Huguette Caland

19312019 | Beirut, Lebanon
Informations

Visual artist.

Huguette Caland, who at the time of writing, has only recently passed at the age of 88 from complications with a neurological condition – was an ebullient figure who did not seek convention or the life that was set out for her; she could have lived an uncomplicated, lavish, and perhaps, even beautiful life. Instead, H. Caland opted for freedom – this is no hackneyed use of the term, when one considers the context of Caland’s upbringing and the subsequent decisions she chose to make in her life.
In 1943 when H. Caland was 12, her father became the first post-independence president of Lebanon. As his only daughter, the expectations were that she would be a matronly wife to a Lebanese man. Yet, she chose a tenacious lifestyle. She married a Frenchman, Paul Caland, who was the nephew of one of her father’s rivals, had children, and took lovers.
She attended art school later in life in her 30s at the American University of Beirut and for a time was part of a scene associated with her friend Helen Khal (1923-2009) who opened Gallery One in Beirut, which as well as showing H. Caland, presented the art of Etel Adnan (born in 1925), Simone Fattal (born in 1942), Shafic Abboud (1926-2004), among many others who would come to be known as leading Lebanese modernists.
Yet, for whatever reason, those carefully grafted contours did not find their place in Lebanon and H. Caland left her husband, children and lover and headed for Paris in 1970. Here, an entirely new milieu opened up for the artist. She began her infamous Bribes de Corps series (which she produced all throughout the seventies). These works, which are evidently self-portraits of a form –represent voluptuous, contorted, colourful shapes and abstractions, which invoke the body but never reveal them.

These works, among many others boast a pointed, but subtle eroticism. Take for example, Bribes de corps (1973). A malformed shape that could be two lips sit before you –descending into shadow. Are they here to seduce you? Or simply to be admired? In Bribes de corps (1979) – a central shape that might well be a body, or uterus, or any other interior female body part explodes with reliefs of pink and orange and yellow. In one of her most playful provocations, Bribes de corps, self-portrait (1973) we see a beautiful pink canvas before us. One could think this a formal kind of colour field painting, only you look at the bottom of the painting and realise a little crack: a female buttock protruding before you.
A lot has been said of the precision of  H. Caland’s ‘line’, which I cannot forget here. Beyond her paintings, the artist produced a prolific amount of complex drawings to the end of her life, which often featured her lovers such as one of her regular muses, Mustapha, who appears in the faultlessly executed, Moustapha, poids et haltères (1970). This all-consuming focus carried on throughout her career including in her dresses and smocks that she produced in collaboration and for Pierre Cardin in Paris. The dresses, I believe, may have been inspired by the large kaftans she made for herself while living in Beirut, when at the time H. Caland was still considered by societal standards to be overweight.
In 1987, H. Caland was in a relationship with sculptor George Apostu (1934-1986), and when he passed away, she decided to move her life to Venice, California. Here, she set up a beautiful home and studio, which in itself became an artwork. The bar handles in the bedroom cupboards entered into painted mouths and the kitchen was overtaken by a giant mural. It was here that it was believed that Caland became a doyenne of the Los Angeles art scene, appropriately the centre of a circle of artist friends, the closest of whom was the late Ed Moses (1926-2018). Here, she would often spend days in the studio working on large scale tapestries with marker and pen among other materials. An example of work from this period is Under Cover VI (Date unknown), where we see H. Caland’s signature eroticized body but amidst a landscape of ever more colourful multiplicitous forms. In later life, she produced the Rossinate diptych (2011), one of her final works. Here, body and space explode into a universe that looks like it emerged from a utopian future.

Due to ill health, H. Caland returned to Beirut in 2013, where she ultimately passed away in 2019. Six months before her return a major survey was staged at the Beirut Exhibition Center. Exhibition interest has been growing since. This has included a major presentation in the Made in L.A. biennial at the Hammer Museum in 2016, a precise survey at the 14th Sharjah Biennial in 2019, a solo show that covered fifteen years of her career at Tate St Ives, also, in 2019, and a forthcoming solo exhibition, her first ever in an institution in the United States, at the Drawing Center in 2020.
Despite this newfound attentiveness, one can consider it minor and severely delayed considering the vast output that H. Caland produced over her prodigious life. For the Arab world, Huguette is one thing -the woman who was brave enough to break with conformity to forge a path that enabled her to arguably be the Arab world’s first erotic abstract artist. Yet, her work should never be relegated to the Arab world, Caland was as much French as she was American, and her field of inspiration and in turn influence, should reflect and speak back to a global art history -a history that has for too long left her work at the margins.

