Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marie Laurencin

18831956 | Paris, France
Informations
Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin in 1924, possibly photographed by Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), Archives Charmet

French painter.

Born out of wedlock, Marie Laurencin’s Creole mother ensured that she had a middle-class education. She, however, chose to devote herself to art and enrolled in the Ecole de Manufacture de Sèvres (a state-run porcelain factory), where she learned to paint on porcelain. While continuing to value and practice the decorative arts, she also learned fine art painting through private classes at l’Academie Humbert in Paris starting in 1904. There, she met Francis Picabia, and more importantly Georges Braque, who introduced her to Pablo Picasso and members of his circle. A regular at the Bateau-Lavoir, she was romantically involved with the writer Guillaume Apollinaire between 1907 and 1912 (Apollinaire and friends, a country gathering, oil on canvas, Musée national d’Art moderne, Paris, 1909). Although her work is situated on the fringes of Cubism, Laurencin regularly exhibited with the Cubists, including at the Salon des indépendants and with the “Section d’Or” at the Galérie La Boétie in 1912; also in 1912, she participated in the decoration of the maison cubiste by Duchamp-Vilion and André Mare, exhibited at the Salon d’automne. In June 1914, she married the Francophile German painter Otto von Watjen, and soon after had to flee to Spain following the declaration of war. Traveling between Madrid and Barcelona, she collaborated with Picabia at the magazine 391. After traveling through Dusseldorf, she returned to Paris on her own in 1921, after which she enjoyed a period of great success.

Represented by the dealer Paul Rosenberg in Paris since 1913, and by Alfred Flechtheim in Berlin, she exhibited regularly, sold many pieces, and received numerous commissions. Portrait de la baronne Gourgeaud à la mantille noire (MNAM, Paris, 1923), Portrait de Mlle Chanel (Musée de l’Orangerie, Paris, 1923): many important personalities of the interwar period wanted their portraits painted by Laurencin. Her work is primarily influenced by Matisse’s style and the sincerity of Douanier Rousseau. As for Cubism, to which she would forever be linked, she borrowed the simplification of forms and the abandonment of the model, painting instead flattened figures in a nearly perspective-free space, as in the mise-en-scene of Apollinaire et ses amis. After this work, however, she seemed to withdraw from the group, and her work from the interwar period only serves to strengthen this impression. Her paintings, which mostly represents young adolescents, women, and children, are imprinted with a grace considered entirely feminine by the critics of the time, which the painter did not deny. With pastel tints, and delicate features, she created an idealized figure of femininity similar to her contemporary Jaqueline Marval, with whom she shared her first exhibit at the gallery of Berthe Weill (1865-1951) in 1908. These paintings of women were not, however, a simple representation of an atemporal gilded age; they were particularly representative of the liberated woman of the 1920s. Lesbian overtones were not absent from her work, particularly in her portraits of Nicole Groult (1887-1967), the sister of Paul Poiret, with whom the artist had a romantic affair during her exile in Spain: Femmes à la colombe, Marie Laurencin et Nicole Groult (à la colombe) (Paris, MNAM, 1919). In addition to painting, the artist also produced engravings and works of decorative art. She created, over the course of her career, more than 300 engravings and illustrated many books.

In 1923, she created the sets and costumes for the Russian Diaghilev ballet’s production of Les Biches, illustrated a booklet by her friend Jean Cocteau, and created other works for the stage through the end of the 1920’s. She also taught, starting in 1933, at l’Académie du XVIe in Paris, founded by the engraving master Jean Émile Laboureur. Her production in the 1930’s and 40’s was somewhat repetitive. Starting in the 1990s, her work starting attracting new interest, mostly due to her success in Japan, which saw in her work not only a feminine grace but a distinctly French one. In 1983, a museum dedicated to Marie Laurencin was created in Tateshina.

Read more

Marie Gispert

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Le poète Guillaume Apollinaire et ses amis, 1909, oil on canvas, 1.30 X 1.94 m, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Tête de femme, 1909, 34.8 x 26.8 cm, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, La songeuse, 1910, oil on canvas, 91 x 73 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Femmes au chien, 1924, 80 x 100 cm, oil on canvas, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, La princesse de Clèves, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Les biches, 1924, oil on canvas, 73 x 92 cm, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Portrait de Mademoiselle Chanel, 1923, oil on canvas, 92 x 73 cm, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Portrait de Madame Paul Guillaume, 1928, oil on canvas, 92 x 73 cm, © Photo: Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marie Laurencin

18831956 | Paris, France
Informations
Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin en 1924, probablement photographiée par Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), Archives Charmet

Peintre française.

