Browse by Themes

Still Life : stylistic exercise ou artwork?
Gender Genres
23.10.2020 | Nina Meisel

Charley Toorop, Still life with skull, 1929, oil on panel, Kroller-Muller Museum, Otterlo, © ADAGP, Paris

Still life had its golden age in the 17th century, notably in northern Europe with the paintings of Pieter Claesz (c. 1597-1660) as well as those of Rachel Ruysch (1664-1750). These works do not show human figures but rather dishes, fruits, vegetables, objects and flowers, often symbolic vanitas. At times considered simply as an exercise, the genre remained minor in the Western pictorial tradition in the face of history painting and portraiture. Having fallen into oblivion in the 19th century, the still life is often associated with women’s artistic practice illustrating the lack of critical consideration for female creators. The association between femininity and floral painting was the fruit of activity in porcelain and ceramic workshops as well as that of textile manufacturers. This was the case for Vanessa Bell (1879-1961) in the Omega Workshops she created with the Bloomsbury Group in 1913, where she designed plant motifs for English interiors.

The still life’s ambiguity is clear throughout the careers of the artists. Sometimes as a practical exercise, women artists made their mark with still lifes before turning to practices that better suited them. Émilie Charmy (1878-1974) painted still lifes, but it was in her brothel scenes and portraits of the author Colette (1873-1954) that she found her own means of expression and established her work’s originality. Both Betty Goodwin in Romania, (1923-2008) and Florine Stettheimer (1871-1944) in the United States, began their apprenticeships with this exercise, not aiming at audacity and creativity but rather the accuracy of line and study. This idea is also confirmed in contemporary art with Carole Benzaken (b. 1964), for example, who began by representing tulips as a means to question the meaning of the image and the pictorial tradition.

Yet still life is also a genre in and of itself. After the war Geneviève Asse (b. 1923) created still lifes that she limited to only three colours – white, black and ochre. This almost monochromatic approach allowed her to access a greater freedom and amplitude in her way of making. This pictorial genre is found in aesthetic research of artistic movements. As such, Maria Blanchard (1881-1932) and Valéria Dénes (1877-1915) realised still lifes in the cubist style while Charley Toorop (1891-1955) worked in a more realistic style. In her work Frances Hodgkins (1869-1947) confronted still lifes with landscapes. This modernity also has an echo in photographic practices. Aenne Biermann (1898-1933) fixed still lifes to film in strict compositions and structures before reworking them using editing techniques. In Japan, where flower painting is a traditional art, Fujio Yoshida (1887-1987) appropriated floral motifs and worked them to the point of organic abstraction. She realised these forms with different techniques, including woodblocks, engravings and oil painting. For certain female artists in the West, these representations became a means of expression that they appropriated to change their meaning, as did Juliette Roche (1884-1982) by inserting strong political messages into her works.

The still life reinvented itself in performance and installation as seen in the work of the Czech artist Jana Sterback (b. 1953) and Gloria Friedmann (b. 1950) from Germany, where it is nourished by current issues relating to ecology and the environment.

The pioneering female artists from the 17th and 18th century have been celebrated in group exhibitions such as Women Artists of the Dutch Golden Age at the National Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington DC in 2019-2020, as well as in retrospectives such as The Art of Clara Peeters at the Museo Nacional del Prado in Madrid. However, it must be noted that few exhibitions are devoted to still lifes of the 19th and 20th centuries, which is one of the consequences of the ambivalence of this artistic genre.

