Sarah Moon

1941 | Vernon, France
Informations
Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Alamy Stock

French photographer and filmmaker.

Sarah Moon left occupied France for England with her Jewish family. There, she studied drawing. While working as a model under the name Marielle Hadengue from 1960 to 1966, she helped her friends build up their portfolios by acting as an impromptu photographer. It was when she met her future partner, photography publisher Robert Delpire, that she began a brilliant collaboration with Cacharel in 1967 that lasted for thirty years. Her elegant photo campaigns and advertising films inspired by the 1930s won awards in Cannes in 1979. However from 1968 she also worked as an independent photographer for several fashion designers (Sonia Rykiel, Jean Patou, Coco Chanel, Issey Miyake) and European and American magazines (Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Vogue, Stern and Elle). Her immediately identifiable style distinguished itself through the dreamlike and impressionistic atmosphere in which she placed her models, which she created through particular materials (grains, halftones and blurring) that gave her images a “turn of the century” pictorialist aspect. It wasn’t until 1980 that her first truly personal work was published: Souvenirs improbables, which set the standard. In parallel to her advertising and fashion photos, she began to capture still lifes, landscapes, children and animals in compositions whose imaginary content was pervasive. In the 1980s her exhibitions travelled throughout Europe, the United States, and even Japan. Through her determination to obtain something “beyond appearances” (Vrais semblants, 1991), at a very early stage she stood out from typical commercial images. The strange atmosphere that she gave to brands took precedence over the precise visibility of the products.

Her years of commercial photography led her to a more abstract work inspired by the essence of fashion: the ephemeral and the beauty that must be captured before it disappears. This reflection of the moment in time took the form of snapshots whose initial nostalgia – which at first glance could have been considered as a rather meek romanticism – was transformed into the very expression of disappearance. Her Polaroid photographs are damaged, scraped and scratched, so that with their saturated, altered colours and sepia tones and the blurred and blackened limits of their frame, they send the most contemporary photos back to the antiquity of an obscure memory. Thus, in Coïncidences (2001), while the models and props evoke the 1930s, her mother’s time, and Virginia Woolf’s diaphanous heroines, the scenes studied also depict deserted landscapes, plants and animals from monstrous ancient times. Mysterious and recurring, the birds are like the women and children she represents – hybrid figures between heaven and earth, caged and free, the elegance of the feather and anxiety of the greenhouses. Her work is the work of a halcyon deranged by death. In her universe of venturing true and false, women and dolls, monsters and ghosts. Her interest in fiction, childhood and the omnipresence of chimeras can be found in her illustrations and adaptations of tales by Charles Perrault and Hans Christian Andersen. The short film Circus (2003) mixes video and Polaroids inspired by The Little Match Girl and inaugurated a series of films – L’Effraie (2005), Le Fil rouge (2006) and La Sirène d’Auderville (2007) – that update stories in a sometimes frightening world with an aesthetic that is both nostalgic and poisonous thanks to a highly contrasted, always refined use of black and white where darkness dominates.

She also created a feature length film, Mississippi One (1991), a road movie that travels through deserted landscapes (camp sites, beaches, seaside resorts and abandoned factories). She also presented two documentary films in 1994, one on her own work for the Contacts series (1993) directed by William Klein – which was awarded a FIPA d’or– and another on Henri Cartier-Bresson, H.C.B. point d’interrogation ? Sarah Moon was first recognised in the 1970s and 1980s for her advertising work, but the other side of her work as a filmmaker and photographer – exhibited and published worldwide since the 1980s – has gradually gained international recognition and awards since the 1990s. In 2008 a retrospective and a five-volume album12345 published the essence of her body of work.

Read more

Anne-Cécile Guilbard

Translated from the French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Avril pour Elle II, 2003, gelatin silver print, 23.5 x 19.7 cm, private collection, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Circuss, 2003, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Sarah Moon / Cnap

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, En Italie, 1993, gelatin silver print, 24 x 31.5 cm, private collection, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Fashion 11, Yoji Yamamoto, 1997, pigment print dry stamp of the photographer, 57 x 42.3 cm, private collection, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Mode (Chapeau), ca. 1996, color charcoal print, 35.50 x 46 cm, private collection, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Sonia Rykiel pour ‘Vogue’ anglais, 1976, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © Sarah Moon / Cnap

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Sarah Moon

1941 | Vernon, France
Informations
Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Alamy Stock

Photographe et réalisatrice française.

