Christine Swane

1876Kerteminde, Denmark | 1960Farum, Denmark
Informations
Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait of Christine SWANE © ARKIVDK

Danish painter and ceramicist.

In her early years Christine Swane (née Larsen), was influenced by the artistic environment on Funen that she got to know through her brother Johannes Larsen (1867-1961) who was a painter and taught her. She received fundamental drawing lessons from Fritz Syberg (1862-1939), and was influenced by Alhed Larsen (1872-1927) and the floral paintings of Anna Syberg (1870-1914) – all Funen-based painters with a naturalistic style. Between 1898 and 1901 she was enrolled as a student at Den med akademiet forbundne Kvindeskole, the women’s school connected to the Royal Danish Academy, but never graduated. In 1900 she received tuition by the Danish vitalistic painter Jens Ferdinand Willumsen (1863-1958) and later assisted him transferring his iconic painting Bjergbestigersken [A mountain climber, 1912] from cardboard to canvas. She completed her education at F. Syberg’s art school for female painters in Copenhagen. Her work Voksende levkøjer og gyldenlak [Growing Matthiola Annua and Erysimum Cheiri, 1906] was accepted at Charlottenborg’s spring exhibition in 1907, after several rejections of other works in previous years. It is a classic early work by C. Swane, with clear refences to the Funen painters. Its close-up, rich colour nuances and exquisite details place the viewer in midst of a fertile land full of flowers.

In 1910 there was a shift in her oeuvre. She met Karl Isakson (1878-1922) and Sigurd Swane (1879-1973) who later became her husband. All three of them where inspired by the new French artistic movements of the early 20th century. Fauvism, impressionism and other early modernist modes of painterly expression liberated her from the Funen naturalism that had previously characterised her work. In early 1919 she exhibited more than 65 oil paintings, 20 watercolours and a number of drawings, in a joint exhibition at Den Frie with her husband. In 1920 she and S. Swane searched for artistic guidance from Harald Giersing (1881-1927) who introduced her to cubism. In the following two decades, after her divorce, she organised a life for herself and her son, insisting on her artistic practice despite the obstacles of gender and poverty. C. Swane developed a visual language with which she shaped different scenes often from a domestic sphere. With simple outlines, geometrical shapes and carefully chosen colour nuances she gave poetic life to various arrangements of objects on tables and windowsills, placing the conventional as essential for her artistic investigation of form, surface and colour. She kept developing and sought inspiration through travel, both nationally and internationally. Her still lifes and other portrayals of flowers, bouquets and plants constituted leitmotivs in her practice. She worked with ceramic from 1926 and experimented with different textiles. In these media she defined and refined her sense of materiality, colour and composition.

She had several solo and group exhibitions throughout her career and received the Tagea Brandt Travel Scholarship in 1938 and the Eckersberg Medal in 1943. Several permanent collections such as the Statens Museum for Kunst – National Gallery of Denmark, the Faaborg Museum, the Johannes Larsen Museet, ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum and Ny Carlsbergfondet bear witness of C. Swane’s unique contribution to Danish modernism.

Rebekka Laugesen

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Opstilling med Stenkrukke [Arrangement with Stone Vase], 1942, oil on canvas, 93.3 x 78.3 cm / 36.73 x 30.82 in, Sorø, Kunstmuseum © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Chrisine Swane, Lindøgaard ved Odense fjord [Lindøgaard by Odense fjord], 1933, watercolour, 24.6 x 33.5 cm / 9.68 x 13.18 in, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, A Lady Knitting, 1934, oil on canvas, 95.5 x 100.5 cm / 37.59 x 39.56 in, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Christmas Tree, 1946, oil on canvas, 135.5 x 110 cm / 53.34 x 43.3 in, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Football Players, 1937, oil on canvas, 136 x 121 cm / 53.54 x 47.63 in, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Skov- eller park interiør med stort trae [Forest or park interior with large tree 1936, drawing, 29 x 22.5 cm / 11.41 x 8.85 in, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Untitled, n.d., small platter with blue fish, glazed pottery, 14 cm / 5.51 in diameter, Johannes Larsen Museet, photo: Ole Friis © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Still Life with Cardamom, 1948, oil on canvas, 100 x 78 cm / 39.37 x 30.7, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Still life, 1950, pencil and watercolour on paper, 47.4 x 61.8 cm / 18.66 x 24.33 in, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Udkast til abstrakt decoration [Draft of abstract decoration], 1937, pen and Indian ink over pencil, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Voksende levkøjer og gyldenlak [Growing Matthiola Annua and Erysimum Cheiri], 1906, oil on canvas, 62 x 77 cm / 24.4 x 30.31 in, Johannes Larsen Museet © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Christine Swane

1876Kerteminde, Danemark | 1960Farum, Danemark
Informations
Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Portrait de Christine Swane © ARKIVDK

Peintre et céramiste danoise.

