Tomorrow, We Move?

Futur intérieur
17.04.2020 | Violaine Lochu
<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, 50 x 65 cm, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, 50 x 65 cm, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, 50 x 65 cm, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, série de dessins, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

 

 

 

Violaine Lochu imagines a project Futur intérieur (Interior Future) that documents the quarantaine experience in a “kind of floating journal” composed by several drawings and sound pieces.

“In this unprecedented moment, experienced both collectively and separately, the limitation of outings, practical constraints, health and/or economic apprehensions, are all reconfiguring our mental landscapes. For many, events, (reduced) activities, sensations and thoughts follow one another in kind of a continuum: news, telephone conversations, occasional outings, reflections, professional contacts, memories, dreams, special dates, readings, films, etc.”

Drawings that combine automatic writing and collage attempt to transcribe this state. Fragments of stories and vignettes that are a priori heterogenous compose a moving image without hierarchy. The sound pieces are realised from Skype interviews in which Violaine Lochu follows a specific protocol to question her loved ones about the way they are living this situation. The questions asked attempt to reveal the similarities and differences of this virtual community in which each member is assigned to their own living unit.

1
Avec les voix de Malia Bennaceur, Chloé Breillot, Laurent Dupont, Mélanie Gourarier, Johan Grzelczyc, Chantal Latour, Brigitte, Clément et Gervais Lochu, Céline Régnard, Elianna Renner et Claudia Sciuto.

Violaine Lochu (b. 1987) lives and works in Montreuil, France. Her work is an exploration of the voice as a vector of encounter and metamorphosis. During long periods of immersion in specific environments, she collects different sound and visual materials from which she creates performances, sound installations, videos and publications. Her practice is transdisciplinary. It evolves in the field of contemporary art, experimental music and sound poetry; creates bridges between the present and the past, as well as scholarly and popular universes; and is nourished by encounters with human and non-human entities, as well as through texts belonging to the field of human sciences. Encounters and collaboration are at the heart of her approach. Violaine Lochu exhibits and performs in France (Centre Pompidou, centre d’art Bétonsalon, Palais de Tokyo, FIAC, Jeu de Paume, MAC Lyon, MAC VAL), and abroad (Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Switzerland; Kunsterein de Munich, Germany; théâtre le 4e art de Tunis, Tunisia; Ferenczi Museumi Centrum, Hungary; Le Centre à Cotonou, Benin; Galerie Gamu, Prague, Czech Republic; Justina M. Barnicke Gallery,Toronto, Canada). The Synagogue de Delme (France), the Villa Vassilieff (Paris, France), La Galerie Noisy-le-Sec (France), the Ricklundgården Museum (Marsfjäll, Sweden), and the Stiftung de Karlsruhe (Germany), have notably welcomed her in their residency programmes. Thanks to aid from the Cnap, she conducted research in Lapland, Finland in 2017. Violaine Lochu was the winner of the Aware Prize in 2018 and the Performance Prize of the Salon de la Jeune Création in 2017. She was also nominated for the Bernard Heidsieck Prize – Centre Pompidou in 2019.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Demain on déménage ?

Futur intérieur
17.04.2020 | Violaine Lochu
<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, 50 x 65 cm, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, 50 x 65 cm, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, 50 x 65 cm, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

<i>Futur intérieur</i> - AWARE

Violaine Lochu, Futur intérieur, encre et collage, série de dessins, 2020 © Violaine Lochu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Violaine Lochu imagine un projet intitulé Futur intérieur, la documentation de l’expérience du confinement en « une sorte de journal flottant », composé de plusieurs dessins et pièces sonores.1

« Dans ce moment inédit, vécu à la fois collectivement et séparément, la limitation des sorties, les contraintes pratiques, l’appréhension sanitaire et/ ou économique, reconfigurent nos paysages mentaux. Pour beaucoup, les événements, les activités (réduites), les sensations et les pensées se succèdent dans une sorte de continuum : actualités, conversations téléphoniques, sorties ponctuelles, réflexions, contacts professionnels, souvenirs, rêves, dates particulières, lectures, films… »

Les dessins, qui mêlent écriture automatique et collage, tentent de retranscrire cet état. Des fragments de récits et des vignettes a priori hétérogènes composent une image mouvante, sans hiérarchie. Les pièces sonores sont réalisées à partir d’entretiens sur Skype, au cours desquels l’artiste interroge ses proches sur la manière dont ils vivent cette situation, en suivant un protocole spécifique. Les questions posées cherchent à faire ressortir les similitudes et les variations d’expériences de cette communauté virtuelle dont chaque membre est assigné à sa propre unité habitable.

1
Avec les voix de Malia Bennaceur, Chloé Breillot, Laurent Dupont, Mélanie Gourarier, Johan Grzelczyc, Chantal Latour, Brigitte, Clément et Gervais Lochu, Céline Régnard, Elianna Renner et Claudia Sciuto.

Violaine Lochu (1987) vit et travaille à Montreuil. Son travail est une exploration de la voix comme vecteur de rencontre et de métamorphose. Lors de longues périodes d’immersion dans des milieux spécifiques elle collecte de différents matériaux sonores et visuels à partir desquels elle crée des performances, des installations sonores, des vidéos et des éditions. Sa pratique est transdisciplinaire. Elle évolue dans le champ de l’art contemporain, de la musique expérimentale et de la poésie sonore, crée des passerelles entre des univers actuels et anciens, savants et populaires, et se nourrit de rencontres avec des entités humaines ou non humaines ainsi que de lectures d’ouvrages appartenant au champ des sciences humaines. La rencontre et la collaboration sont au cœur de sa démarche. Violaine Lochu expose et performe en France (Centre Pompidou, centre d’art Bétonsalon, Palais de Tokyo, FIAC, Jeu de Paume, MAC Lyon, MAC VAL) et à l’étranger (Centre d’Art Contemporain de Genève en Suisse, Kunsterein de Munich en Allemagne, théâtre le 4e art de Tunis en Tunisie, Ferenczi Museumi Centrum en Hongrie, Le Centre à Cotonou au Bénin, Galerie Gamu à Prague en République Tchèque, Justina M. Barnicke Gallery à Toronto au Canada). La Synagogue de Delme, la Villa Vassilieff (Paris), La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec), le Ricklundgården Museum (Marsfjäll, Suède), le Stiftung de Karlsruhe (Allemagne), notamment, l’ont accueillie dernièrement en résidence. Grâce au soutien du Cnap, elle a mené en 2017 une recherche en Laponie. Violaine Lochu est lauréate du Prix Aware 2018 et du prix de la performance 2017 du Salon de la Jeune Création. Elle a également été nommée au prix Bernard Heidsieck – Centre Pompidou en 2019.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29