Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Bianca Bondi
Nominee of Prix 2020

At the intersection of experimental scientific research and esoteric rituals, ancestral mythologies and speculative fictions, Bianca Bondi’s art could be described as sorcery of the Chthulucene.

Bianca Bondi - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Bianca Bondi, exhibition view at the VNH Gallery, 2019, as part of the Art O Rama art fair (2019), Courtesy Bianca Bondi, © ADAGP, Paris, © Photo: JC Lett

This term, forged by feminist science historian, anthropologist and philosopher Donna Haraway to describe our era, which, according to her, “entangles myriad temporalities and spatialities and myriad intra-active entities-in-assemblages – including the more-than-human, other-than-human, inhuman, and human-as-humus”,1 opens up de facto fertile perspectives to talk about the artist’s perpetually changing works in this age of environmental disaster.

At the heart of Bianca Bondi’s work lies an awareness of the impact of the globalised capitalist economy on the environment, of its consequences on all living and non-living realms, on humans and non-humans alike, but without any moralising framing. Whether using the ability of a moth to drink the tears of birds while they sleep as a starting point, or the effect of the increase in solar activity on ocean levels, or the presence of plastic microparticles on most of the earth’s surface, her process results in hybrid works born from the merging of organic and synthetic materials, chosen not only for their physical properties, but also for the symbolic aura and energy that various cultures associate them with. Shaped by more or less controlled chemical reactions, the forms generated therefore include their own transformation processes and express a sense of impermanence and instability.

Bianca Bondi - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Bianca Bondi, The Sacred Spring and Necessary Resevoirs, 2019, installation view, objects and mixed media, the Fagor Brandt former factories, as part of the 15th Lyon Biennale (2019), Courtesy Bianca Bondi, © ADAGP, Paris

Bianca Bondi - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Bianca Bondi, The Sacred Spring and Necessary Resevoirs, 2019, installation view, objects and mixed media, the Fagor Brandt former factories, as part of the 15th Lyon Biennale (2019), Courtesy Bianca Bondi, © ADAGP, Paris

This is the case in the series Bloom (2017-2018), which the artist describes as “living still lifes”:2 glass-cased compositions of organic materials (kangaroo paws, dried flowers, corals, and so on) and household items from various eras and geographical origins (books, copper tableware, etc.) that have been subjected to oxidation and crystallisation processes. While there is an undeniable visual seductiveness to these contemporary vanitas, it is merely a lure to draw attention to the invisible phenomena and histories that lie beneath. In fact, Bianca Bondi’s works are not born without earth; they are the fruit of symbiotic relationships with the site they are located. For instance, on the occasion of the 15th Lyon Biennale (2019), the artist started out by investigating the background of the recently closed industrial site in which the exhibition was to be held, to create a work that would take into account the multiple strata of its history and memory. Using a semi-closed area of the factory, she recreated the familiar setting of a kitchen, its elements gradually coloured and crystallised as they were exposed to water and salt – a substance that is both a preservative and a corrosive, used in many cultures, religions and magical rituals for its purifying qualities.

Like altars for unknown faiths, portals between cultures, mutant products of a damaged world, Bianca Bondi’s works are those of a present-day sorceress.

Yoann Gourmel

 

Bianca Bondi (b. 1986, Johannesburg, South Africa) lives and works in Paris. Her mixed-media approach involves an activation of objects and is often adapted to the space in which the works are exhibited. She chooses her materials for their transformative potential or their inherent properties. Her works have been shown, among other occasions, at Plato (Ostrava, Czech Republic, 2017), TagTeam Studio (Bergen, Norway, 2017), La Panacée MOCO (Montpellier, France, 2018), BOZAR (Brussels, Belgium, 2019), SFER IK Museion (Tulum, Mexico, 2019), and at the 2019 Lyon Biennale. She was a finalist for the Révélations Emerige grant in 2015, as well as the Prix Le Meurice pour l’art contemporain in 2018 and Prix Découverte des Amis du Palais de Tokyo in 2018.

1
Donna Haraway, “Anthropocene, Capitalocene, Plantationocene, Chthulucene: Making Kin”, Environmental Humanities 6 (2015): pp. 159-165. OR http://environmentalhumanities.org/arch/vol6/6.7.pdf  

2
Ajan Line, “Conversation avec Bianca Bondi”, Figure Figure, no 12 (January 2019): https://figurefigure.fr/pdf/FigureFigure12BiancaBondi.pdf.

Commissioner: Yoann Gourmel is a curator at Palais de Tokyo. He also works as an independent curator, occasionally teaches at art schools and is a regular contributor for several magazines and publications. His work for Palais de Tokyo includes curatorship of the group exhibitions Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve (2018) and Sous le regard de machines pleines d’amour et de grâce (2017), and of solo shows for Julien Creuzet (2019), Massinissa Selmani (2018), and Taloi Havini (2017). He also supervised Palais de Tokyo’s curatorial team for the 15th Lyon Contemporary Art Biennale, Là où les eaux se mêlent (2019).

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Bianca Bondi
Nommée au Prix 2020

À la croisée de protocoles scientifiques expérimentaux et de rituels ésotériques, de mythologies ancestrales et de fictions spéculatives, l’art de Bianca Bondi pourrait être qualifié de sorcellerie du Chthulucène.