Artists
Explore the artists
1879 — 1961 | United Kingdom
Vanessa Bell - AWARE

Vanessa Bell

1878 — 1974 | France
Émilie Charmy - AWARE

Émilie Charmy

1869 — New Zealand | 1947 — United Kingdom
Frances Hodgkins - AWARE

Frances Hodgkins

1923 — 2008 | Canada
Betty Goodwin - AWARE

Betty Goodwin

1871 — 1944 | United States
Florine Stettheimer - AWARE

Florine Stettheimer

1881 — Spain | 1932 — France
María Blanchard - AWARE

María Blanchard

1891 — Netherlands | 1955 — Norway
Charley Toorop - AWARE

Charley Toorop

1898 — 1933 | Germany
Aenne Biermann - AWARE

Aenne Biermann

1887 — 1987 | Japan
Fujio Yoshida - AWARE

Fujio Yoshida

1893 — United States | 1982 — France
Florence Henri - AWARE

Florence Henri

1885 — Australia | 1951 — France
Anne Dangar - AWARE

Anne Dangar

1877 — 1915 | Hungary
Valéria Dénes - AWARE

Valéria Dénes

1898 — Russian Empire (today Ukraine) | 1984 — Soviet Union
Maria Siniakova - AWARE

Maria Siniakova

1895 — Poland | 1975 — France
Alice Halicka - AWARE

Alice Halicka

1950 | Germany
Gloria Friedmann - AWARE

Gloria Friedmann

1953 | Czech Republic
Jana  Sterbak - AWARE

Jana Sterbak

1964 | France
Carole Benzaken - AWARE

Carole Benzaken

1840 — 1926 | France
Victoria Dubourg - AWARE

Victoria Dubourg

1895 — Samoa | 1984 — New Zealand
Teuane Tibbo - AWARE

Teuane Tibbo

1827 — 1888 | France
Éléonore Escallier - AWARE

Éléonore Escallier

1856 — 1942 | United States
Anna Elizabeth Klumpke - AWARE

Anna Elizabeth Klumpke

1900 — 1981 | Bosnia and Herzegovina
Mileva Todorović - AWARE

Mileva Todorović

1894 — Moravia (now Czech Republic) | 1980 — Israel
Anna Ticho - AWARE

Anna Ticho

1845 — 1928 | France
Madeleine  Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite) - AWARE

Madeleine Lemaire (Jeanne Magdelaine Lemaire, dite)

1895 — 1978 | United Kingdom
Gluck (Hannah Gluckstein, dite) - AWARE

Gluck (Hannah Gluckstein, dite)

1906 — 1958 | China
QIU Ti (Schudy) - AWARE

QIU Ti (Schudy)

1905 — 1999 | Japan
Setsuko Migishi - AWARE

Setsuko Migishi

1964 | France
Françoise Pétrovitch - AWARE

Françoise Pétrovitch

1845 — 1932 | Norway
Harriet Backer - AWARE

Harriet Backer

1895 — 2000 | Japan
Ogura Yuki - AWARE

Ogura Yuki

1791 — 1878 | United States
Anna Claypoole Peale - AWARE

Anna Claypoole Peale

1795 — 1882 | United States
Margaretta Angelica Peale - AWARE

Margaretta Angelica Peale

1800 — 1885 | United States
Sarah Miriam Peale - AWARE

Sarah Miriam Peale

1709 — Netherlands | 1772 — United Kingdom
Cornelia  van der Mijn - AWARE

Cornelia van der Mijn

1700 — Netherlands | 1777 — United Kingdom
Agatha van der Mijn - AWARE

Agatha van der Mijn

1664 — 1750 | Netherlands
Rachel  Ruysch - AWARE

Rachel Ruysch

1779 — 1862 | Netherlands
Maria Margaretha  van Os - AWARE

Maria Margaretha van Os

1703 — 1783 | Bavaria
Barbara Regina Dietzsch - AWARE

Barbara Regina Dietzsch

1699 — Scotland | 1758 — Great Britain
Elizabeth  Blackwell - AWARE

Elizabeth Blackwell

1747 — Bavaria | 1794 — Great Britain
Maria Katharina  Prestel - AWARE

Maria Katharina Prestel

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

La nature morte : exercice de style ou œuvre d’art ?
Les genres au féminin
23.10.2020 | Nina Meisel

Charley Toorop, Still life with skull, 1929, huile sur panneau, Kroller-Muller Museum, Otterlo, © ADAGP, Paris

