Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Geneviève Asse

1923 | Vanves, France
Informations

French painter.

For Geneviève Asse freedom, while growing up, meant solitude. On the Rhuys peninsula in Brittany, where she and her twin brother were left in their grandmother’s care, she immersed herself in the immensity of the sky and the sea, and in the vast library of the Bonnervo manor. In Paris she discovered the work of Chardin, and felt a deep connection with his paintings. Her first still lifes surfaced in 1940; “I was drawn to simple objects: boxes, bottles, inkwells, glasses”, she said. At that time World War II was looming. When war broke out, Asse became committed to the cause of liberation, joining the UNEF (National Union of French Students), and the FFI (French Forces of the Interior, a group of the French Resistance). She later joined the 1st Armored division of the African army as an ambulance driver, and finally at the end of the war, participated in the repatriation of French Jews from the Terezin camp (where Robert Desnos had recently died).
At the same time, despite financial difficulties, she became involved in painting. She painted with only three tubes of color—black, white, ocher—her early still lifes soon becoming the iridescent spray of the sea. At the 1942 salon for artists under 30, she met the collector Jean Bauret, who provided her with a barn in which to paint; thus her paintings gained breadth, slowly evolving towards atmospheric landscapes, pale and gray, or haloed in light. At this point, the sea horizons of her childhood began to materialize on the blank canvas, with vertical door-like openings down the center. This motif, however, eventually disappeared in the search of more infinite imagery; the space opened up, and it is precisely this opening that, in the 1970s, became the theme of her work.

After her earlier door and window-like openings, she began to create simple rays of light amongst the blue. It was this blue which, in 1980, carried the weight of her paintings, and completed their release. Everything fades, and all that is left on the canvas, or the book, is the soft vibration that has the gift to move, or the strength and the will of a drawn or etched line. The work of art is the reflection of the temperament.  Asse’s atelier echoes this style of work; the asceticism, the order, the concentration of the eye, the contemplation, and finally the hard-won freedom. The only objects adorning the empty space: a fan, an African sculpture of a bird, and the image of an angel by Giotto.

Read more

Anne Lemonnier

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Lignes et rouge, 2010, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Nocturne I, 2009, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Nocturne II, 2009, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Eclat, 2010, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Multiple, 2010, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Ligne rouge I, 1984, print, lithography, 649 x 480 cm, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Nuit bleue, 2007, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Impression, 2009, print, lithography, © Photo: Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Discover
Linked themes
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Geneviève Asse

1923 | Vanves, France
Informations

Peintre française.

Au cours de son enfance, la liberté, selon Geneviève Asse, se nomme solitude : en Bretagne, dans la presqu’île de Rhuys, confiée avec son frère jumeau à sa grand-mère, elle s’immerge dans l’immensité des cieux et de la mer, et dans la vaste bibliothèque du manoir de Bonnervo. A Paris, elle découvre Chardin, et ressent une profonde intimité avec sa peinture. Ses premières natures mortes voient le jour en 1940. « J’ai été attirée par des objets très simples : boîtes, bouteilles, encriers, verres », dit-elle. À cette époque, la guerre se profile ; lorsqu’elle éclate, la liberté devient, pour G. Asse, un engagement : l’Unef (Union nationale des étudiants de France), les FFI (Forces françaises intérieures) ; puis la 1re division blindée, l’armée d’Afrique, en tant que conductrice ambulancière ; enfin le rapatriement des Juifs français du camp de Terezín (où Robert Desnos vient de mourir), à la fin de la guerre.
Dans le même temps, c’est l’engagement dans la peinture, malgré les difficultés matérielles : elle peint avec trois tubes de couleurs – noir, blanc, ocre – et ses natures mortes se dissolvent bientôt dans des embruns irisés. Au Salon des moins de trente ans de 1942, elle rencontre le collectionneur Jean Bauret, qui met à sa disposition une grange : ainsi, ses tableaux gagnent en étendue, évoluent peu à peu vers des paysages atmosphériques, pâles et gris ou nimbés de lumière. Alors que se dessine dans le blanc de la toile l’horizon des mers de l’enfance, s’ouvre la verticale des « portes ». Le motif tend à disparaître, dans la recherche d’un infini. S’ouvre aussi l’espace : c’est précisément « l’ouverture » qui devient, dans les années 1970, le thème de son œuvre.

Après les portes et les fenêtres, ce sont de simples rais de lumière dans l’azur : le bleu, qui, en 1980, emporte tout, achève de libérer la peinture. Tout s’estompe et ne subsiste sur la toile, sur le livre, que la vibration douce qui a le don d’émouvoir, ou bien la vigueur, la volonté du trait lancé, gravé. L’œuvre est à l’image même du tempérament. De ce travail, de l’ascèse, de la règle, de la concentration de l’œil, de la contemplation, enfin de la liberté gagnée, l’espace de l’atelier se fait l’écho : seuls objets dans l’espace nu, un éventail et la sculpture africaine d’un oiseau, l’image d’un ange de Giotto.

Lire plus

Anne Lemonnier

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Lignes et rouge, 2010, estampe / impression, lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Nocturne I, 2009, estampe / impression, Lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Nocturne II, 2009, estampe / impression, lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Eclat, 2010, estampe / impression, lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Multiple, 2010, estampe / Impression, lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Ligne rouge I, 1984, estampe / impression, lithographie, 649 x 480 cm, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Nuit bleue, 2007, estampe / impression, lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Geneviève Asse — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Geneviève Asse, Impression, 2009, estampe / impression, lithographie, © Photo : Jean-Louis Losi, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29