Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Adrian Piper

1948 | New York, United States
Informations
Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Sponsor
— Adrian Piper Research Archive Foundation Berlin

American conceptual artist, performer and philosopher.

Born in an African-American working-class family, Adrian Margaret Smith Piper grew up in Harlem but was able to access higher education thanks to scholarships. After graduating from the prestigious New York School of Visual Arts in 1969, she immediately associated herself with conceptual art – an artistic movement that gives prominence to the ideas conveyed by the artwork. However, her work stood out because of its highly political dimension: as from 1970, the questions of race and gender became central to her work, which echoed her experience as a black woman and her attempts to be acknowledged and accepted as such. Many of her texts and videos directly challenge the viewers or readers to take a stance. Her Political Self-Portraits 1-3 (1978-1980) are a reinterpretation of her youth in terms of belonging and exclusion: with her fairly light skin and straight hair, she was not perceived as “black enough” in Harlem, while still being one of the only African-Americans in the several schools she attended, where the racism she faced, although latent, remained nonetheless hurtful. The artist is mostly known for her performance art in the streets of New York: in the series Catalysis (1970-1971), she dressed in foul-smelling clothes and sat on the subway or in a bookstore so as to prompt intense reactions, both physiological and psychological, thus exceeding the purely intellectual reaction usually pursued by conceptual art.

Her explorations led her to study philosophy, particularly in Harvard, where she presented a dissertation in moral philosophy in 1981 under the direction of John Rawls. After teaching at Harvard and Georgetown, among others, she became the first African-American tenured professor in philosophy in the United States in 1987. However, after discovering during a journey abroad that she was listed as a “suspicious traveller,” she refused to return to her country. She consequently lost her tenure at Wellesley College and has since lived in Berlin, where she founded the Adrian Piper Research Archive, which collects various documents on her three-way practice (art, philosophy, yoga). She is the author of many articles and several philosophy books, especially about Hegel, Kant, political philosophy, and xenophobia.

Read more

Klaus Speidel

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Catalysis III, 1970, silver print, performance, Piper takes an outfit of hers and covering it in white paint. She then put a sign accross her shirt that said « WET PAINT » and walked down busy streets and went shopping at Macy’s, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Catalysis IV, 1971, silver print, performance, during evening rush on the trains and bus, she would dress nicely but stuff her mouth with a towel and let it hang out in plain view, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, LSD Alice [Study for Alice Down the Rabbit Hole], 1965, colored felt-tipped pen, ballpoint pen, pencil on paper, 22.9 x 30 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Utah-Manhattan Transfer #2, 1968, pencil, ball point pen, two collaged maps mounted of foamcore, Collage 2: Dugway Proving Grounds to NY Times Square, 30.5 x 30.3 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Utah-Manhattan Transfer #1, 1968, pencil, ball point pen, two collaged maps mounted on foamcore, Collage 1: NY Times Square to Dugway Proving Grounds, 36 x 33.7 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, The Mythic Being : Doing Yoga, 1975, six silver prints, 20.3 x 25.4 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, This Is Not the Documentation of a Performance, 1976, silk-screened newspaper article with altered photograph and text, 124.5 x 114.3 cm, 49 x 45 in., Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, It’s Just Art, 1980, performance documentation, B&W offset poster, 27.5 x 35.9 cm ; performance diagram, 20.9 x 27.9 cm ; 15 silver gelatin photographs on baryte paper with handwritten texts, 30 x 21 cm ; 3 collages with handwritten texts, 25.4 x 20.3 cm ; video reconstruction of performance elements, 24’44’’, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, It’s Just Art, 1980, photography of the installation of the performance, B&W offset poster, 27.5 x 35.9 cm ; performance diagram, 20.9 x 27.9 cm ; 15 silver gelatin photographs on baryte paper with handwritten texts, 30 x 21 cm ; 3 collages with handwritten texts, 25.4 x 20.3 cm ; video reconstruction of performance elements, 24’44’’, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, The Big Four-Oh, 1988, video installation, 47’48’’ endless loop video ; open notebook journal with handwritten text 21.6 x 14 cm ; 40 hardballs, disassembled coat of armor, sealed jars of blood, sweat, tears, piss and vinegar, variable dimensions, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, I am Somebody, The Body of My Friends #1-18, 1992-1995, 15 color photographs, 3 black and white photographs, unknown dimensions, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, The Color Wheel Series #29 : Annomayakosha, 2000, digital images for print reproductions, unknown dimensions, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Mokshamudra Progression, 2012, set of nine digital prints, 312 x 40.5 cm, 122.83 x 15.94 in., Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Adrian Piper

1948 | New York, États-Unis
Informations
Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Soutien
— Adrian Piper Research Archive Foundation Berlin

Artiste conceptuelle, performeuse et philosophe américaine.