Enfant naturelle, Marie Laurencin reçoit de sa mère, d’origine créole, une éducation petite-bourgeoise. Elle choisit néanmoins de se consacrer à l’art et s’inscrit en 1902 à la Manufacture de Sèvres, où elle apprend la peinture sur porcelaine. Tout en continuant à apprécier et à pratiquer les arts décoratifs, elle se forme également à la peinture en suivant les cours privés de l’académie Humbert à Paris en 1904. Elle y rencontre Francis Picabia, mais surtout Georges Braque qui la présente à Pablo Picasso et aux membres de son cercle. Familière du Bateau-Lavoir, la jeune femme entretient entre 1907 et 1912 une relation amoureuse avec Guillaume Apollinaire (Apollinaire et ses amis. Une réunion à la campagne, huile sur toile, musée national d’Art moderne, Paris, 1909). Bien que ses œuvres la situent plutôt aux marges des cubistes, elle participe régulièrement à leurs expositions : c’est avec eux qu’elle est présentée au Salon des indépendants; elle expose avec la Section d’or à la galerie La Boétie en 1912 et participe, durant la même année, à la décoration de la « maison cubiste » de Duchamp-Villon et d’André Mare, présentée au Salon d’automne. En juin 1914, elle épouse le peintre allemand francophile Otto von Wätjen et doit, dès la déclaration de guerre, fuir vers l’Espagne. Voyageant entre Madrid et Barcelone, elle collabore avec F. Picabia à la revue 391. Après un passage par Düsseldorf, elle rentre seule à Paris en 1921. Commence alors pour elle une période de grand succès.

Représentée depuis 1913 à Paris par le marchand Paul Rosenberg et à Berlin par Alfred Flechtheim, elle expose régulièrement, vend beaucoup et reçoit de nombreuses commandes. Portrait de la baronne Gourgeaud à la mantille noire (MNAM, Paris, 1923), Portrait de Melle Chanel (musée de l’Orangerie, Paris, 1923) : nombreuses sont les personnalités de l’entre-deux-guerres qui se font portraiturer par la peintre. L’œuvre de M. Laurencin est d’abord influencée par la ligne matissienne et la sincérité du Douanier Rousseau. Au cubisme auquel on la rattache ensuite, elle emprunte la simplification des formes et l’abandon du modelé, proposant des figures aplanies dans un espace quasiment sans perspective, comme le montre la mise en scène d’Apollinaire et ses amis. Dès cette œuvre cependant, elle apparaît un peu en retrait du groupe, et son œuvre de l’entre-deux-guerres ne fait que confirmer cette impression. Ses peintures, qui représentent essentiellement de jeunes adolescentes, des femmes et des enfants, sont en effet empreintes d’une grâce considérée comme toute féminine par les critiques de l’époque, ce que la peintre ne renie pas. Par des teintes pastel, des traits délicats, elle propose une figure idéalisée de la féminité, à l’image de sa contemporaine Jacqueline Marval, avec qui elle avait partagé sa première exposition chez Berthe Weill (1865-1951) en 1908. Ces peintures de femmes ne sont cependant pas la simple représentation d’un âge d’or atemporel : elles sont une certaine image de la femme libérée des années 1920. Les connotations lesbiennes ne sont pas absentes de ses œuvres, surtout celles qui représentent Nicole Groult (1887-1967), sœur de Paul Poiret, avec qui l’artiste entretient une relation intime lors de son exil en Espagne : Femmes à la colombe. Marie Laurencin et Nicole Groult (à la colombe) (Paris, MNAM, 1919). Outre la peinture, l’artiste produit également des gravures et des travaux d’arts décoratifs. Elle réalise au cours de sa vie plus de 300 gravures et illustre de nombreux livres.

En 1923, elle réalise les costumes et le décor pour Les Biches des Ballet russes de Diaghilev, sur un livret de son ami Jean Cocteau, et propose plusieurs autres travaux pour la scène jusqu’à la fin des années 1920. Elle enseigne également à partir de 1933 à l’Académie du XVIe à Paris, fondée par le maître en gravure Jean Émile Laboureur. Ses productions des années 1930 et 1940 sont cependant parfois répétitives. Depuis les années 1990, son œuvre fait l’objet d’un regain d’intérêt, notamment grâce à son succès au Japon qui voit dans ses œuvres des années d’entre-deux-guerres une grâce non seulement féminine mais toute française. En 1983, un musée Marie Laurencin a d’ailleurs été fondé à Tateshina.

Lire plus

Marie Gispert

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Le poète Guillaume Apollinaire et ses amis, 1909, huile sur toile, 1,30 X 1,94 m, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Tête de femme, 1909, 34,8 x 26,8 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, La songeuse, 1910, huile sur toile, 91 x 73 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Femmes au chien, 1924, 80 x 100 cm, huile sur toile, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, La princesse de Clèves, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Les biches, 1924, huile sur toile, 73 x 92 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Portrait de Mademoiselle Chanel, 1923, huile sur toile, 92 x 73 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Marie Laurencin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Laurencin, Portrait de Madame Paul Guillaume, 1928, huile sur toile, 92 x 73 cm, © Photo : Josse/Leemage, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29