Yee I-Lann

1971 | Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Informations

Malaysian visual artist.

Born on the West Coast of the Malaysian state of Sabah, Yee I-Lann is one of Southeast Asia’s leading figures in the visual arts. Much of the artist’s practice to date has been informed by her transnational and transcultural experiences, and through her diverse family heritage: her mother is from New Zealand, and her father is Sino-Kadazan, an indigenous people of Sabah.
Yee I-Lann left Malaysia in the early 1990s to study at the University of South Australia in Adelaide. After graduating with a BA in Visual Art – cinematography and photography – in 1993 she immersed herself in European cultures, visiting capitals across Italy. She then moved to London for a time and took a summer course in painting at School of Art du Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design.
Returning to Malaysia in 1994, she first found work as a production designer for feature films. Later, she became co-founder of the influential art collective, LabDNA. More recently, she’s been involved with Kota-K Studio, a cross-disciplinary art and architecture platform and exhibition space.

Yee I-Lann actively engages in a critical discourse around European colonialism and the postcolonial legacies it has imparted in the Southeast Asian region. This included her participation in the exhibition Artist and Empire: (En)countering Colonial Legacies at the National Gallery of Singapore in 2016-2017, a critique by contemporary artists of art that was born from Britain’s rule over its Asian Pacific colonies. Her photomontages of digitally altered archival images, often incorporate symbols of power, such as the Jalur Gemilang, Malaysia’s national flag and animals – the seladang – a wild ox. Her work also includes old local materials and crafts, including bamboo, the pandanus leaf used to make mats, and the practice of batik.

The artist’s exploration of the female body in terms of its strong spiritual connectedness to water and to the earth is rooted in her Sabahan identity. One such legendary female spirit is that of the centuries-old Kadazan story of the Huminodun. It appears in the artist’s work as a young solitary female, or group of young women standing in close proximity to one another. Their appearance is obscured by their long, dark hair which is brushed over their faces or intertwined with that of another figure. When clustered together, the figures display a powerful, yet at times, disquieting presence.

Yee I-Lann’s work ultimately acts like a palimpsest; layer upon layer of picture impressions that hold memories of her past and those in the present and which, for the artist, bring her multifaceted world and ideas closer to the viewer.

Since participating in her first group show at the Sabah Art Gallery in Kota Kinabalu in 1994, Yee I-Lann has exhibited her works in Malaysia and internationally including, Singapore, Sydney, Tokyo, New York and Shanghai.

Read more

Pamela Kember

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Shell, from the series Sulu Stories, 2005, digital print, 61 x 61 cm, © Mori Art Museum

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, The Orang Besar, from the series YB 1 10, 2010, Digital C-Type print, 35 x 26 cm, private collection

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Nine-Dash Line, 2017, photography, 88 x 300 cm, private collection

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Kopivosian, 2007, color digital print, 106.1 x 204.1 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Kinabalu Series Huminodun, digital print on Kodak Endura paper, 106.5 x 204.5 cm, private collection

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Brothers in Arms, from the series Sulu Stories, 2005, digital print, 61 x 62 cm, © Mori Art Museum

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Bajau Sama DiLaut Pandanus weave with commercial chemical dye and matt sealant, 2018-2019, edition 1 of 2, 91 x 140 cm © Yee I-Lann

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Anak Negeri, 2007, digital type C print, 107.6 x 205.1 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Yee I-Lann

1971 | Kota Kinabalu, Malaisie
Informations

Plasticienne malaisienne.

