Mirtha Dermisache

19402012 | Buenos Aires, Argentina
Informations

Argentinian draughtswoman, writer and publisher.

Mirtha Dermisache studied at the Escuela Nacional de Bellas Artes Prilidiano Pueyrredón in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Her career began in the 1960s, with her work on books and symbols. Considered a significant milestone in her career, Libro No. 1 [Book No 1, 1967] is a book of some five hundred pages with a haphazard graphic design that recalls scribbling. She then constructed a corpus of calligraphy described by Roland Barthes as “illegible writing”, a term he explained in the first letter of their 1971 correspondence.
From the 1970s onwards, her body of work was enriched as she began employing written formats with her Artículos, Cartas, a Diario, Libros, Newsletters, Postales, Reportajes and Textos. In 1972 she published Diario No. 1, a diary filled with unintelligible writings. In the background, she drew a portrait of the Argentine media controlled by the government during the dictatorship (1976-1983). Thereafter, Diario No. 1 [Dairy No 1] became an emblem of protest against the oppressive political regime in her country. Her work began to be shown abroad, particularly in Northern Europe where her reflections on the relationship between books and art resonated with the interests of both curators and art institutions. She exhibited her work in Belgium, at the Centre of Art and Communication (CAyC) in Antwerp, thanks to an invitation by Marc Dachy and Guy Schraenen. Her encounter with the latter was pivotal as it led to publication of Diario No. 1 by his publishing house Archive for Small Press & Communication, circulating her work throughout several European cities. It was during this same decade that she realized the importance of publishing her works, which were originally produced with quills, ballpoint pens, markers or simply by hand.

M. Dermisache dedicated herself to education and collective practices. She developed pedagogical workshops, notably the Taller de Acciones Creatives, founded in 1973, as well as the Jornadas del Color y de la Forma, which she coordinated between 1975 and 1984, in which groups experimented with writing processes similar to her own approach. She also renewed her production, taking an interest in public lectures and the different possibilities that they could offer. The 2000s saw the return of proliferation with the numerous editions and original works encouraged by one of her last publishers, Florent Fajole. During the same period, her first solo exhibition took place at the Galería El Borde-Arte in Buenos Aires. This event solidified the editorial means that she implemented as well as the concept of multiple writings. With the help of her editor, she tackled a series of projects exploring the dimensions of installation and printing processes. Other international exhibitions such as elles@centrepompidou at the Centre Pompidou in Paris (2009-2011), confirmed her international recognition. Her works entered the museum’s collection on this occasion.

In 2011, M. Dermisache presented her work for the last time in the exhibition space at the Universidad Católica Argentina de Buenos Aires. In 2017, five years after her death, the Museo de Arte Latinoamericano in the same city organized the first retrospective dedicated to her work in her birth country.

Read more

Marion Vasseur Raluy

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título [Untitled], 1970, India ink on paper, 28.1 x 23.2 cm, Private collection

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título (texto) [Untitled (text)], c. 1970, marker on paper, 28 x 23 cm, private collection

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título (texto) [Untitled (text)], c. 1970, ink on paper, 22.9 x 17.8 cm, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título [Untitled], 1970, ink on paper, 244 x 18 cm, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título [Untitled], 1970, ink and pastel on paper, 28 x 23 cm, Private collection

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Diaro No 1 [Diary No. 1], 1972, chinese ink and marker on paper, 43.8 x 35.6 cm, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Diez cartas [Ten letters], 1970, 28 x 23 cm, printed in offset, private collection

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mirtha Dermisache

19402012 | Buenos Aires, Argentine
Informations

Dessinatrice, écrivaine et éditrice argentine.

