Les grandes dames de l’art

Geneviève Asse
13.10.2021

Fanny Michaëlis, Geneviève Asse, 2021
© Fanny Michaëlis

The podcast “Les grandes dames de l’art” (“Great Women of Art”) gives a voice to the female artists of the 20th century. They talk about their work, their life, the world around them, and their achievements. Let us go in search of their presence, their secrets. Let us rediscover the hidden stories of women artists through their voices.

Three episodes have already been dedicated to great abstract painters: Maria Helena Vieira da Silva, Ana Eva Bergman and, Aurélie Nemours. This fourth episode, devoted to Geneviève Asse, appears a couple of weeks after her passing in August. She was 98 years old. This pioneer of abstraction had to wait until she was 40 years old for her work to be shown regularly in galleries, 65 for an exhibition in a Parisian museum (at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville), and 90 to get a retrospective of her work at the Centre Pompidou. Here is an opportunity to rediscover her clear and airy voice, simultaneously precise and poetic, just like her direct, efficient, almost monochromatic painting style (even though this is a term she rejected).

“Les grandes dames de l’art” is a podcast produced by AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, in collaboration with the Institut national de l’audiovisuel, with the support of Maison Veuve Clicquot and the Ministry of Culture’s Délégation à la transmission, aux territoires et à la démocratie culturelle.

Coordinated by: Mathilde de Croix and the AWARE team
Directed by: Élodie Royer
Music by: Juliano Gil
Credits: Andrew Nelson
Sound Editing: Basile Beaucaire
Scientific Advisors: Catherine Gonnard and Marjorie Micucci
Translation: Beth Gordon
French Voice: Camille Morineau
English Voice: Lou Doillon
Translation of the Artist’s Voice: Eve Dayre

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Les grandes dames de l’art

Geneviève Asse
13.10.2021

Fanny Michaëlis, Geneviève Asse, 2021
© Fanny Michaëlis

Le podcast « Les grandes dames de l’art » donne la parole aux artistes femmes du XXesiècle. Elles parlent de leur œuvre, de leur vie, du monde qui les entoure et de leurs conquêtes. Partons à la recherche de leur présence, de leurs secrets. Retrouvons l’histoire cachée des artistes femmes, à partir de leurs voix.

Trois épisodes ont déjà été consacrés à de grandes peintres abstraites : Maria Helena Vieira da Silva, Ana Eva Bergman et Aurelie Nemours. Le quatrième, consacré à Geneviève Asse, parait quelques semaines après son décès en août dernier. Elle avait 98 ans. Cette pionnière de l’abstraction a dû attendre d’avoir 40 ans pour présenter son travail en galerie, 65 ans pour une exposition muséale à Paris (au Musée d’art moderne de la Ville) et 90 ans pour sa rétrospective au centre Pompidou. Voici une occasion de retrouver sa voix limpide, aérienne, à la fois précise et poétique, à l’image d’une peinture directe, efficace, presque monochrome même si l’artiste récuse ce terme.

« Les grandes dames de l’art » est une série de podcasts produite par AWARE : Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, en partenariat avec l’Institut national de l’audiovisuel, avec le soutien de la Maison Veuve Clicquot et la Délégation à la transmission, aux territoires et à la démocratie culturelle du ministère de la Culture.

À la préparation : Mathilde de Croix avec l’équipe d’AWARE
À la réalisation : Élodie Royer
Musique originale : Juliano Gil
Générique : Andrew Nelson
Mixage sonore : Basile Beaucaire
Conseil scientifique : Catherine Gonnard et Marjorie Micucci
Voix : Camille Morineau

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29