Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jac Leirner

1961 | São Paulo, Brazil
Informations
Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça, © Photo: Romulo Fialdini

Sponsor
— Galeria Fortes D’Aloia & Gabriel

Sculptrice et artiste multimédia brésilienne.

Jac Leirner, one of the most remarkable Brazilian artists of her generation, grew up in São Paulo in a family of collectors. She studied fine arts at the Fundação Armando Álvares Penteado from 1979 to 1984, and became a teacher there from 1987 to 1989. Since 1980 her work, which has been the object of many solo and collective exhibitions in Brazil and abroad, such as the Venice and São Paulo Biennales, has relied on the process of accumulating everyday objects. These objects are amassed for long periods of time then organised and assembled into varied spatial configurations – installations, sculptures, and two-dimensional pieces –, reflecting the world in which they were produced and traded, as well as the artist’s attitude towards her collections and the time spent constructing them.

Pulmão (“lung”, 1987) is made out of the packs of cigarettes she smoked for three years; the various elements of the packs – from the plastic wrapper to the tear strip – and two x-rays of the artist’s lungs were used as material for this series created by juxtaposing identical or similar elements: the packs, for example, were folded up, joined together, and strung onto a long rope; the pieces of foiled paper, on the other hand, were sewn together into a fragile and repetitive structure. In the famous series Os Cem (“the hundreds”, 1985-1987), she used thousands of cruzeiro banknotes that she collected as from 1985, and which were devaluated at the time due to hyperinflation. While the specific form of these sculptures and their repetition-based syntax manifest a possible reference to minimalism, other pieces in the series underline a more subjective relationship to money: they show the inscriptions left on the banknotes by their many users, who, in doing so, personalised them. “My only subject here is art history […] and the artists who influenced my thoughts and feelings. I cannot avoid economy when I create works with money, but what interests me most when I make them is Arte Povera and minimalism”, she says. As such, Os Cem prompts a reflection on the notion of value – monetary, symbolic, or emotional – that an object can be invested with and, consequently, the process of attributing this value itself, whether in the economic or artistic field, or in the life of each user.

In the course of her career, Leirner has collected and used a large range of objects relating to her experience in the art world, such as plastic bags from several art institutions in Names (Museums) (1989-1992). During a residency at the Museum of Modern Art in Oxford then at the Walker Art Centre in Minneapolis in 1991, she collected the correspondence of the museums, organised it following various criteria, and assembled it in pieces such as To and From (MoMA Oxford) (1991). The material she uses evokes the information exchange system that the museum relies on to function and, like the banknotes in Os Cem, is characterised by its capacity to circulate between individuals. The same attribute also distinguishes the objects she collects on aeroplanes, such as ashtrays, blankets, and cutlery, which she used in her series ironically entitled Corpus Delicti, part of which was presented at documenta 9 in Kassel. More recent series like Adesivos, in which the artist uses a vast quantity of stickers of all shapes, colours and origins, reveal the persistence of some of the key elements in her production, such as her constant dialogue with Brazilian and international art trends, and the autobiographical and subjective aspect present throughout her work.

Read more

Giulia Lamoni

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Names, 1989, plastic bags, polyester foam and buckram, variable dimensions
Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Inacabavel (Roda sobre Roda), 1982, aluminum, bubble wrap, canvas, felt, glass, leather, rubber and paper, 50 x 120 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, 144 Museum Bags, 1985-2006, plastic bags, tensioners, steel cable and binder clips, dimensions variables, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Pulmao / Lung (Vegetal/Mineral), 1987, sewn metalized paper, 20 x 17 x 14 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Todos os Cem (Lista de Compras), 1998, brazilian banknotes, 36 x 35.5 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Todos os Cem / All the One Hundreds, 1998, banknotes and steel cable, 7 x 15 x 480 cm apprx., Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Adhesive 44, 2004, 20 windows, stickers and aluminium structure, 89.50 x 94.50 x 3 cm (each window), Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Electra, 2012, metal and wood, 123 x 390 x 0.7 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Sandra Burns

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, 4 Yellows, 2010, watercolor on cotton paper, 12.5 x 18 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Metrica minima (blue), 2015, newspaper on linen, 81 x 81 x 4 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo: Eduardo Ortega

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jac Leirner

1961 | São Paulo, Brésil
Informations
Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça, © Photo : Romulo Fialdini

Soutien
— Galeria Fortes D’Aloia & Gabriel

Sculptrice et artiste multimédia brésilienne.

