Browse by Themes

Art in Movement: Women Pioneers of Video Art
In the school curriculum
26.06.2020 | Julie Sabau

Ulrike Rosenbach, Die Einsame Spaziergängerin [The lonely stroller], 1979, performance, photograph, © ADAGP, Paris

Before becoming a full-fledged medium, video was intrinsically linked to television. It wasn’t until the early 1960s – notably with the invention of the Sony Portapak, the first portable video camera – that video became independent of television shows and sets. It thus became possible to film everywhere, and artists appropriated the technique in their practices.

The first uses of the electronic image as an artistic medium appeared within the Fluxus movement. In March 1963 Nam June Paik (1932-2006) realised a distorted image of a television by putting a magnet close to the cathode-ray tube. This work marked the birth of video art and from then on numerous women took on the medium and participated in its development. VALIE EXPORT (b. 1940) infiltrated the television world in her 1971 work Facing a Family by questioning the links between watching and being watched. Ulrike Rosenbach (b. 1943) was one of the first video artists to produce closed-circuit pieces, filming and projecting images at the same time. Performers Marina Abramović (b. 1946) and Leda Papaconstantinou (b. 1945) immortalised their actions in the late 1960s, changing the ephemeral nature of their work. From 1972 to 1980 the Women’s Video Festival took place at The Kitchen in New York highlighting video artists who were still under-represented such as the Japanese artist Shigeko Kubota (1937-2015), a member of the Fluxus group.

Video art opened up a new universe of experimentation; the image could now be shaped, manipulated and erased with or without archiving. Nan Hoover (1931-2008) was interested in the potentialities of transparency, producing pieces between painting and film. Dóra Maurer (b. 1937) has worked on repetition and variation, creating complex compositions of images and sounds.

At once a tool of creation and protest, video became a way to react to the dominate artistic movements of the 1960s. Joan Jonas (b. 1936) realised her works in an introspective, narrative and symbolic approach, breaking away from minimal art. In Up to and Including Her Limits (1973), Carolee Schneemann (b. 1938) created drawings following the movements of her body, suspended during a performance that was filmed and broadcast on monitors. The artist staged a gesture close to that of action painting but distanced herself from it by considering the drawings obtained as secondary, raising the question of the relationship between the creative process and the final work.

As with photography, the video camera in turn imposed itself as a privileged medium of visibility and denunciation of oppression. Martine Barrat (b. 1937) directed a series of videos on the lives of gang members in South Bronx. In the installation La Roquette, Prisons de Femmes, Nil Yalter (b. 1938), in collaboration with Judy Blum (b. 1943) and Nicole Croiset, denounced prison conditions. Howardena Pindell (b. 1943) addresses race and gender issues, while Anna Maria Maiolino (b. 1942) denounces the repression of women in Brazil. As for the filmmaking duo Maria Klonaris (1947-2014) and Katerina Thomadaki (b. 1947), they theorised what they called body cinema by making the female body and identity a place for visual and political exploration. At the service of various militant causes, video became a subversive instrument of patriarchy. As early as 1976 the French video collective Les Insoumuses proclaimed in the video Maso et Miso vont en bateau that, “No image from television can embody us; it is with video that we will tell ourselves”.

Female artists invested strongly in video art. Numerous writings still recall their place in art history and the convergences between the medium and political and feminist struggles. The joint publications Black Women Film and Video Artists (1998), edited by Jacqueline Bobo, and Women Artists, Feminism and the Moving Image: Contexts and Practices (2019), edited by Lucy Reynolds, are important milestones in research on women video artists.

