Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Frances Hodgkins

1869Dunedin, New Zealand | 1947Dorset, United Kingdom
Informations

New Zealand painter.

Along with her older sister Isabel, Frances Hodgkins was taught watercolour technique by her father, a lawyer who had emigrated to New Zealand and a renowned amateur watercolourist of landscapes in the tradition of William Turner. While Isabel, who initially encountered more success than her younger sister, took after her father in terms of painting style, her sister preferred to focus on the study of the human form. The watercolour classes of the recently emigrated Italian Girolamo Pieri Nerli helped her in this regard. His influence is visible in artworks such as Girl With the Flaxen Hair (Museum of New Zealand Te Papa, Wellington, 1893). In 1895-1896, she also frequented the Dunedin School of Art. Her art of the time juxtaposed scenes from the rural life around her, which she treated with a rather sugary realism (Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki: Washing Day, circa 1895; At the Pump, 1901). Having exhausted the educational possibilities in the British colony, the young painter managed to save enough money for a trip to Europe, where she notably took sketching classes with Norman Garstin in Normandy, during the summers of 1901 and 1902. On her return to New Zealand in 1903, she opened a studio in Wellington. Her work was therefore clearly influenced by the European movements, particularly Impressionism. In Paris, in 1908, she became the first female professor at the Colarossi Academy. She taught watercolours there, before starting her own school. By the time she returned to the Southern hemisphere, in 1912-1913, Australia reserved a hero’s welcome for her, seeing her as the epitome of modernity.

During World War I, her move to St Ives, in Cornwall, where she met many young artists such as Cedric Morris or Arthur Lett-Haines, was to mark a major turning point; setting aside her watercolours, she began to produce large oil paintings, and Post-Impressionism now played an essential role in her work: in Loveday and Ann: Two Women With a Basket of Flowers (Tate Modern, London, 1915) or in The Edwardians (Auckland Art Gallery, circa 1918), the decorative effects and textures of an intimist interior imply the influence of Pierre Bonnard or Édouard Vuillard. Despite a number of exhibitions, she only rarely managed to sell her work and was obliged to work as a graphic designer for the Calico Printers’ Association in Manchester. Success came before 1930, concomitant with one last stylistic evolution. In 1929, she became a member of the Seven and Five Society, a modernist group led by Ben Nicholson and to which the sculptor Barbara Hepworth and Roger Moore also belonged, twenty years younger than herself. After a first solo exhibition at the Claridge Gallery of London in 1928, the zenith of her career came with an exhibition at the St Georges Gallery in 1930. That year, she signed a contract with London art dealer Arthur R. Howell. Over sixty at the time, the New Zealand-born artist thus became one of the emblematic figures of British modernism. Her art was very colourful, with an increasingly free approach to form and line. She stood out particularly through her research into the theme of still life-landscape, exploring all possibilities emerging from the confrontation of these two genres, as in Wings Over Water (Tate Modern, London, 1930), in which three shells were placed in front of an open window before a coastal landscape. It was also in the form of still life that she chose to represent herself in Self-portrait: Still Life (Auckland Art Gallery, circa 1935), in which various objects symbolise her presence. The 1940s saw the artist turn gradually towards abstraction. However, the war drained her physically and psychologically and she was eventually admitted to a psychiatric hospital, where she was to live out her days.

Read more

Marie Gispert

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Self portrait: still life, 1935, oil on cardboard, 76.2 x 63.5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Untitled [Mother and child], 1903, watercolour, 74.2 x 51.5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Untitled [Loading the cart], 1909, watercolour and charcoal, 57.4 x 69 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, purchased with assistance from Geri and John Herbert, Cyril Wright and Linda Light, 2007

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Untitled [The piano lesson], 1909, watercolour and charcoal, 51.5 x 59.5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

 

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Refugee Children, 1916, oil and tempera on board, 60.9 x 72.7 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, on loan from the Thanksgiving Foundation

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Untitled [Beach huts, Concarneau], 1912, watercolour, 35 x 35.2, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Red jug, 1931, oil on canvas, 68.5 x 75 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Arrangement of jugs, 1938, lithograph, 45.7 x 61.7 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, gift of Miss H Ritchie, 1956

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Untitled [Woman with a mirror], unknown date, watercolour and charcoal, 54.8 x 42.5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, purchased with assistance from Georgina Ralston, 2007

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Airmen, 1940, gouache, 49.5 x 64.9, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Bradford-On-Tone, Geoffrey Gorer’s Cottage, 1940, gouache, 54.4 x 41.2 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Untitled [Boats by the harbour wall], unknown date, watercolour, 49.2 x 50.7 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Frances Hodgkins

1869Dunedin, Nouvelle-Zélande | 1947Dorset, Royaume-Uni
Informations

Peintre néo-zélandaise.

