Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian

1924Qazvin, Iran | 2019Tehran, Iran
Informations

Iranian visual artist.

An Iranian artist known for her work with mirrored and painted glass, Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian moved with her family to Tehran when her father was elected to parliament in 1932. She moved to New York in the 1940s and trained as a fashion illustrator at the Parsons School of Design, later working as a freelance illustrator for clients such as Glamour magazine and the department store Bonwit Teller. In 1957 she returned to Iran and married Abolbashar Farmanfarmaian, a lawyer and member of a prominent nineteenth-century royal family. She began to present her worksduring this time. Her floral compositions were awarded first prize in the First Tehran Biennial in 1958. She participated in the Venice Biennale in 1958 and 1964, she had also an individual exhibition at the University of Tehran in 1963. In 1966 she produced her first public commission, an enamelled glass window for Tehran’s Senate building.

She travelled extensively through Iran, from the 1950s until the 1970s, and was a collector of folk and tribal artefacts, including “coffeehouse paintings” (a style of Persian folk art, which developed parallel to the official Iranian painting), Turkmen jewellery, and reverse glass paintings. She began working with mirrors in 1969 and with geometric designs in 1975. The Islamic Revolution of 1979 forced the family to resettle in New York, but she was able to return to Iran in the early 2000s and establish a studio where she produced many of her important later works, such as multi-panelled 2006 Variations on the Hexagon, commissioned for the launch of the Jameel Gallery of Islamic Art at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London; and Lighting for Neda in 2009, an installation for the 6th Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art in Queensland in Australia.

Much of M. Farmanfarmaian’s work was inspired by the traditional Iranian technique of mirrored geometric mosaics, known as ayeneh-kari, which have been popular decorations in mosques and palaces since the sixteenth century. She collaborated with craftsmen to explore new permutations of the geometric designs, translating the principles of mystic Sufi cosmology into strikingly modern abstract compositions.

She had several major solo exhibitions in the last decade of her life, including Infinite Possibility: Mirror Works and Drawings, 1974–2014, shown at both the Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art in Porto and at the Guggenheim Museum in New York in 2015, as well as 2018’s Sunset, Sunrise at the Irish Museum of Modern Art in Dublin, which travelled to the Sharjah Art Foundation in Sharjah in 2019. Her works are in the collections of the Guggenheim, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art, among others. In 2017, the Monir Museum was established in Tehran, Iran, the first institution in the country dedicated to the work of a female artist.

Read more

Media Farzin

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Aram, 2015, from Convertible series, mirror, reverse-glass painting, plaster on wood, Toledo Museum of Art

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Group 10, 2011, from Convertible series, mirror and reverse glass painting on plaster and wood, 4 parts, Courtesy Haines Gallery, © Monir Farmanfarmaian and Haines Gallery

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Nonagon, 2011, mirror and reverse glass painting on plaster and wood, Courtesy Haines Gallery, © Monir Farmanfarmaian and Haines Gallery

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Nonagon, 2011, mirror and reverse glass painting on plaster and wood, Courtesy Haines Gallery, © Monir Farmanfarmaian and Haines Gallery

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Pentagon, 2008, acrylic sheet and mirrored glass, 88.1 x 59 x 29.7 cm, Tate

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Something Old Something New, 1974, mirror glass, painted glass and plaster on wood, 102.3 x 127.5 x 7.5 cm, Tate

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Untitled, 1975-1976, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Untitled, 1976, mirror glass, stainless steel, plaster and wood, 127.6 x 78.9 x 4 cm, Tate

Discover
Linked themes
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian

1924Qazvin, Iran | 2019Téhéran, Iran
Informations

Plasticienne iranienne.