Artists
Explore the artists
1938 | Egypt
Nil Yalter - AWARE

Nil Yalter

1939 — 2019 | United States
Carolee Schneemann - AWARE

Carolee Schneemann

1936 | United States
Joan Jonas - AWARE

Joan Jonas

1943 | United States
Howardena  Pindell - AWARE

Howardena Pindell

1948 | United States
Adrian Piper - AWARE

Adrian Piper

1946 | Serbia
Marina Abramović - AWARE

Marina Abramović

1948 — Cuba | 1985 — United States
Ana Mendieta - AWARE

Ana Mendieta

1943 | Germany
Ulrike Rosenbach - AWARE

Ulrike Rosenbach

1940 | Austria
VALIE EXPORT - AWARE

VALIE EXPORT

1935 | Brazil
Sonia Andrade - AWARE

Sonia Andrade

1935 | UNITED STATES
Eleanor Antin - AWARE

Eleanor Antin

1937 | Algeria
Martine Barrat - AWARE

Martine Barrat

1933 | Brazil
Anna Bella Geiger - AWARE

Anna Bella Geiger

1931 — United States | 2008 — Germany
Nan Hoover - AWARE

Nan Hoover

1949 | Croatia
Sanja  Iveković - AWARE

Sanja Iveković

1947 — Egypt - Greece | 2014 — France
Klonaris/Thomadaki - AWARE

Klonaris/Thomadaki

1937 — Japan | 2015 — United States
Shigeko Kubota - AWARE

Shigeko Kubota

1942 | Italy
Anna Maria Maiolino - AWARE

Anna Maria Maiolino

1937 | Hungary
Dóra Maurer - AWARE

Dóra Maurer

1933 | Japan
Yoko Ono - AWARE

Yoko Ono

1947 | France
ORLAN - AWARE

ORLAN

1945 | Greece
Leda Papaconstantinou - AWARE

Leda Papaconstantinou

1927 — 2004 | Brazil
Lygia Pape - AWARE

Lygia Pape

1945 | Poland
Ewa Partum - AWARE

Ewa Partum

1943 | United States
Martha Rosler - AWARE

Martha Rosler

1928 — Belgium | 2019 — France
Agnès Varda - AWARE

Agnès Varda

1962 | Russia
Olga Chernysheva - AWARE

Olga Chernysheva

1936 | United States
Barbara Kasten - AWARE

Barbara Kasten

1948 — New Zealand | 2014 — England
Alexis Hunter - AWARE

Alexis Hunter

1927 | United States
Lillian Schwartz - AWARE

Lillian Schwartz

1909 — 1970 | United States
Marie Menken - AWARE

Marie Menken

1950 — Belgium | 2015 — France
Chantal Akerman - AWARE

Chantal Akerman

1939 — 2019 | United States
Barbara Hammer - AWARE

Barbara Hammer

1972 — Switzerland | 1963 — Germany
Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz - AWARE

Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz

1954 | Taiwan
Shu Lea Cheang - AWARE

Shu Lea Cheang

1970 | Turkey
CANAN (Şenol) - AWARE

CANAN (Şenol)

1934 | United-states
Yvonne Rainer - AWARE

Yvonne Rainer

1962 | Turkey
Şükran Moral - AWARE

Şükran Moral

1992 | Spain
Cabello/Carceller - AWARE

Cabello/Carceller

1940 — 2015 | Spain
Elena Asins - AWARE

Elena Asins

1960 | United States
Lorna Simpson - AWARE

Lorna Simpson

1965 | Australia
Julie Gough - AWARE

Julie Gough

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Pour les jeunes

Art en mouvement : les pionnières de l’art vidéo
Au programme de terminale
26.06.2020 | Julie Sabau

Ulrike Rosenbach, Die Einsame Spaziergängerin [la poussette solitaire], 1979, performance, photographie, © ADAGP, Paris

Avant de devenir un médium à part entière, la vidéo était intrinsèquement liée à la télévision. Il faut attendre le début des années 1960 et notamment l’invention en 1965 du Portapak Sony – première caméra portative – pour qu’elle prenne son indépendance vis-à-vis de la transmission télévisée et de ses plateaux. Il devient alors possible de filmer partout, et les artistes se saisissent de cette technique.