La nature morte connaît son heure de gloire au XVIIe siècle, notamment dans les pays du nord de l’Europe avec les toiles de Pieter Claesz (1596/97-1660) ou celles de Rachel Ruysch (1664-1750). Les œuvres ne montrent pas des figures humaines mais des plats, des fruits ou des légumes, des objets ou encore des fleurs et font souvent recours à des symboles comme celui des vanités. Le genre reste mineur dans la tradition picturale occidentale face à la peinture d’histoire ou au portrait, il est parfois même plus considéré comme un exercice. Tombé en désuétude au XIXe siècle, la nature morte est souvent associée à la pratique artistique des femmes, ce qui illustre le manque de considération de la critique pour les créatrices. L’association entre féminité et peinture florale est le fruit de leur activité dans les ateliers des manufactures de porcelaine, de céramique et de tissu, comme c’est le cas pour Vanessa Bell (1879-1961) dans les ateliers Omega qu’elle créés en 1913 avec le groupe Bloomsbury Group et où elle imagine des motifs végétaux pour les intérieurs anglais.

Le constat de l’ambiguïté de la nature morte se fait au travers des carrières des artistes. Tantôt exercice pratique, elles y font leurs armes avant de se tourner vers des pratiques qui leur conviennent mieux. Émilie Charmy (1878-1974) peint des natures mortes, mais c’est dans ses scènes de bordels ou ses portraits de l’autrice Colette (1873-1954) qu’elle trouve son moyen d’expression propre et qu’elle fixe l’originalité de son travail. Betty Goodwin (1923-2008) en Roumanie ou Florine Stettheimer (1871-1944) aux États-Unis, débutent leur apprentissage par cet exercice, qui n’a pas pour but l’audace et la créativité mais la justesse du trait et de l’étude. Cette idée se vérifie aussi dans l’art contemporain, par exemple avec Carole Benzaken (née en 1964) qui débutent en représentant des tulipes, moyen pour elle de questionner le sens de l’image et la tradition picturale.

Mais la nature morte est également un genre à part entière. Après-guerre, Geneviève Asse (née en 1923) crée des natures mortes qu’elle est contrainte de travailler avec seulement trois couleurs  : le blanc, le noir et l’ocre. C’est cette approche quasi monochromique qui lui permet ensuite d’accéder à une plus grande liberté et une plus grande amplitude dans sa manière de faire. Ce genre pictural s’inscrit dans les recherches esthétiques des mouvements artistiques. Ainsi, Maria Blanchard (1881-1932) ou Valéria Dénes (1877-1915) les réalisent à la manière cubiste et Charley Toorop (1891-1955) à la manière du réalisme. Frances Hodgkins (1869-1947) la met en confrontation avec la réalisation de paysages dans ses œuvres. Cette modernité a également un écho dans la pratique photographique. Aenne Biermann (1898-1933) fixe sur la pellicule des natures mortes à la composition et à la structure stricte avant de les retravailler à l’aide des techniques de montage. Au Japon, où la peinture de fleur est un art traditionnel, Fujio Yoshida (1887-1987) s’approprie ces motifs et les travaille jusqu’à arriver à l’abstraction organique. Elle réalise ces formes avec différentes techniques, dont l’estampe, la gravure ou la peinture à l’huile. En occident, ces représentations deviennent pour certaines artistes un moyen d’expression à part entière, qu’elles détournent pour en modifier le sens, comme le fait Juliette Roche (1884-1982) qui y insère de forts messages politiques.

La nature morte se réinvente dans la performance et l’installation comme dans les travaux de la tchèque Jana Sterback (née en 1953) ou de l’allemande Gloria Friedmann (née en 1950), où elle est nourrie par les problématiques actuelles portant sur l’écologie et l’environnement.

Les artistes pionnières des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle sont célébrées lors d’expositions collectives – Women Artists of the Dutch Golden Age, au National Museum of Women in the Arts à Washington, en 2019-2020 – ou monographiques – The Art of Clara Peeters, au Museo Nacional del Prado à Madrid. Mais, force est de constater que peu d’expositions se consacrent à la nature morte des XIXe et XXe siècles, ce qui est une des conséquences de l’ambivalence de ce genre artistique.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29