Mary Kelly

1941 | Fort Dodge, United States
Informations
Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Susanne Vielmetters

Sponsor
— Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects

Plasticienne américaine.

After studying fine arts and music at the College of Saint Teresa in Winona (Minnesota), followed by courses in fine arts and aesthetics at the Pio XII Institute in Florence, Mary Kelly graduated from Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London in 1970. She worked in London as an artist, teacher, curator, publisher, and writer starting in 1968. The emergence of the feminist movement in the United Kingdom, development of semiotics and psychoanalysis, and feminist Marxist analysis of the sexual division of labour were all major influences on her work. She took part in the feminist collective History Group, formed in 1970, alongside British feminist psychoanalyst Juliet Mitchell* and feminist film theorist Laura Mulvey (born 1941), who was known for using psychoanalytical concepts in her work. M. Kelly’s stance is that there exists no pre-existing female construct aside from that which is dictated by family, language, and laws. The precision and formal restriction of her work take after minimalism, and her detachment from cultural discourses relates her work to conceptual art. Her first works questioned the sexual division of labour. As such, the collaborative black and white experimental film Nightcleaners (1970-1975) documented the campaign to unionise cleaning women.

The artist then addressed the instances in which women become subjects of discussion, by making ethnographic observations about certain social rituals that appear with maternity and old age. In 1976, her most influential project, Post-Partum Document, analysed the mother-child relationship during her son’s first four years through the use of texts, drawings, charts, objects, and sounds. The piece provided a significant space for the maternal discourse, echoing contemporary French theories on the subject. From 1984 to 1989, Interim analysed the feminine identity through the study of women who, because of their age, are no longer valued for their ability to procreate or their potential for fetishisation. Discourses on the body, on the family structure and its relationship to money, and on their position with regard to the history of women and in the face of statistics on their power, all form the fabric of her work. Kelly left London for New York in 1989, and became interested in rereading relationships of domination in situations of armed conflict, such as the Gulf War and the traumatising consequences of war crimes or the germs of nationalist indoctrination in an Albanian child from Kosovo. In 2005, her installation Love Songs, exhibited at documenta 12 Kassel (Germany), marked the artist’s renewed interest in feminism and collective memory. In 2012, she presented Mimus, a mini-documentary in three acts that parodies Cold War ideology.

Read more

Fabienne Dumont

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Interim Part II: Pecunia, 1989, Silkscreen on Galvanized Steel, 20 units: 40.6 x 15.2  x 27.9 cm, 16 x 6.5  x 11.5 in. each, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Post-Partum Document: Introduction, 1973, Perspex unit, white card, wool vests, pencil, ink, 4 units: 20 cm x 25.5 cm, © Generali Foundation, © Photo: Werner Kaligofsky, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Habitus: Type II, 2010 – 2012, Laser cut acrylic, wire mesh, wood, 76.2 cm x 121.9  x 198.1 cm, 30 x 48 x 78 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo: Jeff McLane, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Mimus : Act II (Meyers), 2012, Compressed Lint, 212.1 x 154.9 x 5.1 cm, 83.50 x 61 x 2 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo: Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Alderney Street, 1973, 2014, Compressed Lint, 104.1 x 86.4 x 5.1 cm, 41 x 34 x 2 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo: Jeff McLane, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, 7 Days, 10-16 November, 1971, 2016, Compressed lint, 104.1 x 86.4 x 5.1 cm, 41 x 34 x 2 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo: Jeff McLane, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Circa 1940, 2016, compressed lint and projected light noise, 242.6 x 322.6 x 3.8 cm, 95.5 x 127 x 1.5 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo: Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Circa 2011, 2016, Compressed lint and projected light noise, 205.1 x 322 x 3.8 cm, 80.8 x 126.8 x 1.5 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo: Robert Wedemeyer , © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Circa Trilogy, 2016, Installation view, Susanne Vielmetter, Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects, © Photo: Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mary Kelly

1941 | Fort Dodge, États-Unis
Informations
Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Susanne Vielmetters

Soutien
— Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects

Plasticienne américaine.

