Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Juana Muller

1911Santiago, Chile | 1952Paris, France
Informations
Sponsor
— Anne Le Moal

Chilean sculptor.

From 1930 to 1933, Juana Muller studied at the Escuela de Bellas Artes de Santiago with Julio Antonia Vásquez (1897–1976), followed by Lorenzo Domínquez (1901–1963). Only rare photographs of her head and bust sculptures remain from these formative years, illustrating the sharp choices of an artist who manifested an early attraction for the female figure. The excellent performance of J. Muller culminated in her receipt of a scholarship in 1937 that allowed her to go to France. Upon her arrival in Paris, she prolonged her apprenticeship under Ossip Zadkine (1888–1967), who directed the sculptor studio at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière. She frequented the Académie Ranson, where she met the painter Jean Le Moal (1909–2007), whom she married in 1944. It was during this time, likely in 1938–1939, that she met Constantin Brancusi (1876–1957) – a pivotal moment in her career – with whom she formed a fruitful friendship witnessed in their copious correspondence preserved today at the Bibliothèque Kandinsky. Brancusi immediately took her under his wing, sharing with her his studio secrets and his opinions about art, philosophy and spirituality. He solicited her aid for the realisation of La Tortue volante (1940–1945) – the ultimate proof of his trust in her.

After J. Muller moved to Brancusi’s studio, located in the Impasse Ronsin in Paris, her production transformed: the formats became more imposing, the materials (wood, stone, earthenware) and techniques more diverse, while her works detached themselves little by little from figuration. Her portraits (1930–1950), one of her favoured themes, gradually lost their naturalistic details, gaining a certain universality. Their serene beauty attracted the attention of Henri Pierre Roché, whose appetite for carved faces of women with captivating features never dwindled. In a text published on the occasion of a group exhibition organised at the gallery MAI in 1952 – in which J. Muller participated alongside Etienne-Martin (1913–1995), François Stahly (1911–2006) and Marie-Thérèse Pinto (1894–1980) – H. Roché stated that, “her Tête pour un tombeau (Head for a grave), with its wide eyes, and her pouting Cariatide énimatique (Enigmatic caryatid) with droopy eyelids, gave a silencing presence.”

In post-war Paris, the sculptor found herself at the centre of the artistic trends. She spent time with the artists united under the name of the “Nouvelle École de Paris,” including Jean Bertholle, Jean Bazaine, Alfred Manessier, Pierre Tal Coat, Gustave Singier, Vera Pagava, Alicia Penalba (1913–1982), Marta Colvin (1907–1995) and M.-T. Pinto. Her work was supported by the galleries Jeanne Bucher and Folklore, and she exhibited regularly at the Salon de Mai (May Salon) and the Salon de la jeune sculpture (Young Sculpture Salon). Her dispatches were noticed, particularly her Totem series, begun in 1945 and continued until her death. A true axis mundi, these works maintained close links to architecture through their contained monumentality. As the artist wrote, it is because “architecture and sculpture must form a unity that results from an idea that would be the basis of all human activity.” Moved by the desire to reconnect with the utopia of cathedral builders, the artist devoted her energy to the decoration project of the new church Saint-Remy de Baccart in Meurthe-et-Moselle, creating several studies of liturgical furniture and sketches for a sculpture of the Way of the Cross between 1950 and 1952.

Read more

Sabrina Dubbeld

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Roi d’échec, ca. 1944-1945, wood, 60 x 40 x 33 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Masque, ca. 1940, oak tree, 25.5 x 14 x 6 cm, private collection, © Photo: Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, L’oiseau, ca. 1953-1955, plaster, 58 x 60 x 55 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre [Femme totem], 1944-1949, wood, 149.5 x 30 x 30 cm, private collection, © Photo: Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, 1949-1951, stone, 35 x 20 x 18 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, undated, ink on paper (drawing on envelope), 15.6 x 9.6 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, ca. 1943-1944, stone, 27.5 x 21 x 19 cm, private collection, © Photo: Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, ca. 1949-1950, stone, 27.5 x 9.5 x 9 cm, private collection, © Photo: Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Tête, 1950, 17 x 17.5 x 17.5 cm, musée d’Art et d’Histoire de Meudon, © ADAGP, Paris

Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Juana Muller

1911Santiago, Chili | 1952Paris, France
Informations
Soutien
— Anne Le Moal

Sculptrice chilienne.

