Katharina Sieverding

1944 | Prague, Czech Republic
Informations

German photographer and filmmaker.

Katharina Sieverding studied sculpture with Joseph Beuys at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf in the 1960s. She continued her studies in the United States, China and the USSR. Her work is focused on identity, the individual in society, political events, natural phenomena and biological processes. Her monumental photographs (up to 6 metres high) play on the enlargement and multiplication of images, contrast, superimposing, solarisation and intensities of light. For the artist, the essence of images is not born through the camera but rather in the mind thanks to “optical possibilities formed by the mind”. In the mid-1970s she created large photographic canvases based on photographs in the press and television images, mixing visuals and texts around themes of female identity and political events from German and American history. Her favourite subject nevertheless remains the self-portrait, which she sees as a means of conveying an artistic vision of the world.

Thus, in 1973-1974 she produced a series of photographs Transformer I/II in which she exploited male/female ambivalence by combining reworked self-portraits and portraits of her husband Klaus Mettig made-up. Hybrid faces appeared through the process, blurring the boundaries of gender to the point of making it impossible to distinguish between them. In these works transvestism acquires a political dimension and puts into play a reflection on the constitution of the subject, suggesting the presence of both genders in each individual, an expression of self-perception that does not exclude the other. This series was exhibited at the Kunsthalle in Lucerne in 1974 in the ground-breaking exhibition “Transformer” – Aspekte der Travestie, in which the photographer was the only female artist. Her image was already present in Life-Death (1969) – one of her very first films shot in 16 mm and presented at Documenta 5 (1972) in Kassel – in which she questioned the existential dimensions of her identity, combining her own cross-dressing with that of another person. Along with Martha Rosler, Valie Export, Carolee Schneeman and Ana Mendieta, K. Sieverding was one of the first female artists to work on the perception of the female body and gender identities.

In 1976 she went to New York to participate in the Independent Study Program at the Whitney Museum of American Art. She took courses at the New School for Social Research and graduated with a degree in Political and Social Science in 1977. After returning to Germany in the 1980s she revisited her self-portraits from the 1960s, inserting old portraits in new arrangements. She presents herself frontally, very close-up, with a rigid face and a fixed gaze in a bath of red, sometimes solarised, light; only the make-up and hair change the composition of the photograph when they were left visible in the frame. In Die Sonne um Mitternacht schauen X/VI (Looking at the sun at midnight, 1988), her face is covered by golden dust in the middle of a solar eruption. Here, the artist questions our perception of reality by establishing a distance with the spectator which, despite the face-to-face, prevents any possible intimacy.

In 1990 she taught at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin and then at the Universität der Künste. In 1996 K. Sieverding became the first woman to receive the Lovis Corinth Prize. At the 1997 Venice Biennale she presented Steigbilder I-IX (Climbing images, I-IX), a reflection on the issues and the future of humanity, through X-rays of human skulls, sequencing diagrams of the human genome, as well as press photos such as Italian soldiers on duty during Operation Alba, the repatriation of Bosnian orphans to Sarajevo, and mass incineration of cattle suffering from mad cow disease. These very large-format images, presented as diptychs, triptychs and even quadriptychs, were transformed using both digital and analogue techniques. The viewer could hardly decipher their content at first sight. In 2004 the Museum of Modern Art PS 1 in New York presented a retrospective of her work, Close Up, which primarily presented her self-portraits in extreme close-up.

Read more

Nathalie Ernoult

Translated from the French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Maton II 1, 1969-1996, c-print, acrylic, steel, crystal mirror, 190 × 125 cm, private collection, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, 196 III, 1973, c-print, acrylic, steel, 380 x 612.4 cm, VG Bild-Kunst, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Stauffenbergblock I [Stauffenberg block I], 1969, c-print, acrylic, steel, 190.2 x 125 cm, VG Bild-Kunst, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Steigbild III [Rising image III], 1997, photograph, Städel Museum, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Testcut 01, 2012, micro Piezo Technology, cymbolic Printers, 112 x 87 cm, collection particulière, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Transformer, 1973-1974, five digital slide projections, color, silent, MoMA, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, XVII, 1980, c-print, acrylic, steel, 300 x 431.6 cm, VG Bild-Kunst, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Katharina Sieverding

1944 | Prague, République tchèque
Informations

Photographe et cinéaste allemande.

