Browse by Themes

Abstraction: A Man’s Affair?
Major Questions in Art History
08.05.2020 | Nina Meisel

Bridget Riley, For Genji, 1995/1996, oil on linen canvas, 165 x 228.6 cm, © Rights reserved, © Cnap, © Photo: Ville de Grenoble / Musée de Grenoble-J.L. Lacroix

Abstraction was the artistic revolution of the 20th century. Influenced by the development of quantum physics and heir to Impressionism, Fauvism and Cubism, it emerged as the main innovation of the era. The movement revitalised traditional codes of painting and sculpture by dismantling the image in order to sacralise pure form and colour. In the history of art origins of abstraction coincide with the production of Untitled by Wassily Kandinsky (1866-1944) in 1910, and later by young artists such as František Kupka (1871-1957), Kazimir Malevich (1879-1935) and Piet Mondrian (1872-1944) who progressively abandoned the representation of reality to retain only its essence and emotion. According to art historical narratives, women artists were said to not have grasped the codes of this movement. However, Swedish painter Hilma af Klint (1862-1944) abandoned figurative compositions as early as 1905. Her work was only rediscovered in 1986 during the exhibition The Spiritual in Art: Abstract Painting 1890-1985 at LACMA in Los Angeles, where she was presented as a pioneer of abstraction. Her mystical painting as well as the meditative practice of Agnes Martin (1912-2004) are testament to the relentless research on the essentialisation of the artistic gesture.

Certain women artists, like their male counterparts, used colour to explore representation of form. Painter and sculptor Marlow Mosse (1890-1958) played with orthogonal and diagonal lines, which she duplicated in 1930 before finally detaching herself to experiment with lightness and reliefs in white. Aurélie Nemours (1910-2005) was also a monochrome painter who preferred white to bright colours. The pictorial research of Italian artist Carla Accardi (1924-2014), a proponent of realistic figuration, transcended colour by first deepening her study of black and white before turning to fluorescent colours in the 1970s.

Lebanese artist Saloua Rauoda Choucair (1916-2017) linked her artistic quest with Sufi Islamic traditions. For her, the absence of figuration was what brought the work to the essence of thought. In this pictorial revolution the pursuit for form constituted a movement apart: geometric abstraction in which women artists fully took part. Of Romanian origins, Natalia Dumistresco (1915-1997) played with geometry, round, square and other contrasting lines to offer kaleidoscopic visions. Through photography, assemblage and drawing, Bĕla Kolářová (1923-2010) questioned the structures of objects that she diverted from their original function. She invented her own means of creation, including the artificial negative where the image was born solely through the use of a darkroom. Vera Molnár (b. 1924), a Hungarian kinetic artist, carried out artistic experiments using computers.

This “half suicidal of the creative genius of this century,” as Lea Vergine wrote, has only been rediscovered belatedly. Recent exhibitions have paid homage to these women abstractionists, such as Empathy and Abstraction: Modernist Women in Germany at the Kunsthalle Bielefeld in Bielideld in 2015 and 2016; Making Space: Women Artists ad Postwar Abstraction in 2017 at the MoMa in New York; or even more recently Femmes années 50 : Au fil de l’abstraction, peinture et sculpture at the Musée Soulage in Rodez, France in 2020.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

L’abstraction, une affaire d’hommes ?
Les grandes questions de l’histoire de l’art
08.05.2020 | Nina Meisel

Bridget Riley, For Genji, 1995/1996, huile sur toile de lin, 165 x 228,6 cm, © Droits Réservés, © Cnap, © Photo : Ville de Grenoble / Musée de Grenoble-J.L. Lacroix

L’abstraction est la révolution artistique du XXe siècle. Influencée par le développement de la physique quantique et héritière de l’impressionnisme, du fauvisme et du cubisme, elle s’impose comme l’inspiration principale de la période. Ce courant renouvelle les codes traditionnels de la peinture et de la sculpture, en décomposant l’image pour sacraliser la forme pure et la couleur. En histoire de l’art, la genèse de l’abstraction coïncide à la réalisation en 1910 de Sans titre de Wassily Kandinsky (1866-1944), puis par le travail de jeunes artistes comme František Kupka (1871-1957), Kazimir Malevitch (1879-1935) ou Piet Mondrian (1872-1944) qui abandonnent progressivement la représentation du réel pour n’en garder que l’essence et l’émotion. Selon les récits de l’histoire de l’art, les artistes femmes ne se seraient donc pas saisies des codes de ce mouvement. Pourtant, Hilma af Klint (1862-1944), peintre suédoise, délaisse les compositions figuratives dès 1905. Son travail n’est redécouvert qu’en 1986 à l’occasion de l’exposition The Spiritual in Art : Abstract Painting 1890-1985 au LACMA à Los Angeles, où elle est présentée comme pionnière de l’abstraction. Sa peinture médiumnique, mais aussi la pratique méditative d’Agnes Martin (1912-2004) témoignent des recherches acharnées sur l’essentialisation du geste artistique.

Comme leurs pairs masculins, certaines artistes femmes utilisent les couleurs pour explorer les représentations de la forme. La peintre et sculptrice Marlow Mosse (1890-1958) joue avec les lignes orthogonales et diagonales qu’elle dédouble en 1930 et dont finalement elle se détache pour expérimenter la clarté et les reliefs du blanc. Aurélie Nemours (1910-2005), s’adonne aussi à la monochromie et préfère le blanc aux couleurs vives. Les recherches picturales de l’artiste italienne Carla Accardi (1924-2014), partisane de la figuration réaliste, transcende la couleur, en approfondissant d’abord l’étude du noir et blanc pour en venir à l’utilisation des fluos au cours des années 1970.

