Laura Aguilar

19592018 | Los Angeles, United States
Informations
Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Nature Self-Portrait #14, 1996, series, gelatin silver print, 40.64 x 50.8 cm, 16 x 20 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

American photographer.

“If you’re a person of color and take pride in yourself and your culture,” wrote Laura Aguilar in her 1993 photograph Don’t Tell Her Art Can’t Hurt Her (Part C), “and you use your art to give a voice, to show the positive, how do the bridges get built if the doors are closed to your voice and your vision?” Throughout her life L. Aguilar would grapple with this question of how to represent and document the often-unrepresented communities of which she was a part. An influential figure in the Chicanx and queer art worlds of Los Angeles, L. Aguilar became most known for confronting viewers with poignant images of nonconforming bodies and identities, which included self-portraits of herself as a large-bodied, working-class lesbian of Mexican descent. Through many of her series such as Latina Lesbians (1986-1990), Clothed/Unclothed (1990-1994), and Plush Pony (1992), L. Aguilar documented the queer, BLACK and BROWN, and working-class communities of Los Angeles through black-and-white portraits that positioned their embodiment as both vulnerable and celebratory.  
 
Laura Lee Aguilar was born in the San Gabriel Valley, east of Los Angeles, to a long ancestral maternal lineage that was at least five generations of native Californios. Rooted in the American Southwest landscape, this familial lineage would challenge and define what it meant for her to be Mexican, American or both in the 1980s, which is a struggle depicted in her series How Mexican Is Mexican (1990) and her landmark self-portrait Three Eagles Flying (1990). This struggle greatly impacted L. Aguilar’s vision as an artist interested in the complicated ways in which identity is mapped onto the body. Though L. Aguilar was largely self-taught due to a difficult relationship with the educational system, as her auditory dyslexia was not diagnosed until later in her life, she actively sought the mentorship of photographers Suda House (b. 1951), Judy Miranda (b. 1946), and Mei Valenzuela (b. 1945), all of whom taught at one point at the East Los Angeles College (ELAC), which L. Aguilar briefly attended. She would later establish friendships with photographers Judy Dater (b. 1941) and Joyce Tenneson (b. 1945), both of whom would mentor L. Aguilar and encourage her to expand on her burgeoning practice of nude portraiture, which she established by 1989 with one of her most celebrated works In Sandy’s Room. The black-and-white photograph is a self-portrait of the artist as a reclining nude, challenging normative conceptions of feminine beauty. In it L. Aguilar rests beneath an open window and directly in front of a fan, her feet up and a cold drink in hand. One can imagine she is resting from a sweltering summer. From the mid-1990s to early 2000s L. Aguilar would go on to explore her embodiment in relation to the American desert, where her bulging belly and natural dimples and folds would be perfectly mirrored by large boulders, stippled ground, and undulating creeks as seen in her series such as Nature Self-Portrait (1996) and Grounded (2006), amongst others.  
 

In 2017, a year prior to her untimely death, the Vincent Price Art Museum, located within ELAC’s campus, mounted Laura Aguilar: Show and Tell, the first comprehensive retrospective, which was accompanied by a catalogue including critical essays by esteemed artists, scholars and art historians paying respect to L. Aguilar’s brilliant artistic practice. Since then L. Aguilar’s work has seen a resurgence in interest through new exhibitions, scholarship and museum acquisitions.  


Read more

Ana Briz

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Don’t Tell Her Art Cant Hurt (part A), 1993, gelatin silver print, 144.78 x 101.6 cm, 57 x 40 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, In Sandy’s Room, 1989, gelatin silver print, 40.64 x 50.8 cm, 16 x 20 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Plush Pony #18, 1992, series, gelatin silver print, 27.94 x 35.56 cm, 11 x 14 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Nature Self-Portrait #14, 1996, series, black and white photography, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, At Home with the Nortes, 1990, gelatin silver print, Courtesy the artist and the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Three Eagles Flying, 1990, gelatin silver print, 61 x 50.8 cm, 24 x 20 in, J. Paul Guetty Museum Collection, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Judy, 1990, gelatin silver print, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Stillness #26, 1999, gelatin silver print, Courtesy of the Vincent Price Art Museum OR of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Laura Aguilar

19592018 | Los Angeles, Etats-Unis
Informations
Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Nature Self-Portrait #14 [Autoportrait dans la nature], 1996, série, tirage argentique, 40,64 x 50,8 cm, 16 x 20 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Photographe américaine.

