Antoinette Lubaki

1895Province du Katanga, Democratic Republic of Congo | ??, Democratic Republic of Congo

Congolese painter.

Antoinette Lubaki – whose name is very often unknowned or simply associated with that of her husband, the painter Albert Lubaki – is part of a group of pioneering Congolese artists from the late 1920s, among them Albert Lubaki and Djilatendo, who laid the foundations for modern Congolese art by producing its first known works on paper.
Born in the Katanga province (at the time a part of the Congo Free State) to the chief of the village of Kabinda, Antoinette Lubaki met the Belgian administrator Georges Thiry in 1926 through her husband, who sold ivory figurines along the railway between Port-Francqui (now Ilebo) and Élisabethville (now Lubumbashi). While on a mission in the province, the modern art enthusiast became captivated by a painting Albert had made on the wall of a hut, using rudimentary brushes and natural pigments such as charcoal, coloured earths and kaolin. Hoping to preserve this ephemeral art, G. Thiry suggested that he reproduce his works on paper and to this end provided him with the necessary equipment. It was also around this time that Antoinette Lubaki started to paint, signing her works “Antoinet”. It is said that the couple painted at night, by candlelight, because a Congolese saying forbade the telling of legends or fables before sundown.

The two artists painted quickly, frenetically, without any precise model or consideration for perspective, background or shading. Antoinette Lubaki’s works were often figurative, sometimes abstract, and depicted scenes of everyday life. They offered a poetic interpretation of the surrounding nature and wildlife, or transcriptions of local legends and proverbs. Like her husband, she started out her paintings by outlining the edges of the paper with a sort of irregular coloured frame within which she then created remarkably balanced compositions of shapes and motifs, human figures, plants and animals. The colours of her subjects were often products of her own imagination, unconcerned with realism – the silhouette of a crocodile could be pink or black – and applied in large blocks of colour, making her paintings particularly expressive.

Thiry collected the watercolours and sent them to Brussels, where his superior Gaston-Denys Périer, himself a collector of Congolese art, acknowledged their value and decided to present Antoinette and Albert Lubaki’s work to the European public. Their first exhibition took place in 1929 on the occasion of the inauguration of the Brussels Centre for Fine Arts, and featured 63 watercolours that illustrated, in G.-D. Périer’s own words, “the imagery of the bush”. The works went on to be presented at the Ethnography Museum in Geneva in 1930, and at the Charles-Auguste Girard Gallery in Paris the following year. While all these events were highly successful, a rumour surfaced that Antoinette and Albert Lubaki’s works had in fact been crafted by a wily European – an unfortunate story that put an end to the efforts of their two patrons. Furthermore, G. Thiry and G.-D. Périer’s relationship began to deteriorate in 1935. For lack of means, the Lubakis disappeared from the Congolese art scene and any trace of Antoinette Lubaki was gradually lost, as were most of her incredibly colourful, inventive and powerful paintings and drawings.

Read more

Marie Perennès

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, watercolor on paper, 52 x 66 cm, Courtesy Magnin-A, Paris, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo: Fabrice Gousset, Courtesy Cornette de Saint Cyr, Paris

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, watercolor on paper, 55 x 73 cm, Collection Pierre Loos, Bruxelles, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo: Michael De Plaen

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, watercolor on paper, 55 x 73,5 cm, Courtesy Magnin-A, Paris, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo: Fabrice Gousset, Courtesy Cornette de Saint Cyr, Paris

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, watercolor on paper, 55 x 73 cm, Bibliothèque royale de Belgique – Cabinet des Estampes, Bruxelles, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo: Bibliothèque royale de Belgique – Cabinet des Estampes

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, watercolor on paper, © Antoinette Lubaki

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Antoinette Lubaki

1895Province du Katanga, RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE DU CONGO | ??, RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE DU CONGO

Peintre congolaise.

