Monica Ross

1950Lancashire, United Kingdom  | 2013Brighton, United Kingdom 
Informations
Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Monica Ross, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

British visual artist.

Monica Ross was an artist, educator and organiser, working with video, drawing, installation, text and performance. She was involved in landmark collective initiatives informed by feminism, including The Women’s Postal Art Event, aka Feministo (exhibited at the ICA-Institute of Contemporary Arts, London, and included in the survey Künstlerinnen International 1877-1977, Berlin); Fenix (1978-1980), which collapsed the distinction between gallery and studio (included in Issue, ICA, 1980, curated by Lucy R. Lippard); and Sister Seven, a network of artists and poets who used poster art and performance to protest against nuclear weapons and militarism.  
In the 1980s M. Ross was treasurer of the Feminist Art News steering committee and began teaching at Saint Martin’s School of Art, where she eventually led a ground-breaking course in Critical Fine Art Practice. Her own practice explored time, memory and the archaeology of the present in dialogue with Walter Benjamin, the persistent erasure of working-class women from history, and the exacerbation of inequalities in Britain and globally. During the 1990s she responded to media representations of conflict and suffering through the repetition of singular gestures and by questioning the audience’s assumed right to look. This Is Not A Photograph (1990) interrogated media coverage of HIV-positive infants in Romania, while Neither Loaves Nor Fishes (1991) reflected on the inability of aid workers to provide food to Kurdish refugees despite access to telephones. 
 
A hybrid between an artist’s book and theoretical treatise, Valentine (2001) wove together M. Ross’s aesthetic and political concerns, her engagement in networks of friendship and collaboration, and her research into critical theory and cultural history. Between 2001 and 2004 she held a research fellowship at Newcastle University and a guest professorship at Berlin University of the Arts. During this time her practice was shaped by her experience of working in Newcastle and Berlin and her continued resistance to the dismantling of social infrastructures. Learning German revitalised her engagement with the writing of W. Benjamin and fuelled a series of works dealing with temporality, collaboration, and the political dimension of technologies. Between 2000 and 2010 she was archivist in the Department of Dislocated Memory in Suzanne Treister (b. 1958) and Bronia Iwanczak’s International Corporation of Lost Structures (ICOLS). 
 
In response to the police shooting of innocent civilian Jean Charles de Menezes in London in 2005, M. Ross began a series of performances reciting the Universal Declaration of Human Rights from memory. rightsrepeated (2005-2008) evolved into Anniversary—an act of memory (2008-2013), a series of 60 solo and collective recitations from memory in several languages, performed at sites including the British Library and the House of Commons, and on dates to coincide with other anniversaries, such as International Women’s Day and the Peterloo Massacre in Manchester. Three of the last performances were conducted by Andrew Mitchelson when M. Ross became too ill. She died on the day that Act 60 took place at the United Nations Office at Geneva (UNOG). In the artist’s own words, “One has to commit to the actualized defence of human rights. The act of recollection forms just a part of that urgent process.” 

Read more

Alexandra Kokoli

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Poster for the exhibition A Portrait of the Artist as a Housewife, ICA, 1977, with work from the Women’s Postal Art Event – Feministo (Monica Ross with her daughter Alice is in the second row, fourth from the left), © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Anniversary – an act of memory, 2008-2013, 60 acts of solo, collective, and multilingual recitations from memory of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Photo Bernard G Mills, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Sister Seven poster, 1981-1984; Sister Seven consisted of artists Shirley Cameron, Monica Ross and Evelyn Silver, and poets Gillian Allnutt and Mary Michaels, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Ghost in the Spinning Mill, solo performance, part of Triple Transformations, a performance residency with Shirley Cameron, and Evelyn Silver at Rochdale Gallery, 1985, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Like Gold in the Furnace, 1987, slide-tape and performance, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross (with Anne Tallentire), Six Days of Momentary Art, 1993; Monica Ross and Anne Tallentire worked in dialogue with other artists performing improvised actions in various locations in and around Riga, culminating in a public performance event at the Aula Academy of Art, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Valentine, 2000-2002, book, archive of artefacts, and video, 70 x 70 cm, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, justfornow, 2001-2004, series of durational performances and web works transcribing Walter Benjamin’s essay The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction variously onto digital tablets or tracing paper using headcams, webfeeds and live video projection on windows; the project includes documentation/print works, audience screengrabs and a website at www.justfornow.net, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Bykermorning: the view from a deserted utopia – a home movie, 2003, film still, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Women with Red Umbrellas, 2005, group street performance, Pilot Projekt Gropiusstadt, Berlin, Germany, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross (avec Jorn Ebner), Housewarming: A Celebration in Reverse, 2009, public event, Wunderbar Festival, Newcastle upon Tyne, England, Photo S. Bailey, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Magazine
Linked articles
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Monica Ross

1950Lancashire, Royaume-Uni | 2013Brighton, Royaume-Uni
Informations
Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait de Monica Ross, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Artiste plasticienne britannique.

