Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Irma Stern

1894Schweizer-Reneke, South Africa | 1966Cape Town, South Africa
Informations

South African painter.

“Ugliness as a cult” was one of the Cape Town public’s common critiques of Irma Stern’s work from the 1920s onwards. As a white artist working in South Africa, her particular style of “native study” and her inclination to paint black people and culture were inspired by European modernists and their fascination for “primitivism”. Indeed in 1919 she started a journal titled Paradise, which can be associated to Paul Gauguin’s work or her mentor Max Pechstein’s depictions of figures in nature in the North Pacific Sea. She often expressed her dismay at the unfolding impact of colonialism in southern Africa where what she considered to be the ideal African way of life was disappearing in favour of “modernisation” and urbanisation.
After the Second Boer War, her German-Jewish family returned to Germany, where she studied art in the 1910s. Stern was associated with German Expressionism but returned to Cape Town in 1920. She refused to return to Germany during the Nazi regime and instead visited Madeira, Senegal, Congo, Zanzibar, North Africa, Turkey, Spain and France, while also traveling extensively in South Africa.

Her use of dramatic, unrealistic, bold colours, stark contours, distorted forms and perspectives, flat motifs and free brushstrokes, are far removed from the typical academic painting in South Africa as represented for instance by Edward Roworth. She assembled a collection of artefacts (sculptures, fabrics, etc.) which appear in her still-life paintings and inspire her sculptures and elaborately carved wood and matting frames. Renowned for her portraits, such as The Watussi Chief’s Wife (1946), landscapes and graphic work, she also made ceramics. Her models go unnamed, as she appears more interested in the general rendering of certain ways of life or the picturesque motif, but the intensity of her stylisation and the vibrancy of her marking suggest a will to convey powerful and textured life forces rather than any pure ethnographic record. Some of her titles highlight her attention to the richness of African cultures, such as Swazi Girls, Xhosa Woman, Pondo Woman, The Fish God, Lake Kivu, Mangbetu, and the Jour du mouton, Tunis. Parallels are often made with the artist Maggie Laubser or with Constance Stuart Larrabee’s photographs in South Africa.

Stern was recognised for her artistic practice and exhibited in South Africa and in Europe from the 1940s on; her work was presented at the Venice Biennale several times in the 1950s, with particular focus in 1958. She was granted the Guggenheim Foundation National Award for South Africa in 1960. Having divorced to focus on her artistic practice, she lived most of her life in a house called The Firs in Rondebosch (Cape Town), which became the Irma Stern Museum in 1971.

Read more

Caroline Hancock

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Portrait of Freda Feldman in Basotho Hat, 1943, oil on canvas, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Zanzibar Woman, 1930, oil on canvas, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Two Arabs, 1939, oil on canvas, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Still life, 1936, oil on canvas, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Arab, 1939, oil on canvas, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Still-Life-with-Sunflowers, 1942, oil on canvas, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Malay girl, 1946, oil on canvas, 91 x 66 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Watussi-Dancers, oil on canvas, 92 x 97 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Irma Stern

1894Schweizer-Reneke, Afrique du Sud | 1966Le Cap, Afrique du Sud
Informations

Peintre sud-africaine.

« Un culte de la laideur » : voilà l’une des critiques les plus courantes que le public du Cap oppose à l’œuvre d’Irma Stern à partir des années 1920. En tant qu’artiste blanche, son style d’« études d’indigènes » et sa tendance à peindre les personnes noires et leur culture s’inspire des peintres modernes européens et de leur fascination pour le « primitivisme ». En effet, elle entame en 1919 la réalisation d’un journal intime intitulé Paradise [Paradis], et dont le contenu fait penser à l’œuvre de Paul Gauguin ou aux figures d’habitants des îles du Pacifique nord peintes par son mentor Max Pechstein. Elle exprime souvent sa consternation face à l’impact du colonialisme en Afrique du Sud, où ce qu’elle considère comme le mode de vie africain idéal disparaît sous l’effet de la « modernisation » et de l’urbanisation.
À l’issue de la Seconde Guerre des Boers, sa famille, d’ascendance juive-allemande, retourne en Allemagne, où elle étudie l’art au cours des années 1910. Elle y est associée au mouvement des expressionnistes allemands, mais revient cependant au Cap en 1920. Elle refuse de retourner en Allemagne sous le régime nazi et passe sa vie à voyager, notamment à Madère, au Sénégal, au Congo, à Zanzibar, au Maghreb, en Turquie, en Espagne et en France. Elle parcourt également l’Afrique du Sud.

Son usage de couleurs spectaculaires, vives et irréalistes, de contours nets, de formes et de perspectives déformées, de motifs plats et de traits de pinceau énergiques positionne son œuvre à l’opposé de la peinture académique sud-africaine de l’époque, à l’instar de celle d’Edward Roworth. Elle fait la collection d’artefacts divers (sculptures, tissus, etc.), qui apparaissent dans ses natures mortes et lui inspirent sculptures et cadres en bois taillé et nattage. Connue principalement pour ses portraits, notamment The Watussi Chief’s Wife [La Femme du chef Watussi] (1946), ses paysages et son travail d’illustration, elle réalise aussi des céramiques. Bien qu’elle ne nomme pas ses modèles, préférant s’intéresser davantage à la représentation de certains modes de vie ou motifs pittoresques, l’intensité de sa stylisation et la vivacité de sa facture témoignent de sa volonté de traduire une force vitale plutôt que de simples observations ethnographiques. On retrouve dans ses titres l’intérêt qu’elle porte à la diversité des cultures africaines : Swazi Girls [Jeunes filles Swazi], Xhosa Woman [Femme Xhosa], Pondo Woman [Femme Pondo], The Fish God [Le Dieu-poisson], Lake Kivu [Lac Kivu], Mangbetu, et Jour du Mouton, Tunis. Son œuvre est souvent comparée à celle de l’artiste Maggie Laubser ou aux photographies prises en Afrique du Sud par Constance Stuart Larrabee.

La qualité de son travail est reconnue dès les années 1940 et fait l’objet d’expositions en Afrique du Sud et en Europe. Il est également présenté à plusieurs reprises à la Biennale de Venise, notamment en 1958. La Fondation Guggenheim lui décerne son Prix National pour l’Afrique du Sud en 1960. Elle divorce pour pouvoir se concentrer sur sa pratique artistique et passe la plus grande partie de sa vie à The Firs, sa maison à Rondebosch (Le Cap), qui devient le Musée Irma Stern en 1971.

Lire plus

Caroline Hancock

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Portrait of Freda Feldman in Basotho Hat, 1943, huile sur toile, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Zanzibar Woman, 1930, huile sur toile, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Two Arabs, 1939, huile sur toile, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Still life, 1936, huile sur toile, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Arab, 1939, huile sur toile, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Still-Life-with-Sunflowers, 1942, huile sur toile, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Malay girl, 1946, huile sur toile, 91 x 66 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Irma Stern — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Irma Stern, Watussi-Dancers, huile sur toile, 92 x 97 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29