Antoinette Lubaki, dont le nom est bien souvent méconnu ou simplement associé à celui de son mari, le peintre Albert Lubaki, fait partie, à la fin des années 1920, des artistes du Congo dit·e·s « précurseur·e·s ». À cette époque, elle écrit les prémices de l’histoire de l’art moderne congolais, avec Albert Lubaki et Djilatendo notamment, et réalise les premières œuvres sur papier qui soient parvenues jusqu’à nous.
Née dans la province du Katanga, dans ce qui était alors l’État indépendant du Congo, et fille du chef du village de Kabinda, Antoinette Lubaki rencontre l’administrateur belge Georges Thiry en 1926 par l’intermédiaire de son mari qui vend ses figurines en ivoire le long de la ligne de chemin de fer reliant Port-Francqui (aujourd’hui Ilebo) à Élisabethville (à présent Lubumbashi). En mission dans la province, ce passionné d’art moderne vient de découvrir avec émerveillement une fresque qu’Albert Lubaki a réalisée sur le mur d’une case, exécutée à l’aide de pinceaux rudimentaires et de pigments naturels, tels du charbon, des terres colorées ou du kaolin. Soucieux de pérenniser cet art éphémère, G. Thiry lui propose de reproduire ses œuvres sur papier et lui fournit pour cela le matériel nécessaire. C’est à cette période qu’Antoinette Lubaki se met également à peindre ; elle signe « Antoinet ». La rumeur raconte que les deux époux dessinent alors la nuit, à la lueur de la bougie, car un proverbe congolais interdit de narrer des légendes ou des fables avant la tombée du jour.

Les deux artistes peignent rapidement, frénétiquement, sans s’inspirer d’un modèle précis ni se soucier de la perspective, de l’arrière-plan ou des ombres. Souvent figuratives, parfois abstraites, les œuvres d’Antoinette Lubaki représentent des scènes de la vie quotidienne ; elles traitent avec poésie de la nature environnante et des animaux, ou transcrivent les légendes et proverbes locaux. Tout comme son mari, elle trace sur les bords du papier une marge colorée, sorte de cadre irrégulier dans lequel se développe la composition et où formes et motifs, humains, végétaux et animaux, s’articulent selon un équilibre remarquable. Les couleurs de ses sujets, souvent issues de son imagination et sans préoccupation de vraisemblance – la silhouette d’un crocodile devient aisément rose ou noire –, sont appliquées en larges aplats, ce qui confère à ses peintures une grande expressivité.

G. Thiry collecte ces aquarelles et les envoie à Bruxelles, où son supérieur Gaston-Denys Périer, amateur lui aussi d’art congolais, en reconnaît la valeur et décide de dévoiler le travail d’Antoinette et Albert Lubaki au public européen. Leur première exposition se déroule en 1929, à l’occasion de l’inauguration du palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, et réunit 63 aquarelles illustrant « l’imagerie de la brousse », selon les propres termes de G.-D. Périer. Les œuvres sont ensuite présentées au musée d’Ethnographie de Genève en 1930, puis à la galerie Charles-Auguste Girard à Paris en 1931. Ces événements remportent un franc succès ; toutefois, le bruit court que les œuvres d’Antoinette et Albert Lubaki auraient en fait été exécutées par un habile Européen, et cette fâcheuse rumeur anéantit les efforts des deux mécènes. Par ailleurs, en 1935, la relation entre G. Thiry et G.-D. Périer se détériore ; faute de moyens, les époux finissent par disparaître de la scène artistique congolaise. On perd alors progressivement la trace d’Antoinette Lubaki, ainsi que celle de la plupart de ses peintures et dessins, si colorés, si inventifs et si puissants.

Lire plus

Marie Perennès

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, aquarelle sur papier, 52 x 66 cm, Courtesy Magnin-A, Paris, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo : Fabrice Gousset, Courtesy Cornette de Saint Cyr, Paris

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, aquarelle sur papier, 55 x 73 cm, Collection Pierre Loos, Bruxelles, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo : Michael De Plaen

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, aquarelle sur papier, 55 x 73,5 cm, Courtesy Magnin-A, Paris, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo : Fabrice Gousset, Courtesy Cornette de Saint Cyr, Paris

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, aquarelle sur papier, 55 x 73 cm, Bibliothèque royale de Belgique – Cabinet des Estampes, Bruxelles, © Antoinette Lubaki, © Photo : Bibliothèque royale de Belgique – Cabinet des Estampes

Antoinette  Lubaki — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antoinette Lubaki, Sans titre, c. 1929, aquarelle sur papier, © Antoinette Lubaki

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29