009, silver gelatin fiber print in 14 parts, 38.42 x 38.42 x 2.22 cm, edition of 20 + 2 AP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

American conceptual and performance artist.

Lorraine O’Grady was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and graduated in 1956 with a degree in economics and Spanish literature from Wellesley College. Her path to the art world was unconventional. L. O’Grady worked as an intelligence analyst for the United States government, a professional translator, and a music critic before teaching a class on Baudelaire and Rimbaud at the School of Visual Arts (SVA) as a favour to a friend. It was at SVA in the mid-1970s where L. O’Grady turned towards art. Her first body of work, Cutting Out the New York Times (1977), a series of cut-up newspaper collages, L. O’Grady completed in 1977 when she was 43 years old. Three years later, L. O’Grady debuted Mademoiselle Bourgeoise Noire (MBN, 1980), her now renowned performance featuring a boisterous debutant clad in a white gown made of 180 pairs of white gloves. During her unsolicited enactments, MBN wielded a bouquet of white chrysanthemums that transformed into a cat-o-nine-tails as flowers were distributed to spectators. Once it was revealed, MBN beat herself with the whip, shouted a poem at the top of her lungs that ended with the exclamation “BLACK ART MUST TAKE MORE RISKS!!!”, and then promptly took her leave. Performing a dual critique on segregated New York art spaces and fellow Black artists, MBN first appeared at Just Above Midtown Gallery, an experimental hub for black performance artists, where she demanded more from the artists present at the opening for Outlaw Aesthetics (1980), and rebuked them for pandering to white audiences. She later performed various iterations of the piece throughout the city, including The New Museum, Kenkeleba House Gallery (The Black and White Show, 1983), and as part of the annual Afro-American Day Parade in Harlem (Art Is…, 1983).

Much of L. O’Grady’s early work focused on performance, and pieces such as Nefertiti/Devonia Evangeline (1980) and Rivers, First Draft (1982) drew on the artist’s personal experiences as a middle-class Black woman of bicultural West-Indian heritage and her rich family archive. According to the artist, these works are indicative of her concept “writing in space”.
After a return home to Boston to care for her mother between 1983 and 1988, L. O’Grady shifted her practice from outward facing and largely concerned with institutional critique to inward facing and newly self-reflexive. With this evolution came the crystallisation of her conceptual work with the form of the diptych, a development that also mirrors the artist’s transition from embodied enactments to two-dimensional works made for the gallery wall. The series Body is the Ground of My Experience (1991), Miscegenated Family Album (1980-1994) and Studies for Flowers of Evil and Good (1998) all employ the formal schema of the diptych to create meaning through compelling juxtapositions.

Two-decades later when L. O’Grady was invited to participate in the influential exhibition WACK! Art and the Feminist Revolution in 2007 (Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles), the artist experienced another important shift in her practice towards the archive as a means of self-conscious resuscitation of her own forgotten art practice. During this time, the internet made rendering oneself visible a much more accessible endeavour than it had been in earlier decades, and L. O’Grady’s deployment of the World Wide Web provides an interesting model, and point of study, for born-digital archives, as well as online creative practices broadly.
The artist participated in the Whitney Biennial in 2010, and a major retrospective of her work was exhibited at the Brooklyn Museum of Art in 2021.

Read more

Stephanie Sparling Williams

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Art Is… (Girl Pointing), 1983/2009, C-print in 40 parts, 40.64 x 50.8 cm, edition of 8 + 1 AP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Art Is… (Troupe Front), 1983/2009, C-print in 40 parts, 40.64 x 50.8 cm, edition of 8 + 1 AP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Body Is the Ground of My Experience (The Clearing: or Cortés and La Malinche, Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemings, N. and Me), 1991/2019, archival pigment print on Hahnemühle Baryta pure cotton photo rag paper in 2 parts, 101.6 x 127 cm each, edition of 10 + 3 AP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Miscegenated Family Album (Sisters II), L: Nefertiti’s daughter, Merytaten; R: Devonia’s daughter, 1980/1994, cibachrome prints, 50.8 x 40.6 cm each (69.8 x 96.5 x 4.1 cm framed), edition of 8 + 1 AP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Miscegenated Family Album (Sisters II), L: Devonia’s sister, Lorraine; R: Nefertiti’s sister, Mutnedjmet, 1980/1994, diptych, Cibachrome prints, overall 26 × 37” (66.04 x 93.98 cm); from Miscegenated Family Album, 1980/1994. © Lorraine O’Grady/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Rivers, First Draft: The stove becomes more and more red, 1982/2105, digital C-print from Kodachrome 35mm slides in 48 parts, 40.64 x 50.8 cm, edition of 8 + 2 AP, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Nefertiti/Devonia Evangeline (Told to swing an incense censer, she stirs sand instead), 1980, performance, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Lorraine O’Grady

1934 | Boston, États-Unis
Informations
Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Untitled (Mlle Bourgeoise Noire Shouts Out Her Poem), 1980-83/2009, impression argentique sur gélatine, 38,42 x 38,42 x 2,22 cm, édition de 20 + 2 EP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Artiste conceptuelle et performeuse américaine.

