Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn

1881London, United Kingdom | 1962Ascona, Switzerland

Anglo-Swiss spiritualist and mythographer.

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, the daughter of Dutch parents, was interested in iconography right from her childhood, when she watched, fascinated, as her father Albertus Philippus Kapteyn (or Kapteijn) developed photographic film in his darkroom. Her mother, Geertruida (Truus) Agneta Kapteyn-Muysken, was involved in female emancipation and social-reform movements. In 1900, O. Fröbe-Kapteyn began studying at the School of Applied Arts in Zurich, excelling at sewing, embroidery, and jewelry-making. She studied history of art at the University of Zurich from 1906 to 1909.
In 1909, she married the flautist and conductor Iwan Fröbe. After a visit to Munich, the Fröbes spent time in Berlin with the philologist André Jolles, who had set up the Needle sewing circle in 1911. O. Fröbe-Kapteyn decorated the clothes that Jolles created, inspired by classical Greece, with exquisite embroidery. Widowed in 1915, she organized a cultural circle in Zurich, and in 1919–20 followed a course of natural treatment at the Monte Verità sanatorium in Ascona. In 1920, she moved to the Casa Gabriella in Ascona, where she spent a period of ‘concentration discipline’ during which, with her daughter as her sole companion, she devoted herself to the study of spirituality.

Her study of symbols was inspired by Ludwig Derleth, a poet and mystic associated with the Munich Cosmic Circle. In 1927, when she was working on a ‘geometrical drawing’, she had the idea of building a conference room. The drawing was one of a series of ‘meditation plates’ painted between 1926 and 1934. They were beautiful, but, according to the philosopher of religion Alfons Rosenberg, they gave an impression of ‘frightening coldness’. Their rigid geometry and complete lack of naturalism are reinforced by the choice of predominantly cold colours, with a basic dialectic between black (shade, negative, death) and gold (light, positive, life). The result is an abstractionism expressing a spirituality stripped of any corporality.
Following a collaboration with the Theosophist Alice Ann Bailey from 1928 to 1932, Fröbe-Kapteyn was ready to set up the Eranos group in 1933. Its name (Greek for ‘banquet’) was suggested to her by the historian of religion Rudolf Otto. The Eranos Conferences, which are still held today, have attracted many of the most influential scholars of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. In 1934, the psychologist Carl Gustav Jung commissioned Fröbe-Kapteyn to carry out iconographic research for his study of alchemy and archetypes. The thousands of symbolic images were to comprise the Eranos Archive for Research in Symbolism (donated to the Warburg Institute in the mid-1950s). Fröbe-Kapteyn’s inner work, based on the Jungian technique of ‘active imagination’, is documented in more than three hundred ‘visions’ that she painted between 1934 and 1938. Believing that ‘the deepest things in human life … can only be expressed in images’, she devoted the second half of her life to nurture her cultural enterprise, Eranos.

Read more

Fabio Merlini, Riccardo Bernardini

Translated from French by Thames & Hudson Ltd.

As published in Women in Abstraction © 2021 Thames & Hudson Ltd, London

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, Kether, The Crown , Screenprint, 1930, private collection

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Chalice In The Heart, 1930, screenprint, private collection

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Cosmic Incarnation, 1930, Screenprint, private collection

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Creation, 1930, Screenprint, private collection

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Grail, Screenprint,1930, private collection

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Light Of The Soul, Screenprint, 1930, private collection

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Mystery Of Life, 1930, Screenprint, private collection

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn

1881Londres, Royaume-Uni | 1962Ascona, Suisse

Spiritualiste et mythographe anglo-​suisse.

