Ladi Kwali

1925Kwali, Nigeria | 1984Minna, Nigeria
Informations

Nigerian potter.

Ladi Kwali first trained with her aunt in her village located in what is now the Kwali Area Council of the Nigerian Federal Capital Territory. Her talent was recognised early by the Emir of Abuja (now Suleja), Alhaji Suleiman Barau, who collected her pots for display in his palace where they caught the attention of the potter Michael Cardew (1901-1983) during his 1950 tour for his extensive report on pottery development for the Nigerian colonial government. After M. Cardew founded the Pottery Training Centre (PTC) in Abuja in 1952, L. Kwali became its first female trainee in December 1954. She completed her training in January 1959 and was employed at the centre.
Although M. Cardew taught her wheel-throwing, L. Kwali used the centre’s stoneware clay to create pots using the traditional free-hand modelling technique in which she was adept. She decorated them with poetically incised lines rendered in bands that left ample space in-between for her rendition of schematised figures of scorpions, fishes, birds, snakes, chameleons, crocodiles and lizards. The deeply incised lines were filled out with white porcelain body which glowed under dark celadon glazes after being glost-fired at high temperatures. Her use of new materials and firing techniques resulted in heavier and impervious pots that could no longer function as water storage pots with cooling properties. They had become fine art pieces. Patrons and audiences of the new pots had also shifted significantly, from the local to the international. The pots had acquired a new form of modernity, making L. Kwali the pioneer of an African ceramic art modernism.

She gained international visibility and admiration through exhibitions and practical demonstrations arranged principally by M. Cardew. These exhibitions included London exhibitions at the Berkeley Galleries in 1958, 1959 and 1962. In 1962 L. Kwali demonstrated in some British art schools, including the Royal College in London, and was also awarded an MBE. In 1963 the German porcelain manufacturer Rosenthal sponsored her demonstration tour of Rome and several cities in Germany. An earlier show of Abuja pottery in Lagos in July 1960 had drawn the attention of the Harmon Foundation. The foundation later collected L. Kwali’s works, one of which it entered on behalf of the Abuja Pottery for the Tenth International Exhibition of Ceramic Art in 1965 in Washington. Her large water jar won the silver prize at the event and is now in the collection of the Smithsonian Institution, in Washington.
In 1970 she received an honorary doctorate from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and in 1981 the Nigerian national honour – Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON). Her image adorns Nigeria’s twenty-naira note. Following her death in 1984, the Abuja pottery centre was named Dr Ladi Kwali Pottery Centre.

Read more

Ozioma Onuzulike

Publication made in the framework of the Season Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Pot, c. 1957, glazed stoneware,  © Victoria and Albert museum

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Mugs, c. 1960, layered white over brown or blue glazes, h. 13.5 cm, ø 9 cm, private collection

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Plat en grès, c. 1960, earthenware with an incised scorpion

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Water pot, 1958-59, ceramics, fiber art, ø 320mm, © Museum of New Zealand, Te Papa Tongarewa

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Hand-built pot, Large hand built pot with rim, incised and inlaid pattern in red slip with transparent glaze, ø 360mm, Courtesy of The Estate of Ladi Kwali_York Museums Trust via Wikimedia Commons

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Ladi Kwali

1925Kwali, Nigeria | 1984Minna, Nigeria
Informations

Potière nigériane.

Ladi Kwali apprend la poterie avec sa tante dans un village aujourd’hui situé dans la zone de gouvernement local de Kwali, dans le territoire de la capitale fédérale du Nigeria. Son talent est remarqué très tôt par l’émir d’Abuja (à présent Suleja) Alhaji Suleiman Barau, qui collectionne ses pots et les expose dans son palais, où ils attirent l’attention du céramiste Michael Cardew (1901-1983) au cours d’une étude approfondie du développement de la poterie qu’il mène pour le gouvernement colonial nigérian. M. Cardew fonde le Pottery Training Centre (PTC) à Abuja en 1952 et L. Kwali en devient la première élève femme en 1954. Elle achève sa formation en janvier 1959 puis est employée au centre.
Bien que M. Cardew lui ait appris à travailler au tour, L. Kwali préfère utiliser le grès du PTC pour créer des pots en recourant à la technique traditionnelle du colombin, qu’elle maîtrise à la perfection. Elle les décore de bandes de motifs linéaires, entre lesquelles elle place des représentations schématiques de scorpions, de poissons, d’oiseaux, de serpents, de caméléons, de crocodiles et de lézards. Elle remplit les lignes profondément incisées d’argile à porcelaine qui contraste avec la teinte plus sombre de l’émail au céladon cuit à haute température. Avec de nouveaux matériaux et techniques de cuisson, elle réalise des pots plus lourds et plus résistants qui ne peuvent plus servir de récipients à eau fraîche ordinaires, et deviennent de ce fait des œuvres d’art. Les acheteurs et le public, friands de ces pots différents, changent également et s’étendent de l’échelle locale à l’échelle internationale. Ses œuvres relèvent d’une nouvelle forme d’art et font de L. Kwali la pionnière de la céramique moderne en Afrique.

L. Kwali acquiert une visibilité et une reconnaissance mondiales grâce aux expositions organisées principalement par M. Cardew, parmi lesquelles les événements aux Berkeley Galleries à Londres en 1958, 1959 et 1962. En 1962, L. Kwali propose des démonstrations de poterie dans les écoles d’art britanniques, notamment au Royal College de Londres, à la suite desquelles elle est faite membre de l’ordre de l’Empire britannique. L’année suivante, la manufacture allemande de porcelaine Rosenthal finance d’autres démonstrations à Rome et dans plusieurs villes d’Allemagne. Une présentation de poterie Abuja à Lagos en juillet 1960 attire l’attention de la Harmon Foundation, qui se met à collectionner ses œuvres et en montre une en 1965 lors de la Tenth International Exhibition of Ceramic Art à la Smithsonian Institution à Washington. Sa grande jarre à eau obtient la médaille d’argent et est désormais conservée dans les collections de cette institution.
En 1970, L. Kwali reçoit un doctorat honorifique de l’université Ahmadu-Bello à Zaria. En 1981, elle est faite officière de l’ordre du Niger (OON) et apparaît désormais sur le billet nigérian de 20 nairas. Après sa mort en 1984, le centre de poterie d’Abuja est rebaptisé « Dr. Ladi Kwali Pottery Centre ».

Lire plus

Ozioma Onuzulike

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Publication réalisée dans le cadre de la Saison Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Pot, vers 1957, grès vernis, © Victoria and Albert museum

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Mugs, vers 1960, couches de vernis blanc, sur vernis marrons et bleus, h. 13,5 cm, ø 9 cm, collection particulière

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Plat en grès, vers 1960, poterie avec un scorpion incrusté

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Water pot, 1958-59, céramique, fibres, ø 320mm, © Museum of New Zealand, Te Papa Tongarewa

Ladi Kwali — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ladi Kwali, Hand-built pot, grand pôt à rebords, décors insisés et incrustés de feuillet rouge, vernis transparent, ø 360mm, Courtesy of The Estate of Ladi Kwali_York Museums Trust via Wikimedia Commons

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29