Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mary Evans

1963 | Lagos, Nigeria
Informations
Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Mary Evans, © Photo: Tuane Eggers

Sponsor
— Tiwani Contemporary

British-Nigerian visual artist.

Mary Evans was born in Lagos and has lived in London ever since she moved there with her family in the late 1960s. She was raised in North East London, where she went to school with children from mixed backgrounds, from Irish to African-Caribbean to Indian. She has said, “what brought us together was our immigrant status”. While history lessons from primary to secondary school taught her very little about the relationships between the British Empire and its colonies, her studies at the Rijksakademie (Amsterdam) and Goldsmiths College (London) enabled her later to develop an artistic practice driven by historical research. M. Evans is interested in understanding how modern Britain’s social, cultural and political dynamics are products of its imperial past. Her work echoes her own childhood and life (the experience of losing both a language and a set of mental and physical cultural references) and in doing so becomes a medium through which she evokes the thwarted paths men and women travel before they eventually settle. It tells the story of what happens to these men and women during their journeys and what they are forced to learn or relearn; what they choose to remember or forget; and how their lives are always irreversibly transformed.

These evocations come in a very distinctive form in the work of M. Evans: cutouts of silhouettes and pictograms, most often in plain brown kraft paper, which she then arranges in site-specific installations made to adapt to the public’s perambulations. The piece Thousands Are Sailing (2016), for instance, was presented at Ireland’s EVA International Biennial in 2016: this vast figurative mural installation comprises several episodes that borrow from the historical painting genre, and is made out of kraft paper – a material which also serves as a metaphor for the insignificant and discardable nature of the lives the work depicts.

The imagery M. Evans chooses is replete with signs, symbols, and pictograms taken from popular culture and, as such, seeks to transform simple forms into “metaphorical tools” – the artist has described this process as the creation of a “visual Esperanto”. The motif becomes a leitmotiv – her works almost always stem from a pre-existing architectural structure, each of them possessing a formal logic composed of an imbrication of several series of nesting motifs. However, while pure motif lies at the heart of her artistic exploration, M. Evans espouses an aesthetic that goes beyond the ornamental, or rather which uses the ornamental to reveal the historical, architectural or social foundations of the sources and spaces she works with (for instance, she was commissioned pieces from a hospital and a drug rehabilitation centre). Although she primarily uses paper and cutouts, she has also been known to take an interest in other materials and techniques, insofar as they are linked to forms of craftsmanship and allow for the production of plain imagery. She has also worked with stencils (in the series Mirror Images [2012-2013], a gallery of facing twin profiles in various shades of coloured ink), artisanal printing, collage, and stamping. M. Evans says she enjoys working “at the intersection of fine art and crafts, of art and decoration”, always with a view to improving her storytelling.

Read more

Eva Barois De Caevel

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Thousands Are Sailing, 2016, installation view Mary Evans and Hera Buyuktasciyan : Still (the) Barbarians, EVA International – Ireland’s Biennial, Limerick, © Mary Evans, © Photo: M. O’Connor

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Scope, 2001, installation view, Café Gallery Projects, London, 2001, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Recollection, 2011-2012, installation view, BIAC Martinique, Fort-de-France, Martinique, 2013, © Mary Evans, © Photo: R. Abudu

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Recollection, 2011-2012, installation view, BIAC Martinique, Fort-de-France, Martinique, 2013, © Mary Evans, © Photo: R. Abudu

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Held, 2012, installation view Mary Evans: Cut and Paper, Tiwani Contemporary, London, 2012, Courtesy Tiwani Contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Gingerbread, 2012, installation view Mary Evans: Cut and Paper, Tiwani Contemporary, London, 2012, Courtesy Tiwani Contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Tableau Vivant, 2017, unknown technique, Courtesy Tiwani contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Tableau Vivant, 2017, unknown technique, Courtesy Tiwani contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Please Do Not Bend 4, 2015, Manila envelope, paper, ink, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Please Do Not Bend 9, 2015, Manila envelope, paper, ink, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, The Atlantic Triangle, 2018, installation view, 11th Mercosul Visual Arts Biennial, Porto Alegre, 2018, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, The Atlantic Triangle, 2018, installation view, 11th Mercosul Visual Arts Biennial, Porto Alegre, 2018, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Meditations, installation view, Baltimore Museum of Art, Baltimore, © Photo: M. Hood, © Mary Evans

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mary Evans

1963 | Lagos, Nigeria
Informations
Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Mary Evans, © Photo : Tuane Eggers

Soutien
— Tiwani Contemporary

Artiste plasticienne nigériane et anglaise.

