Asma M’Naouar

1965 | Tunis, Tunisia
Informations

Tunisian painter.

Asma M’Naouar studied painting at the École des Beaux-Arts in Tunis. She studied in Rome in 1993, earning a degree in painting at the Accademia di Belle Arti. In 1995 she trained at the Bildzwang Workshop in Lucerne, Switzerland, before returning to Tunisia the following year.
While her art could be described as lyrical abstraction, its specificity resides in its use of the colour red, playing on a wide range of tones to create world of fiery lights. With passion and dedication, she uses all the possibilities the colour has to offer to produce even more variety in the brightness and darkness of the tones. Her oil paintings juxtapose thickness and transparency in a free-form geometry filled with curved and oblong shapes. Her compositions seem to be constructed from bottom to top, as a continuous build-up accentuated by added layers of colour, which both suggest and lessen the sense of depth.
In some of her pieces (Architecture XX, 2010; Mare Nostrum, 2012), the materiality of the shapes is conveyed by subtle variations between the vibrant, luminous tones and the swathes of brick or garnet red, sometimes darkened with indigo. Whether depicting an hourglass or a shoal of fish, her figures stand out amidst a deliberately uneven undulation of incandescent lines. The contrast and complementarity between the perpendicular lines and the curves produce layers of moving structures.

In choosing to live solely from her art, A. M’Naouar risks economic instability in order to fully devote herself to painting. She regularly works several hours a day in her studio, using artificial lighting to achieve realistic colours. Her tireless research leads her to paint over canvases that she is no longer satisfied with and to experiment with various techniques and lighting. Unlike several other fellow Tunisian artists, whose practice is rooted in elements of the country’s heritage, A. M’Naouar believes in the universality of art and does not feel invested with a mission or responsibility other than artistic. Her work is now critically acclaimed. She was awarded the Critics Prize by the Giordano Bruno Foundation in 1993, second prize at the La Marsa Autumn Salon in 1994, the Golden Sail Prize at the Kuwait Biennial in 1996 and the Tunisian Ministry of Culture’s Prize for Visual Arts in 1999.
Her strength of character and creative passion have enabled her to overcome the sociocultural obstacles that could have discouraged her in her career as a woman. Her works are kept in several collections, including the Vittorio Caporrella Foundation in Rome, the Rachid-Karamé Centre in Tripoli, Lebanon, and the collections of the Tunisian Ministry of Culture.

Read more

Rachida Triki

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in the framework of the Season Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Mosquée Okba Ibn Nafaâ, 2014, oil on canvas, 200 x 200 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Exhibition All the World’s a Mosque, Wall 2, 2015, Carved plaster and varnish, env. 300 x 400 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Architecture I, 2011, oil on canvas, 140 x 160 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, 1996, oil on canvas, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, 2000, oil on canvas , © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Sans titre XIII, 2009, oil on canvas, 150 x 150 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Sans titre I, 2008, oil on canvas, 180 x 180 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Mare Nostrum,  2007, oil on canvas, 100 x 100 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Mare Nostrum X, 2010, oil on canvas, 130 x 130 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’naouar, Mare Nostrum I, 2019, oil on canvas, 120 x 140 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Asma M’Naouar

1965 | Tunis, Tunisie
Informations

Peintre tunisienne.

Asma M’Naouar étudie la peinture à l’École des beaux-arts de Tunis ; elle séjourne à Rome en 1993 et y obtient un diplôme de spécialisation en peinture à l’Accademia di Belle Arti. En 1995, elle fréquente l’atelier Bildzwang dans le canton de Lucerne, en Suisse, puis retourne en Tunisie l’année suivante.
Son art pourrait se définir comme appartenant à l’abstraction lyrique, mais sa particularité réside dans le traitement du rouge dont les jeux de tonalités offrent un univers de lumières flamboyantes. Avec passion et persévérance, elle exploite les possibilités de la couleur qu’elle travaille pour multiplier la variété des éclats et des teintes sombres. Elle juxtapose dans ses peintures à l’huile épaisseur et transparence en un géométrisme libre, habité de formes courbes ou oblongues. Ses compositions semblent évoluer de bas en haut, dans un étagement continu, redoublé par des aplats qui se superposent. Ces derniers suggèrent et retirent à la fois l’effet de profondeur.
Dans certaines de ses œuvres (Architecture XX, 2010 ; Mare nostrum, 2012), la matérialité des formes est rendue par les rapports subtils entre les vibrations de lumières vives et les plages de couleur brique ou grenat, assombries parfois en indigo. Qu’elle représente un sablier ou des bancs de poissons, ses figures se découpent dans des ondulations, volontairement irrégulières, de lignes incandescentes. Les jeux d’opposition et de complémentarité entre perpendiculaires et courbes font émerger des superpositions de structures mouvantes.

A. M’Naouar a décidé de ne vivre que grâce à son art, se soumettant aux aléas économiques de cette situation pour se consacrer entièrement à la peinture. Elle travaille régulièrement plusieurs heures par jour dans son atelier, à la lumière artificielle, pour approcher les couleurs réelles. Dans son inlassable recherche, elle repeint sur des tableaux qui ne la satisfont plus et expérimente des techniques et des éclairages différents. À l’opposé de plusieurs artistes tunisiennes et tunisiens qui enracinent leur pratique dans les éléments du patrimoine national, A. M’Naouar croit en l’universalité de l’art et ne se sent pas investie d’une mission ou d’une responsabilité autres qu’artistiques. Elle est à présent reconnue par la critique. Elle a obtenu le premier prix de la critique de la Giordano Bruno Stiftung en 1993, le deuxième prix du Salon d’automne de La Marsa en 1994, la Voile d’or de la Biennale du Koweït en 1996 et, en 1999, le premier prix des arts visuels décerné par le ministère de la Culture tunisien.
Sa force de caractère et sa passion créatrice lui ont permis de surmonter les obstacles socioculturels qui pouvaient constituer pour une femme des motifs de découragement.
Ses œuvres figurent dans les collections de la Fondazione Vittorio Caporrella à Rome, du centre Rachid-Karamé à Tripoli (Liban), ou encore dans celle du ministère de la Culture tunisien.

Lire plus

Rachida Triki

Publication réalisée dans le cadre de la Saison Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Mosquée Okba Ibn Nafaâ, 2014, huile sur toile, 200 x 200 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Exhibition All the World’s a Mosque, Wall 2, 2015, platre vernis et sculpté, env. 300 x 400 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Architecture I, 2011, huile sur toile, 140 x 160 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, 1996, huile sur toile, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, 2000, huile sur toile, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Sans titre XIII, 2009, huile sur toile, 150 x 150 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Sans titre I, 2008, huile sur toile, 180 x 180 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Mare Nostrum,  2007, huile sur toile, 100 x 100 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’Naouar, Mare Nostrum X, 2010, huile sur toile, 130 x 130 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Asma M’Naouar — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Asma M’naouar, Mare Nostrum I, 2019, huile sur toile, 120 x 140 cm, © Asma M’Naouar

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29