Dans ses jeunes années, Christine Swane (née Larsen) baigne dans le milieu artistique de la Fionie, qu’elle découvre grâce à son frère, le peintre Johannes Larsen (1867-1961), qui lui enseigne la discipline. Elle reçoit également des cours fondamentaux de dessin de Fritz Syberg (1862-1939) et est influencée par Alhed Larsen (1872-1927) et les peintures florales d’Anna Syberg (1870-1914) — autant d’artistes fioniennes et fioniens au style naturaliste. De 1898 à 1901, elle intégre le Den med akademiet forbundne Kvindeskole, l’école pour femmes rattachée à l’Académie royale du Danemark, mais n’obtient pas son diplôme. En 1900, elle suit des cours auprès du peintre vitaliste danois Jens Ferdinand Willumsen (1863-1958), qu’elle aidera plus tard à transposer son œuvre emblématique Bjergbestigersken [Une alpiniste, 1912] du carton à la toile. Elle achève sa formation à l’école pour peintres femmes de F. Syberg à Copenhague. Son tableau Voksende levkøjer og gyldenlak [Giroflées en fleurs, 1906] est accepté à l’exposition de printemps de Charlottenborg, après plusieurs refus concernant d’autres œuvres les années précédentes. Cette toile est caractéristique des débuts artistiques de C. Swane et cite clairement les peintres de Fionie. Ce plan serré peint avec des couleurs vives et une profusion de détails place le spectateur ou la spectatrice au milieu d’une prairie pleine de fleurs.

En 1910, son œuvre opère un tournant. Elle rencontre Karl Isakson (1878-1922) et Sigurd Swane (1879-1973), qui plus tard deviendra son époux. Tous trois trouvent l’inspiration dans les nouveaux mouvements artistiques français du début du XXe siècle. Le fauvisme, l’impressionnisme et les autres modes d’expression picturale contemporains la libèrent du naturalisme fionien qui caractérisait jusqu’à présent son œuvre. Au début de l’année 1919, elle présente plus de soixante-cinq peintures à l’huile, vingt aquarelles et de nombreux dessins dans une exposition conjointe avec son mari à Den Frie. En 1920, le couple sollicite les conseils d’Harald Giersing (1881-1927), qui initie C. Swane au cubisme. Au cours des deux décennies qui suivent, à la suite de son divorce, elle se prend seule en charge ainsi que son fils et continue de pratiquer son art en dépit des obstacles posés par le genre et la pauvreté. C. Swane élabore alors un langage visuel dont elle se sert pour façonner différentes scènes, souvent tirées de la sphère domestique. Par des contours simples, des formes géométriques et des nuances de couleurs choisies avec soin, elle insuffle une vie poétique à divers arrangements d’objets sur des tables et des rebords de fenêtre, faisant de l’ordinaire l’essence de sa recherche artistique sur la forme, la surface et la couleur. Elle cherche l’inspiration dans ses voyages au Danemark et à l’étranger. Ses natures mortes et ses représentations de fleurs, de bouquets et de végétaux constituent un leitmotiv de son art. À partir de 1926, elle travaille la céramique et expérimente avec différents textiles. Elle définit et affine son sens de la matérialité, de la couleur et de la composition à travers ces disciplines.
Au cours de sa carrière, elle participe à plusieurs expositions personnelles et collectives ; elle reçoit la bourse de séjour Tagea Brandt en 1938 et la médaille Eckersberg en 1943. Plusieurs collections permanentes, notamment celles du Statens Museum for Kunst, le musée national danois, du musée Faboorg, du musée Johannes Larsen, du ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum et de la fondation Carlsberg, témoignent de la contribution unique de C. Swane au modernisme danois.

Rebekka Laugesen

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Opstilling med Stenkrukke [Arrangement avec pot en pierre], 1942, huile sur toile, 93,3 x 78,3 cm, Sorø Kunstmuseum © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Chrisine Swane, Lindøgaard ved Odense fjord [Lindøgaard près du fjord d’Odense], 1933, aquarelle, 24,6 x 33,5 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Dame tricotant, 1934, huile sur toile, 95,5 x 100,5 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Sapin de Noël, 1946, huile sur toile, 135,5 x 110 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Joueurs de football, 1937, huile sur toile, 136 x 121 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Skov- eller park interiør med stort trae [Intérieur de forêt ou de parc avec grand arbre], 1936, dessin, 29 x 22,5 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Sans titre, s.d., petit plat au poisson bleu, poterie vernie, 14 cm de diamètre, Johannes Larsen Museet, photo : Ole Friis © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Nature morte avec cardamome, 1948, huile sur toile, 100 x 78 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Nature morte, 1950, stylo et aquarelle sur papier, 47,4 x 61,8 cm, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Udkast til abstrakt dekoration [Brouillon de décoration abstraite], 1937, stylo et encre de Chine sur crayon, Statens Museum for Kunst © ADGP, Paris 2022

Christine Swane — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Christine Swane, Voksende levkøjer og gyldenlak [Giroflées en fleur], 1906, huile sur toile, 62 x 77 cm, Johannes Larsen Museet © ADAGP, Paris 2022

Magazine
Article lié
Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29