Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Teresa Burga

1935 | Iquitos, Peru
Informations

Peruvian visual artist.

Teresa Burga is a conceptual and media artist and a prolific draftswoman. From 1957 to 1965 she studied painting at the Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú. Between 1960 and 1962 she took an extended break from her studies to travel to Paris and London, accompanying her father, an admiral in the Peruvian navy, on his diplomatic mission as military attaché ta the Peruvian Embassy in Paris. T. Burga had her first solo exhibition, Lima imaginada [Lima imagined], in 1965 at the Galería Cultura y Libertad in Lima. From 1966 to 1968 she was associated with the group Arte Nuevo, mentored by the influential critic Juan Acha, which also included the artists Gloria Gómez-Sánchez (1921-2007), Luis Arias Vera (1932-2016), Armando Varela (born in 1933), Luis Zevallos Hetzel (born in 1933), Jaime Dávila (born in 1937), Emilio Hernández Saavedra (born in 1940), and José Tang (born in 1941). The group is credited with the introduction into the Peruvian art scene of neo-avant-garde currents, such as pop art, op art, and happenings. ln the mid-1960s T. Burga’s work focused on the dynamics of everyday urban life, especially on women in domestic situations. Simultaneously, her objects and installations manifested her interest in the removal of markers of an individual, expressive authorship, which she would sustain throughout her career. Awarded a Fulbright Fellowship, in 1968 T. Burga enrolled in a multidisciplinary program at the School of the Art lnstitute of Chicago, where she obtained her Master of Fine Arts in 1970.

During her studies in the United States she developed the bases for future conceptual projects, which would combine text-based instructions and diagrams as multimedia projections and sculptural objects. Alter her return to Peru in 1971, T. Burga realized two large-scale installations: Autorretrato. Estructura. Informe, 9.6.1972 [Self-portrait. Structure. Report, 9.6.1972] and Cuatro Mensajes [Four messages, 1974], both presented at the lnstituto Cultural Peruano Norteamericano in Lima. ln 1980 and 1981, at the urging of J. Acha, T. Burga collaborated with the French psychologist Marie-France Cathelat on a majar socio­anthropological study of young Peruvian women, which resulted in the exhibition and book Perfil de la mujer peruana [Profile of the Peruvian woman, 1981]. Alter her withdrawal from active participation in the art scene in the mid-1980s, T. Burga’s career was rejuvenated in the late 2000s with the renewed curatorial and scholarly interest in art of the 1960s. ln 2016 the Ministerio de Cultura recognized her contributions ta Peruvian culture by awarding her the Personalidad Meritoria de la Cultura. Her work is in many collections, including the Museo de Arte de Lima; Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires; Art lnstitute of Chicago; Sammlung Verbund Collection, Vienna; and Museum of Contemporary Art, Antwerp.

Read more

Dorota Biczel

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Cubes, 1968, set of 6 objects, painted plywood, variable dimensions, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, La Llamada [The Call], 1966, mixed media, collage and acrylic on Masonite, 122.5 x 91.5 cm, Courtesy Teresa Burga and Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Sin Titulo [Untitled], 1967, environment: painted plywood, painted bed sheet (cotton), painted bedspread (cotton, foam), sprung bed base (wood, metal), mattress (foam), curtain (cotton), 80 x 108 x 208 cm (bed), 383 x 280 cm (curtain), © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Sin titulo (Heartbeat recording and light), 1970, stylo à bille sur papier, 54.5 x 66.5 cm, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Untitled / Prismas (B), 1968-2013, set of 5 objects, painted plywood, variable dimensions, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Obra que desaparece cuando el espectador trata de acercarse [Work that disappears when the spectator tries to approach it], 1970-2017, ink on paper, installation with sensors and 400 light bulbs, variable dimensions, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Insomnia Drawing (37), 2000, black and red pen on paper, 28 x 33 x 3.2 cm, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Mano mal dibujada #1, 2012-2015, steel and nail varnish, 42 x 36 x 8.5 cm, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Cusco – Ollantaytambo, 2017, from the series Trajes tipicos peruanos, felt tip pen and ballpoint pen on paper, 21 x 29.7 cm, © Teresa Burga

Magazine
Linked article
Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Teresa Burga

1935 | Iquitos, Pérou
Informations

Plasticienne péruvienne.

