Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Christine Boumeester

1904Jakarta, Indonesia | 1971Paris, France
Informations
Sponsor
— Galerie Clémence Boisanté

French painter and engraver.

Ranging from a fantastic style similar to that of the surrealists to lyrical abstraction, Christine Boumeester’s work always had a very free relationship to the artistic movements of her time. Born into a family of colonists, she began drawing at young age – undoubtedly to distract her from her facial furunculosis, an illness that struck in her early years. She qualified as a drawing teacher at the Royal Academy of Art in The Hague in 1925, but was not much interested in teaching; instead, she set up a workshop and worked under the instruction of the painter Reuter. During various trips – to Domburg, a little seaside resort in the north of Holland, to the island of Texel, and to Germany – she painted several landscapes and portraits, sometimes miniatures on ivory. In her notebook she wrote: “When I was making portraits, I wanted to put the person’s character into the drawing, the most beautiful part, and I didn’t want realism but rather the nostalgia of the ideal that was on its way” (Le Cahier de Christine Boumeester [The Notebooks of Christine Boumeester] 1977, 1988). In 1935, the Santee Landwer Gallery in Amsterdam was the site of her first solo exhibition. After enrolling at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière in Paris, she met the American painter Henri Goetz, whom she would marry six months later. She exhibited in various galleries in Paris, as well as the Salon des Superindépendants, where she showed her work every year until 1938. In 1936 she created her first surrealist canvases – fantastical, atmospheric landscapes and surrealist-inspired collages, a practice she would develop further when the war considerably reduced her means to create art. In 1937 she exhibited with H. Goetz at the Galerie Bonaparte.

Influenced by the work of her friend Hans Hartung, she began to turn towards abstract painting. Throughout these years, the couple socialised with the Gonzálezes and their surrealist friends the Bréas, Mary Low (1912-2007), Oscar Domínguez, and André Breton. When the war broke out, the couple were without French papers and fled to Dordogne, where Boumeester became interested in prehistory. They then went to Carcassonne to join up with the Belgian surrealist group (Ubac, Magritte, and Scutenaire). Once the United States entered the war, the two artists began a clandestine life, fabricating papers for the Resistance. In 1941 they founded the clandestine Surrealist revue La Main à plume [The Writing Hand] with Ubac and Dotremont. In 1942, they exhibited together at the Jeanne Bucher Gallery in Paris and co-illustrated the book, La Femme facile [The Easy Woman] by Georges Hugnet. Denounced as members of the Resistance, they were forced to live under assumed names. With the help of their gallerist, they fled to the Midi region, where they were reunited with de Staël, Picabia, Arp and Magnelli. They returned to Paris in 1945 and began again exhibiting regularly in various salons and galleries. In 1946, Alain Resnais filmed C. Boumeester at work as part of his series of artist portraits. This period also saw the start of Boumeester’s close friendship with Picabia, which would last until his death in 1953; it was Boumeester who restored his great painting Udnie.

In 1949, C. Boumeester and H. Goetz were naturalised as French citizens. With Flocon and Ubac they founded the group Graphies, whose first exhibition was held at the Galerie des Deux-Îles; a collective work, À la gloire de la main [For the Glory of the Hand] was published at the same time and featured engravings by the couple. These engravings also appeared in Inductives (1950) by Max Clarac-Sérou. This was followed the next year by the first study of C. Boumeester’s work, with texts by Gaston Bachelard, M. Clarac-Sérou, Noël Arnaud, and Yaroslav Serpan. A number of exhibitions then followed, as did illustration projects. The artist translated the book Point, Ligne et Surface by Kandinsky into French. In 1963 she moved with her husband to Villefranche-sur-Mer, where they associated with many artists including Picasso, H. Hartung, Vieira da Silva and Zao Wou-Ki. In 1968 she fell ill; H. Goetz published Christine Boumeester (1968) with an introduction by Vercors. After her death in 1971, he did everything he could to exhibit and gain greater recognition for his wife’s work. In 1983, Villefranche-sur-Mer was able to create a museum displaying the work of the two artists thanks to several donations. Ranging from figuration to abstraction, the work of C. Boumeester is imbued with a powerful poetry of form and colour in works that bring together Eastern and Western landscapes in radiant, dreamlike compositions.

Read more

Catherine Gonnard

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1957, oil on canvas, 81 x 100 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Vase de fleurs, 1929, watercolor, 21 x 17.5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1932, oil on pannel, 21 x 17 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled , 1936, watercolor and pastel, 26 x 35 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Femme à la perle, 1937, graphite, 32 x 26 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Hollandaise, 1937, graphite, 54.5 x 44.5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1938, pastel and black chalk, 35.5 x 25 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1940, paper collage, 21 x 20 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Paris, 1950, charcoal, 35 x 46 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1954, oil on canvas, 131 x 51.5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1958, oil on canvas, 73 x 91 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, ca. 1960, oil on canvas, 73 x 92 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Untitled, 1966, watercolor, 23 x 32 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Christine Boumeester

1904Jakarta, Indonésie | 1971Paris, France
Informations
Soutien
— Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Peintre et graveuse française.

