Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

He Xiangning

1878Hong Kong, China | 1972Beijing, China
Informations

Chinese revolutionary, politician, feminist activist, and painter.

He Xiangning was born into a wealthy family. Very early on in her childhood, she expressed her resistance to her upbringing and certain customs of the time, such as foot binding, which was considered a sign of beauty in traditional Chinese culture. She convinced her father to let her study, at least for some time, at a private school, just as her brothers had.
In 1897, she married Liao Zhongkai, one of the future leaders of the Kuomintang (Chinese Nationalist Party), and joined him in Tokyo in 1903. She soon enrolled in the Japan Women’s University and became one of the first Chinese women to take up studies in Japan. She and her husband soon met the Chinese revolutionary Sun Yat-sen, considered the “father of modern China”, and were some of the first to join the Tongmenghui, an anti-imperialist revolutionary movement founded in August 1905.

While she had been keenly interested in art since her teenage years, it was the start of her political career that truly prompted her artistic activity. She understood the need to participate in the creation of revolutionary emblems and flags and, to this end, joined the Hongo Women’s School of Fine Arts in Tokyo in 1909. There, she studied the art of wildlife painting under the famous Japanese painter Tanaka Raishō, who specialised in the traditional nihonga style.
Upon returning to China in 1916, the couple settled in Shanghai, intending to promote the revolutionary cause. H. Xiangning was appointed Minister of Women’s Rights in S. Yat-sen’s nationalist government and organised the first International Women’s Day in China on 8 March 1924.

From then on, H. Xiangning’s pictorial style became influenced by the Lingnan School, one of China’s modern painting movements, founded by renowned artists such as Chen Shuren and Gao Jianfu, from whom she took classes. While she remained deeply attached to Chinese culture through her use of delicate colours, she also adopted the meticulous brushstrokes typical of Japanese painting. The resulting works were a subtle combination of Western techniques and traditional ink brushwork, a testament to her commitment to a deeply innovative form of art. Despite the prevalence of flowers (Chrysanthemums, 1913), animals, and landscapes (Landscape, 1929) in H. Xiangning’s works, these cannot be defined as solely decorative. The motif of plum blossoms, a recurring theme in her iconography (Red Plum Blossoms, 1953), symbolises courage, purity, and integrity in Chinese culture. Similarly, when she chose to depict a tiger or a lion – sometimes in action (Tiger, 1910; and Tiger, 1935), sometimes in contemplation (Lion, 1914) – the figure of the animal embodies first and foremost the artist’s patriotism and, to a greater extent, that of Chinese revolutionaries.

H. Xiangning’s involvement in the building of the nation and her ability to merge art and political ideology set her apart from other women artists of her time. Nowadays, her work is considered both a part of Chinese art history and of the history of the national revolution, and is above all an expression of the artist’s deep devotion to her country. After the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in 1949, H. Xiangning held various positions in the government and was elected president of the Association of Chinese Artists in 1960. The He Xiangning Art Museum was built in 1995 in the city of Shenzhen. It was inaugurated in 1997 and was the first Chinese national museum to be named after an artist. It also holds the country’s second largest collection of modern art after the National Art Museum of China. Since 2003, the institution has organised a number of exhibitions of her work in various Chinese museums. In 2017, H. Xiangning’s artwork was celebrated at the Ueno Royal Museum and Joshibi University of Art and Design in Tokyo. A major retrospective of the artist’s life and work was held in 2018 to mark the 140th anniversary of her birth.

Read more

Mathilde Bartier

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Red Plum Blossoms, 1953, ink and colour on paper, 40 x 77 cm, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Green Bird on Branch, ink and colour on paper, 29.6 x 77.3 cm, Private collection, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Watercolor painting on paper fan, unknown date, ink and colour on paper, 22 x 48 cm, Collection particulière, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Lion, 1914, ink and color on paper, 63 x 49 cm, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Paysage, 1929, ink and colour on paper, unknown dimensions, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Chrysanthèmes, 1913, ink and color on paper, 99 x 31 cm, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Chrysanthemum and pine, ink and color on paper, 103 x 34 cm, Private collection, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Tigre, 1910, ink and colour on paper, unknown dimensions, © He Xiangning

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

He Xiangning

1878Hong Kong, Chine | 1972Pékin, Chine
Informations

Révolutionnaire, politicienne, activiste féministe et peintre chinoise.