L’artiste libanaise, Saloua Raouda Choucair (1916-2017) lie sa quête artistique avec la tradition islamique soufie, l’absence de la figuration est pour elle ce qui ramène l’œuvre à l’essentiel de la pensée. La quête de la forme constitue un mouvement à part dans cette révolution picturale : l’abstraction géométrique, à laquelle les artistes femmes prennent pleinement part. D’origine roumaine, Natalia Dumistresco (1915-1997) joue avec la géométrique, ronds, carrés et autres stries se chamaillent pour offrir une vision kaléidoscopique. Bĕla Kolářová (1923-2010) questionne par la photographie, mais aussi l’assemblage et le dessin, les structures des objets qu’elle détourne de leur fonction primaire. Elle innove et invente ses propres moyens de création, comme le négatif artificiel où l’image née par la seule utilisation d’une chambre noire. Vera Molnár (née en 1924), artiste cinétique hongroise, réalise, quant à elle, des expérimentations artistiques à l’aide de l’informatique.

On redécouvre tardivement cette « moitié suicidée du génie créateur » comme aimait l’écrire Lea Vergine. De récentes expositions rendent hommages à ces femmes abstraites telles que : Empathy and Abstraction. Modernist Women in Germany au Kunsthalle Bielefeld à Bielideld en 2015 et 2016, Making space : Women Artists ad Post-war Abstraction en 2017 au MoMa de New York, ou encore plus récemment, en 2020, Femmes années 50. Au fil de l’abstraction, peinture et sculpture au Musée Soulage de Rodez.

Artistes
Découvrir les artistes
1895 — 1981 | France
Marcelle Cahn - AWARE

Marcelle Cahn

1923 — 2010 | République tchèque
Bĕla  Kolářová - AWARE

Bĕla Kolářová

1924 | Hongrie
Vera Molnár - AWARE

Vera Molnár

1890 — 1958 | Royaume-Uni
Marlow Moss - AWARE

Marlow Moss

1910 — 2005 | France
Aurélie Nemours - AWARE

Aurélie Nemours

1924 — 2014 | Italie
Carla Accardi - AWARE

Carla Accardi

1931 | Royaume-Uni
Bridget Riley - AWARE

Bridget Riley

1935 — 2018 | France
Geneviève Claisse - AWARE

Geneviève Claisse

1950 | Estonie
Sirje Runge - AWARE

Sirje Runge

1915 — Roumanie | 1997 — France
Natalia Dumitresco - AWARE

Natalia Dumitresco

1912 — Canada | 2004 — États-Unis
Agnes Martin - AWARE

Agnes Martin

1923 — 2021 | France
Geneviève Asse - AWARE

Geneviève Asse

1930 — 2005 | Belgique
Marthe Wéry - AWARE

Marthe Wéry

1899 — 1986 | Danemark
Franciska Clausen - AWARE

Franciska Clausen

1862 — 1944 | Suède
Hilma af Klint - AWARE

Hilma af Klint

1915 | Cuba
Carmen Herrera - AWARE

Carmen Herrera

1909 — Suède | 1987 — France
Anna-Eva Bergman - AWARE

Anna-Eva Bergman

1916 — 2017 | Liban
Saloua Raouda  Choucair - AWARE

Saloua Raouda Choucair

1877 — 1952 | États-Unis
Katherine Dreier - AWARE

Katherine Dreier

1918 — 1989 | États-Unis
Elaine de Kooning - AWARE

Elaine de Kooning

1932 — 2005 | Japon
Atsuko Tanaka - AWARE

Atsuko Tanaka

1907 — 2007 | États-Unis
Lenore Tawney - AWARE

Lenore Tawney

1910 — Canada | 1997 — États-Unis
Ida Lansky - AWARE

Ida Lansky

1891 — 1978 | États-Unis
Alma Woodsey Thomas - AWARE

Alma Woodsey Thomas

1900 — 1981 | Italie
Bice Lazzari - AWARE

Bice Lazzari

1936 | Palestine
Samia Halaby - AWARE

Samia Halaby

1911 — Danemark | 1984 — France
Sonja Ferlov Mancoba - AWARE

Sonja Ferlov Mancoba

1912 — 2000 | Allemagne
Marta Hoepffner - AWARE

Marta Hoepffner

1912 — 1986 | Suisse
Verena Loewensberg - AWARE

Verena Loewensberg

1937 | Autriche
Tess Jaray - AWARE

Tess Jaray

1936 | États-Unis
Barbara Kasten - AWARE

Barbara Kasten

1929 — 2015 | Norvège
Inger Sitter - AWARE

Inger Sitter

1930 — 2004 | Italie
Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite) - AWARE

Dadamaino (Eduarda Emilia Maino, dite)

1940 — 1985 | Corée
Wook-kyung Choi - AWARE

Wook-kyung Choi

1939 — 2015 | États-Unis
Rosemarie Castoro - AWARE

Rosemarie Castoro

1814 — Espagne | 1884 — Royaume-Uni
Georgiana Houghton - AWARE

Georgiana Houghton

1929 — 2018 | États-Unis
Marcia Hafif - AWARE

Marcia Hafif

1903 — 1974 | Turquie
Aliye Berger - AWARE

Aliye Berger

1897 — Allemagne | 1983 — Suisse
Gunta Stölzl - AWARE

Gunta Stölzl

1932 | Canada
Dorothea Rockburne - AWARE

Dorothea Rockburne

1885 — 1963 | Royaume-Uni
Helen Saunders - AWARE

Helen Saunders

1892 — 1976 | Allemagne
Benita  Koch-Otte - AWARE

Benita Koch-Otte

1927 | États-Unis
Lillian Schwartz - AWARE

Lillian Schwartz

En voir plus
Découvrir

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29