Monica Ross est une artiste, professeure et organisatrice d’actions, dont les œuvres font appel à la vidéo, au dessin, à l’installation, au texte et à la performance. Elle s’investit dans des initiatives collectives à vocation féministe, notamment The Women’s Postal Art Event, également connu sous le nom de Feministo (présenté à l’ICA – Institute of Contemporary Arts à Londres et lors de l’exposition collective Künstlerinnen International 1877-1977 à Berlin), Fenix (1978-1980), qui brouille la distinction entre galerie et atelier (exposition Issue, ICA, 1980, organisée par Lucy R. Lippard), et Sister Seven, un collectif d’artistes et de poètes qui utilise l’art de l’affiche et la performance pour protester contre les armes nucléaires et le militarisme.
Dans les années 1980, M. Ross devient trésorière du comité de pilotage de la revue Feminist Art News et commence à enseigner à la Saint Martin’s School of Art, où elle est à l’initiative d’un cours qui révolutionne l’approche de la pensée critique dans la pratique artistique. Elle aborde dans son propre travail les notions de temps, de mémoire et d’archéologie du présent en dialogue avec la pensée de Walter Benjamin, ainsi que l’invisibilisation permanente des femmes des classes populaires dans l’histoire et l’augmentation des inégalités en Grande-Bretagne et dans le monde.
Dans les années 1990, elle critique les représentations médiatiques des conflits et de la souffrance à travers la répétition de gestes singuliers et en remettant en question le droit du public à voir. This Is Not A Photograph [Ceci n’est pas une photographie, 1990] questionne la couverture médiatique de l’épidémie infantile de HIV en Roumanie, et Neither Loaves Nor Fishes [Ni pains ni poissons, 1991] s’interroge sur l’incapacité des travailleurs humanitaires à fournir de la nourriture aux réfugiés kurdes malgré leur accès à une communication téléphonique.

Valentine (2001), un hybride de livre d’artiste et de traité théorique, mêle les préoccupations esthétiques et politiques de M. Ross à son engagement au sein de réseaux d’amitié et d’entraide, mais aussi ses recherches dans le domaine de la théorie critique et de l’histoire de la culture. Entre 2001 et 2004, elle occupe un poste de chercheuse à l’université de Newcastle et de professeure invitée à l’université des arts de Berlin. Durant cette période, sa pratique est marquée par ses expériences dans ces deux villes et par sa lutte infatigable contre le démantèlement des infrastructures sociales. L’apprentissage de la langue allemande renouvelle son intérêt pour les écrits de W. Benjamin et donne lieu à une série d’œuvres sur la temporalité, la collaboration et la dimension politique des technologies. De 2000 à 2010, elle travaille en tant qu’archiviste pour le Department of Dislocated Memory au sein du projet International Corporation of Lost Structures (ICOLS) fondé par Suzanne Treister (1958-) et Bronia Iwanczak.

Suite à la mort de Jean Charles de Menezes, citoyen innocent abattu par la police à Londres en 2005, M. Ross entame une série de performances au cours desquelles elle récite de mémoire la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme. rightsrepeated [droitsrépétés, 2005-2008] évolue ensuite pour devenir Anniversary – an act of memory [Anniversaire – un acte de mémoire, 2008-2013], une série de 60 récitations individuelles et collectives en plusieurs langues présentées dans divers lieux, dont la British Library et la Chambre des communes britannique, à des dates qui correspondent à plusieurs anniversaires, dont la Journée internationale des droits des femmes et la commémoration du massacre de Peterloo à Manchester. Trois des dernières performances sont récitées par Andrew Mitchelson lorsque M. Ross est trop affaiblie par la maladie. Elle s’éteint le jour du soixantième acte de la performance au siège des Nations Unies à Genève. Selon ses propres mots : « Il faut s’engager de manière concrète pour la défense des droits humains. L’acte de mémoire n’est qu’une infime partie de ce processus urgent. »

Lire plus

Alexandra Kokoli

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, poster pour l’exposition A Portrait of the Artist as a Housewife, ICA, 1977, avec le travail de la Women’s Postal Art Event – Feministo (Monica Ross avec sa fille Alice est sur la 2ème rangée, 4ème à partir de la gauche), © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Anniversary – an act of memory, 2008-2013, 60 actes de récitations individuelles, collectives et multilingues en mémoire de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme, Photo Bernard G Mills, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Sister Seven poster, 1981-1984 ; Sister Seven était composé des artistes Shirley Cameron, Monica Ross et Evelyn Silver, et des poètes Gillian Allnutt et Mary Michaels, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Ghost in the Spinning Mill, performance en solo, dans le cadre de Triple Transformations, une résidence avec Shirley Cameron et Evelyn Silver à la Rochdale Gallery, 1985, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Like Gold in the Furnace, 1987, diaporama et performance, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross (avec Anne Tallentire), Six Days of Momentary Art, 1993 ; Monica Ross et Anne Tallentire ont travaillé en dialogue avec d’autres artistes réalisant des actions improvisées dans divers endroits à Riga et dans les environs, aboutissant à une performance publique à l’Aula Academy of Art, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Valentine, 2000-2002, livre, archive d’objets, et vidéo, 70 x 70 cm, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, justfornow, 2001-2004, série de performances de longue durée et d’œuvres sur le web transcrivant l’essai de Walter Benjamin, L’œuvre d’art à l’ère de la reproduction mécanique, sur des tablettes numériques ou sur du papier calque à l’aide de caméras frontales, de câbles et de projections vidéo live sur des fenêtres ; le projet comprend de la documentation, des travaux imprimés, des captures d’écran pour le public et un site internet www.justfornow.net, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Bykermorning: the view from a deserted utopia – a home movie, 2003, photo de film, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross, Women with Red Umbrellas, 2005, performance de groupe dans la rue, Pilot Projekt Gropiusstadt, Berlin, Allemagne, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, tous droits réservés

Monica  Ross — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monica Ross (with Jorn Ebner), Housewarming: A Celebration in Reverse, 2009, événement public, Wunderbar Festival, Newcastle upon Tyne, Angleterre, Photo S. Bailey, © 2021 Monica Ross Archive, All rights reserved

Magazine
Articles liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29