Née à Lagos, Mary Evans réside aujourd’hui à Londres où sa famille est venue vivre à la fin des années 1960. Enfant du nord-ouest londonien, elle a pour camarades de classe des Irlandais, des Africains-Caribéens et des Indiens et, comme elle l’explique : « ce qui nous unissait tous était notre statut d’immigrants ». Si les leçons d’histoire entendues depuis l’école primaire jusqu’au lycée lui en apprennent peu sur les rapports entre l’Empire britannique et ses colonies, sa pratique artistique – après des études accomplies notamment à la Rijksakademie (Amsterdam) et au Goldsmiths College (Londres) – s’épanouira avec la recherche historique pour moteur. M. Evans veut comprendre comment les dynamiques sociales, culturelles et politiques de l’Angleterre moderne sont, à bien des égards, des héritages de son passé impérial. Son travail, faisant écho à son enfance et à son propre parcours (l’expérience de la perte d’une langue, de repères culturels mentaux et physiques), devient le lieu où évoquer les chemins contrariés que des hommes et des femmes empruntent avant de s’établir quelque part ; il témoigne de ce qui arrive à ces hommes et à ces femmes au cours de ces périples, de ce qu’ils sont forcés d’apprendre, de réapprendre, de ce qu’ils choisissent de se remémorer ou d’oublier, et montre à quel point ils sont toujours irrémédiablement transformés.

Dans les créations de l’artiste, ces évocations prennent forme par le moyen d’une imagerie caractéristique : des silhouettes et des pictogrammes découpés à la main, le plus souvent dans du papier kraft, laissé brut, et mis en scène, par la suite, dans des installations in situ qui tiennent compte de la déambulation du public. Citons Thousands Are Sailing (2016), pièce présentée lors de la Biennale d’Irlande en 2016 : cette vaste installation murale figurative, en plusieurs épisodes, emprunte au genre de la peinture d’histoire et est réalisée en papier kraft. Ce matériau devient aussi métaphore du caractère négligeable et sacrifiable des vies dont il est question dans cette œuvre.

L’imagerie choisie par M. Evans, faite de signes, de symboles et de pictogrammes issus de la culture populaire, vise ainsi à transformer des formes simples en « outils métaphoriques » ; l’artiste parle de créer un « espéranto visuel ». Le motif est un leitmotiv : ses pièces naissent presque toujours d’une structure architecturale préexistante, chacune d’entre elles possédant une logique formelle à l’intérieur de laquelle vivent plusieurs séries de motifs que l’on pourrait qualifier de gigognes. Cependant, si le pur motif est au cœur de ses recherches, M. Evans défend une esthétique qui va au-delà de l’ornemental, ou plutôt qui recourt à l’ornemental pour révéler l’historique, l’architectural ou l’ancrage social des sources et des espaces avec lesquels elle travaille (elle a notamment réalisé des commandes pour un hôpital et pour un centre de réhabilitation pour toxicomanes). Si elle utilise principalement le papier et le découpage, elle s’est aussi intéressée à de nombreux autres matériaux et techniques dès lors qu’ils étaient liés à des formes d’artisanat et permettaient de produire une imagerie simple. Elle a ainsi pratiqué le pochoir (comme dans la série Mirror Images [2012-2013], galerie de profils jumeaux se faisant face et réalisés avec différentes encres colorées), l’impression artisanale, le collage et le tamponnage. M. Evans dit aimer particulièrement travailler « là où se rencontrent beaux-arts et artisanat, art et décoration », toujours pour mieux raconter des histoires.

Lire plus

Eva Barois De Caevel

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Thousands Are Sailing, 2016, vue d’installation, Mary Evans and Hera Buyuktasciyan : Still (the) Barbarians, EVA International – Biennale d’Irlande, Limerick, © Mary Evans, © Photo : M. O’Connor

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Scope, 2001, vue d’installation, Café Gallery Projects, Londres, 2001, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Recollection, 2011-2012, vue d’installation, BIAC Martinique, Fort-de-France, Martinique, 2013, © Mary Evans, © Photo : R. Abudu

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Recollection, 2011-2012, vue d’installation, BIAC Martinique, Fort-de-France, Martinique, 2013, © Mary Evans, © Photo : R. Abudu

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Held, 2012, vue d’installation Mary Evans: Cut and Paper, Tiwani Contemporary, London, 2012

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Gingerbread, 2012, vue d’installation Mary Evans : Cut and Paper, Tiwani Contemporary, Londres, 2012, Courtesy Tiwani Contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Tableau Vivant, 2017, technique inconnue, Courtesy Tiwani contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Tableau Vivant, 2017, technique inconnue, Courtesy Tiwani contemporary gallery, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Please Do Not Bend 9, 2015, enveloppe kraft, papier, encre, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Please Do Not Bend 4, 2015, enveloppe kraft, papier, encre, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, The Atlantic Triangle, 2018, vue d’installation, 11th Mercosul Visual Arts Biennial, Porto Alegre, 2018, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, The Atlantic Triangle, 2018, vue d’installation, 11th Mercosul Visual Arts Biennial, Porto Alegre, 2018, © Mary Evans

Mary Evans — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Evans, Meditations, vue d’installation, Baltimore Museum of Art, Baltimore, © Photo : M. Hood, © Mary Evans

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29