Browse by Themes

Women Artists and Environmental Issues
Feminisms and Other Engagements
15.05.2020 | Anaïs Roesch

Ursula Biemann, Forest Law, 2014, sync 2-channel, video essay, 38’, © Ursula Biemann

Nature has long been a source of inspiration and the subject of representation for artists. However, the major environmental crises of the twentieth century, such as climate change and the erosion of biodiversity, have challenged this approach, revealing its fragility. This increased awareness then transformed the relationship between visual artists and the landscape.

This shift took place in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. During an era marked by protest, many people began questioning the limits of art as it was practiced in the studio and exhibited in the museum. Artists left cities for large, open spaces where they could sculpt directly into the landscape. This is what would come to be called Land Art or Earth Art. At the same time, another movement, led mainly by women, called Ecological art was developing, of which Agnes Denes (b. 1931) was one of the pioneers. Amongst her best-known projects is Wheatfield – Confrontation (1982), located in an empty plot of land near the World Trade Center. She negotiated the right to grow and harvest wheat there, occupying the field in the middle of the city, estimated to be worth 4.5 billion dollars at the time, for four months. In response to the development of Land Art, which essentially expressed aesthetic and conceptual concerns, this work illustrates that eco-artists proposed a more urban, social and ethical practice. However, recognition of this trend came late, as it was overshadowed by the success of Land Art, which was concentrated around a few male figures and which erased the only woman in the movement, Nancy Holt (1938-2014), who was much less recognized than her colleagues and her husband Robert Smithson (1938-1973).

Since then, many female visual artists have taken up environmental issues in a variety of ways. Some, such as the French sculptor Marinette Cueco (b. 1934), are inspired by nature, working with vegetable and mineral materials in a spirit of frugality. Others, such as the Chinese artist Yin Xiuzhen (b. 1963) or Ursula Biemann (b. 1955) from Switzerland seek to denounce a situation or to raise awareness through their work. Others, such as Lucy Orta (b. 1966), propose solutions and imagine the world of tomorrow. Finally, some like Ana Mendieta (1948-1985), call for a spiritual and physical reconnection with the Earth.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

Les artistes femmes et les problématiques écologiques
Féminismes et autres engagements
15.05.2020 | Anaïs Roesch

Ursula Biemann, Forest Law, 2014, 2 canaux synchronisé, essai vidéo, 38’, © Ursula Biemann

La nature a, depuis longtemps, été une source d’inspiration et un objet de représentation pour les artistes. Cependant, les crises environnementales majeures du XXe siècle telles que le changement climatique ou encore l’érosion de la biodiversité ont mis à mal cette appréhension, révélant sa fragilité. Cette prise de conscience a alors transformé la relation des plasticien·ne·s au paysage.

Ce virage pris forme aux États-Unis dans les années 1960 et 1970. Dans une époque marquée par la contestation, nombreuses et nombreux sont celles et ceux qui interrogent les limites de l’art tel que pratiqué en atelier et exposé en musée. Les artistes quittent la ville pour les grands espaces où ils viennent sculpter directement dans le paysage. C’est ce qu’on appellera le Land Art et l’art in situ. Au même moment se développe un autre mouvement l’art écologique ou Eco Art, principalement porté par des artistes femmes et dont Ágnes Dénes (née en 1931) est l’une des pionnières. Parmi ses projets les plus connus figure Wheatfield, a Confrontation (1982), situé dans une parcelle libre du World Trade Center : elle négocie le droit d’y faire pousser puis de récolter du blé, occupant pendant quatre mois ce champ en pleine ville, estimé à l’époque à 4,5 milliards de dollars. Comme l’illustre cette œuvre, en réponse au développement du Land Art qui exprime essentiellement des préoccupations d’ordre esthétique et conceptuel, ces éco-artistes proposent une pratique plus urbaine, sociale et éthique. La reconnaissance de ce courant sera cependant tardive car éclipsée par le succès du Land Art – concentré autour de quelques figures masculines et ayant par ailleurs effacé la seule femme de ce mouvement, Nancy Holt (1938-2014), bien moins reconnue que ses collègues et son mari Robert Smithson (1938-1973).

Depuis, de nombreuses plasticiennes se saisissent des problématiques environnementales et ce dans des démarches très diversifiées. Certaines, comme la sculptrice française Marinette Cueco (née en 1934), s’inspirent de la nature en travaillant à partir de matériaux végétaux et minéraux dans un esprit de frugalité. D’autres telles que l’artiste chinoise Yin Xiuzhen (née en 1963) ou la suisse Ursula Biemann (née en 1955) cherchent à travers leurs œuvres, à dénoncer une situation ou susciter une prise de conscience. D’autres encore, comme Lucy Orta (née en 1966), proposent des solutions et imaginent le monde de demain. Certaines enfin, à l’instar d’Ana Mendieta (1948-1985), invitent à une reconnexion spirituelle et physique avec la Terre.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29