Read more

Dr Omar Kholeif

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled from the Bribes de Corps series, ca. 1965, oil on canvas, 72 x 72 cm, private collection

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Kiss, 1968, oil on canvas, 95.9 x 104.8 cm, private collection

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Helen, 1967, oil on linen, 69.4 x 88.5 cm, 27.3 x 34.8 in., Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 1972, ink on paper, 20.3 x 27.9 cm, 8.5 x 11.5 in., private collection

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Enlève ton doigt, 1971, oil on canvas, 38.1 × 76.2 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland and Gallery Janine Rubeiz

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Bribes de corps, 1973, oil on linen, 88.9 x 127 cm, private collection

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Foule_Dress #2, 1970, thread on fabric, 137.1 x 48.2 x 30.5 cm, 54 x 19 x 12 in., Hammer Museum

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 1984, oil on linen, 59.7 x 80.6 cm, 23.5 x 31.75 in., Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 1985, color pencils on paper, 24.1 x 31.75 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Self portrait, 1993, oil on linen, 40.6 x 40.6 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 2000, acrylic on canvas, 50.8 x 50.8 cm, 20 x 20 in., Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Good Luck, 2009, acrylic, coloured and silver pens on loose canvas, 120 x 210 cm, collection particulière

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Blue II, 2011, acrylic paint and ink, 152.4 x 107.9 cm, 60 x 42.5 in., Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Yellow, purple and red lines, 2011, mixed media on canvas, 193 x 147.3 cm, 76 x 58 in., Courtesy Huguette Caland

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Huguette Caland

19312019 | Beyrouth, Liban
Informations

Plasticienne libanaise.

Huguette Caland, qui au moment de l’écriture de ce texte vient de décéder à l’âge de 88 ans des suites d’une maladie neurologique, était une figure exubérante qui avait su s’affranchir des conventions que la vie lui réservait. En effet, elle aurait pu mener une existence sans complications, fastueuse et peut-être même belle. Mais H. Caland avait fait le choix de la liberté – terme qui, dans son cas, n’est pas galvaudé, si l’on considère l’éducation qu’elle a reçue et les décisions qui ont été les siennes malgré tout.
En 1943, lorsque H. Caland a 12 ans, son père devient le premier président du Liban après l’indépendance du pays. Parce qu’elle est sa fille unique, on attend d’elle qu’elle devienne l’épouse dévouée d’un Libanais. Pourtant, elle s’obstine contre ces attentes. Non seulement elle épouse un Français, Paul Caland, neveu de l’un des rivaux de son père, dont elle porte les enfants, mais elle prend également des amants.
À 30 ans passés, H. Caland commence à suivre des cours d’art à l’Université américaine de Beyrouth et fait un temps partie d’un milieu artistique que fréquente aussi son amie Helen Khal (1923-2009), qui fonde la galerie One à Beyrouth et expose ses œuvres, mais aussi celles d’Etel Adnan (née en 1925), de Simone Fattal (née en 1942), de Shafic Abboud (1926-2004) et de bien d’autres artistes qui deviendront les figures de proue du modernisme libanais.
Or, pour une quelconque raison, les toiles aux contours minutieusement tracés d’H. Caland ne trouvent pas leur place au Liban. Celle-ci décide alors de quitter mari, enfants et amants puis s’installe à Paris en 1970. Elle y découvre un tout autre milieu et entame sa fameuse série des Bribes de corps, qu’elle enrichira tout au long des années 1970. Ces œuvres, en quelque sorte des autoportraits, sont constituées de formes et d’abstractions voluptueuses, sinueuses et colorées qui suggèrent le corps sans jamais le révéler.