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian est une artiste iranienne connue pour son travail du miroir et du verre peint. Elle emménage avec sa famille à Téhéran lorsque son père est élu au Parlement en 1932. Elle vit ensuite à New York dans les années 1940, où elle étudie le dessin de mode à la Parsons School of Design et travaille comme illustratrice indépendante pour des clients tels que le magazine Glamour et le grand magasin Bonwit Teller. En 1957, elle retourne en Iran, où elle épouse Abolbashar Farmanfarmaian, un avocat, membre d’une éminente famille royale du XIXe siècle. C’est aussi à cette époque qu’elle commence à présenter ses œuvres. Elle reçoit le premier prix de la Ire Biennale de Téhéran en 1958 pour ses compositions florales, participe à la Biennale de Venise en 1958 puis en 1964, et bénéficie également d’une exposition individuelle à l’université de Téhéran en 1963. En 1966, elle reçoit sa première commande publique, une fenêtre en verre émaillé pour le Sénat, à Téhéran.

À l’occasion de ses nombreux voyages à travers l’Iran, des années 1950 aux années 1970, elle collectionne des artefacts traditionnels et tribaux, parmi lesquels des « peintures de café » (un style de l’art populaire persan, qui se développe parallèlement à la peinture officielle iranienne), des bijoux turkmènes et des peintures sur verre inversé. Elle entame son travail avec les miroirs en 1969 puis avec les motifs géométriques en 1975. La révolution iranienne de 1979 oblige sa famille à se réinstaller à New York, mais elle finit par pouvoir revenir en Iran au début des années 2000. Elle y ouvre un atelier où elle produira la plupart de ses œuvres majeures, comme Variations on the Hexagon (2006), une pièce en plusieurs panneaux commandée à l’occasion de l’ouverture de la Jameel Gallery of Islamic Art au Victoria and Albert Museum, à Londres, et Lighting for Neda (2009), une installation présentée lors de la sixième édition de l’Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art dans le Queensland en Australie.

La plus grande partie de l’œuvre de M. Farmanfarmaian s’inspire de l’ayeneh-kari, une technique traditionnelle iranienne, très populaire dans la décoration des mosquées et des palais depuis le XVIe siècle, qui consiste à réaliser une mosaïque géométrique avec des fragments de miroirs. L’artiste collabore avec des artisans et explore ainsi de nouvelles permutations des motifs géométriques afin de traduire les principes de la mystique soufie en d’étonnantes compositions modernes et abstraites.

M. Farmanfarmaian bénéficie de plusieurs expositions individuelles importantes au cours des dix dernières années de sa vie, parmi lesquelles Infinite Possibility: Mirror Works and Drawings, 1974-2014, qui se tient au Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves à Porto et au Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum à New York en 2015, et Sunset, Sunrise à l’Irish Museum of Modern Art à Dublin en 2018, présentée à nouveau à la Sharjah Art Foundation aux Émirats arabes unis en 2019. Ses œuvres sont conservées entre autres dans les collections du Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, du Metropolitan Museum of Art à New York, du Victoria and Albert Museum et du musée d’Art contemporain de Téhéran. Le Monir Museum est inauguré en 2017 à Téhéran. Il s’agit de la première institution iranienne dédiée au travail d’une artiste femme.

Lire plus

Media Farzin

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Aram, 2015, issue de la série Convertible, miroir, peinture sur verre inversé, plâtre, bois, Toledo Museum of Art

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Group 10, 2011, issue de la série Convertible, miroir et peinture sur verre inverse sur plâtre et bois, 4 parties, Courtesy Haines Gallery, © Monir Farmanfarmaian et Haines Gallery

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Nonagon, 2011, miroir et peinture sur verre inversé sur plâtre et bois, Courtesy Haines Gallery, © Monir Farmanfarmaian et Haines Gallery

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Nonagon, 2011, miroir et peinture sur verre inversé sur plâtre et bois, Courtesy Haines Gallery, © Monir Farmanfarmaian et Haines Gallery

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Pentagon, 2008, feuille acrylique et verre miroir, 88,1 x 59 x 29,7 cm, Tate

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Something Old Something New, 1974, verre miroir, verre peint et plâtre sur bois, 102,3 x 127,5 x 7,5 cm, Tate

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Untitled, 1975-1976, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Untitled, 1976, verre miroir, acier inoxydable, plâtre et bois, 127,6 x 78,9 x 4 cm, Tate

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29