Jac Leirner, l’une des artistes brésiliennes les plus remarquables de sa génération, grandit à São Paulo dans une famille de collectionneurs. Elle fait des études d’arts plastiques à la Fundação Armando Álvares Penteado entre 1979 et 1984, puis y devient enseignante, de 1987 à 1989. Présentée dans de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives au Brésil et à l’étranger, ainsi que dans des manifestations internationales comme la Biennale de Venise et celle de São Paulo, son œuvre se fonde, depuis les années 1980, sur un processus d’accumulation d’objets du quotidien. Réunis au cours de longues périodes, puis organisés et assemblés en des configurations spatiales variées – installations, sculptures et œuvres à deux dimensions –, ces objets relèvent autant du monde dans lequel ils ont été produits et échangés que de l’attitude de l’artiste vis-à-vis de ses collections, et du temps consacré à leur construction.

Pulmão (« poumon », 1987) est réalisé à partir de paquets de cigarettes fumées par l’artiste pendant trois ans ; les différents éléments qui constituent le paquet – de l’emballage en plastique jusqu’au ruban d’ouverture – ainsi que deux radiographies pulmonaires de l’artiste sont utilisés comme matériaux dans cette série de travaux élaborés par juxtaposition d’éléments identiques ou similaires : par exemple les paquets, repliés et accolés les uns aux autres, sont traversés par une longue corde, alors que des feuilles en papier laminé sont cousues ensemble en une structure fragile et répétitive. Dans la fameuse série Os Cem (« la centaine », 1985-1987), elle met en scène des milliers de billets de cruzeiros qu’elle a collectés à partir de 1985, et qui ont été dévalués en raison de la forte inflation de l’époque. Si ces sculptures relèvent, par leur forme spécifique et leur syntaxe basée sur la répétition, d’une possible référence au minimalisme, d’autres pièces de cette série mettent en évidence une relation plus subjective avec l’argent : elles présentent en effet les inscriptions laissées sur les billets par de nombreux utilisateurs, qui les ont, de la sorte, personnalisés. « Mon seul sujet ici est l’histoire de l’art […] et les artistes qui ont touché mes pensées et sentiments. Je ne peux pas éviter l’économie quand je conçois des œuvres avec de l’argent, mais je suis bien plus intéressée par l’Arte povera et le minimalisme lorsque je les réalise », dit-elle. Ainsi, Os Cem suscite une interrogation sur la notion de valeur – monétaire, symbolique ou affective –, dont un objet peut être investi, et, de ce fait, sur le processus d’attribution de valeur lui-même, que ce soit dans le domaine économique, dans le système artistique ou dans la vie de chaque utilisateur.

Au fil de son parcours, J. Leirner a collecté et exploité dans son travail de nombreux objets liés à son expérience du monde de l’art, tels que des sacs en plastique de plusieurs institutions artistiques dans Names (Museums) (1989-1992). En résidence au Museum of Modern Art d’Oxford puis au Walker Art Center de Minneapolis en 1991, elle réunit la correspondance de ces musées, l’organise selon différents critères, et l’assemble en des œuvres comme To and From (MoMA Oxford) (1991). Évoquant le système d’échange d’information nécessaire au fonctionnement du musée, le matériau utilisé se distingue, tout comme l’argent d’Os Cem, par sa capacité à circuler entre différentes mains. Le même trait caractérise les objets prélevés dans des avions, tels que cendriers, couvertures ou couverts, exposés dans la série intitulée ironiquement Corpus Delicti, dont une pièce est présentée en 1992 à la documenta 9 de Kassel. Des séries plus récentes, comme Adesivos, dans laquelle l’artiste utilise une vaste quantité de stickers de différentes formes, couleurs et origines, montrent la persistance de certaines lignes de force dans son travail, comme son dialogue constant avec des courants de l’art contemporain brésilien et international, mais aussi la part d’autobiographie et de subjectivité qui anime son œuvre.

Lire plus

Giulia Lamoni

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Names, 1989, sacs en plastique, mousse polyester et bougran, dimensions variables, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Inacabavel (Roda sobre Roda), 1982, aluminium, papier bulles, toile, feutre, verre, cuir, caoutchouc et papier, 50 x 120 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, 144 Museum Bags, 1985-2006, sacs en plastique, tendeurs, câble en acier et agrafes de reliure, dimensions variables, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Pulmao / Lung (Vegetal/Mineral), 1987, papier métallisé cousu, 20 x 17 x 14 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Todos os Cem (Lista de Compras), 1998, billets de banque brésiliens, 36 x 35,5 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Todos os Cem / All the One Hundreds, 1998, billets de banque et câbles en acier, environ 7 x 15 x 480 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Adhesive 44, 2004, 20 fenêtres, autocollants et structure en aluminium, 89,50 x 94,50 x 3 cm (chaque fenêtre), Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Isabella Matheus

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Electra, 2012, métal et bois, 123 x 390 x 0,7 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Sandra Burns

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, 4 Yellows, 2010, aquarelle sur papier chiffon, 12,5 x 18 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Eduardo Ortega

Jac Leirner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jac Leirner, Metrica minima (blue), 2015, journal sur lin, 81 x 81 x 4 cm, Courtesy Galeria Fortes Vilaça © Photo : Eduardo Ortega

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29