Ilse Fuskova (Felka)

1929 | Buenos Aires, Argentina
Informations
Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), from the serie El zapallo [The pumpkin], 1982, black and white photograph, 35 mm, 12.5 x 8.5 cm

Artist, photographer, Argentine lesbian feminist activist.

Ilse Fusková studied at the Escuela Nacional Bellas Artes Prilidiano Pueyrredón and the Escuela Superior de Bellas Artes de la Nación Ernesto de la Cárcova, and later deepened her practice of photography with Horacio Coppola and Grete Stern. Early in her career she studied journalism at the Instituto Grafotécnico of the Asociación Obra Cardenal Ferrari. This profession linked her more closely with photography and brought her into the public space.
During the 1940s, she worked as flight attendant for Scandinavian Airlines. Her global travels in propeller-driven airliners allowed her to experience the lifestyle of the New Woman, a feminist ideal representing an atypical modern woman whose conduct transgressed traditional bonds and boundaries and the obligations to which women were subjected. She was able to wander about the world as a kind of airborne flâneuse.

As a photographer, I. Fusková produced a portrait of Buenos Aires and its suburbs, documenting poor and marginalised people – as can be seen in one of her first series, Niños de la Isla Maciel [Children of Maciel Island, 1946-1955] – as well as older people, factory workers and labourers, in sharp contrast to the reigning abstraction of the Modernist period. She also portrayed artists and other cultural celebrities, many of them friends she had made as a figure in the Buenos Aires bohemian scene herself.
During the heyday of glossy magazines such as El Hogar, Historium, Mundo Argentino and Para Ti, she published not only her photographs but also her thoughts and reflections about the role of women. She wrote news articles and opinion pieces for Chicas (1951-1954) using the pen name Felka.
After a period absorbed in family life, in the 1970s and during the military dictatorship she became close to the Women’s Liberation Movement. After a decade of thinking and activism, she produced the series El Zapallo [The Pumpkin, 1982], twenty photographs in which she physically and mentally explores fertility. By training a woman’s lens on women’s naked bodies, this foundational, path-breaking work interrogates the patriarchal system in art history.

In the mid-1980s, I. Fusková was part of the Imagema group founded by Horacio Coppola (1906-2012) and Juan José Guttero (b. 1931), and became a lesbian feminist activist. In 1992 she joined Gays por los Derechos Civiles, and, with Carlos Jáuregui, and together they organised the first LGBT Pride march in Buenos Aires. She had recognized herself as a lesbian at the age of fifty, and shared her lesbian activism with her partner Claudina Marek, with whom she wrote the book Amor de mujeres. El lesbianismo en la Argentina, hoy (1994), a dialogue with Silvia Schmid. This book, published during a period of social and political upheaval, is testament to what it means to be a lesbian in Argentina today, amidst a struggle for acceptance and sexual liberation. Over the following decades, she has continued attending feminist meetings and publishing articles and books to popularise her ideas and encourage activism.

Read more

Maite Paramio

Translated from From Spanish by Leo Stephen Torgoff.

A notice produced as part of the TEAM international academic network: Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Sin título (primera fotografía) [Untitled (first photograph)], 1953, black and white photograph, sepia vintage 35 mm, 29.5 x 23.6 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), serie Niños de Isla Maciel [Children of Isla Maciel], 1956, black and white photograph, sepia vintage 35 mm, 29.5 x 23.6 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la artista Noemí Gerstein [Portrait of the artist Noemí Gerstein], 1955, negative 35 mm, 19 x 18.2 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Sin título (Mujer observando la ciudad. Isabel Molinero) [Sans titre (Woman watching the city. Isabel Molinero)], 1957, black and white photograph, sepia vintage 35 mm, 35.5 x 26.8 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato del artista Alberto Greco [Portrait of the artist Alberto Greco], 1957, black and white photograph, sepia vintage, 35 mm, 20.3 x 23.4 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la artista Leonor Vasena [Portrait of the artist Leonor Vasena], 1957, black and white photograph, 35 mm, 28 x 25.5 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la artista Mabel Rubli [Portrait of the artist Mabel Rubli], 1957, black and white photograph, 35 mm, 20.5 x 18.5 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la escritora Beatriz Guido [Portrait of the artist Beatriz Guido], 1957, black and white photograph, 35 mm, 18.5 x 23.8 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), from the serie El zapallo [The pumpkin], 1982, black and white photograph, 35 mm, 12.5 x 8.5 cm

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Ilse Fuskova (Felka)

1929 | Buenos Aires, Argentine
Informations
Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), de la série El zapallo [La courge], 1982, photographie noir et blanc, 35 mm, 12,5 x 8,5 cm

Artiste, photographe et activiste lesbo-féministe argentine.