Cette série, comme bien d’autres, est empreinte d’un érotisme à la fois évident et subtil. Bribes de corps (1973), par exemple, montre une forme irrégulière dont la base se fond dans une ombre. S’agit-il de deux lèvres ? Sont-elles là pour nous séduire ou simplement pour être admirées ? Dans Bribes de corps (1979), une forme centrale, qui évoque à la fois un corps, un utérus ou toute autre partie du corps féminin, explose de reliefs en teintes de rose, d’orangé et de jaune. L’une de ses peintures les plus provocantes et les plus espiègles, Bribes de corps, self-portrait (1973), est une merveilleuse toile rose qui pourrait au premier abord faire penser à un color field classique, mais un coup d’œil en bas du tableau laisse voir une petite fente, nous mettant ainsi face à face avec des fesses de femme protubérantes.
La précision de la « ligne » d’H. Caland a fait l’objet de nombreuses analyses, dont je me dois de parler également. Au-delà de ses peintures, l’artiste produit au cours des dernières années de sa vie une grande quantité de dessins complexes, qui prennent souvent comme sujets ses amants, tel Moustapha, l’une de ses muses récurrentes, qui apparaît dans le remarquable Moustapha, poids et haltères (1970). Cette obsession dévorante se développe durant toute sa carrière, y compris dans les robes et les blouses qu’elle conçoit en collaboration avec Pierre Cardin à Paris. Les robes semblent avoir été inspirées par les grands caftans qu’elle se confectionnait à Beyrouth, à une époque où l’on considérait encore, selon les normes sociales établies, qu’elle était en surpoids.
En 1987, après la mort de son compagnon, le sculpteur George Apostu (1934-1986), H. Caland décide d’emménager à Venice, en Californie, où elle se crée un atelier qui est lui-même une œuvre d’art. Les poignées des armoires de la chambre disparaissent dans des bouches peintes et la cuisine se retrouve envahie par une fresque géante. C’est vraisemblablement là qu’H. Caland devient une doyenne de la scène artistique de Los Angeles, le point de convergence d’un cercle d’artistes, parmi lesquels figure son ami proche, Ed Moses (1926-2018). Elle passe des jours entiers dans l’atelier, à travailler à des fresques monumentales réalisées à l’aide d’outils divers, notamment le marqueur et le stylo. Citons comme exemple de sa production de cette époque Under Cover VI (date inconnue), qui montre le corps érotisé caractéristique de son travail, cette fois-ci entouré d’un paysage fait de formes multiples de plus en plus bariolées. Citons également son diptyque Rossinante (2011), l’une de ses dernières œuvres. Ici, corps et espace fusionnent dans une explosion de couleurs, comme émergeant d’un futur dystopique.

Affaiblie par la maladie, H. Caland retourne à Beyrouth en 2013, où elle mourra en 2019. Six mois avant son retour dans la capitale libanaise, elle bénéficie d’une rétrospective au Beirut Exhibition Center. Son œuvre fait depuis l’objet d’un intérêt croissant, avec une présentation majeure à la biennale du Hammer Museum à Los Angeles en 2016, ainsi qu’une rétrospective à la XIVe Biennale de Sharjah et une exposition individuelle présentant quinze ans de carrière à la Tate St Ives en 2019. Citons encore une exposition individuelle au Drawing Center à New York, prévue en 2020, la première de l’artiste dans une institution états-unienne.
Cet intérêt nouveau reste néanmoins mineur et regrettablement tardif au vu de l’œuvre qu’a produite H. Caland tout au long de sa vie extraordinaire. Dans le monde arabe, elle est avant tout une femme courageuse, qui s’est libérée des normes pour suivre un chemin qui a fait d’elle sans doute la première artiste du monde arabe à se spécialiser dans l’art abstrait érotique. Cependant, son travail ne doit pas être relégué uniquement à ce seul monde arabe, car H. Caland était aussi française et américaine, et ses domaines d’inspiration et d’influence se devaient de refléter et de faire écho à une histoire de l’art mondiale – une histoire qui a trop longtemps laissé son œuvre dans ses marges.

Lire plus

Dr Omar Kholeif

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled issue de la série the Bribes de Corps, vers 1965, huile sur toile, 72 x 72 cm, collection particulière

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Kiss, 1968, huile sur toile, 95,9 x 104,8 cm, collection particulière

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Helen, 1967, huile sur lin, 69,4 x 88,5 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 1972, encre sur papier, 20,3 x 27,9 cm, collection particulière

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Enlève ton doigt, 1971, huile sur toile, 38,1 × 76,2 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland et Gallery Janine Rubeiz

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Bribes de corps, 1973, huile sur lin, 88,9 x 127 cm, collection particulière

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Foule_Dress #2, 1970, fil sur tissu, 137,1 x 48,2 x 30,5 cm, Hammer Museum

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 1984, huile sur lin, 59,7 x 80,6 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

 

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 1985, crayon de couleur sur papier, 24,1 x 31,75 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Self portrait, 1993, huile sur lin, 40.6 x 40.6 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Untitled, 2000, acrylique sur toile, 50,8 x 50,8 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Good Luck, 2009, stylo de couleur acrylique et argent sur toile lâche, 120 x 210 cm, collection particulière

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Blue II, 2011, peinture acrylique et encre, 152,4 x 107,9 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Huguette Caland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huguette Caland, Yellow, purple and red lines, 2011, technique mixte sur toile, 193 x 147,3 cm, Courtesy Huguette Caland

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29