Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Katharina Fritsch

1956 | Essen, Germany
Informations
Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery

Sponsor
— Matthew Marks Gallery

German sculptress and visual artist.

Katharina Fritsch was trained at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (Arts Academy) between 1977 and 1984. And while she creates a wide variety of works – objects, images, sound works – she is especially known for her sculptures. All of her utilitarian objects – umbrellas, bottles – or symbolic objects – skulls, crosses, the tower of Pisa – are executed with incredible technical skill. The artist creates moulds from which the works are cast out of polyester, plaster, or aluminium. While these exact and precise shapes leave no doubt as to the nature of the objects, they nonetheless have a troubling effect, since scale is not necessarily respected, and the pieces are covered in a single solid colour that makes them seem unreal. For example, it could be a tongue-in-cheek rendering of a statuette of the Madonna like those found in Lourdes, but in fluorescent yellow, or the silhouette of a monk entirely covered in black. The artist thus recasts objects and characters that then lose their individuality and familiarity to become abstractions. From this emerges a sense of unease, these shapes acting on the mind like recollections. Taken from various sources (the everyday world, pop culture, art history, fairy tales), they belong to a collective memory, which is then more or less consciously rekindled in the spectator.

One of her best-known creations, Rattenkönig [The Rat King, 1993], presents the nightmarish scene of a circle of giant rats whose tails are tied together, the origins of which can be traced back to Northern European fairy tales. Tischgesellschaft [Dinner, 1998] consists of a long rectangular table around which men are seated, all identical, which recalls both an image of the Last Supper from the history of art as a family dinner as seen by a child or a meeting taking place during an international convention. The artist often uses repeated patterns which, arranged geometrically inside a circle or grid, give the impression of psychotic proliferation. In 1995, she represented Germany along with Martin Honert and Thomas Ruff at the 46th Venice Biennale. In 1996 she was featured in a monographic exhibition at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, then in 2001 at the Chicago Museum of Contemporary Art and the Tate Modern in London. In 2009 she was exhibited by the Kunsthaus Zurich, the Museum for Modern Art.

Read more

Anne Malherbe

Translated from French by Toby Cayouette.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Tischgesellschaft [Company at the Table], 1988, polyester, wood, cotton and paint, 140 x 1600 x 175 cm, 4 ft. 7 in. x 52 ft. 6 in. x 5 ft. 9 in., Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Rattenkonig [Rat king], 1993, polyester resin, paint, 280 x 1300 cm, 110 1/4 x 511 ¾ in., Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Händler [Dealer], 2001, polyester, paint, 192 x 59 x 41 cm, 75 1/2 x 23 1/4 x 16 in., Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, 6. Zeitungsillustration (“Überfall eines Mädchens durch ein Krokodil”) [Newspaper Illustration 6 (“A Crocodile Attacking a Girl”)], 2008, oil-based ink and acrylic on plastic panel, 134 x 200 cm, 52 3/4 x 78 3/4 in., Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Figurengruppe [Group of Figures], 2006-2008 (fabricated 2010-11), bronze, copper, and stainless steel, lacquered, dimensions variable, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Foto Vorsehungskloster [Photo Providence Monastery], 2008, oil-based ink and acrylic on plastic panel, 280 x 400 cm, 110 1/4 x 157 1/2 in., Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Katharina Fritsch

1956 | Essen, Allemagne
Informations
Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery

Soutien
— Matthew Marks Gallery

Sculptrice et plasticienne allemande.

Formée à la Kunstakademie (« académie des beaux-arts ») de Düsseldorf entre 1977 et 1984, Katharina Fritsch, tout en présentant des oeuvres variées – objets, images, oeuvres sonores –, s’est surtout fait connaître pour ses sculptures. Tous ses objets utilitaires – parapluies, bouteilles – ou symboliques – crânes, croix, tour de Pise – sont exécutés avec une extrême perfection artisanale. L’artiste réalise des moules à partir desquels les oeuvres sont fondues en polyester, en plâtre ou en aluminium. Bien que ces formes exactes et précises ne laissent aucun doute sur la nature de l’objet, il en ressort cependant un effet troublant, car l’échelle n’est pas nécessairement respectée, et les pièces sont couvertes d’une couleur unie qui les déréalise. Il peut s’agir, avec humour, d’une statuette de madone similaire à celles que l’on trouve à Lourdes, mais de couleur jaune fluorescent, ou de la silhouette d’un moine entièrement couverte de noir. L’artiste refond ainsi des objets et des personnages qui perdent alors leur individualité et leur familiarité pour devenir des abstractions. Il s’ensuit une sensation de malaise, ces formes agissant sur l’esprit comme des réminiscences. Puisées dans différentes sources (monde quotidien, culture populaire, histoire de l’art, contes), elles appartiennent à la mémoire collective, plus ou moins consciente, qu’elles viennent raviver chez le spectateur.

L’une de ses créations les plus connues, Rattenkönig (« le roi des rats », 1993), offre la vision cauchemardesque d’un cercle de rats géants attachés par la queue, dont l’origine se situe dans des contes d’Europe du Nord. Tischgesellschaft (« dîner », 1998) présente une longue table rectangulaire autour de laquelle sont assis des hommes, tous semblables, qui éveille autant le souvenir d’une Cène de l’histoire de l’art que d’un repas de famille perçu par un enfant ou d’un rassemblement lors d’un congrès international. L’artiste utilise souvent la répétition de motifs qui, disposés géométriquement au sein d’un cercle ou d’une grille, donnent une impression de prolifération psychotique. En 1995, elle a représenté l’Allemagne, avec Martin Honert et Thomas Ruff, lors de la XLVIe Biennale de Venise. En 1996, elle a bénéficiéd’une exposition monographique au Museum of Modern Art de San Francisco, puis, en 2001, au Museum of Contemporary Art de Chicago et à la Tate Modern à Londres. En 2009, elle a été exposée par le Kunsthaus (« musée des beaux-arts ») de Zurich.

Lire plus

Anne Malherbe

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Tischgesellschaft [Tablée d’invités], 1988, polystyrène, bois, coton and peinture, 140 x 1600 x 175 cm, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Rattenkonig [Roi de rats], 1993, polystyrène résine, peinture, 280 x 1300 cm, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Händler [Marchand], 2001, polystyrène, peinture, 192 x 59 x 41 cm, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, 6. Zeitungsillustration (“Überfall eines Mädchens durch ein Krokodil”) [Journal d’illustration 6 (“Attaque d’une jeune fille par un crocodile”)], 2008, encre à base d’huile et acrylique sur panneau en plastique, 134 x 200 cm, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Figurengruppe [Groupe de personnages], 2006-2008 (fabriqué en 2010-2011), bronze, cuivre et acier inoxydable laqué, dimensions variables, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina Fritsch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Fritsch, Foto Vorsehungskloster [Photo Providence Monastery], 2008, encre à base d’huile et acrylique sur panneau en plastique, 280 x 400 cm, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery, © Katharina Fritsch © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29