Avec sa famille, d’origine juive, Sarah Moon quitte la France occupée pour l’Angleterre, où elle étudie le dessin. De 1960 à 1966, tout en travaillant comme mannequin – sous le nom de Marielle Hadengue –, elle s’improvise photographe de mode pour aider ses amies à constituer leur press-book. C’est à l’époque de sa rencontre avec son futur compagnon, l’éditeur de photographies Robert Delpire, qu’elle débute, en 1967, une collaboration éclatante avec Cacharel, qui durera pendant trente ans : ses campagnes de photographies et ses films publicitaires raffinés inspirés des années 1930 sont notamment primés à Cannes en 1979. Cependant, dès 1968, elle travaille également comme photographe indépendante pour de nombreux autres couturiers (Sonia Rykiel, Jean Patou, Coco Chanel, Issey Miyake) et des magazines européens et américains (Marie-Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Vogue, Stern ou Elle). Immédiatement identifiable, son style se démarque par une atmosphère impressionniste et onirique, dans laquelle elle fond ses modèles et qu’elle crée surtout grâce à une matière particulière (grain, tons en demi-teinte, usage du flou) qui confère à ses images un aspect pictorialiste « début de siècle ». Il faut cependant attendre 1980 pour l’édition de son premier ouvrage véritablement personnel : Souvenirs improbables, qui donnera le ton. Parallèlement à ses photos de mode et de publicité, elle commence à saisir des natures mortes, des paysages, des enfants, des animaux, dans des compositions dont la teneur imaginaire est omniprésente. Ses expositions parcourent l’Europe, les États-Unis, ainsi que le Japon dès les années 1980. Par sa volonté permanente d’atteindre un « au-delà des apparences » (Vrais semblants, 1991), elle se démarque très tôt des clichés commerciaux. L’atmosphère étrange qu’elle confère aux marques prime sur la visibilité précise des produits.

Ses années de photographie à visée commerciale la mèneront à un travail plus abstrait inspiré de l’essence même de la mode : l’éphémère, la beauté qu’il faut saisir avant qu’elle disparaisse. Cette réflexion de l’instant dans le temps prend la forme de clichés dont la nostalgie première, qu’on aurait pu, de prime abord, tenir pour un romantisme un peu mièvre, se transforme en l’expression même de la disparition. Les clichés Polaroid sont salis au tirage, grattés, griffés, de sorte qu’avec leurs couleurs saturées, altérées, ou bien leur virage sépia, et les limites brouillées et noircies de leur cadre, ils renvoient les photos les plus contemporaines à l’antiquité d’une mémoire obscure. Ainsi, dans Coïncidences (2001), si les modèles et accessoires évoquent les années 1930, l’époque de sa mère et les héroïnes diaphanes de Virginia Woolf, les mises en scène étudiées montrent aussi des paysages déserts, des végétaux, des animaux des temps anciens monstrueux. Les oiseaux, mystérieux et récurrents, sont à l’image des femmes et des enfants qu’elle représente, figures hybrides entre ciel et terre, cage et liberté, élégance de la plume et inquiétude des serres. Son œuvre relève d’un merveilleux perverti par la mort : dans son univers s’aventurent vrai et faux, femmes et poupées, monstres et fantômes. Son intérêt pour la fiction, le monde de l’enfance et l’omniprésence des chimères se retrouve dans ses illustrations et adaptations de contes de Perrault ou d’Andersen. Le court-métrage Circuss (2003), mélange de vidéo et de Polaroid inspiré de La Petite Fille aux allumettes, inaugure une série de films : L’Effraie (2005), Le Fil rouge (2006) et La Sirène d’Auderville (2007), qui réactualisent les histoires dans un monde parfois effrayant, avec une esthétique à la fois nostalgique et vénéneuse grâce à un usage du noir et blanc fortement contrasté, toujours raffiné, où domine l’obscur.

Elle réalise aussi un long-métrage, Mississipi One (1991), road-movie au travers des paysages d’un nord déserté (campings, plages et stations balnéaires vides, usines désaffectées). Elle présente également deux films documentaires en 1994 : l’un sur son propre travail pour la série Contacts (1993) dirigée par William Klein – couronnée d’un Fipa d’or – ; l’autre sur son ami Henri Cartier- Bresson, H. C. B. point d’interrogation ? Sarah Moon est d’abord primée dans les années 1970-1980 pour son travail publicitaire, mais l’autre versant de son travail de cinéaste et de photographe, exposé et publié dans le monde entier depuis les années 1980, est progressivement reconnu et récompensé internationalement à partir des années 1990. En 2008, une rétrospective et un album en cinq volumes, 12345, reprennent l’essentiel de l’œuvre qu’elle poursuit.

Lire plus

Anne-Cécile Guilbard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Avril pour Elle II, 2003, tirage argentique, 23,5 x 19,7 cm, collection particulière, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Circuss, 2003, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Sarah Moon / Cnap

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, En Italie, 1993, tirage argentique, 24 x 31,5 cm, collection particulière, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Fashion 11, Yoji Yamamoto, 1997, tirage pigmentaire timbre sec de la photographe, 57 x 42,3 cm, collection particulière, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Mode (Chapeau), vers 1996, tirage charbon couleur, 35,50 x 46 cm, collection particulière, © Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Sarah Moon, Sonia Rykiel pour ‘Vogue’ anglais, 1976, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © Sarah Moon / Cnap

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29