Maggie Laubser

1886Bloublommetjieskloof (Malmesbury region), South Africa | 1973Strand, South Africa
Informations

South African painter.

As the eldest of six children born to an Anglo-Flemish family from the Cape region of South Africa, Maggie Laubser was in no way destined for an artistic career. After providing her with a solid education, her parents intended for her to take over the family farm. However, she had other plans in mind and, after studying under the academic painter Edward Roworth, she joined the South African Society of Artists and moved to Cape Town. She started out painting commissioned landscapes and portraits in the 19th-century style her mentor had taught her. Her life took an important turn in 1913 when she met Jan Balwé, a retired Flemish consul, who offered to take her along with him on his trips to Europe. During her travels to London, Scotland, the Netherlands, Italy, and Germany, M. Laubser discovered the art of Vincent Van Gogh, Paul Gauguin, Paul Signac, and Wassily Kandinsky. Jan Toorop, Gustave De Smet, and Henri Matisse counted among her favourite painters. Encouraged by Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, she freed herself from the traditional aesthetic forms advocated in her home country and adopted an increasingly expressionist style.
From 1920 onwards, M. Laubser’s brushwork became more vigorous, more expressive, and her colours, applied in solid flat tints, became bolder and more vivid, featuring simple outlining. In doing so, she distanced herself from the local tone to give way to her own expressivity, with a view to conveying her emotions and to revealing the hidden essence of the world. M. Laubser was raised a strict Protestant, and further reinforced her religious commitment by joining the Christian Science Church. Her paintings Lake Scene with Cypress, Olive Trees and Sun’s Rays (1920-1921), and Lake with Sun behind Monte Pizzocolo (circa 1921-1924), with their brilliant sunlight bathing towering mountains and tall cypresses, are reminiscent of V. Van Gogh and give evidence of her mystical beliefs. One of the self-portraits she painted at the time (Self-Portrait, 1923-1924) fully adheres to the principles of Fauvism: her face is painted with angular features and shaped using areas of different colours, some of which, like the patch of green near the mouth and chin, are far-removed from realism. From K. Schmidt-Rottluff, she retained the choice of an intensely coloured palette and, even when using pastel shades in landscapes, the application of the paint in large horizontal bands.

Following J. Balwé’s death in 1921, M. Laubser returned to South Africa, where she pursued her career despite facing financial difficulties. Her painting, along with Irma Stern’s, was one of the first to combine modern European influences and local themes. In addition to an exaltation of the South African countryside, she painted portraits of black farmers. While the faces of her characters in scenes of labour are often symbolised by simple dark-coloured triangles, her individual portraits, most often of women, are strikingly expressive and their subjects precisely depicted. Although critics appreciated the compassion and humanity of her work, it remained underappreciated. It was only in 1946, when she received the honorary medal of the Academy of Arts and Science, that M. Laubser was officially recognised as one of the most remarkable artists of her country.

Read more

Marion Alluchon

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Annie of the Royal Bafokeng, 1945, oil on canvas, 50 x 45 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Portrait of a Man Berlin, c. 1923, oil on canvas, 59.5 x 47.5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Walker Bay from Onrus, 1922, 29 x 37cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Landscape with house and tree, 1920, oil on canvas, 40 x 50 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Self Portrait, 1928, oil on canvas, 47,5 x 34 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Basutoland Hills, undated, oil on canvas laid down on board, 40 x 50 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Portrait of a young girl wearing a mauve doek, undated, oil on board, 37.3 x 35 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Pastoral Landscape, undated, oil on board, 29.5 x 38 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Portrait of a woman, 1940, oil on board, 52.5 x 39.5 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Pink Blossoming Tree, undated, oil on cardboard, 34 x 40 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, The Old Shepherd, undated, oil on canvas, 55 x 49.5 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Scottish Landscaps with Lake and Mountains, 1916-1919, oil on canvas, 28.5 x 35 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Maggie Laubser

1886Bloublommetjieskloof (Région de Malmesbury), AFRIQUE DU SUD | 1973Strand, AFRIQUE DU SUD
Informations

Peintre sud-africaine.