Mirtha Dermisache étudie à l’Escuela Nacional de Bellas Artes Prilidiano Pueyrredón à Buenos Aires en Argentine. Sa carrière débute dans les années 1960 lorsqu’elle entame un travail autour du livre et du signe. Libro No 1 [Livre no 1, 1967], considéré comme une première étape marquante, est un ouvrage de 500 pages au graphisme aléatoire rappelant le gribouillage. Elle construit dès lors un corpus de calligraphies qualifiées d’« écriture illisible » par Roland Barthes, terme qu’il explicite dans la première lettre de leur correspondance en 1971.
À partir des années 1970, son ensemble d’œuvres s’enrichit, l’artiste reprenant des formats usités pour écrire des Artículos, des Cartas, un Diario, des Libros, des Newsletters, des Postales – cartes postales – des Reportajes, des Textos. En 1972, elle publie Diario No 1 [Journal no 1], un journal sur lequel elle inscrit des écritures inintelligibles. En creux, elle y dessine le portrait des médias argentins contrôlés par le gouvernement pendant la période de dictature (1976-1983). Par la suite, Diario No 1 deviendra dans son pays un emblème de la protestation contre le régime politique oppressif. Sa production commence à être présentée à l’étranger, et plus particulièrement en Europe du Nord où ses réflexions sur la relation entre le livre et l’art font écho aux intérêts de nombreux curateurs et curatrices ainsi qu’à ceux de beaucoup d’institutions muséales. Grâce au Centre d’art et de communication (CAyC), invité par Marc Dachy et Guy Schraenen à Anvers (1974), elle expose notamment en Belgique. Sa rencontre avec G. Schraenen est décisive : celui-ci fait paraître Diario No 1 dans sa maison d’édition Archive for Small Press and Communication et fait circuler son travail dans plusieurs villes d’Europe. C’est durant cette même décennie qu’elle réfléchit à la capacité éditoriale de ses œuvres, qui sont produites à la plume, au stylo tubulaire, au feutre ou simplement avec la main et qui doivent exister sous la forme ultérieure d’une publication.

M. Dermisache se consacre amplement aux travaux pédagogiques et à la pratique collective. Elle crée des ateliers pédagogiques, notamment le Taller de Acciones Creativas, fondé en 1973, mais aussi des Jornadas del Color y de la Forma, qu’elle coordonne entre 1975 et 1984, où sont expérimentés, en groupe, des procédés d’écriture similaires à sa démarche. Elle engage par ailleurs une réflexion sur le renouvellement de sa production, en s’intéressant à la lecture en public et aux différentes possibilités qu’offre celle-ci. Les années 2000 présentent un retour au foisonnement avec de nombreuses éditions et œuvres originales encouragées par un de ses derniers éditeurs, Florent Fajole. À la même époque, sa première exposition personnelle est organisée à la Galería El Borde-Arte à Buenos Aires. Cet événement consolide le dispositif éditorial qu’elle a mis en place et le concept d’écritures multiples. Avec l’aide de son éditeur, elle entreprend une série de projets qui explorent les dimensions de l’installation et le processus d’impression. D’autres expositions internationales, comme elles@centrepompidou, au musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou à Paris (2009-2011), vont asseoir sa reconnaissance mondiale. Ses œuvres entrent à cette occasion dans les collections du musée national d’Art moderne.

En 2011, M. Dermisache présente une dernière fois son travail au centre d’exposition de l’Universidad Católica Argentina de Buenos Aires. En 2017, cinq ans après la mort de l’artiste, le Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de cette même ville organise la première rétrospective qui lui soit consacrée dans son pays natal.

Lire plus

Marion Vasseur Raluy

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título [Sans titre], 1970, encre de chine sur papier, 28,1 x 23,2 cm, Collection particulière

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título (texto) [Sans titre (texte)], c. 1970, marqueur sur papier, 28 x 23 cm, Collection particulière

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título (texto) [Sans titre (texte)], c. 1970, encre sur papier, 22,86 x 17,78 cm, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título [Sans titre], 1970, encre sur papier, 244 x 18 cm, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Sin título [Sans titre], 1970, encre et pastel sur papier, 28 x 23 cm, Collection particulière

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Diaro No 1 [Journal N°1], 1972, encre de chine et marqueur sur papier, 43,8 x 35,6 cm, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires

Mirtha Dermisache — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mirtha Dermisache, Diez cartas [Dix cartes], 1970, 28 x 23 cm, impression sur offset, collection particulière

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29