Née dans une famille aisée, He Xiangning a, dès son plus jeune âge, la volonté de s’affranchir de son milieu et de certaines coutumes de l’époque, tel le bandage des pieds, tenu pour un symbole de beauté dans la culture chinoise. Elle obtient de son père l’autorisation d’étudier, pendant un temps, comme ses frères dans une école privée.
Mariée en 1897 à Liao Zhongkai – l’un des futurs leaders du Kuomintang, parti nationaliste chinois –, H. Xiangning le rejoint et s’installe à Tokyo en 1903. À son arrivée, elle s’inscrit rapidement à la Japan Women’s University et devient l’une des premières Chinoises à faire des études au Japon. Rapidement, tous deux rencontrent le révolutionnaire chinois Sun Yat-sen – considéré comme « le père de la Chine moderne » – et figurent dès lors parmi les premiers membres du Tongmenghui, mouvement révolutionnaire anti-impérialiste créé en août 1905.

Bien qu’elle nourrisse une passion pour l’art depuis l’adolescence, ce sont les prémices de sa carrière politique qui sont à l’origine de son activité artistique. Comprenant qu’il est nécessaire que quelqu’un participe à la conception des emblèmes et drapeaux révolutionnaires, elle s’inscrit, en 1909, à la Hongo Women’s School of Fine Arts à Tokyo. Elle y apprend notamment l’art de la peinture animalière avec l’artiste japonais Tanaka Raishō, fameux peintre de style traditionnel nihonga.
De retour en Chine en 1916, le couple s’installe à Shanghai pour promouvoir la cause révolutionnaire. H. Xiangning est notamment nommée ministre des Droits des femmes dans le gouvernement nationaliste de S. Yat-sen et organise le premier rassemblement de la Journée internationale des femmes en Chine, le 8 mars 1924.

Dès lors, le style pictural de H. Xiangning est influencé par l’école de Lingnan, l’un des courants modernes de peinture chinoise, fondée par les artistes de renom, tels Chen Shuren et Gao Jianfu dont elle suit les cours. Elle garde un ancrage solide dans la culture chinoise, avec l’utilisation de couleurs délicates, et à la fois adopte les coups de pinceau méticuleux caractéristiques de la peinture japonaise. Ainsi, ses œuvres résultent d’un savant mélange, issu des techniques occidentales et de la peinture traditionnelle à l’encre, qui témoigne de son engagement dans un art profondément nouveau. Si ses sujets de prédilection sont les fleurs (Chrysanthèmes, 1913), les animaux et les paysages (Paysage, 1929), les travaux de H. Xiangning ne peuvent être uniquement définis comme décoratifs. Le motif du prunier en fleur, récurrent dans son iconographie (Red Plum Blossoms, 1953), symbolise avant tout dans la culture chinoise le courage, la pureté et l’intégrité. De la même manière, quand elle choisit de représenter un tigre ou un lion – tantôt en action (Tigre, 1910 et Tigre, 1935), tantôt contemplatif (Lion, 1914) –, la figure de l’animal incarne d’abord le patriotisme de l’artiste et plus largement celui des révolutionnaires chinois.

Grâce à son implication dans l’édification de la nation et à sa capacité à fusionner son art avec son idéologie politique, H. Xiangning se distingue des autres artistes femmes de son époque. Aujourd’hui, ses œuvres s’inscrivent aussi bien dans l’histoire de l’art chinois que dans l’histoire de la révolution nationale et traduisent en premier lieu l’amour profond d’une artiste envers son pays. Après la fondation de la République populaire de Chine en 1949, elle occupe de nombreux postes au sein du gouvernement et est élue, en 1960, présidente de l’Association des artistes chinois·e·s. En 1995 est fondé le He Xiangning Art Museum dans la ville de Shenzhen. Inauguré en 1997, il est le premier musée national chinois à porter le nom d’un·e artiste. Il abrite également la plus importante collection d’art moderne du pays, après celle du National Art Museum of China. Depuis 2003, cette institution organise de nombreuses expositions de ses peintures dans différents musées chinois. En 2017, l’art de H. Xiangning est célébré à l’Ueno Royal Museum et à la Joshibi University of Art and Design à Tokyo. Enfin, en 2018, afin de fêter le cent quarantième anniversaire de sa naissance, une rétrospective majeure est consacrée à la vie et à l’œuvre de l’artiste.

Lire plus

Mathilde Bartier

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Red Plum Blossoms, 1953, encre et couleur sur papier, 40 x 77 cm, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Green Bird on Branch, encre et couleur sur papier, 29,6 x 77,3 cm, Collection particulière, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Watercolor painting on paper fan, date inconnue, encre et couleur sur papier, 22 x 48 cm, Collection particulière, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Lion, 1914, encre et couleur sur papier, 63 x 49 cm, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Paysage, 1929, encre et couleur sur papier, dimensions inconnues, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Chrysanthèmes, 1913, encre et couleur sur papier, 99 x 31 cm, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Chrysanthemum and pine, encre et couleur sur papier, 103 x 34 cm, Collection particulière, © He Xiangning

He  Xiangning — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

He Xiangning, Tigre, 1910, encre et couleur sur papier, dimensions inconnues, © He Xiangning

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29