Dans la partie C de son ouvrage photographique Don’t Tell Her Art Can’t Hurt [Ne lui dis pas que l’art ne peut pas la blesser, 1993], Laura Aguilar écrit : « Si vous êtes une personne de couleur, que vous êtes fier de vous-même et de votre culture, et que vous utilisez votre art comme porte-voix et pour mettre en avant le positif, alors comment construire des passerelles si votre voix et votre vision ne rencontrent que des portes fermées ? ». L. Aguilar s’est confrontée toute sa vie à cette question de la représentation et de la documentation des communautés dont elle a fait partie. En tant que figure influente des milieux artistiques Chicanx et queer de Los Angeles, elle est principalement connue pour ses représentations frontales de corps et d’identités anticonformistes, notamment dans des autoportraits qui mettent en avant son identité : lesbienne, grosse, issue des classes populaires d’origine mexicaine. Dans de nombreuses séries, telles que Latina Lesbians [Lesbiennes latinas, 1986-1990], Clothed/Unclothed [Habillée/Déshabillée, 1990-1994] et Plush Pony (1992), elle documente la vie des communautés populaires queer et racisées de Los Angeles dans des portraits en noir et blanc qui incarnent ces identités dans leurs aspects à la fois vulnérables et puissants.

Née dans la vallée de San Gabriel, à l’est de Los Angeles, Laura Lee Aguilar descend d’une longue lignée maternelle d’au moins cinq générations d’autochtones Californios. Enracinée dans le paysage du Sud-Ouest américain, cette lignée familiale remet en question et redéfinit ce que signifie être mexicain·e, états-unien·ne, ou les deux, dans les années 1980 – un questionnement qu’illustre sa série How Mexican Is Mexican [Quand est-on « assez » mexicain ?, 1990] et son autoportrait emblématique Three Eagles Flying [Trois aigles en vol, 1990]. Ce tiraillement influence profondément la vision de L. Aguilar en tant qu’artiste qui s’intéresse aux manières complexes dont l’identité est rattachée à l’apparence physique. Bien qu’autodidacte du fait de ses rapports conflictuels avec le système éducatif (sa dyslexie auditive ne sera diagnostiquée qu’à l’âge adulte), L. Aguilar est avide des conseils des photographes Suda Kay House (1951-), Judy Miranda (1946-) et Mei Valenzuela (1945-), dont elle suit brièvement les cours à l’East Los Angeles College (ELAC). Elle se lie ensuite d’amitié avec les photographes Judy Dater (1941-) et Joyce Tenneson (1945-), qui l’encouragent à approfondir sa pratique naissante du portrait de nu, avec laquelle elle s’impose en 1989 avec l’une de ses œuvres phares, In Sandy’s Room [Dans la chambre de Sandy]. Cet autoportrait en noir et blanc, qui remet en question les normes de la beauté féminine, représente l’artiste nue, étendue sous une fenêtre ouverte, pieds en l’air devant un ventilateur et boisson fraîche à la main, semblant profiter d’un moment de répit dans la chaleur accablante de l’été. De la moitié des années 1990 au début des années 2000, L. Aguilar explore la façon dont son corps s’incarne dans les paysages désertiques américains, où son ventre plein et les ondulations naturelles de sa peau entrent parfaitement en dialogue avec les formations rocheuses, le sol rugueux et les criques ondoyantes. C’est notamment le cas dans ses séries Nature Self-Portrait [Autoportrait dans la nature, 1996] et Grounded [Terre-à-terre, 2006].

En 2017, un an avant sa mort prématurée, le Vincent Price Art Museum, situé au sein du campus de l’ELAC, organise la première rétrospective complète de l’artiste, Laura Aguilar: Show and Tell, accompagnée d’un catalogue dans lequel des artistes, universitaires et historien·ne·s de l’art rendent hommage à sa pratique remarquable. Son œuvre connaît un regain d’intérêt ces dernières années avec de nouvelles expositions, des programmes de bourse et des acquisitions muséales.

Lire plus

Ana Briz

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Don’t Tell Her Art Cant Hurt (part A) [Ne lui dis pas que l’art peut la blesser (partie A)], 1993, tirage argentique, 144,78 x 101,6 cm, 57 x 40 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, In Sandy’s Room [Dans la chambre de Sandy], 1989, tirage argentique, 40,64 x 50,8 cm, 16 x 20 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Plush Pony #18, 1992, série, tirage argentique, 27,94 x 35,56 cm, 11 x 14 in, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Nature Self-Portrait #14 [Autoportrait dans la nature], 1996, série, photographie noir et blanc, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, At Home with the Nortes, 1990, tirage argentique, Courtesy the artist and the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Three Eagles Flying, 1990, tirage argentique, 61 x 50,8 cm, 24 x 20 in, Collection J. Paul Guetty Museum, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Judy, 1990, tirage argentique, © Laura Aguilar Trust of 2016

Laura  Aguilar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Laura Aguilar, Stillness #26, 1999, tirage argentique, Courtesy of the Vincent Price Art Museum OR of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29