Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Belkis Ayón

19671999 | Havana, Cuba
Informations
Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, 1998 in Couturier Gallery, Los Angeles, Courtesy Belkis Ayón Estate, Havana, Cuba

Sponsor
— Belkis Ayón Estate

Cuban printmaker.

“Although my work deals with a theme as specific as the beliefs, rituals and myths of the Abakuá Secret Society, this does not mean that it is devoted solely to the population that practices and professes this faith. Above all, I am interested in questioning human nature – that fleeting feeling, spirituality, by which my art can be appreciated by a universal public, though it is very difficult at first sight to escape from the impression, the forms, and the image.” This is how Belkis Ayón described her practice in a manuscript circa 1993, in her archives. Her career that was interrupted very early, by suicide at the age of 32. Graduating from Academia Nacional de Bellas Artes San Alejandro in 1986 and from the Instituto Superior de Arte in 1991, both in Havana, Ayón irrupted on the Cuban and international contemporary art scene at only 20 years of age. Since her first exhibition Propuesta a los veinte años [Twenty Years Proposal] (1988) her work demarcated a before and after for Cuban and Latin American engraving, due to the technical excellence of her large-format assembled collographies and the postmodern nature of her artistic research.

B. Ayón used the oral tradition inherited from Abakuá, a religion of African origin that arrived in Cuba since the 19th century, and which is practiced exclusively by men. Based on book readings and the friendship with prominent Abakuá intellectuals, B. Ayón became familiar with this religion and created an iconography mixed with symbols from varied religions. She thus articulated a universal discourse about censure, violence, intolerance, gender discrimination, the control exerted by those in power, among other many signs of social breakdown that characterized Cuba in the 1990s, as immediate consequence of the collapse of European socialism, on which the country’s life was dependent. Next to other outstanding artists from her generation (Los Carpinteros, Fernando Rodríguez (born in 1970), Tania Bruguera (born in 1968), 1992-2018), Ayón reflected the national reality from a conceptual and critical standpoint through a personal and unmistakable visual language.

The year 1991 marked a turning point in her career: she created her largest installations – assembled polyptychs of up to 18 sections (Pa´que me quieras por siempre [For you to love me forever], 1991) – and developed complex collographic matrixes – collage of very diverse materials – that, when inked and printed achieved all possible shades of whites, blacks and grays and almost mysterious textures ideal for the human drama contained in her works. Her participation in the biennials of Havana in 1991, Venice in 1993, and Gwangju in 1997 signalled her as an emerging international figure. The early acquisition of  works by important collections (Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Havana; Museum of Modern Art, New York; MOCA, Los Angeles; Ludwig Forum for International Art, Aachen, among others), and the three international prizes obtained (1e. Internationale Grafiek Biennale, Maastricht, Netherlands and Encuentro Nacional de Grabado, Havana  both in 1993 ; and  XII Bienal de San Juan del Grabado Latinoamericano y del Caribe, Puerto Rico in 1997) turned her into a permanent presence in exhibitions and specialist publications of Europe, Asia and Latin America.

Twenty years after her death, in 2019, Nkame: A Retrospective of Cuban Printmaker Belkis Ayón, a major exhibition of her work is travelling to museums of the United Sates and the critics list it among the most notable exhibitions of contemporary art, which reinforces the aesthetic value of her engravings and the social and ethical validness of her message, irradiated behind the veil of the myth.

Read more

Cristina Vives

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, Nasakó inició [Nasakó started], 1986, collography, Courtesy Belkis Ayón Estate, © Photo: José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, ¡¡Déjame salir!! [Let me out !!], 1997, collography, Courtesy Belkis Ayón Estate, © Photo: José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, La cena [Dinner], 1988, collography, Courtesy the Belkis Ayón Estate, © Photo: José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, La consagración II [The consecration II], 1991, collography, Courtesy Belkis Ayón Estate, © Photo: José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, Nuestro deber [Our duty], 1993, collography, Courtesy Belkis Ayón Estate, © Photo: José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, Resurrección [Resurrection], 1988, collography, Courtesy Belkis Ayón Estate, © Photo: José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Belkis Ayón

19671999 | La Havane, Cuba
Informations
Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, 1998 à la Couturier Gallery, Los Angeles, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, La Havane, Cuba

Soutien
— Belkis Ayón Estate

Graveuse cubaine.