De 1930 à 1933, Juana Muller suit les cours de l’Escuela de Bellas Arte de Santiago sous la direction de Julio Antonio Vásquez (1897-1976) puis de Lorenzo Domínguez (1901-1963). De ces années de formation, seules subsistent quelques rares photographies de ses Têtes et de ses Bustes. Se dessinent alors les choix acérés d’une artiste qui manifeste très tôt une attirance pour la figure féminine. Les excellents résultats de J. Muller se soldent par l’obtention, en 1937, d’une bourse d’étude qui lui permet de se rendre en France. À son arrivée à Paris, elle prolonge un temps son apprentissage auprès d’Ossip Zadkine (1888-1967) qui dirige l’atelier de sculpture à l’académie de la Grande Chaumière. Elle fréquente également, de façon épisodique, l’académie Ranson où elle rencontre celui qui deviendra, en 1944, son époux, le peintre Jean Le Moal (1909-2007). C’est aussi à cette époque, vraisemblablement en 1938-1939, qu’elle fait la connaissance, décisive pour son parcours, de Constantin Brancusi (1876-1957) avec qui elle noue une amitié féconde, comme en témoigne leur abondante correspondance, conservée aujourd’hui à la bibliothèque Kandinsky. Celui-ci la prend immédiatement sous son aile, partage ses secrets d’atelier, ses points de vue sur l’art, la philosophie et la spiritualité. Preuve ultime de la confiance qu’il lui accorde, il la sollicite pour la réalisation de La Tortue volante (1940-1945).

Après le passage de J. Muller dans l’atelier de Brancusi, impasse Ronsin, sa production se métamorphose : les formats deviennent plus imposants, les matériaux se diversifient (bois, pierre, terre cuite, etc.), de même que les techniques, tandis que ses œuvres se détachent de plus en plus de la figuration. Ainsi, ses Portraits (1930-1950), qui constituent un de ses thèmes de prédilection, perdent-ils peu à peu leurs détails naturalistes pour gagner en universalité. Leur sereine beauté attire l’attention d’Henri-Pierre Roché, dont l’appétit pour les visages de femmes sculptées aux traits alliciants ne tarira jamais. Il note, dans un texte publié à l’occasion d’une exposition collective organisée à la galerie MAI en 1952, à laquelle J. Muller participe aux côtés d’Étienne-Martin (1913-1995), de François Stahly (1911-2006) et de Marie-Thérèse Pinto (1894-1980) : « Sa Tête pour un tombeau, aux yeux grands ouverts, et sa Cariatide énigmatique qui fait la moue, avec une paupière lourde, donnent une présence silencieuse. »

Dans ce Paris d’après-guerre, la sculptrice se situe au cœur de l’actualité artistique de la capitale. Elle côtoie nombre des artistes réuni·e·s par la critique sous l’appellation « nouvelle école de Paris » (Jean Bertholle, Jean Bazaine, Alfred Manessier, Pierre Tal Coat, Gustave Singier, Vera Pagava…), mais aussi Alicia Penalba (1913-1982), Marta Colvin (1907-1995) et M.-T. Pinto. Son œuvre est également défendue par les galeries Jeanne Bucher et Folklore, et elle expose régulièrement au Salon de mai ou au Salon de la jeune sculpture. Ses envois sont remarqués, en particulier les œuvres de sa série Totem qu’elle commence en 1945 et poursuivra jusqu’à son décès. Véritable axis mundi, celles-ci entretiennent, en raison de leur monumentalité contenue, des liens étroits avec l’architecture. C’est que, comme l’a écrit l’artiste, « architecture et statuaire doivent former une unité qui résulte d’une idée qui serait à la base de toute l’activité de l’homme ». Mue par le désir de renouer avec l’utopie des bâtisseurs de cathédrales, entre 1950 et 1952 elle consacre toute son énergie au projet de décoration de la nouvelle église Saint-Remy de Baccarat, en Meurthe-et-Moselle, en composant de multiples études de mobilier liturgique et diverses esquisses pour un chemin de croix sculpté.

Lire plus

Sabrina Dubbeld

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Roi d’échec, vers 1944-1945, bois, 60 x 40 x 33 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Masque, vers 1940, chêne, 25,5 x 14 x 6 cm, collection particulière, © Photo : Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, L’oiseau, vers 1953-1955, plâtre, 58 x 60 x 55 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre [Femme totem], 1944-1949, bois, 149,5 x 30 x 30 cm, collection particulière, © Photo : Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, 1949-1951, pierre, 35 x 20 x 18 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, sans date, encre sur papier (dessin sur une enveloppe), 15,6 x 9,6 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, vers 1943-1944, pierre, 27,5 x 21 x 19 cm, collection particulière, © Photo : Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Sans titre, vers 1949-1950, terre, 27,5 x 9,5 x 9 cm, collection particulière, © Photo : Christian Demare, © ADAGP, Paris

Juana Muller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Juana Muller, Tête, 1950, 17 x 17,5 x 17,5 cm, musée d’Art et d’Histoire de Meudon, © ADAGP, Paris

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29