Ndidi Dike

? | London, United Kingdom
Informations

Nigerian visual artist.

After spending her early years in London, Ndidi Dike relocated to Nigeria. There she completed her degree in Fine Arts at the University of Nigeria in Nsukka in 1984, studying under some of the country’s leading modern artists including Uche Okeke (1933-2016) and Obiora Udechukwu (born in 1946). Although she studied painting, it was her transgressive work as a self-taught sculptor – a domain then conventionally reserved for male artists – that won her early acclaim. Much of N. Dike’s early work took the form of intricate wood relief assemblages characterised by curvilinear lines and symbols carved with industrial power tools and embellished with burning techniques. Works like Ikenga (1993), included in the seminal 1995 exhibition Seven Stories About Modern Art in Africa at the Whitechapel Art Gallery in London, drew on influences including Igbo spiritual practices and design traditions such as uli. Through her imaginative embrace of quotidian though historically laden materials such as banana fibres, branding irons, brass figurines, coins and cowrie shells, N. Dike’s formative work modelled an interest in mixed-media aesthetics and histories of cultural exchange, two themes that would animate her dynamic practice for more than three decades.

During the 1990s and early 2000s, N. Dike exhibited consistently throughout Nigeria and internationally, developing an enviable following among art historians, curators and collectors. A breakthrough in her career came with Waka-into-Bondage: The Last ¾ Mile, a 2008 solo exhibition at the then newly established Centre for Contemporary Art in Lagos. Curated by the centre’s pioneering director Bisi Silva, for the exhibition N. Dike employed a range of representational strategies to address the complex histories and enduring effects of transatlantic slavery. The show included a suite of wall-mounted sculptures fashioned out of appropriated harbour wood and affixed with slave shackles and other artefacts that evoke the materiality of capture and trade. While this body of work retained traces of the artist’s past relief sculpture, the exhibition’s installation of two large boats suspended from the gallery’s ceiling – one filled with granulated sugar and the other with blood-red liquid – announced a new trajectory in N. Dike’s practice defined, in part, by the dispersal and agglomeration of objects, large-scale installation, and heady conceptualism.

During the 2010s N. Dike revisited the ills of globalisation by breaching the boundaries of media and embracing an unfettered sense of space across her work. The artist’s 2015 installation Trace – Transactional Aesthetics, placed a glut of consumer products before a large composite panorama photograph of a Lagosian marketplace in order to question the pictorial and haptic dimensions of consumption patterns across the developing world. N. Dike’s concern with surplus production and consumption informed Constellations – Floating Space, Motion and Remembrance (2017), the artist’s first European solo exhibition at the Iwalewahaus in Bayreuth in Germany. Curated by Lena Naumann, this show orbited around Michel Foucault’s notion of the heterotopia, and consisted of numerous immersive installations and a video work that collectively addressed realities of forced migration, and economic disparities between the global north and global south. Following her participation in the 2018 Dakar Biennale, N. Dike presented a magisterial work at the 2019 Lagos Biennial of Contemporary Art. Amongst her largest installations to date, A History of a City in a Box constructs a cityscape built out of colonial-era file boxes, various types of earth, and archival documents that variously engage the history of Independence House, an abandoned though historic architectural landmark in Lagos that served as the biennial’s main venue. Reflecting on the work, N. Dike has observed that “this installation, with all its reflexive allusions to site and meditations on the currency of information, points up new terms in the ever-evolving vocabulary of my practice as an artist”.

Read more

Antawan I. Byrd

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Competition V, 2010, acrylic on canvas, 91 cm x 91 cm, © Ndidi Dike

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Access, 2017, Exhibition view Sous couvert du contrôle des ressources, Villa Vassilieff, Paris, 2017, Courtesy Ndidi Dike, © Photo: Aurélien Mole

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Exchange for Life, The cultural center of Brazil, © Ndidi Dike

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Mano Labour, 2017, Exhibition view Sous couvert du contrôle des ressources, Villa Vassilieff, Paris, 2017, Courtesy Ndidi Dike, © Photo : Aurélien Mole

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Maps, 2017, Exhibition view Sous couvert du contrôle des ressources, Villa Vassilieff, Paris, 2017, Courtesy Ndidi Dike, © Photo: Aurélien Mole

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Ndidi Dike

? | Londres, Royaume-uni
Informations

Plasticienne nigériane.

