Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Violaine Lochu
Nominee of Prix 2018

Violaine Lochu, Abécédaire Vocal, 2016, performance, 45’, Courtesy Violaine Lochu, © Photo: Konstantin Lunarine, © ADAGP, Paris

Babylon song in times of post-truth: Violaine Lochu

In an interview with Thomas Baumgartner1, Violaine Lochu confided that she likes whispering because it does not involve any strong vibration of the vocal cords or any drama in the voice. The artist is partial to this voice register because it imparts a certain “form to the contents”2. This ascetic form of listening enables one to remain open to wonder. Violaine Lochu cultivates this ability by singing in several foreign languages (Italian, Romanian, Bulgarian, Yiddish, Hebrew…). She sometimes speaks them without understanding them, but remains drawn to their musicality.

Violaine Lochu - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Violaine Lochu, Superformer(s) #3, 2017, performance, 40’, Courtesy Violaine Lochu, © Photo: Mathilde Geldhof, © ADAGP, Paris

Whispering, the musicality of languages and sung noises can all be found in Vestiges de Roncevaux (2013), a reinterpretation of the Song of Roland, a major part of French heritage. Her intention, she says, was to “bring this epic poem back to life and restore it to its past glory by giving it new depth”3. To this end, she sought to “apply phenomena usually associated with geology […] to the text by drawing inspiration” from an archaeological point of view that gives a precise account of “the formation of a ruin”4. Once again, it was the dimension of living heritage that brought her to memorise over 200 stories passed on orally by the people of Montreuil (in song, poetry, prayer, etc.) through the use of ars memoriae. The art of memory, explains Violaine Lochu, is “a mnemonic technique used since Antiquity, which consists in learning speeches by associating them with well-known locations in which one is able to create a spatial image of one’s memory.”5 Mémoire Palace (2015), an ode both gigantic and fleeting, plays a part in the historiographical creation of the hic et nunc.

Violaine Lochu - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Violaine Lochu, Animal Mimesis, 2015, journal produced with Christophe Hamery, 29.7 x 42 cm, Courtesy Violaine Lochu, © ADAGP, Paris

But let there be no mistake: the faintness of the whispering does not cancel out an aesthetic of confrontation. What is said and shown in Violaine Lochu’s performances opens up an interpretation favourable to change in times of uncertainty. Therefore, in Superformeur(s) #2 (2017), Violaine Lochu worked towards catalysing a gift and gift-debt economy (Marcel Mauss). The superformers of the Maison des solidarités in Noisy-le-Sec share the common characteristic of being people of action and, while they may at times disagree, they are brought together by a form of endurance. Each of them has worked to maintain an ethics of tenacity that is essential to the creation of the strange contrast at the heart of the social institution. In return, this requirement presents Violaine Lochu with a question: how does a performer become a superformer? How does one turn the microphone toward oneself in Superformer(s) #3 (2017)? One could of course mention Annie Ernaux and Didier Eribon’s falsely initiatory novels (in line with the great tradition of social sciences led by Michel Foucault and Pierre Bourdieu), which fuel Violaine Lochu’s semantic imagination. There is also a grace in the act of displacement, which the artist calls “adaptation – polymorphism – defector – strata of the habitus – metamorphosis”6. It consists in a relinquishment of the overused metaphor of social masks in favour of a slough that qualifies a silent microcosm deployed at our feet: the polyphenism of social insects. The artist’s superformance could be seen as a reflection of these social insects, like for instance termites, which, in addition to procreative adults – female (queen) and male (king) – also include soldiers and/or workers that sometimes also present variations which enable them to produce their own line of descendants after the founding adults have died.

 

Violaine Lochu (1987, France) graduated from the École nationale supérieure d’art in Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC) and exhibits and performs in France and abroad (MAC VAL in Vitry-sur-Seine; Palais de Tokyo; FIAC; Maison de la Poésie, Paris; Salon de Montrouge; Salon de la jeune création; Bétonsalon; Espace Khiasma, Les Lilas; Galerie du Jour Agnès B.; Justina Barnicke Gallery, Toronto; North End Studios, Detroit…). Lately, she was granted artist residencies at La Synagogue de Delme, La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec), La Box (Bourges), Le 116 (Montreuil), Le Générateur (Gentilly), and the Ricklundgården Museum (Marsfjäll, Sweden). She is currently undertaking research in Lapland with the support of the CNAP.

1
Baumgartner Thomas, “Rendre compte des oiseaux : la performeuse Violaine Lochu + le bioacousticien Bernie Krause”, SuperSonic radio programme, France Culture, 3 September 2016.

2
Telephone interview with the artist, 20 March 2017.

3
Interview with Alix Rampazzo on the occasion of the Salon de Montrouge 2016, published in the review Inferno, online, URL: http://www.violainelochu.fr/?page_id=1008.

4
Ibidem.

5
Ibidem.

6
Telephone interview with the artist, 20 March 2017.

Commissioner: Géraldine Gourbe, philosopher, research associate at the École nationale supérieure d’art in Dijon, and exhibition curator
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Violaine Lochu
Nommée au Prix 2018

Violaine Lochu, Abécédaire Vocal, 2016, performance, 45’, Courtesy Violaine Lochu, © Photo : Konstantin Lunarine

Babylone song à l’ère de la post-vérité : Violaine Lochu

Dans un entretien avec Thomas Baumgartner1, Violaine Lochu confie qu’elle aime le chuchotement parce qu’il ne présente pas de vibration puissante des cordes vocales. Il n’aurait pas de dramaturgie de la voix. Une tessiture de la voix qu’affectionne l’artiste car elle apporte une certaine « forme au contenu2 ». Une ascèse de l’écoute qui permet d’entendre, puis de maintenir une capacité à s’émerveiller. Cette capacité, Violaine Lochu la cultive en chantant dans plusieurs langues étrangères (italien, roumain, bulgare, yiddish, hébreu…). Elle les parle sans parfois les comprendre ; c’est leur musicalité qui l’attire.