Avec sa sœur aînée Isabel, Frances Hodgkins apprend de son père, avocat émigré en Nouvelle-Zélande et aquarelliste amateur renommé, la technique de l’aquarelle, qu’il pratique comme paysagiste dans la lignée de William Turner. Alors qu’Isabel, qui connaît d’abord plus de succès que sa cadette, s’inscrit dans la lignée de son père, sa sœur préfère se consacrer à l’étude de la figure humaine. Elle est aidée en cela par les cours de l’aquarelliste italien Girolamo Pieri Nerli, récemment émigré, dont l’influence est visible dans des œuvres comme Girl With the Flaxen Hair (« jeune fille aux cheveux de lin », Museum of New Zealand Te Papa, Wellington, 1893). En 1895-1896, elle fréquente également la Dunedin School of Art. Son art juxtapose alors des scènes de la vie rurale qui l’entoure et qu’elle traite avec un réalisme un peu mièvre (Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki : Washing Day [« jour de lessive »], vers 1895 ; At the Pump [« à la pompe »], 1901). Ayant épuisé les possibilités de formation dans la colonie britannique, la jeune peintre parvient à réunir assez d’argent pour un voyage en Europe, où elle suivra notamment les classes de croquis de Norman Garstin en Normandie pendant les étés 1901 et 1902. À son retour en Nouvelle-Zélande en 1903, elle ouvre un atelier à Wellington. Son œuvre est alors clairement influencée par les mouvements européens, particulièrement l’impressionnisme. À Paris, en 1908, elle devient la première femme professeure à l’académie Colarossi. Elle y enseigne l’aquarelle avant d’ouvrir sa propre école. Lorsqu’elle revient dans l’hémisphère Sud, en 1912-1913, l’Australie lui réserve un accueil triomphal, la considérant alors à la pointe de la modernité.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, son installation à St Ives, en Cornouailles, où elle rencontre de nombreux jeunes artistes comme Cedric Morris ou Arthur Lett-Haines, marque un tournant majeur ; de l’aquarelle, elle passe à de grandes peintures à l’huile, et le post-impressionnisme joue désormais un rôle essentiel dans son travail : dans Loveday and Ann : Two Women With a Basket of Flowers (« Loveday et Ann :deux femmes avec un panier de fleurs », Tate Modern, Londres, 1915) ou dans The Edwardians (Auckland Art Gallery, vers 1918), les effets décoratifs et les textures d’un intérieur intimiste se ressentent de l’influence de Pierre Bonnard ou d’Édouard Vuillard. Malgré plusieurs expositions, elle ne parvient que difficilement à vendre et doit travailler comme graphiste pour la Calico Printers’ Association de Manchester. Le succès surviendra avant 1930, en même temps qu’une dernière évolution stylistique. En 1929, elle devient membre de la Seven and Five Society, groupe moderniste mené par Ben Nicholson et dont font partie également la sculptrice Barbara Hepworth ou Roger Moore, de vingt ans plus jeunes qu’elle. Après une première exposition personnelle à la Claridge Gallery de Londres en 1928, elle connaît la consécration avec une exposition à la St Georges Gallery en 1930 et signe, durant la même année, un contrat avec le marchand londonien Arthur R. Howell. À plus de 60 ans, l’artiste néo-zélandaise devient alors l’une des figures emblématiques du modernisme britannique. Elle propose alors un art très coloré, avec une approche de plus en plus libre de la forme et de la ligne. Elle se distingue surtout par ses recherches sur le thème de la nature morte-paysage, explorant toutes les possibilités nées de la confrontation de ces deux genres, comme dans Wings Over Water (« des ailes au-dessus de l’eau », Tate Modern, Londres, 1930), où trois coquillages sont posés devant une fenêtre ouverte sur un paysage côtier. C’est également sous forme de nature morte qu’elle choisit de se représenter dans Selfportrait : Still Life (« autoportrait : nature morte », Auckland Art Gallery, vers 1935), dans lequel différents objets symbolisent sa présence. Les années 1940 voient l’artiste se tourner peu à peu vers l’abstraction. Mais la guerre l’épuise physiquement et psychologiquement, et elle sera finalement admise dans un hôpital psychiatrique, où elle finira ses jours.

Lire plus

Marie Gispert

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Self portrait: still life, 1935, huile sur carton, 76,2 x 63,5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Sans titre [Mère et enfant], 1903, aquarelle, 74,2 x 51,5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Sans titre [chargeant la charrette], 1909, aquarelle et fusain, 57,4 x 69 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki acquis avec l’aide de Geri et John Herbert, Cyril Wright et Linda Light

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Sans titre [La Leçon de piano], 1909, aquarelle et fusain, 51,5 x 59,5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Refugee Children, 1916, huile et tempera sur planche, 60,9 x 72,7 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, prêt de la Thanksgiving Foundation

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Sans titre [cabines de plage, Concarneau], 1912, aquarelle, 35 x 35,2 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Red jug, 1931, huile sur toile, 68,5 x 75 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Arrangement of jugs, 1938, lithographie, 45,7 x 61,7 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, cadeau de Miss H Ritchie, 1956

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Sans titre [Femme avec un miroir], date inconnue, aquarelle et fusain, 54,8 x 42,5 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, acquis avec l’aide de  Georgina Ralston, 2007

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Airmen, 1940, gouache, 49,5 x 64,9 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Bradford-On-Tone, Geoffrey Gorer’s Cottage, 1940, gouache, 54,4 x 41,2 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Frances Hodgkins — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Frances Hodgkins, Sans titre [Bateaux près de la digue], date inconnue, aquarelle, 49,2 x 50,7 cm, © Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29