Teresa Burga est une plasticienne et une artiste multimédia, ainsi qu’une dessinatrice prolifique. De 1957 à 1965, elle étudie la peinture à la Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú. Toutefois, entre 1960 et 1962, elle fait une longue pause dans ses études pour voyager à Paris et à Londres. Elle accompagne son père, amiral de la marine péruvienne, alors qu’il est attaché de défense auprès de l’ambassade péruvienne à Paris. T. Burga présente sa première exposition personnelle, Lima Imaginada [Lima imaginée], en 1965 à la Galería Cultura y Libertad à Lima. Entre 1966 et 1968, elle est associée au groupe Arte Nuevo, parrainé par l’influent critique Juan Acha, qui comprend des artistes comme Gloria Gómez-Sánchez (1921-2007), Luis Arias Vera (1932-2016), Armando Varela (né en 1933), Luis Zevallos Hetzel (né en 1933), Jaime Dávila (né en 1937), Emilio Hernández Saavedra (né en 1940) et José Tang (né en 1941). C’est à ce groupe que l’art péruvien doit l’introduction de courants de la néo-avant-garde, comme le pop art, l’op art et les happenings. Au milieu des années 1960, le travail de T. Burga se focalise sur les dynamiques du quotidien urbain, plus particulièrement sur les femmes dans l’espace domestique. En parallèle, ses objets et ses installations démontrent son intérêt pour l’effacement des marqueurs d’un individu, de son auctorialité expressive, intérêt qu’elle conservera tout au long de sa carrière. S’étant vu décerner une bourse Fulbright, T. Burga suit un cursus pluridisciplinaire à la School of the Art Institute of Chicago, où elle obtient une maîtrise d’arts appliqués (Master of Fine Arts) en 1970.

C’est au cours de ce séjour universitaire aux États-Unis qu’elle élabore les bases de ses futurs projets conceptuels, qui combinent des instructions textuelles et des schémas à partir desquels elle crée des projections multimédias et des objets sculpturaux. À son retour au Pérou en 1971, T. Burga réalise deux installations à grande échelle : Autorretrato. Estructura. Informe, 9.6.1972 [Autoportrait. Structure. Rapport, 9.6.1972, 1972] et Cuatro Mensajes [Quatre messages, 1974], toutes deux présentées à l’Instituto Cultural Peruano Norteamericano de Lima. En 1980 et 1981, poussée par J. Acha, T. Burga collabore, avec la psychologue française Marie-France Cathelat, à une étude socio-anthropologique majeure sur les jeunes Péruviennes, qui aboutit à l’exposition et au livre Perfil de la Mujer Peruana [Profil de la femme péruvienne, 1981]. Après le retrait de T. Burga de la scène artistique dans les années 1980, sa carrière trouve un nouvel élan à la fin des années 2000, alors que l’art des années 1960 recommence à susciter l’intérêt des conservateurs et conservatrices, ainsi que celui des universitaires. En 2016, le ministère de la Culture péruvien reconnaît sa contribution à la production artistique du pays en lui attribuant la distinction Personalidad Meritoria de la Cultura (personnalité méritoire de la culture). Son travail est exposé dans de nombreuses collections, dont celles du Museo de Arte de Lima, du Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires, de l’Art Institute de Chicago, de la Sammlung Verbund Collection à Vienne et du musée d’Art contemporain d’Anvers.

Lire plus

Dorota Biczel

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Cubes, 1968, set of 6 objects, bois contreplaqué peint, dimensions variables, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, La Llamada [L’Appel], 1966, techniques mixtes, collage et acrylique sur Isorel, 122,5 x 91,5 cm, Courtesy Teresa Burga et Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Sin Titulo [Sans Titre], 1967, environnement : bois contreplaqué peint, drap de lit peint (coton), dessus de lit peint (coton, mousse), sommier à ressorts (bois, métal), matelas (mousse), rideau (coton), 80 x 108 x 208 cm (lit), 383 x 280 cm (rideau), © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Sin titulo (Heartbeat recording and light), 1970, stylo à bille sur papier, 54,5 x 66,5 cm, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Untitled / Prismas (B), 1968-2013, lot de 5 objets, bois contreplaqué peint, dimensions variables, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Obra que desaparece cuando el espectador trata de acercarse [Travail qui disparaît lorsque le spectateur tente de s’approcher], 1970-2017, encre sur papier, installation avec capteurs et 400 ampoules, dimensions variables, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Insomnia Drawing (37), 2000, crayon noir et rouge sur papier, 28 x 33 x 3,2 cm, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Mano mal dibujada #1, 2012-2015, acier et vernis à ongles, 42 x 36 x 8,5 cm, © Teresa Burga

Teresa Burga — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Teresa Burga, Cusco – Ollantaytambo, 2017, issue de la série Trajes tipicos peruanos, feutre et stylo à bille sur papier, 21 x 29,7 cm, © Teresa Burga

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29