Browse by Themes

Female artists, the great forgotten ones in art history?
Major Questions in Art History
15.04.2020 | Nina Meisel

The place and importance of female artists in art history is still not self-evident for everyone. The Story of Art by E. H. Gombrich (first edition published in 1950), a fundamental art-historical reference, is a prime example of this. Its English and French editions do not mention any women, and its German edition cites only one. However, as early as the 1970s initiatives to (re)discover female artists, led by researchers such as Linda Nochlin, gave rise to exhibitions highlighting work by women, such as Some Canadian Women Artists at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa in 1975, elles@centrepompidou at the Musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou in 2009, and more recently, Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985, initially organised at the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles in 2017.

Today – despite the emergence of great female figures in recent years – women artists still suffer from late recognition in comparison to their male counterparts. For example, Louise Bourgeois (1911-2010), a major twentieth-century French American artist was seventy when she had her first retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York in 1981. And then it was not until 2008 that a major French institution, the Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou, presented an exhibition of her work. Pioneer video artist, Nil Yalter (born in 1938), had to wait until 2016 before the 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine presented her first retrospective. Other artists have received posthumous recognition, such as the surrealist photographer Claude Cahun (1894-1954) who was discovered in the 1990s more than thirty years after her death.

Like institutional recognition, the art market has been late in taking notice of female artists. The financial question is clear in certain careers, such as that of Hilma af Klint (1862-1944), split between saleable academic work and mediumistic painting, where she distinguished herself as a pioneer of abstraction. She was not rediscovered until 1986, forty-two years after her death, in the exhibition The Spiritual in Art, Abstract Painting 1890-1985 in Los Angeles. According to the artist’s wishes, her will stipulated that her work was to remain secret for at least twenty years after her death, yet it was not until 2008 that her first retrospective was held at the Modern Museet in Stockholm. Cuban painter and sculptor Carmen Herrera (born in 1915) is another example: she sold her first painting in 2004, at the age of eight-nine. This sale was followed by institutional success and the inauguration of a significant retrospective of her work at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York in 2016.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

Artistes femmes, les grandes oubliées de l’histoire de l’art ?
Les grandes questions de l’histoire de l’art
15.04.2020 | Nina Meisel

La place et l’importance des artistes femmes dans l’histoire de l’art ne va pas encore de soi pour tou·te·s. Le Gombrich (première édition en 1950), ouvrage de référence en histoire de l’art, en est un bon exemple : il ne cite aucune femme dans ses éditions anglaises et françaises et seulement une dans celle en allemand. Pourtant, dès les années 1970, des initiatives de (re)découvertes des artistes femmes, portées par des chercheur·euse·s comme Linda Nochlin, ont donné lieu à des expositions mettant en lumière le travail de plasticiennes telles que Some Canadian Women Artists en 1975 à la National Gallery of Canada à Ottawa, Elles@centrepompidou au musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou en 2009, ou plus récemment, Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985 initialement organisée au Hammer Museum à Los Angeles en 2017.

Aujourd’hui encore, et bien que ces dernières années de grandes figures d’artistes femmes aient émergé, celles-ci souffrent d’une reconnaissance tardive en comparaison de leurs confrères. Par exemple, Louise Bourgeois (1911-2010), artiste française-états-unienne majeure du XXe siècle, est âgée de 70 ans lors de sa première rétrospective au Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) à New York en 1981, mais ce n’est qu’en 2008 qu’une institution française d’envergure, le musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou, monte une exposition de ses œuvres. Nil Yalter (née en 1938), pionnière de l’art vidéo doit attendre 2016 avant que le 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine accueille sa première rétrospective. D’autres artistes connaissent une renommée posthume, comme la photographe surréaliste Claude Cahun (1894-1954), exhumée dans les années 1990, plus de 30 ans après sa mort.

À l’image de la reconnaissance institutionnelle, celle du marché de l’art se fait également tardive pour les plasticiennes. La question financière se reflète dans certaines carrières, comme pour celle d’Hilma af Klint (1862-1944) partagée entre académisme vendeur et peinture médiumnique où elle s’illustre en tant que pionnière de l’abstraction. Elle n’est redécouverte qu’en 1986, 42 années après sa disparition, lors de l’exposition The Spiritual in Art, Abstract Painting 1890-1985 à Los Angeles. Selon le souhait de l’artiste, son testament stipulait que l’œuvre devait rester secrète au moins 20 ans après sa mort mais il faudra attendre 2008 pour qu’elle bénéficie de sa première rétrospective au Moderna Museet à Stockholm. Citons aussi l’exemple de la peintre et sculptrice cubaine Carmen Herrera (née en 1915) qui vend sa première œuvre en 2004 à 89 ans, s’en suit un succès institutionnel et l’inauguration en 2016 d’une grande rétrospective au Whitney Museum of American Art à New-York.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29