Violaine Lochu - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Violaine Lochu, Superformer(s) #3, 2017, performance, 40’, Courtesy Violaine Lochu, © Photo : Mathilde Geldhof

Chuchotements, musicalité de la langue et aussi bruits chantés se retrouvent dans Vestiges de Roncevaux (2013), une réinterprétation de La Chanson de Roland, patrimoine de la culture française. Elle a voulu, dit-elle, « donner à réentendre cette chanson de geste en lui donnant un nouveau relief, en réactiver la splendeur passée3 ». Pour ce faire, elle a cherché à « appliquer au texte des phénomènes liés habituellement à la géologie […] en s’inspirant » d’un point de vue archéologique qui relate avec précision « la formation d’une ruine4 ». C’est encore la dimension du patrimoine vivant qui la conduit à apprendre par cœur plus de 200 souvenirs transmis à l’oral par des Montreuillois (chant, poésie, prière, etc.) en recourant à l’ars memoriae. Ce dernier, explique Violaine Lochu, est « un moyen mnémotechnique, pratiqué depuis l’Antiquité, qui consiste à apprendre un discours en prenant appui sur des lieux connus, dans lesquels on vient spatialiser son souvenir5. » Mémoire Palace (2015), ode à la fois gigantesque et fugace, participe à la fabrique historiographique du hic et nunc.

Violaine Lochu - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Violaine Lochu, Animal Mimesis, 2015, journal réalisé avec Christophe Hamery, 29,7 x 42 cm, Courtesy Violaine Lochu

Mais que l’on ne s’y trompe pas, la douceur des chuchotements n’annihile pas une esthétique de la confrontation. Ce qui est dit et montré dans les performances de Violaine Lochu inaugure, en ces temps d’incertitude, une lecture favorable au changement. Ainsi, dans Superformeur(s) #2 (2017), Violaine Lochu a œuvré à catalyser une économie du don, contre-don (Marcel Mauss). Les superformeur·euse·s de la Maison des solidarités de Noisy-le-Sec ont ceci en commun qu’ils sont des agissants, parfois en désaccord, réunis cependant par une forme d’endurance. Chacun a œuvré à une éthique de la ténacité indispensable pour fabriquer cet étrange écart au cœur de l’institution sociale. Cette exigence pose en retour à Violaine Lochu une question : comment une performeuse peut devenir à son tour superformeuse ? Comment tendre vers soi-même le micro avec Superformeur(s) #3 (2017) ? Bien sûr, il y a les romans faussement initiatiques d’Annie Ernaux, de Didier Eribon (qui rejoignent la grande tradition des sciences sociales de Michel Foucault à Pierre Bourdieu) et peuplent l’imaginaire sémantique de Violaine Lochu. Et puis, il y a cette grâce du déplacement, ce que l’artiste nomme « adaptation – polymorphie – transfuge – strates des habitus – métamorphose6 ». Cela consiste en un délaissement de la métaphore usée des masques sociaux au profit d’une mue qui qualifie un microcosme silencieux déployé à nos pieds : le polyphénisme des insectes sociaux. La superformance de l’artiste serait à l’image des insectes sociaux, par exemple les termites, qui à côté des adultes reproducteur·rice·s, femme (reine) et mâle (roi), présentent également des soldat·e·s et/ou des ouvrier·ère·s, eux·elles-mêmes parfois sous plusieurs formes différentes, et qui, après disparition des adultes fondateur·rice·s, peuvent également engendrer des adultes de remplacement.

 

Diplômée de l’École nationale supérieure d’art de Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC), Violaine Lochu (1987, France) expose et performe en France et à l’étranger (MAC VAL à Vitry-sur-Seine, palais de Tokyo, FIAC, Maison de la poésie de Paris, Salon de Montrouge, Salon de la jeune création, Bétonsalon, Espace Khiasma aux Lilas, galerie du Jour Agnès B., Justina M. Barnicke Gallery à Toronto, North End Studios à Detroit…). La Synagogue de Delme, La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec), La Box (Bourges), Le 116 (Montreuil), Le Générateur (Gentilly), le Ricklundgården Museum (Marsfjäll, Suède), notamment, l’ont accueillie dernièrement en résidence. Grâce au soutien du CNAP, elle mène actuellement une recherche en Laponie.

1
Baumgartner Thomas, « Rendre compte des oiseaux : la performeuse Violaine Lochu + le bioacousticien Bernie Krause », émission SuperSonic, France Culture, 3 septembre 2016.

2
Entretien téléphonique avec l’artiste, 20 mars 2017.

3
Entretien avec Alix Rampazzo à l’occasion du Salon de Montrouge 2016, publié dans la revue Inferno, en ligne, URL : http://www.violainelochu.fr/?page_id=1008.

4
Ibidem.

5
Ibidem.

6
Entretien téléphonique avec l’artiste, 20 mars 2017.

Rapporteuse : Géraldine Gourbe, philosophe, chercheure associée à l’École nationale supérieure d’art de Dijon et commissaire d’expositions
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29