Après une enfance passée à Londres, Ndidi Dike s’installe au Nigeria. Elle y obtient un diplôme d’arts plastiques en 1984 à l’université du Nigeria à Nsukka, où elle suit l’enseignement de certain·e·s des plus éminent·e·s artistes modernes du pays, parmi lesquel·le·s Uche Okeke (1933-2016) et Obiora Udechukwu (né en 1946). Bien qu’elle ait étudié la peinture, c’est son œuvre transgressive dans le domaine de la sculpture – traditionnellement réservée aux hommes et qu’elle décide néanmoins d’apprendre en autodidacte – qui lui vaut ses premiers éloges. La majorité de ses premiers travaux consiste en de complexes assemblages de bois en relief caractérisés par des lignes et des symboles curvilignes gravés à l’aide d’outils électriques industriels et embellis grâce à des techniques de pyrogravure. Une sculpture comme Ikenga (1993), présentée lors de l’exposition majeure Seven Stories about Modern Art in Africa à la Whitechapel Gallery à Londres en 1995, puise son inspiration dans diverses influences, notamment celles des pratiques spirituelles igbo et de leurs motifs traditionnels tels que l’uli. À travers son usage imaginatif de matériaux qui, s’ils portent les traces du passé, appartiennent au quotidien – fibres de bananier, fers à marquer, figurines en laiton, pièces de monnaie et coquillages cauris –, dans ses œuvres de jeunesse N. Dike met en évidence son intérêt pour l’esthétique pluridisciplinaire et l’histoire des échanges culturels, deux thèmes qui nourriront sa pratique pendant plus de trente ans.

Au cours des années 1990 et 2000, N. Dike présente régulièrement ses œuvres au Nigeria et dans le reste du monde, et gagne ainsi des soutiens fidèles parmi les historien·ne·s de l’art, les commissaires d’exposition et les collectionneur·euse·s. Mais l’un des tournants majeurs de sa carrière a lieu en 2008, au tout nouveau centre d’art contemporain de Lagos, grâce à Waka-into-Bondage: The Last ¾ Mile. Pour cette exposition individuelle organisée par la directrice visionnaire du centre, Bisi Silva, N. Dike utilise toute une gamme de stratégies figuratives qui lui permettent de montrer les histoires complexes et les effets persistants du commerce triangulaire. L’exposition comprend une série de sculptures accrochées aux murs, faites de bois flotté agrémenté de chaînes d’esclaves et d’autres artefacts qui évoquent les aspects matériels de la capture et de la traite des esclaves. Bien que ce corpus d’œuvres conserve encore les traces de ses anciennes sculptures en relief, l’installation de deux grands bateaux suspendus au plafond de la galerie – l’un rempli de sucre de canne, l’autre de liquide rouge sang – augure une nouvelle trajectoire dans la pratique de l’artiste, caractérisée notamment par la dispersion et l’agglomération d’objets, les installations monumentales et un conceptualisme prononcé.

Au cours des années 2010, N. Dike explore les effets néfastes de la mondialisation en franchissant les limites du support et en adoptant une conception beaucoup plus large de l’espace dans toute son œuvre. Dans son installation Trace – Transactional Aesthetics (2015), elle place un monceau de produits de consommation face à une grande photographie composite d’un marché à Lagos, s’interrogeant ainsi sur les dimensions picturales et haptiques des modèles de consommation dans les pays en développement. L’intérêt de N. Dike pour la surproduction et la surconsommation est un élément central de Constellations – Floating Space, Motion and Remembrance (2017), sa première exposition individuelle en Europe, qui se tient à l’Iwalewahaus à Bayreuth (Allemagne). Organisée par Lena Naumann, cette exposition est centrée sur le concept d’hétérotopie théorisé par Michel Foucault et se compose d’une multitude d’installations immersives et d’une vidéo traitant des réalités de la migration forcée et des inégalités économiques entre le Nord et le Sud. Après avoir participé à la Biennale de Dakar en 2018, N. Dike présente une œuvre magistrale à la Biennale d’art contemporain de Lagos en 2019. A History of a City in a Box (2019), l’une de ses plus impressionnantes installations à ce jour, apparaît sous la forme d’une maquette de ville faite de caissons de rangement datant de l’ère coloniale, de divers types de terre et de documents d’archives se rapportant à l’histoire de l’Independence House, un repère architectural majeur, bien qu’abandonné, qui a servi de bâtiment principal pour la Biennale de Lagos. D’après N. Dike, « cette installation, avec toutes ses allusions délibérées au site et sa réflexion sur la valeur de l’information, révèle de nouveaux termes dans le vocabulaire en constante évolution au sein de [s]a pratique ».

Lire plus

Antawan I. Byrd

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Competition V, 2010, acrylique sur toile, 91 cm x 91 cm, © Ndidi Dike

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Access, 2017, Vue de l’exposition Sous couvert du contrôle des ressources, Villa Vassilieff, Paris, 2017, Courtesy Ndidi Dike, © Photo : Aurélien Mole

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Exchange for Life, 2017, The cultural center of Brazil, © Ndidi Dike

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Mano Labour, 2017, Vue de l’exposition, Sous couvert du contrôle des ressources, Villa Vassilieff, Paris, 2017, Courtesy Ndidi Dike, © Photo : Aurélien Mole

Ndidi Dike — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ndidi Dike, Maps, 2017, Vue de l’exposition Sous couvert du contrôle des ressources, Villa Vassilieff, Paris, 2017, Courtesy Ndidi Dike, © Photo : Aurélien Mole

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29