Ilse Fusková étudie à l’école nationale des beaux-arts Prilidiano-Pueyrredón et à l’école supérieure des beaux-arts de la nation Ernesto-de-la-Cárcova, avant de s’intéresser plus profondément à la photographie auprès d’Horacio Coppola (1906-2012) et de Grete Stern (1904-1999). Elle suit aussi une formation en journalisme à l’institut grapho-technique de l’association de l’Œuvre Cardinal-Ferrari ; le métier de journaliste affermit son engagement photographique et la familiarise avec l’espace public de la rue.
Pendant les années 1940, I. Fusková travaille comme hôtesse de l’air chez Scandinavian Airlines, et voyage dans le monde entier sur des avions de commerce à hélice. Elle expérimente ainsi le mode de vie caractéristique de la Neue Frau, idéal féministe fondé sur le modèle de la femme moderne, atypique, dont le comportement transgresse les limites ou les structures de la tradition et les contraintes auxquelles elle est soumise – et parcourt ainsi le monde comme une « flâneuse » urbaine.

En tant que photographe, elle dresse le portrait de la ville de Buenos Aires et de ses banlieues, associant un vaste répertoire de personnes humbles et marginales, comme dans l’une de ses premières séries, Niños de la Isla Maciel [Enfants de l’Isla Maciel, 1946-1955], et des personnes âgées, ouvriers et travailleurs, en vif contraste avec le langage visuel alors dominant de l’abstraction. Elle tire également le portrait de personnalités du monde de l’art et de la culture, souvent de ses amis et de ses connaissances de la bohème portègne.
Alors à leur apogée, les revues El hogar, Historium, Mundo argentino ou Para ti publient non seulement ses images mais aussi ses pensées et réflexions sur la question des femmes. Elle travaille également comme reporter et éditorialiste dans le magazine pour jeunes filles Chicas (1951-1954), sous le pseudonyme Felka.
Après quelques années consacrées à sa vie de famille, I. Fusková se rapproche du mouvement de libération féminine dans les années 1970 et pendant la dictature militaire argentine. Après une décennie de réflexion et de militantisme, elle réalise la série El zapallo [La courge, 1982], composée de vingt photographies où elle interroge la fécondité d’un point de vue physique et mental, en représentant la nudité du corps féminin, mais vu par une autre femme – œuvre pionnière et essentielle, qui remet en question et en débat le système patriarcal de l’histoire de l’art.

Au milieu des années 1980, elle participe au groupe Imagema, fondé par Horacio Coppola (1906-2012) et Juan José Guttero (1931-), et s’engage dans le militantisme lesbo-féministe. En 1992, elle rejoint Gays por los Derechos Civiles [Gays pour les droits civiques] en compagnie de Carlos Jáuregui. Ensemble, ils organisent la première marche de la fierté gay et lesbienne de Buenos Aires. À 50 ans, elle assume son homosexualité. Avec sa compagne Claudina Marek, qui partage son militantisme, elle publie en 1994 le livre Amor de mujeres. El lesbianismo en la Argentina, hoy [Amour de femmes. Le Lesbianisme en Argentine aujourd’hui], écrit en dialogue avec Silvia Schmid ; l’ouvrage est un témoignage sur ce que signifie être lesbienne en Argentine, un parcours à travers l’acceptation et la libération sexuelle, à une époque extrêmement agitée d’un point de vue social et politique. Toutes deux continuent par la suite de participer à des réunions féministes et de publier dans des livres et des revues de vulgarisation, de théorie ou militantes.

Lire plus

Maite Paramio

Traduit de l'espagnol par Laurent Perez.

Une notice réalisée dans le cadre du réseau académique d’AWARE, TEAM : Teaching, E-learning, Agency and Mentoring

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Sin título (primera fotografía) [Sans titre (première photographie)], 1953, photographie noir et blanc, sepia vintage 35 mm, 29,5 x 23,6 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), série Niños de Isla Maciel [Enfants de l’Isla Maciel], 1956, photographie noir et blanc, sepia vintage 35 mm, 29,5 x 23,6 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la artista Noemí Gerstein [Portrait de l’artiste Noemí Gerstein], 1955, négatif 35 mm, 19 x 18,2 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Sin título (Mujer observando la ciudad. Isabel Molinero) [Sans titre (Femme observant la ville. Isabel Molinero)], 1957, photographie noir et blanc, sepia vintage 35 mm, 35,5 x 26,8 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato del artista Alberto Greco [Portrait de l’artiste Alberto Greco], 1957, photographie noir et blanc, sepia vintage 35 mm, 20,3 x 23,4 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la artista Leonor Vasena [Portrait de l’artiste Leonor Vasena], 1957, photographie noir et blanc, 35 mm, 28 x 25,5 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la artista Mabel Rubli [Portrait de l’artiste Mabel Rubli], 1957, photographie noir et blanc, 35 mm, 20,5 x 18,5 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), Retrato de la escritora Beatriz Guido [Portrait de l’artiste Beatriz Guido], 1957, photographie noir et blanc, 35 mm, 18,5 x 23,8 cm

Ilse  Fuskova (Felka) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Fusková (Felka), de la série El zapallo [La courge], 1982, photographie noir et blanc, 35 mm, 12,5 x 8,5 cm

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29