Née dans une famille afro-américaine de la classe ouvrière, Adrian Margaret Smith Piper grandit à Harlem mais fréquente de bonnes écoles grâce à des bourses. Dès l’obtention de son diplôme de la prestigieuse School of Visual Arts à New York en 1969, elle se revendique de l’art conceptuel – mouvement artistique accordant une prééminence aux idées portées par une œuvre. Son travail se distingue cependant par sa dimension politique très forte : à partir de 1970, les questions de race et de genre sont au cœur de son travail, qui rend compte de son expérience de femme noire et de ses tentatives pour être reconnue et acceptée comme telle. Beaucoup de ses textes et vidéos interpellent directement le spectateur ou le lecteur et l’invitent à prendre position. Dans ses Political Self-Portraits 1-3 (1978-1980), elle opère une relecture de sa jeunesse en termes d’appartenance et d’exclusion : la peau plutôt claire et les cheveux lisses, elle n’est pas perçue comme « suffisamment noire » à Harlem, mais demeure l’une des seules Afro-Américaines dans les différentes écoles qu’elle fréquente, où elle affronte un racisme qui, pour être latent, ne la blesse pas moins. L’artiste est surtout connue pour ses actions dans les rues new-yorkaises : ainsi, dans sa série Catalysis (1970-1971), habillée de vêtements sentant très mauvais, elle s’assied dans le métro ou s’installe dans une librairie pour provoquer une réaction intense, autant physiologique que psychologique, dépassant ainsi la réaction intellectuelle généralement visée par l’art conceptuel.

Ses explorations la portent vers l’étude de la philosophie, notamment à Harvard, où elle obtient une thèse en philosophie morale en 1981 sous la direction de John Rawls. Après avoir enseigné à Harvard et à Georgetown, entre autres, elle devient, en 1987, le premier professeur afro-américain titulaire d’une chaire de philosophie aux États-Unis. Cependant, ayant découvert à l’occasion d’un voyage qu’elle est inscrite sur la liste officielle des « voyageurs suspects » du pays, elle refuse, depuis 2005, de retourner aux États-Unis. Elle perd donc son poste de professeure au Wellesley College et vit désormais à Berlin, où elle a fondé l’Adrian Piper Research Archive, qui rassemble différents documents sur sa triple pratique (art, philosophie, yoga). Elle a rédigé de nombreux articles et plusieurs ouvrages de philosophie, notamment sur Hegel, Kant, la philosophie politique et la xénophobie.

Lire plus

Klaus Speidel

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Catalysis III, 1970, tirage argentique, performance, Piper est vêtue d’une tenue qu’elle a recouverte de peinture blanche. Une pancarte sur son maillot indique : « WET PAINT » (peinture fraîche). Elle marche dans les rues bondées et va faire du shopping à Macy’s, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Catalysis IV, 1971, tirage argentique, performance, pendant le rush du soir des trains et des bus, Piper s’habille joliment mais remplit sa bouche avec une serviette qu’elle laisse pendre à l’extérieur, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrien Piper, LSD Alice [Study for Alice Down the Rabbit Hole], 1965, feutre de couleur, stylo à bille, crayon sur papier, 22,9 x 30 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Utah-Manhattan Transfer #2, 1968, crayon, stylo à bille, deux collages de cartes sur carton mousse, Collage 2 : Duway Proving Grounds to NY Times Square, 30,5 x 30,3 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrien Piper, Utah-Manhattan Transfer #1, 1968, crayon, stylo à bille, deux collages de cartes sur carton mousse, collage 1 : NY Times Square to Dugway Proving Grounds, 36 x 33,7 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, The Mythic Being : Doing Yoga, 1975, six tirages argentiques, 20,3 x 25,4 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, This Is Not the Documentation of a Performance, 1976, article de journal sérigraphié avec un texte et une photo modifiée, 124,5 x 114,3 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, It’s Just Art, 1980, performance documentation, affiche noir et blanc impression offset, 27,5 x 35,9 cm ; diagramme de performance, 20,9 x 27,9 cm ; 15 tirages argentiques sur papier baryté avec des textes écrits à la main, 30 x 21 cm ; 3 collages avec des textes écrits à la main, 25,4 x 10,2 cm ; reconstruction vidéo des éléments de la performance, 24’44’’, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, It’s Just Art, 1980, photographie de l’installation de la performance, affiche B&W impression offset, 27,5 x 35,9 cm ; diagramme de performance, 20,9 x 27,9 cm ; 15 tirages argentiques sur papier baryté avec des textes écrits à la main, 30 x 21 cm ; 3 collages avec des textes écrits à la main, 25,4 x 10,2 cm ; reconstruction vidéo des éléments de la performance, 24’44’’, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, The Big Four-Oh, 1988, installation vidéo, boucle vidéo en continu de 47’48’’ ; carnet ouvert avec texte écrit à la main, 21.6 x 14 cm ; 40 balles de baseball, armure désassemblée, bocaux de sang scellés, sueur, larmes, urine et vinaigre, dimensions variables, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, I am Somebody, The Body of My Friends #1-18, 1992-1995, 15 photographies couleurs, 3 photographies noir et blanc, dimensions inconnues, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, The Color Wheel Series #29 : Annomayakosha, 2000, images numériques pour impression, dimensions inconnues, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Adrian Piper — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Adrian Piper, Mokshamudra Progression, 2012, ensemble de neuf impressions numériques, 312 x 40,5 cm, Courtesy Adrian Piper Research Archive

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29