Bianca Bondi - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Bianca Bondi, vue d’exposition personnelle à la VNH Gallery, 2019, dans le cadre de la foire Art O Rama (2019), Courtesy Bianca Bondi, © ADAGP, Paris, © Photo : JC Lett

Ce terme forgé par l’historienne des sciences, anthropologue et philosophe féministe Donna Haraway pour désigner notre époque, qui, selon elle, « enchevêtre une myriade de temporalités et de spatialités, d’entités-en-assemblages intra-actives – incluant le plus-qu’humain, l’autre-qu’humain, l’inhumain, et l’humain-comme-humus1 » ouvre de fait des perspectives fécondes pour évoquer les œuvres de l’artiste, en perpétuelle métamorphose à l’ère du désastre écologique.

La conscience de l’impact de l’économie capitaliste mondialisée sur l’environnement, de ses conséquences sur l’ensemble des règnes du vivant et du non-vivant, de l’humain et du non-humain est enracinée dans la pratique de l’artiste, sans pour autant que celle-ci en fournisse une illustration moralisatrice. Qu’elle prenne pour point de départ l’aptitude d’un papillon de nuit à boire les larmes d’un oiseau pendant son sommeil, l’incidence de l’augmentation de l’intensité solaire sur le niveau des océans, ou la présence de microparticules de plastique sur la quasi-totalité du globe, il en résulte des œuvres hybrides nées de la rencontre d’objets et de matériaux organiques et synthétiques, choisis non seulement pour leurs propriétés physiques mais aussi pour l’aura symbolique et l’énergie qui leur sont associées dans différentes cultures. Sous l’effet de réactions chimiques plus ou moins contrôlées, les formes générées incluent alors leurs propres processus de transformation, témoignant d’un sentiment d’impermanence et d’instabilité.

Bianca Bondi - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Bianca Bondi, The Sacred Spring and Necessary Resevoirs, 2019, installation, objets et matériaux divers. Les anciennes usines Fagor Brandt dans le cadre de la XVe Biennale de Lyon (2019). Courtesy Bianca Bondi, © ADAGP, Paris

Bianca Bondi - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Bianca Bondi, The Sacred Spring and Necessary Resevoirs, 2019, installation, objets et matériaux divers. Les anciennes usines Fagor Brandt dans le cadre de la XVe Biennale de Lyon (2019). Courtesy Bianca Bondi, © ADAGP, Paris

Il en va ainsi des œuvres de la série Bloom (2017-2018), que l’artiste qualifie de « natures mortes vivantes2 » : compositions sous vitrines de matières organiques (pattes de kangourou, fleurs séchées, coraux…) et d’objets domestiques d’époques et d’origines géographiques variées (livres, vaisselle en cuivre…) soumis à des processus d’oxydation et de cristallisation. Si la séduction visuelle de ces vanités contemporaines est indéniable, elle n’est toutefois qu’un leurre pour attirer l’attention sur des phénomènes invisibles et les histoires qui les sous-tendent. Car les œuvres de Bianca Bondi ne poussent pas hors sol et sont le fruit de relations symbiotiques avec le site dans lequel elles s’inscrivent. Ainsi à l’occasion de la XVe Biennale de Lyon (2019) a-t-elle en premier lieu mené l’enquête sur le passé du site industriel récemment fermé dans lequel se déroule l’exposition, afin d’imaginer une intervention prenant en compte les multiples strates de son histoire et de sa mémoire. Investissant un espace semi-clos de l’usine, elle y a reconstitué le cadre familier d’une cuisine, dont les éléments se colorent et se cristallisent lentement sous l’effet de l’eau et du sel, substance à la fois protectrice et corrosive, employée dans de nombreuses cultures, religions et pratiques magiques pour ses vertus purificatrices.

Œuvres-autels pour des cultes inconnus, œuvres-portails entre des cultures, œuvres mutantes d’un monde abîmé, l’art de Bianca Bondi est celui d’une sorcière de notre temps.

Yoann Gourmel

 

Bianca Bondi (Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud, 1986) vit et travaille à Paris. Pluridisciplinaire, sa pratique implique l’activation d’objets et se développe souvent en lien avec le lieu dans lequel elle intervient. Les matériaux qu’elle travaille sont choisis pour leur potentiel de transformation ou leurs propriétés intrinsèques. Ses œuvres ont été exposées notamment au Plato (Ostrava, République tchèque), au Tag Team Studio (Bergen, Norvège), à La Panacée MOCO (Montpellier), au BOZAR (Bruxelles, Belgique), au SFER IK Museion (Tulum, Mexique), ou encore dans le cadre de la Biennale de Lyon 2019. Elle a été finaliste de la bourse Révélations Emerige 2015, du prix Le Meurice pour l’art contemporain 2018 et du prix Découverte des Amis du Palais de Tokyo 2018.

1
Haraway Donna, « Anthropocène, Capitalocène, Plantationocène, Chthulucène. Faire des parents », Multitudes, hiver 2016, no 65, http://www.multitudes.net/anthropocene-capitalocene-plantationocene-chthulucene-faire-des-parents.

2
Ajan Line, « Conversation avec Bianca Bondi », Figure Figure, janvier 2019, no 12, https://figurefigure.fr/pdf/FigureFigure12BiancaBondi.pdf.

Rapporteur : Yoann Gourmel est curateur au Palais de Tokyo (Paris). Il exerce également une activité de commissaire indépendant, intervient régulièrement dans les écoles d’art et écrit pour différentes revues et publications. Au Palais de Tokyo, il a notamment organisé les expositions collectives Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve (2018) et Sous le regard de machines pleines d’amour et de grâce (2017), ainsi que les expositions personnelles de Julien Creuzet (2019), Massinissa Selmani (2018) et Taloi Havini (2017). Il a coordonné l’équipe curatoriale du Palais de Tokyo pour Là où les eaux se mêlent, XVe Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon (2019-2020).
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29