Marie Cazin

1844Paimbœuf, France | 1924Équihen-Plage, France
Informations

French painter and sculptor.

Marie Cazin was born to a family of artists: her father was painter and draughtsman Louis Claude Aristide Guillet (1820-1881) and her mother Clarice Marie Brault (1820-after1882). She studied with Juliette Peyrol Bonheur (1830-1891), the sister of Rosa Bonheur (1822-1899), at the École de Dessin de Paris, then with painter Jean-Charles Cazin (1841-1901), whom she married in 1868. The year they married, J.-C. Cazin was appointed curator of the Musée des Beaux-Arts and professor in Tours, where the couple lived until the start of the war in 1870.
From late 1870 to 1875 M. Cazin lived in England with her husband, joining French sculptors Alphonse Legros (1837-1911) and Jules Dalou (1838-1902). During her stay there she learnt ceramics and worked at the Fulham Pottery near London. In the winter of 1876 the couple travelled to Italy and, after a short stay in Boulogne-sur-Mer, settled in Antwerp, where J.-C. Cazin enrolled in the Royal Academy of Fine Arts. Between 1883 and 1888 M. Cazin spent time with her sister Célie-Caroline Guillet (1857-unknown), a fellow artist who married British painter Arthur Heseltine (1855-1930) and lived in artists’ colonies in Grez-sur-Loing and Fontainebleau. She may also have travelled to Algeria, since she exhibited glazed earthenware Âne d’Algérie [Algerian donkey] at the Salon des Peintres Orientalistes Français in 1899.

Exhibited regularly between 1876 and 1914, M. Cazin’s paintings and sculptures show the influence of her social commitment and private life. Several of her pieces demonstrate her preoccupation with the status of women in their most unassuming roles. This is the case in her paintings Oubliées [The forgotten women, 1890] and Vie Obscure [Obscure life, 1901], as well as in her 1893 bronze bas-reliefs L’Étude (or L’École [Study, or School]) and La Charité (or Visite à l’accouchée [Charity, or Visit to the new mother]).
As the sister-in-law of Dr Henri Cazin, a specialist of children’s bone diseases, she created a monument to doctors Cazin and Perrochaud in Berck (1893), which depicted personifications of Science and Charity dressing a young boy’s wound. Her ties to the Adam and Perrochaud families also led her to design monuments for their tombs in Outreau and Boulogne-sur-Mer. She also made several busts and statues in memory of her husband, as well as the monumental ensemble for his tomb at the Bormes-les-Mimosas Cemetery, in the Var region of France.

After her husband’s death, M. Cazin had to work in order to keep her Parisian studio, taking commissions for decorative pieces for a nursing school (1910) and tapestry cartoons for the Gobelins manufacture (Diana, 1912; Venus, 1913). She spent the last years of her life in her house and studio in the coastal village of Équihen-Plage, Pas-de-Calais.
Thanks to state acquisitions, M. Cazin’s works are prominently featured in a few French museums, including a bust of a young boy, David (1883), in Roubaix and the group Jeunes filles [Young girls, 1886] in Saint-Quentin. Thanks also to a large donation from her sister, since 1925 several sculptures and canvases have been in the collection of the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Tours.

Read more

Anne Rivière

Translated from French by Anne Rivière.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, David, c. 1883, buste en bronze, 37 x 35 x 19.5 cm, on deposit at the Musée d’Art et d’Industrie André Diligent – La Piscine, Roubaix, © photo: Arnaud Loubry

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Jeunes filles, 1886, 70 x 58 x 40 cm, bronze, musée Antoine Lécuyer, Saint-Quentin, © Dufrêne

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Stone Yard Old Houses in Paris France, 45 x 55 cm, Russell Cotes Art Gallery   Museum United Kingdom

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Les Oubliées, 1890, oil on canvas, 183 x 132 cm, © musée des beaux-arts de Tours

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Faubourgs d’Abbeville, before 1924, oil on canvas,  22.7 x 33.7 cm, Sheffield Galleries and Museums Trust

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Evening, oil on panel, 15 3/8 x 18 ½ in., 46.7 x 46.99 cm, private collection

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Étude de femme, scketch, 58 x 48 cm, © musée des beaux-arts de Tours

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Marie Cazin

1844Paimbœuf, France | 1924Équihen-Plage, France
Informations

Peintre et sculptrice française.