Les premières utilisations de l’image électronique comme médium artistique apparaissent au sein du mouvement Fluxus. En mars 1963, Nam June Paik (1932-2006) réalise une distorsion de l’image télévisée en approchant un aimant du tube cathodique. Cette œuvre marque la naissance de l’art vidéo, et, dès lors, de nombreuses artistes femmes s’en emparent et participent à son développement. VALIE EXPORT (née en 1940) infiltre dès 1971 le monde télévisuel en interrogeant, dans Facing a Family, les liens entre regardant·e et regardé·e. Ulrike Rosenbach (née en 1943) est une des premières vidéastes à réaliser des pièces en circuit fermé, filmant et projetant des images en même temps. Les performeuses Marina Abravomic (née en 1946) et Leda Papaconstantinou (née en 1945) immortalisent leurs actions dès la fin ses années 1960, modifiant le rapport à l’éphémère de leurs œuvres. Dès 1972 – et jusqu’en 1980 – se tient le Women’s Video Festival dans l’espace d’exposition The Kitchen à New York mettant en lumière des vidéastes encore sous-représentées, comme la japonaise Shigeko Kubota (1937-2015), membre du groupe Fluxus.

L’art vidéo ouvre un nouvel univers d’expérimentations de l’image, cette dernière peut être modelée : elle est manipulable ou effaçable, avec ou sans archivage. Nan Hoover (1931-2008) s’intéresse aux potentialités de la transparence, produisant des pièces entre peinture et film. Dóra Maurer (née en 1937) travaille la répétition et la variation en créant des composition complexes d’images et de sons.

À la fois outil de création et de contestation, la vidéo devient un moyen de réagir aux mouvements artistiques dominants des années 1960. Joan Jonas (née en 1936) réalise ses œuvres dans une démarche introspective, narrative et symbolique, en rupture avec la distanciation de l’art minimal. Carolee Schneemann (née en 1938) dans Up and Including Her Limits (1973) dessine au gré des mouvements de son corps suspendu lors d’une performance filmée et retransmise sur des moniteurs. L’artiste y met en scène une gestualité proche de l’action painting, mais s’en éloigne en considérant les dessins obtenus comme secondaires, posant la question des rapports entre processus créatif et œuvre finale.

Comme la photographie, la caméra s’impose à son tour en médium privilégié de visibilité et de dénonciation des oppressions. Martine Barrat (née en 1937) réalise une série de vidéos sur la vie de membres de gangs du South Bronx. Dans son installation La Roquette, Prisons de femmes, Nil Yalter (née en 1938), en collaboration avec Judy Blum (née en 1943) et Nicole Croiset, dénonce les conditions carcérales. Howardena Pindell (née en 1943) aborde les questions de race et de genre, et Anna Maria Maiolino (née en 1942) dénonce la censure des femmes au Brésil. Quant au duo de cinéastes Maria Klonaris (1947-2014) et Katerina Thomadaki (née en 1947), elles théorisent ce qu’elles nomment le cinéma corporel en faisant du corps et de l’identité féminine un lieu d’exploration plastique et politique. Ainsi, la vidéo, au service de diverses causes militantes, devient un instrument subversif du patriarcat. Dès 1976, le collectif de vidéastes françaises Les Insoumuses proclame dans la vidéo Maso et Miso vont en bateau : « Aucune image de la télévision ne peut nous incarner, c’est avec la vidéo que nous nous raconterons. »

La vidéo a été massivement investie par les artistes femmes. De nombreux écrits rappellent encore leur place dans l’histoire de l’art et les convergences entre le médium et les luttes politiques et féministes. Les ouvrages collectifs Black women film and video artists (1998), édité par Jacqueline Bobo, et Women Artists, Feminism and the Moving Image : Contexts and Practices (2019), dirigé par Lucy Reynolds, constituent des jalons importants de la recherche sur les femmes vidéastes.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29