« Ce n’est pas parce que mon œuvre aborde des thèmes aussi spécifiques que les croyances, rituels et mythes de la société secrète Abakuá que celle-ci n’est dédiée qu’au peuple qui vit dans cette foi et la professe. Ce qui m’intéresse par-dessus tout, c’est d’interroger la nature humaine – cette sensation éphémère, cette spiritualité à travers laquelle mon art sera susceptible d’être apprécié par un public universel, bien qu’il soit de prime abord difficile d’échapper à l’impression, aux formes et à l’image. » Voilà comment Belkis Ayón décrit sa pratique dans un texte tiré de ses archives qui date de 1993. Sa carrière sera de courte durée, interrompue par son suicide à l’âge de 32 ans. Diplômée de l’Academia Nacional de Bellas Artes San Alejandro en 1986 et de l’Instituto Superior de Arte en 1991, tous deux à La Havane, B. Ayón fait irruption sur la scène de l’art contemporain cubaine et mondiale à tout juste 20 ans. Dès sa première exposition, Propuesta a los Veinte Años [Proposition à 20 ans, 1988], son travail marque un avant et un après dans la gravure latino-américaine par la qualité exceptionnelle de ses imposants assemblages de collographies et la nature postmoderniste de sa recherche artistique.

L’œuvre de B. Ayón se fonde sur la tradition orale héritée de l’abakuá, une religion d’origine africaine arrivée à Cuba au XIXe siècle et pratiquée exclusivement par les hommes. En s’appuyant sur ses lectures et ses amitiés avec d’éminents intellectuels abakuá, B. Ayón se familiarise avec ce culte et développe une iconographie qui l’associe aux symboles d’autres croyances. Elle articule ainsi un discours universel sur la censure, la violence, l’intolérance, la discrimination sexuelle, le contrôle exercé par le pouvoir, parmi les nombreuses manifestations de la crise sociale qui caractérisent le Cuba des années 1990, conséquence immédiate de l’effondrement du socialisme européen sur lequel reposait la vie de l’île. Aux côtés d’autres artistes remarquables de sa génération – Los Carpinteros (1992-2018), Fernando Rodríguez (né en 1970), Tania Bruguera (née en 1968) –, B. Ayón reflète la réalité du pays d’un point de vue conceptuel et critique à travers un langage visuel et personnel caractéristique.

L’année 1991 marque un tournant dans sa carrière. C’est à cette époque qu’elle crée ses plus grandes installations – des assemblages sous forme de polyptyques comprenant parfois jusqu’à 18 sections (Pa’ que Me Quieras por Siempre [Pour que tu m’aimes toujours, 1991]) – et des matrices collographiques faites de matériaux divers qui, lorsqu’elles sont encrées et imprimées, permettent d’obtenir une palette très variée de blancs, noirs et gris, ainsi que des textures presque mystérieuses parfaitement adaptées au drame humain qu’évoquent ses œuvres. Ses participations aux Biennales de La Havane en 1991, de Venise en 1993 et de Gwangju en 1997 la consacrent comme une figure émergente de l’art à l’échelle mondiale. L’acquisition précoce de ses œuvres par des musées prestigieux (Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, La Havane ; Museum of Modern Art, New York ; Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles ; Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst, Aix-la-Chapelle, entre autres) et l’obtention de trois prix internationaux (première édition de l’Internationale Grafiek Biënnale, Maastricht, Pays-Bas, et Encuentro Nacional de Grabado, Porto Rico, en 1993 ; XIa Bienal de San Juan del Grabado Latinoamericano y del Caribe, Porto Rico, en 1997) font d’elle l’une des artistes omniprésentes dans les expositions et publications spécialisées d’Europe, d’Asie et d’Amérique latine.

En 2019, vingt ans après sa mort, une exposition itinérante d’envergure, Nkame: A Retrospective of Cuban Printmaker Belkis Ayón, lui est consacrée dans plusieurs musées états-uniens. La critique estime qu’il s’agit de l’une des plus remarquables présentations d’art contemporain actuelles, renforçant ainsi la valeur esthétique de ses gravures et la pertinence sociale et éthique de son propos, perceptible en filigrane derrière le voile du mythe.

Lire plus

Cristina Vives

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, Nasakó inició [Nasakó a commencé], 1986, collographie, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, © Photo : José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, ¡¡Déjame salir!! [Laissez-moi sortir !!], 1997, collographie, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, © Photo : José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, La cena [Le diner], 1988, collographie, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, © Photo : José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, La consagración II [La consécration II], 1991, collographie, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, © Photo : José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, Nuestro deber [Notre devoir], 1993, collographie, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, © Photo : José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Belkis Ayón — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Belkis Ayón, Resurrección [Résurrection], 1988, collographie, Courtesy Estate de Belkis Ayón, © Photo : José A. Figueroa, © Belkis Ayón Estate, © ADAGP, Paris

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29