Aînée d’une fratrie de six enfants, issue d’une famille anglo-flamande installée dans la région du Cap en Afrique du Sud, Maggie Laubser n’était en rien destinée à une carrière artistique. Après l’avoir dotée d’une bonne éducation, ses parents souhaitent qu’elle reprenne la direction de la ferme familiale. Mais, bientôt, elle étudie sous la direction du peintre académique Edward Roworth, intègre la South African Society of Artists et s’installe comme artiste dans la ville du Cap. Elle réalise alors des commandes, paysages et portraits, dans le style dix-neuvièmiste prêché par son professeur. En 1913, sa rencontre avec Jan Balwé, consul flamand à la retraite, change le cours de sa vie : il l’embarque avec lui dans ses nombreux voyages en Europe. Entre Londres, l’Écosse, les Pays-Bas, l’Italie et l’Allemagne, M. Laubser découvre l’art de Vincent Van Gogh, Paul Gauguin, Paul Signac et Wassily Kandinsky. Jan Toorop, Gustave De Smet et Henri Matisse comptent parmi ses peintres favoris. Au contact de Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, elle s’émancipe des esthétiques prônées dans sa patrie natale et adopte une facture de plus en plus expressionniste.
À partir de 1920, la touche de M. Laubser devient plus énergique, plus expressive, ses couleurs, posées en aplats, sont plus franches et plus vives et son dessin se simplifie : elle se défait du ton local pour laisser libre cours à sa propre expression. L’artiste souhaite à la fois traduire ses émotions et révéler l’essence cachée du monde. Élevée dans un protestantisme strict, elle renforce sa foi en rejoignant l’Église scientiste. Les tableaux Lake Scene with Cypress, Olive Trees and Sun’s Rays (1920-1921) ou Lake with Sun behind Monte Pizzocolo (vers 1921-1924), avec leurs éclatants soleils inondant une nature peuplée de hautes montagnes ou de hauts cyprès, évoquent les toiles de V. Van Gogh et témoignent de cette religiosité mystique. L’un des autoportraits qu’elle peint à la même époque (Self-Portrait, 1923-1924) se réclame quant à lui du fauvisme : marqué par des traits anguleux, son visage est modelé grâce à diverses zones colorées dont certaines, tel le vert près de la bouche et du menton, n’ont plus rien de réaliste. De K. Schmidt-Rottluff, elle retient notamment l’emploi d’une palette aux couleurs soutenues, même lorsqu’il s’agit de tons pastel et, pour les paysages, la répartition de ces couleurs en larges bandes horizontales.

Après le décès de J. Balwé en 1921, M. Laubser revient en Afrique du Sud où, malgré des difficultés financières, elle poursuit sa carrière. Sa peinture est l’une des premières, avec celle d’Irma Stern, à marier le style moderne européen avec des sujets locaux. À l’exaltation de la nature sud-africaine, traduite le plus souvent par une palette aux teintes douces et lumineuses, se mêlent des portraits de paysans noirs. Tandis que, dans les scènes de labeur, les visages des personnages sont régulièrement symbolisés par un triangle de couleur sombre unie, ses portraits individuels, de femmes souvent, sont saisissants d’expressivité et d’une précision plus documentaire. Bien que les critiques en apprécient la compassion et l’humanité, son œuvre, trop moderne, n’est guère appréciée. Ce n’est qu’en 1946, quand elle reçoit la médaille d’honneur de l’Académie des arts et des sciences, que M. Laubser est officiellement reconnue comme l’une des meilleures artistes de son pays.

Lire plus

Marion Alluchon

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Annie of the Royal Bafokeng, 1945, huile sur toile, 50 x 45 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Portrait of a Man Berlin, c. 1923, huile sur carton, 59,5 x 47,5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Walker Bay from Onrus, 1922, 29 x 37cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Landscape with house and tree, 1920, huile sur toile, 40 x 50 cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Self Portrait, 1928, huile sur toile, 47,5 x 34 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Basutoland Hills, non daté, huile sur toile posé sur carton, 40 x 50 cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Portrait of a young girl wearing a mauve doek, non daté, huile sur carton, 37,3 x 35 cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Pastoral Landscape, non daté, huile sur carton, 29,5 x 38 cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Portrait of a woman, 1940, huile sur carton, 52,5 x 39,5 cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Pink Blossoming Tree, non daté, huile sur carton, 34 x 40 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, The Old Shepherd, non daté, huile sur carton, 55 x 49,5 cm, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Maggie Laubser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maggie Laubser, Scottish Landscaps with Lake and Mountains, 1916-1919, huile sur toile, 28,5 x 35 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29