Après avoir étudié les beaux-arts et la musique au College of Saint Teresa, à Winona (Minnesota), puis les beaux-arts et l’esthétique à l’institut Pie XII à Florence, Mary Kelly sort diplômée du Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design de Londres en 1970. Dès 1968, elle travaille à Londres en tant qu’artiste, professeure, commissaire d’expositions, éditrice et écrivaine. L’émergence du mouvement féministe au Royaume-Uni, le développement de la sémiotique et de la psychanalyse, puis l’analyse marxiste féministe de la division sexuelle du travail influencent fortement son œuvre. Elle participe au collectif féministe History Group, formé en 1970, auquel appartiennent aussi les britanniques Juliet Mitchell, psychanalyste féministe, et Laura Mulvey (1941), théoricienne féministe du cinéma utilisant les outils de la psychanalyse. M. Kelly soutient alors qu’il n’existe pas de construction féminine en dehors des institutions sociales que sont la famille, le langage et la loi. La précision et la restriction formelle de ses œuvres empruntent au minimalisme, tout comme sa distanciation des discours culturels la rapproche de l’art conceptuel. Ses premiers travaux questionnent la division sexuelle du travail. Ainsi, le film expérimental en noir et blanc Nightcleaners (1970-1975), auquel elle collabore, documente la campagne qui tente de fédérer les femmes de ménage.

L’artiste interroge ensuite les moments où les femmes se constituent comme sujets du discours, observant en ethnographe certains rituels sociaux au moment de la maternité et du vieillissement. En 1976, dans son projet le plus influent, Post-Partum Document, elle analyse la relation mère-enfant pendant les quatre premières années de vie de son fils par le biais de textes, de dessins, de graphiques, d’objets et de sons. L’œuvre propose un espace signifiant pour le discours maternel en écho à la pensée française contemporaine. Entre 1984 et 1989, Interim analyse la construction féminine par le biais des femmes qui, du fait de leur âge, ne sont plus valorisées pour leurs capacités à procréer ou leur potentiel de fétichisation. Les discours sur le corps, la structuration de la famille dans son rapport à l’argent, leur position au sujet de l’histoire des femmes et face aux statistiques sur leur pouvoir forment le tissu de son œuvre. En 1989, elle quitte Londres pour New York. Ses intérêts s’orientent alors vers une relecture des liens de domination dans des situations de conflits armés : la guerre du Golfe et les effets traumatisants des atrocités des guerres, les germes de l’endoctrinement nationaliste chez un enfant albanais du Kosovo. En 2005, l’installation Love Songs exposée à la Documenta XII de Kassel (Allemagne) marque le renouveau de son intérêt pour le féminisme et la mémoire collective. En 2012, elle présente Mimus, sorte de mini-documentaire en trois actes, parodiant l’idéologie de la guerre froide.

Lire plus

Fabienne Dumont

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Interim Part II : Pecunia, 1989, sérigraphie sur acier galvanisé, 20 unités : 40,6 x 15,2 x 27,9 cm chacun, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Post-Partum Document: Introduction, 1973, Plexiglas, carte blanche, veste en laine, stylo, encre, 4 unités de 20 cm x 25.5 cm, © Generali Foundation, © Photo : Werner Kaligofsky, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Habitus : Type II, 2010 – 2012, acrylique coupée au laser, mèche de fil de fer, bois, 76,2 cm x 121,9 x 198,1 cm, Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo : Jeff McLane, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Mimus: Act II (Meyers), 2012, peluches compressées, 212,1 x 154,9 x 5,1 cm, 83,5 x 61 x 2 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo : Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Alderney Street, 1973, 2014, peluches compressées, 104,1 x 86,4 x 5,1 cm, 41 x 34 x 2 in., Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo : Jeff McLane, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, 7 Days, 10-16 November, 1971, 2016, peluche compressée, 104,1 x 86,4 x 5,1 cm, Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo : Jeff McLane, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Circa 1940, 2016, peluche compressée et lumière sonore projetée, 242,6 x 322,6 x 3,8 cm, Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo : Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Circa 2011, 2016, peluche compressée et lumière sonore projetée, 205,1 x 322 x 3,8 cm, Courtesy Mary Kelly and Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects © Photo : Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Mary Kelly — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Kelly, Circa Trilogy, 2016, vue d’installation, Courtesy Mary Kelly et Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects, © Photo : Robert Wedemeyer, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29