Marie Cazin naît dans une famille d’artistes : ses parents sont Louis Claude Aristide Guillet (1820-1881), peintre et dessinateur, et Clarice Marie Brault (1820-ap. 1882). Elle est d’abord élève de Juliette Peyrol (1830-1891), sœur de Rosa Bonheur (1822-1899), à l’École de dessin de Paris, puis élève du peintre Jean-Charles Cazin (1841-1901), qu’elle épouse en 1868. L’année de leur mariage, J.-C. Cazin est nommé conservateur du musée des Beaux-Arts et professeur à Tours. Le couple y demeure jusqu’à la guerre de 1870.
De fin 1870 à 1875, M. Cazin est en Angleterre avec son mari, où ils ont rejoint les sculpteurs français Alphonse Legros (1837-1911) et Jules Dalou (1838-1902). C’est durant ce séjour qu’elle s’initie à la céramique et travaille pour la Fulham Pottery dans la banlieue de Londres. Puis, durant l’hiver 1876, le couple voyage en Italie et, après un court séjour à Boulogne-sur-Mer, s’installe à Anvers où J.-C. Cazin s’inscrit comme élève à l’Académie royale des beaux-arts. Entre 1883 et 1888, M. Cazin fait plusieurs séjours auprès de sa sœur Célie-Caroline Guillet (1857-inc.), qui, artiste elle aussi et épouse du peintre britannique Arthur Heseltine (1855-1930), appartient à la colonie d’artistes de Grez-sur-Loing et Fontainebleau. Peut-être a-t-elle aussi fait un séjour en Algérie puisqu’elle expose un Âne d’Algérie en grès vernissé au Salon des peintres orientalistes français de 1899.

Exposées régulièrement entre 1876 et 1914, les peintures et sculptures de M. Cazin portent l’empreinte de ses engagements sociaux mêlés à sa vie privée. Plusieurs de ses œuvres manifestent sa préoccupation du statut des femmes dans leurs rôles les plus modestes. Il en est ainsi des tableaux Oubliées (1890) ou Vie obscure (1901), ou encore des bas-reliefs en bronze (1893) intitulés L’Étude (ou L’École) et La Charité (ou Visite à l’accouchée).
Belle-sœur du docteur Henri Cazin, spécialiste des maladies osseuses des enfants, elle est l’autrice du Monument aux docteurs Cazin et Perrochaud à Berck (1893), figurant la Science et la Charité pansant un jeune garçon. En raison de liens avec les familles Adam et Perrochaud, elle est aussi créatrice de monuments destinés aux sépultures de ces familles à Outreau et Boulogne-sur-Mer. À la mémoire de son mari, outre plusieurs bustes et statues le représentant, elle exécute l’ensemble monumental érigé sur sa tombe au cimetière de Bormes-les-Mimosas, dans le Var.

Après le décès de son mari, et pour garder son atelier parisien, M. Cazin répond à des commandes de créations décoratives pour une école d’infirmières (1910) ou de cartons pour des tapisseries des Gobelins (Diane, 1912 ; Vénus, 1913). Elle vit ses dernières années retirée dans sa maison-atelier, dans le village côtier d’Équihen-Plage, dans le Pas-de-Calais.
Grâce à des acquisitions de l’État, des œuvres de M. Cazin figurent en bonne place dans quelques musées français, comme un buste de jeune garçon intitulé David (1883) à Roubaix ou le groupe Jeunes filles (1886) à Saint-Quentin. Grâce aussi à un don important de sa sœur, plusieurs sculptures et tableaux sont conservés au musée des Beaux-Arts de Tours depuis 1925.

Lire plus

Anne Rivière

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, David, vers 1883, buste en bronze, 37 x 35 x 19,5 cm, en dépôt au Musée d’Art et d’Industrie André Diligent – La Piscine, Roubaix, © photo : Arnaud Loubry

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Jeunes filles, 1886, 70 x 58 x 40 cm, bronze, musée Antoine Lécuyer, Saint-Quentin, © Dufrêne

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Stone Yard Old Houses in Paris France, 45 x 55 cm, Russell Cotes Art Gallery Museum United Kingdom

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Les Oubliées, 1890, huile sur toile, 183 x 132 cm, © musée des beaux-arts de Tours

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Faubourgs d’Abbeville, avt 1924, huile sur toile,  22,7 x 33,7 cm, Sheffield Galleries and Museums Trust

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Evening, huile sur panneau, 46,7 x 46,99 cm, collection particulière

Marie Cazin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Cazin, Étude de femme, esquisse, 58 x 48 cm, © musée des beaux-arts de Tours

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29