Née de parents hollandais, Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn manifeste un intérêt pour l’iconographie dès l’enfance, alors que son père, Albertus Philippus Kapteyn (ou Kapteijn), développe les pellicules photographiques dans sa chambre obscure, sous les yeux intrigués de sa fille. Sa mère, Geertruida (Truus) Agneta Kapteyn-Muysken, est engagée dans des mouvements d’émancipation des femmes et de rénovation sociale. Dès 1900, O. Fröbe-Kapteyn fréquente l’École d’arts appliqués de Zurich où elle excelle en couture, broderie et bijouterie. De 1906 à 1909, elle étudie l’histoire de l’art à l’Université de Zurich.
En 1909, elle épouse le flûtiste et chef d’orchestre Iwan Fröbe. Après un séjour à Munich, les époux Fröbe fréquentent à Berlin le philologue André Jolles, qui, en 1911, avait fondé le cercle de couture « L’aiguille » : O. Fröbe-Kapteyn embellit les créations vestimentaires de Jolles, inspirées de la Grèce antique, avec des broderies recherchées. Veuve à partir de 1915, elle anime un cercle culturel à Zurich et, en 1919-1920, bénéfice de traitements naturels au sanatorium du Monte Verità à Ascona. Elle s’établit à Ascona en 1920, dans la Casa Gabriella. Elle y vit une période de « discipline de concentration », durant laquelle elle se consacre – avec sa fille pour seule compagnie – à l’étude de la spiritualité.

Pour l’étude des symboles, elle est stimulée par Ludwig Derleth, poète et mystique, proche du groupe des « Cosmiques » de Munich. En 1927, occupée à réaliser un « dessin géométrique », elle a l’idée de construire une salle de conférences. Le dessin appartenait à une série de « panneaux de méditation », peints entre 1926 et 1934, riches d’effet, mais dont émanait – selon le philosophe des religions Alfons Rosenberg – une « froideur épouvantable ». Ces tableaux méditatifs s’expriment à travers une rigueur géométrique qui fuit tout naturalisme de la forme et qui est confirmée par un choix de couleurs à dominante froide, où est présente une dialectique de base entre le noir (ombre, négatif, mort) et l’or (lumière, positif, vie). Le résultat est un abstractionnisme dans lequel est mise en scène une spiritualité épurée de toute corporéité.
À la suite d’une collaboration avec la théosophe Alice Ann Bailey de 1928 à 1932, Fröbe-Kapteyn est prête à entreprendre, en 1933, le cercle d’Eranos. Le nom « Eranos » (« banquet » en grec) lui est suggéré par l’historien des religions Rudolf Otto. Les Conférences d’Eranos, qui ont encore lieu aujourd’hui, attirent nombre des savants les plus influents des XXe et XXIe siècles. En 1934, le psychologue Carl Gustav Jung lui commande une recherche iconographique pour ses études sur l’alchimie et les archétypes. Les milliers d’images symboliques allaient constituer l’Archive d’Eranos pour la Recherche sur le Symbolisme (donnée au milieu des années 1950 au Warburg Institute). Le travail intérieur que Fröbe-Kapteyn mène d’après la technique jungienne de l’« imagination active » est documenté dans plus de trois cents « visions », peintes entre 1934 et 1938. Convaincue que « les choses les plus profondes de l’existence humaine […] peuvent être exprimées uniquement en images », elle consacre la seconde moitié de sa vie à nourrir son entreprise culturelle, Eranos.

Lire plus

Fabio Merlini, Riccardo Bernardini

Publication en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre de l’exposition Elles font l’abstraction présentée au Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Galerie 1, Paris, du 5 mai au 23 août 2021, sous le commissariat de Christine Macel et de Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska (pour la photographie), assistées de Laure Chauvelot. Notice tirée du catalogue de l’exposition publié par les éditions du Centre Pompidou ©Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2021

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, Kether, The Crown, 1930, impression sur écran, collection particulière

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Chalice In The Heart, 1930, impression sur écran, collection particulière

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Cosmic Incarnation, 1930, impression sur écran, collection particulière

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Creation, 1930, impression sur écran, collection particulière

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Grail, impression sur écran, 1930, collection particulière

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Light Of The Soul, 1930, impression sur écran,  collection particulière

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Olga Fröbe-Kapteyn, The Mystery Of Life, 1930, impression sur écran, collection particulière

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29