Hilma af Klint

18621944 | Stockholm, Sweden
Informations
Sponsor
— Estate Hilma af Klint

Swedish painter.

It was not until 1986, with the exhibition The Spiritual in Art: Abstract Painting 1890-1985 at the Los Angeles Museum of Art, that Hilma af Klint’s work was finally acknowledged in art history and by the general public. Her paintings were shown alongside those of Mondrian, Wassily Kandinsky and Kazimir Malevich, but when one looks at the dates of her first abstract works, it appears that the painter was in fact ahead of her time and could not have been influenced by artists considered as pioneers in the field of abstract art. Her solitary and unusual career is strongly related to a spiritual and esoteric development. Only a small group of insiders was aware of her “mystical” paintings, and the artist herself was convinced that the general public was unable to understand them. Botany and mathematics were major interests in her family, and she spent her summers at a manor near Mälaren Lake, close to Stockholm, where the beauty of nature undeniably affected her artistic orientation. She studied at the Technical Art School in Stockholm around 1880, then at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts from 1882 to 1887. Her main production at the time consisted in landscapes and portraits (Utsikt över Mälaren, “View of Lake Mälaren”, 1903) that displayed the typical tastes of her times.

For twenty years her painting followed these academic lines, with no knowledge of European avant-garde movements. Then in 1906, under the influence of the highly successful Theosophical movement founded by the Russian Helena Blavatsky (1831-1891), she became fascinated by psychic phenomena and, with four other women artists, founded the esoteric group De fem (“The Five”). During their séances, a spirit called Amaliel requested her to paint a series of pictures, prompting the series Målningarna till Templet [“paintings for the temple”]. Painted following a psychic – i.e. automatic – method, and sometimes in a state of trance, this work was carried out from 1906 to 1908, and from 1913 to 1915. It contains over 190 pictures and is organised in various groups of paintings, among which the series WU [“the rose”] and De Tio Största [“the ten largest”], all of which express a search for harmony based on the opposition of contradictory principles: the male-female body is a metaphor of the divide between spiritual life (symbolised by the letter “U”) and material life (symbolised by the “W”); likewise, the colour blue is used for women and yellow for men. In 1916, one year after completing her work, she had a studio specially built on an island near Stockholm to exhibit the “mystical” series to a selected number of people. In addition to this creative output, she continued to present academic work from 1910 to 1914, for purely financial reasons, at exhibitions organised by the Association of Swedish women painters, which she was part of. In 1914 she showed portraits and landscapes at the Baltic Exhibition in Malmö, where Kandinsky showed abstract paintings. From 1916 to 1920 she continued her research on the astral world, which led hear to a form of pure abstraction, as can be seen in her memorable series from this period, Percival (1916) and The Atom (1917).

After her mother died in 1920, she moved to Helsingborg and became fascinated by the thoughts of Rudolf Steiner, founder and leader of the Anthroposophical Society since 1912. As a result, she spent the next two decades painting small-format watercolours, both figurative and non-figurative. When she died, she left behind a considerable body of work of over 1,000 pieces, which she left to her nephew Erik af Klint, on condition that he wait twenty years before exhibiting them. However, only forty years after her death did the public finally discover the scope and extraordinary modernity of her abstract work, which allows for a reassessment of the birth of abstraction in European art history. A foundation is devoted to her work in Stockholm. In 2008, her work was given major exposure at the exhibition Traces du sacré at the Centre Pompidou in Paris. Moderna Museet Stockholm devoted the exhibition Hilma af Klint: A Pioneer of Abstraction to her in 2013.

Read more

Guenola Stork

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, Altapiece, No 1, Group X, 1915, oil and metal leaf on canvas, 237.5 x 179.5 cm, 93.5 x 70.67 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, Primordial Chaos,No 1, Group I, 1906, oil on canvas, 53 cm x 37 cm, 20.87 x 14,57 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Ten Largest, No 3, Youth, Group IV, 1907, 321 x 240 cm, 126.38 x 94.49 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Large Figure Paintings, No 5, Group III, 1907, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, Wheat and Wormwood, On the Viewing of Flowers and Trees, 1922, watercolour, 17.5 x 24.5 cm, 6.89 x 9.65 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Swan, No 17, Group IX, 1915, oil on canvas, 141.5 x 151 cm, 59.65 x 59.45 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Teaching of Buddhism, No 3d, 1920, oil on canvas, 37.5 x 28 cm, 14.76 x 11.02 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, No Title, On the Viewing of Flowers and Trees, 1922, watercolour and graphite on paper, 17.5 x 24.5 cm, 6.89 x 9.65 in., © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Hilma af Klint

18621944 | Stockholm, Suède
Informations
Soutien
— Estate Hilma af Klint

Peintre suédoise.