Passant d’un art fantastique proche des surréalistes à une abstraction lyrique, le travail de Christine Boumeester a toujours été très libre vis-à-vis des courants artistiques de son époque. Née dans une famille de colons, elle a dessiné très jeune, sans doute pour se distraire de la maladie – une furonculose faciale – qui la frappe alors. Elle obtient un diplôme de professeure de dessin à l’École des beaux-arts de La Haye en 1925, mais peu tentée par l’enseignement, elle prend un atelier et travaille sous la direction du peintre Reuter. Au fil de ses différents séjours à Domburg, petite station balnéaire du nord de la Hollande, sur l’île de Texel ou en Allemagne, elle peint des paysages et des portraits, parfois en miniature sur ivoire. Dans son cahier, elle note : « Quand je faisais des portraits, je voulais mettre dans le dessin le caractère de la personne, ce qu’il y a de plus beau, et ce n’est pas un réalisme que je voulais, mais la nostalgie de l’idéal qui était sur son chemin » (Le Cahier de Christine Boumeester, 1977, 1988). En 1935, la galerie Santee Landwer d’Amsterdam accueille sa première exposition personnelle. Inscrite à l’académie de la Grande Chaumière à Paris, elle y rencontre le peintre américain Henri Goetz, qu’elle épouse six mois plus tard. Elle expose dans différentes galeries parisiennes ainsi qu’au Salon des superindépendants, où elle présentera ses œuvres tous les ans jusqu’en 1938. En 1936, elle réalise ses premiers tableaux surréalistes, paysages à l’atmosphère fantastique, ainsi que des collages d’inspiration surréaliste, pratique qu’elle développera lorsque la guerre réduira considérablement ses moyens de création. En 1937, elle expose avec H. Goetz à la galerie Bonaparte.

Influencée par l’œuvre de son ami Hans Hartung, elle se tourne peu à peu vers la peinture abstraite. Durant ces quelques années, le couple fréquente les González et leurs amis surréalistes : les Bréa, Mary Low (1912-2007), Oscar Domínguez, André Breton. Lorsque la guerre est déclarée, dépourvu de papiers français, il se réfugie en Dordogne, où la peintre s’intéresse à la préhistoire, puis rejoint le groupe surréaliste belge à Carcassonne (Ubac, Magritte, Scutenaire). Dès l’entrée en guerre des États-Unis, les deux artistes passent dans la clandestinité et fabriquent des faux papiers pour la Résistance. En 1941, ils fondent avec Ubac et Dotremont la revue surréaliste clandestine La Main à plume. En 1942, ils exposent ensemble à la galerie parisienne Jeanne Bucher et illustrent le livre de Georges Hugnet, La Femme facile. Dénoncés comme résistants, ils vivent sous un nom d’emprunt ; puis aidés par la galeriste, ils partent dans le Midi, où ils retrouvent de Staël, Picabia, Arp et Magnelli. De retour à Paris en 1945, ils exposent régulièrement dans les salons et galeries. En 1946, Alain Resnais filme C. Boumeester au travail pour sa série de portraits d’artistes. C’est aussi le début de sa relation privilégiée avec Picabia, qui durera jusqu’à la mort de ce dernier en 1953, et dont elle restaurera la grande toile Udnie.

En 1949, le couple obtient la naturalisation française. Il fonde avec Flocon et Ubac le groupe Graphies, dont la première exposition a lieu à la galerie des Deux-Îles ; à cette occasion est publié un ouvrage collectif, À la gloire de la main, comprenant des gravures du couple, qui figurent aussi dans le livre de Max Clarac-Sérou, Inductives (1950) ; il est suivi, l’année suivante, d’une première étude consacrée au travail de C. Boumeester avec des textes de Gaston Bachelard, M. Clarac Serou, Noël Arnaud et Iaroslav Serpan. Les expositions se succèdent, ainsi que les travaux d’illustration. L’artiste traduit en français le livre Point, ligne et surface de Kandinsky. En 1963, elle s’installe avec son mari à Villefranche-sur-Mer, où ils fréquentent de nombreux artistes tels Picasso, H. Hartung, Vieira da Silva, Zao Wou-Ki. En 1968, elle tombe malade ; H. Goetz publie alors Christine Boumeester (1968), avec une introduction de Vercors. Après sa mort en 1971, il fera son possible pour montrer et diffuser le travail de son épouse. En 1983, à la suite de différentes donations, Villefranche-sur-Mer crée un musée où sont présentées les œuvres des deux artistes. De la figuration à l’abstraction, le travail de C. Boumeester est marqué par une forte poésie des formes et des couleurs, où sont réunis paysages d’Orient et d’Occident dans d’oniriques compositions aux multiples éclats.

Lire plus

Catherine Gonnard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1957, huile sur toile, 81 x 100 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Vase de fleurs, 1929, aquarelle, 21 x 17,5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1932, huile sur panneau, 21 x 17 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1936, aquarelle et pastel, 26 x 35 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Femme à la perle, 1937, mine de plomb, 32 x 26 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Hollandaise, 1937, mine de plomb, 54,5 x 44,5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1938, pastel et craie noire, 35,5 x 25 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1940, collages papier, 21 x 20 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Paris, 1950, fusain, 35 x 46 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1954, huile sur toile, 131 x 51,5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1958, huile sur toile, 73 x 91 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, ca. 1960, huile sur toile, 73 x 92 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Christine Boumeester — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Annie Boumeester, Sans titre, 1966, aquarelle, 23 x 32 cm, Courtesy Galerie Clémence Boisanté

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29