Lorraine O’Grady est née à Boston, Massachussetts, et obtient un diplôme d’économie et de littérature espagnole au Wellesley College en 1956. Son entrée dans le monde de l’art est peu conventionnelle. L. O’Grady travaille tout d’abord en tant qu’analyste pour les renseignements américains, traductrice professionnelle et critique musicale avant de donner un cours sur Charles Baudelaire et Arthur Rimbaud à la School of Visual Arts (SVA), à New York, pour rendre service à un ami. C’est lors de ce temps passé à la SVA au milieu des années 1970 que L. O’Grady se tourne vers l’art. Elle achève son premier corpus d’œuvres, Cutting Out the New York Times [Découper le New York Times, 1977], une série de collages à base de journaux découpés, en 1977 à l’âge de 43 ans. Trois ans plus tard, L. O’Grady inaugure Mademoiselle Bourgeoise Noire (dite MBN, 1980), sa célèbre performance au cours de laquelle elle incarne une turbulente débutante vêtue d’une robe faite de 180 paires de gants blancs. Lors de ces mises en scène impromptues, MBN brandit un bouquet de chrysanthèmes blancs qui se change en martinet au fur et à mesure que l’artiste distribue les fleurs aux spectateurs et spectatrices. Une fois le martinet révelé, MBN se met à se fouetter en hurlant un poème qui s’achève sur la phrase « BLACK ART MUST TAKE MORE RISKS !!! » (l’art noir doit prendre plus de risques), avant de soudainement quitter les lieux. Critiquant à la fois la ségrégation des lieux d’art à New York et ses confrères·sœurs artistes noir·e·s, MBN fait sa première apparition à la Just Above Midtown Gallery, un centre expérimental destiné aux artistes de performance noir·e·s, lors du vernissage de l’exposition Outlaw Aesthetics</em [Esthétique hors-la-loi, 1980]. Elle demande aux artistes présent·e·s de faire preuve de plus d’audace et leur reproche de trop s’adapter au public blanc. L. O’Grady interprétera plusieurs autres versions de cette performance à New York, notamment au New Museum, à la Kenkeleba House Gallery (The Black and White Show, 1983), et à l’occasion du défilé annuel de l’Afro-American Day à Harlem (Art is… [L’art est…], 1983).

À ses débuts, L. O’Grady se consacre principalement à la performance. Des œuvres telles que Nefertiti/Devonia Evangeline (1980) et Rivers, First Draft [Rivières, première version, 1982], s’inspirent du vécu de l’artiste en tant que femme noire issue de la classe moyenne et aux origines biculturelles caribéennes, ainsi que de sa riche histoire familiale. D’après l’artiste, ces œuvres sont le reflet d’un concept qu’elle nomme « écriture dans l’espace ».
Après être retournée à Boston de 1983 à 1988 pour s’occuper de sa mère, L. O’Grady fait évoluer sa pratique. Là où celle-ci était auparavant dirigée vers l’extérieur et focalisée sur une critique des institutions, elle se tourne désormais vers une forme plus intériorisée et introspective. Cette évolution marque aussi une cristallisation de son travail conceptuel sous la forme du diptyque – une progression qui reflète également la transition de sa pratique d’une incarnation physique à une œuvre bidimensionnelle destinée à l’accrochage en galerie. Les séries Body Is the Ground of My Experience [Le corps est le fondement de mon expérience, 1991], Miscegenated Family Album [Album de famille métissée, 1980-1994] et Studies for Flowers of Evil and Good [Études pour les fleurs du mal et du bien, 1998] font toutes appel au schéma formel du diptyque afin de produire du sens grâce à de puissantes juxtapositions.

Deux décennies plus tard, à l’occasion de sa participation à l’exposition influente WACK ! Art and the Feminist Revolution en 2007 (Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles), L. O’Grady amorce un nouveau tournant majeur dans sa pratique. Elle se tourne alors vers l’archive comme moyen de ressusciter de manière consciente sa propre pratique artistique oubliée. À cette époque, le développement d’internet permet aux artistes d’acquérir une meilleure visibilité par rapport aux décennies précédentes, et l’utilisation que L. O’Grady fait du web fournit un modèle et un cas d’étude intéressant dans le domaine des archives d’origine numérique et, au sens plus large, des pratiques artistiques en ligne.
L’artiste participe à la Whitney Biennial en 2010 et une grande rétrospective lui est consacrée au Brooklyn Museum of Art en 2021.

Lire plus

Stephanie Sparling Williams

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Art Is… (Girl Pointing), 1983/2009, impression digitale, 40,64 x 50,8 cm, édition de 8 + 1 EP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Art Is… (Troupe Front), 1983/2009, impression digitale, 40,64 x 50,8 cm, édition de 8 + 1 EP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Body Is the Ground of My Experience (The Clearing: or Cortés and La Malinche, Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemings, N. and Me), 1991/2019, impression pigmentaire sur papier baryté en coton pur Hahnemühle, 101,6 x 127 cm chacune, édition de 10 + 3 EP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Miscegenated Family Album (Sisters II), L: Nefertiti’s daughter Merytaten; R: Devonia’s daughter, 1980/1994, impression cibachrome, 50,8 x 40,6 cm chacune (69,8 x 96,5 x 4,1 cm avec cadre), édition de 8 + 1 EP, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Miscegenated Family Album (Sisters IV), L: Devonia’s sister, Lorraine; R: Nefertiti’s sister, Mutnedjmet, 1980/1994, diptyque, impression cibachrome, 66,04 x 93,98 cm (26 x 37 in) ; tiré de Miscegenated Family Album, 1980/1994, © Lorraine O’Grady/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Rivers, First Draft: The stove becomes more and more red, 1982/2105, impressions digitales à partir de diapositives Kodachrome de 35mm, 40,64 x 50,8 cm, édition de 8 + 2 EP, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Lorraine O’Grady — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorraine O’Grady, Nefertiti/Devonia Evangeline (Told to swing an incense censer, she stirs sand instead), 1980, performance, Courtesy Alexander Gray Associates, New York, © 2021 Lorraine O’Grady / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29