Il a fallu attendre l’exposition The Spiritual in Art : Abstract Painting 1890-1985, au Los Angeles County Museum of Art en 1986, pour que l’œuvre de Hilma af Klint soit enfin reconnue par l’histoire de l’art et le grand public. Ses tableaux sont alors exposés aux côtés de ceux de Mondrian, de Vassily Kandinsky et de Kazimir Malevitch. Et pourtant, au regard des dates de ses premières œuvres abstraites, il apparaît que la peintre, bien en avance sur son temps, ne peut pas avoir été influencée par les artistes considérés comme les pionniers de l’art abstrait. Son parcours solitaire et atypique est fortement relié à un cheminement spirituel et ésotérique. Seul un petit groupe d’initiés connaissait jusque-là ses peintures « mystiques », elle-même étant convaincue que le grand public n’était pas prêt à les comprendre. La botanique et les mathématiques constituent des centres d’intérêts importants pour sa famille. Elle passe ses étés dans un manoir près du lac de Mälaren, non loin de Stockholm, où la beauté de la nature marque indéniablement ses orientations artistiques. Elle étudie d’abord à l’École technique artistique de Stockholm vers 1880, puis à l’Académie royale des beaux-arts (1882-1887). Elle peint alors essentiellement des paysages et des portraits (Utsikt över Mälaren, « vue sur le lac Mälaren », 1903), faisant preuve d’une sensibilité typique de son époque.

Vingt années durant, elle continue à peindre dans ce courant académique, sans aucun contact avec les mouvements européens d’avant-garde. Puis, en 1906, sous l’influence du Mouvement théosophique créé par la Russe Helena Blavatsky (1831-1891) et dont l’importance est alors considérable, elle se passionne pour les phénomènes médiumniques et constitue, avec quatre autres femmes artistes, le groupe ésotérique De fem (« des cinq »). Au cours d’une de leurs séances de spiritisme, un esprit du nom d’Amaliel exige qu’elle se lance dans une suite de tableaux. C’est ainsi que naît la série des Målningarna till Templet (« peintures pour le temple »). Ce travail, réalisé en peinture médiumnique – c’est-à-dire automatique –, quelquefois dans une sorte de transe, est mené de 1906 à 1908, puis de 1913 à 1915. Regroupant plus de 190 tableaux, il s’articule en différents groupes de peintures, dont les séries WU (« la rose ») ou De Tio Största (« les dix plus grands »). Toutes expriment une recherche d’harmonie fondée sur l’opposition de principes antinomiques : le couple masculin- féminin est une métaphore du clivage entre la vie spirituelle (symbolisée par la lettre « U ») et le matériel (symbolisé par le « W ») ; de même, l’utilisation du bleu se rapporte à la femme et le jaune à l’homme. En 1916, un an après l’achèvement de son oeuvre, l’artiste fera construire sur une île proche de Stockholm un atelier destiné à exposer la série « mystique », dont elle réservera l’accès à des personnes choisies. Parallèlement à sa création, elle continue, de 1910 à 1914, à présenter des œuvres académiques, pour elle alimentaires, à certaines expositions de l’Association des femmes peintres suédoises, dont elle est membre. En 1914, elle expose des portraits et des paysages à l’Exposition baltique à Malmö, où V. Kandinsky montre des toiles abstraites. De 1916 à 1920, elle poursuit ses recherches sur le monde astral, aboutissant à une forme d’abstraction pure, comme le révèlent les séries marquantes de cette période : Perceval (1916), L’Atome (1917).

Après la mort de sa mère en 1920, elle emménage à Helsingborg et se passionne pour la pensée de Rudolf Steiner, fondateur et chef, depuis 1912, de la Société anthroposophique. Il en résulte, dans les deux décennies qui suivent, des aquarelles de petit format, figuratives comme non figuratives. À sa mort, elle laisse une œuvre considérable, riche de plus de 1 000 pièces, qu’elle lègue à son neveu Erik af Klint, sous condition testamentaire de ne pas l’exposer avant vingt ans. Mais ce n’est que quarante ans après son décès que le grand public découvre enfin l’ampleur et l’extraordinaire modernité de ces œuvres abstraites qui autorisent une relecture de la naissance de l’abstraction dans l’histoire européenne de l’art. Une fondation est consacrée à son œuvre à Stockholm. En 2008, l’exposition Traces du sacré, au Centre Pompidou à Paris, accorde une large place à son travail. En 2013, le Moderna Museet de Stockholm lui consacrera une exposition Hilma af Klint : A Pioneer of Abstraction.

Lire plus

Guenola Stork

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, Altapiece, No 1, Group X, 1915, huile et feuille de métal sur toile, 237,5 x 179,5 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, Primordial Chaos, No 1, Group I, 1906, huile sur toile, 53 cm x 37 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Ten Largest, No 3, Youth, Group IV, 1907, 321 x 240 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Large Figure Paintings, No 5, Group III, 1907, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Swan, No 17, Group IX, 1915, huile sur toile, 141,5 x 151 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Swan, No 17, Group IX, 1915, huile sur toile, 141,5 x 151 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, The Teaching of Buddhism, No 3d, 1920, huile sur toile, 37,5 x 28 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Hilma af Klint — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hilma af Klint, No Title, On the Viewing of Flowers and Trees, 1922, aquarelle et graphite sur papier, 17,5 x 24,5 cm, © Stiftelsen Hilma af Klints Verk

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29