Katharina Sieverding étudie la sculpture avec Joseph Beuys à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Düsseldorf dans les années 1960. Elle poursuit ses études aux États-Unis, en Chine, puis en URSS. Son travail porte sur l’identité, l’individu au sein de la société, les événements politiques, les phénomènes de la nature, les processus biologiques. Ses photographies monumentales (jusqu’à 6 mètres de haut) jouent sur l’agrandissement et la multiplication des images, les contrastes, la surimpression, la solarisation, l’intensité lumineuse. Pour l’artiste, l’essentiel des clichés ne naît pas dans l’appareil mais dans la tête, grâce aux « possibilités optiques formulées par la pensée ». Vers le milieu des années 1970, s’appuyant sur des photographies de presse et des images télévisées, elle conçoit de grands tableaux photographiques, mêlant images et textes, ayant pour thèmes l’identité féminine et les événements politiques de l’histoire allemande et américaine. Son sujet de prédilection reste néanmoins l’autoportrait, qu’elle considère comme un moyen de transmettre une vision artistique du monde.

Ainsi, en 1973-1974, elle réalise une série de photos, Transformer I/II, qui exploite l’ambivalence masculin/féminin en combinant des autoportraits retravaillés et des portraits maquillés de son conjoint, Klaus Mettig ; de ce procédé apparaissent des visages hybrides, brouillant les frontières du genre jusqu’à rendre impossible toute distinction. Le travestissement acquiert ici une dimension politique et met en œuvre une réflexion sur la constitution du sujet, en suggérant la présence des deux genres en chaque individu, une expression de la perception de soi qui n’exclut pas l’autre. Cette série est exposée en 1974 à la Kunsthalle de Lucerne dans l’exposition d’avant-garde Transformer, Aspekte der Travestie, où la photographe est la seule artiste femme. Son image était déjà présente dans Life-Death (1969) – l’un de ses tout premiers films, tourné en 16 mm et présenté en 1972 à la Documenta 5 de Kassel –, où elle questionne les dimensions existentielles de son identité, en alliant son propre travestissement à celui d’une autre personne. K. Sieverding est, avec Martha Rosler, Valie Export, Carolee Schneeman et Ana Mendieta, l’une des premières artistes à avoir travaillé sur la perception du corps féminin et les identités de genre.

En 1976, elle part à New York pour participer au programme de l’Independent Study du Whitney Museum of American Art ; elle suit également des cours à la New School for Social Research et obtient un diplôme de sciences politiques et sociales en 1977. De retour en Allemagne dans les années 1980, elle reprend ses autoportraits des années 1960 et y insère d’anciens portraits dans de nouveaux agencements : elle se présente de face, en très gros plan, le visage rigide au regard figé, dans un bain de lumière rouge, parfois solarisée ; seuls le maquillage et les cheveux, lorsque le cadrage les rend visibles, modifient la composition de la photographie. Dans Die Sonne um Mitternacht schauen X/VI [regardant le soleil à minuit, 1988], son visage, au milieu d’une éruption solaire, est couvert de poussière d’or : l’artiste questionne ici notre perception de la réalité, en instaurant une distance avec le spectateur qui, malgré le face-à-face, empêche toute intimité possible.

En 1990, elle enseigne à Berlin à la Hochschule der Künste, puis à l’Universität der Künste. K. Sieverding est la première femme à recevoir, en 1996, le prix Lovis-Corinth. À la Biennale de Venise en 1997, elle présente Steigbilder I-IX, une réflexion sur les enjeux et l’avenir de l’humanité : radiographies au rayon X de crânes humains, diagrammes de séquençage du génome humain, mais aussi clichés de presse – soldats italiens en exercice lors de la mission Alba, rapatriement d’orphelins bosniaques à Sarajevo, incinération massive de bovins atteints de la maladie de la vache folle. Ces images, de très grand format, présentées sous forme de diptyque, triptyque ou même quadriptyque, sont transformées grâce aux techniques du numérique et de l’analogique. Au final, le spectateur ne peut guère déchiffrer leur contenu au premier regard. En 2004, le Museum of Modern Art PS 1 de New York accueille une rétrospective de son travail, intitulée Close up, qui présente principalement des autoportraits en plans très rapprochés.

Lire plus

Nathalie Ernoult

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Maton II 1, 1969-1996, impression couleur, acrylique, acier, miroir en cristal, 190 × 125 cm, collection particulière, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, 196 III, 1973, impression couleur, acrylique, acier, 380 x 612,4 cm, VG Bild-Kunst, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Stauffenbergblock I [Bloc de Stauffenberg I], 1969, impression couleur, acrylique, acier, 190,2 x 125 cm, VG Bild-Kunst, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Steigbild III [Image montante III], 1997, photographie, Städel Museum, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Testcut 01, 2012, technologie micro piézo, imprimantes cymboliques, 112 x 87 cm, collection particulière, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, Transformer, 1973-1974, cinq projections de diapositives numériques, couleur, silencieuses, MoMA, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Katharina  Sieverding — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Katharina Sieverding, XVII, 1980, impression couleur, acrylique, acier, 300 x 431,6 cm, VG Bild-Kunst, © Katharina Sieverding, © ADAGP, Paris

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29