Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Valérie Favre

1959 | Evilard, Switzerland
Informations
Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Bertrand Gondouin

Swiss painter.

Valérie Favre’s intended career path was to work in theatre and cinema. However, she eventually chose painting as her preferred medium in the 1990s. In 1998, after becoming acknowledged as a major figure of the contemporary art scene, she left France for Berlin – a move she described as “liberating”. She began teaching at the Universität der Künste in Berlin in 2006. Favre’s paintings are set in an enclosed and mysterious visual atmosphere. Echoing Romanticism’s heightened sensitivity, she has made the German forest her favoured setting, in which dreamlike, magical or disturbing encounters take place. There is an impending sense of danger in this closed and perspectiveless space, but Favre’s works let us apprehend and interpret the risk, and perhaps even master it: this sense of mystery and unrest is particularly present in her series of paintings called Shortcuts (2007-2009). Like true reflections of her fears, the titles of her works follow the same introspective process that leads to a questioning of the general notion of individuality: Le Diable probablement (The Devil Probably, 2006), Mulholland Drive (2007), Les Pendus (Hanged People, 2008), Secret Service for the Queen (2008). Other themes, such as meeting games and animal-related vocabulary, temper this surreal and terrifying world: her famous does (“lapines”), elves and sensual images of part-woman part-animal figures make for a more melodious atmosphere.

Favre’s consistent interest in “the matter that remains” leads her to “utilise both the material and fictional possibilities of painting” by letting paint drippings and trickles take over the canvas. The materiality of the act of painting and its conceptual detachment therefore become the essential elements of its style. For the past few years, Favre has taken an interest in new sources, reinterpreting myths, art history and literature in order to express her own personal mythology (Domination, 2004).

Read more

Maïa Kantor

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Balls and Tunnels, 2009, ink on canvas, 300 x 190 cm, Courtesy Valérie Favre and Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Die Antwort der Zwerge [The answer of the dwarf], 2010-2011, oil on canvas, 3 pannels, 170 x 390 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Play back, 2014-2015, oil on canvas, triptych, 170 x 390 cm, Courtesy Valérie Favre and Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Redescription Selbst-Portrait (nach Hugo Ball, Dada Poète) N°5 [Redescription self-portrait (by Hugo Ball, Dada poet) N°5], 2016, oil and pencil on canvas, 146 x 89 cm, Courtesy Valérie Favre and Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Selbstportrait (nach de Chirico) [Selfportrait (by de Chirico)], 2017, oil on linen, 90 x 70 cm, Courtesy Sammlung Wemhöner, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, installation view, Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel, Switzerland, 2017-2018, Courtesy Valérie Favre, © Photo : Stefano Lori, © Musée d’art et d’histoire, Neuchâtel, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, installation view, Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel, Switzerland, 2017-2018, Courtesy Valérie Favre, © Photo : Stefano Lori, © Musée d’art et d’histoire, Neuchâtel, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Valérie Favre

1959 | Evilard, Suisse
Informations
Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Bertrand Gondouin

Peintre suisse.

Valérie Favre se destinait d’abord au théâtre et au cinéma, mais c’est finalement la peinture qu’elle choisit comme médium de prédilection dans les années 1990. Devenue une artiste majeure de la scène contemporaine, en 1998, elle quitte la France et s’installe à Berlin, départ qu’elle qualifie de « libératoire ». En 2006, elle est nommée enseignante à l’Universität der Künste de Berlin. L’univers plastique de ses peintures se développe dans un environnement clos et mystérieux. En écho à la sensibilité exacerbée du romantisme, la forêt allemande devient le théâtre privilégié de l’artiste, où se déploient des rencontres oniriques, féériques ou inquiétantes. Dans cet espace fermé et sans perspective, le danger est partout, mais ses œuvres permettent d’appréhender et d’interpréter ce risque, voire de le dompter : ainsi, énigmes et inquiétudes se transmettent à travers la série de toiles Shortcuts (2007-2009). Véritable reflet de ses angoisses, le titre de ses œuvres répond à la même démarche d’introspection et de questionnement sur l’individu en général : Le Diable probablement (2006) ; Mulholland Drive (2007) ; Les Pendus (2008) ; Secret Service for the Queen (2008). D’autres thèmes, comme les jeux de rencontres et le vocabulaire animalier, adoucissent ce monde fantastique et terrifiant : les fameux jeux des lapines, les elfes et les images sensuelles de personnages mi- femmes mi- animaux aspirent à rendre l’atmosphère plus mélodieuse.

Toujours intéressée par « cette matière qui reste », V. Favre cherche à « investir les possibilités tant matérielles que fictionnelles de la peinture » et laisse coulures et dégoulinures envahir la toile. La matérialité de l’acte de peindre comme sa distanciation conceptuelle deviennent alors les éléments essentiels de sa manière. Depuis quelque temps, elle s’intéresse à de nouvelles sources : réinterprétant les mythes, l’histoire de l’art et la littérature, elle cherche à exprimer sa propre mythologie individuelle (Domination, 2004).

Lire plus

Maïa Kantor

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Balls and Tunnels, 2009, encre sur toile, 300 x 190 cm, Courtesy Valérie Favre et Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Die Antwort der Zwerge [La réponse du nain], 2010-2011, huile sur toile, 3 panneaux, 170 x 390 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Play back, 2014-2015, huile sur toile, triptyque, 170 x 390 cm, Courtesy Valérie Favre et Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Redescription Selbst-Portrait (nach Hugo Ball, Dada Poète) N°5 [Redescription autoportrait (d’après Hugo Ball, poète Dada) N°5], 2016, huile et crayon sur toile, 146 x 89 cm, Courtesy Valérie Favre et Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, Selbstportrait (nach de Chirico) [Autoportrait (d’après de Chirico)], 2017, huile sur lin, 90 x 70 cm, Courtesy Sammlung Wemhöner, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, vue d’installation, Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel, Suisse, 2017-2018, Courtesy Valérie Favre, © Photo : Stefano Lori, © Musée d’art et d’histoire, Neuchâtel, © ADAGP, Paris

Valérie  Favre — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Favre, vue d’installation, Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel, Suisse, 2017-2018, Courtesy Valérie Favre, © Photo : Stefano Lori, © Musée d’art et d’histoire, Neuchâtel, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29