Née sur la côte ouest de l’État malaisien du Sabah, Yee I-Lann est l’une des figures de proue des arts plastiques en Asie du Sud-Est. La majeure partie de sa pratique se nourrit de ses expériences transnationales et de son patrimoine familial multiculturel : en effet, sa mère est néo-zélandaise et son père, sino-kadazan (les Kazadans sont une ethnie autochtone du Sabah).
Yee I-Lann quitte la Malaisie au début des années 1990 pour étudier à l’University of South Australia à Adélaïde. Après avoir obtenu une licence en arts (cinématographie et photographie) en 1990, elle s’immerge dans les cultures européennes en parcourant plusieurs villes d’Italie. Elle emménage ensuite à Londres, où elle suit des cours d’été à la School of Art du Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design.
De retour en Malaisie en 1994, elle travaille tout d’abord en tant que cheffe décoratrice pour le cinéma. Elle cofonde ensuite l’influent collectif d’artistes LabDNA. Ces dernières années, elle collabore avec Kota-K Studio, un lieu d’exposition doublé d’une plateforme pluridisciplinaire spécialisée dans l’art et l’architecture.

La pratique de Yee I-Lann s’articule autour d’une analyse du colonialisme européen et de l’héritage postcolonial qu’il a laissé dans les régions du Sud-Est asiatique, comme l’illustre sa participation à Artist and Empire: (En)countering Colonial Legacies à la National Gallery de Singapour en 2016-2017, où les artistes contemporains exposés posaient un regard critique sur l’art né dans les colonies de la région Asie-Pacifique sous la domination de l’Empire britannique. Ses photomontages d’images d’archives modifiées numériquement incluent souvent des symboles de pouvoir, tel le Jalur Gemilang (drapeau de la Malaisie) ou des animaux comme le seladang, une espèce de bœuf sauvage. Son œuvre comprend également des matériaux et des éléments issus de l’artisanat local, notamment le bambou, la feuille de pandanus, traditionnellement utilisée dans la confection de nattes. Yee I-Lann fait aussi du batik.

La manière dont l’artiste explore le thème du corps féminin dans son lien spirituel avec l’eau et la terre est profondément ancrée dans son identité sabah. L’une des figures spirituelles féminines légendaires auxquelles elle fait appel est issue du récit mythologique séculaire kazadan de Huminodun. Elle revêt alors l’apparence d’une jeune femme solitaire ou d’un groupe soudé de femmes debout, chacune ayant le visage caché par une longue chevelure noire qui s’entremêle parfois à celle de sa voisine. Une fois rassemblées, ces figures dégagent à la fois une impression de pouvoir et un sentiment troublant.

Au fond, l’œuvre de Yee I-Lann « fonctionne » à la manière d’un palimpseste, sous la forme de strates superposées d’impressions imagées qui contiennent le souvenir de son passé et celui de son présent, permettant ainsi à l’artiste de partager avec le public les multiples facettes de son univers et de son discours.

Depuis la première exposition collective de Yee I-Lann à la Sabah Art Gallery de Kota Kinabalu en 1994, son travail a été présenté à plusieurs reprises en Malaisie et dans le reste du monde, notamment à Singapour, Sydney, Tokyo, New York et Shanghai.

Lire plus

Pamela Kember

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Shell, issu de la série Sulu Stories, 2005, impression digitale, 61 x 61 cm, ©Mori Art Museum

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, The Orang Besar, issu de la série YB 1 10, 2010, impression digitale de type C, 35 x 26 cm, collection particulière

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Nine-Dash Line, 2017, photographie, 88 x 300 cm, collection particulière

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Kopivosian, 2007, impression digitale couleur, 106,1 x 204,1 cm, ©National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Kinabalu Series Huminodun, impression digitale sur papier Kodak endura, 106,5 x 204,5 cm, collection particulière

Sulu Stories, 2005, impression digitale, 61 x 62 cm, ©MOri Art Museum

"> Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Brothers in Arms, issu de la série Sulu Stories, 2005, impression digitale, 61 x 62 cm, ©MOri Art Museum

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Bajau Sama DiLaut Pandanus weave with commercial chemical dye and matt sealant, 2018-2019, édition 1 of 2, 91 x 140 cm © Yee I-Lann

Yee I-Lann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Yee I-Lann, Anak Negeri, 2007, impression digitale de type C, 107,6 x 205,1 cm, ©National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29