Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vera Pagava

1906TBILISSI, Géorgie | 1988Montrouge, France
Informations

Georgian painter.

In the 1980s, when looking back on the path she had chosen to follow 20 years earlier, Vera Pagava confessed: “I couldn’t handle any more figuration and no longer needed to use it as a crutch.” Despite being figurative, the Georgian artist’s paintings always showed a strong inclination towards abstraction, from the start of her career in 1930s Paris. Her early works were painted in a post-cubist style, with pared-down schematics and a dark and restricted palette that expressed her will to keep them as pared down as possible. Whether in her portraits, still lifes, or religious scenes, she seemed less interested in the narrative potential of her subjects than in the way in which her motifs – consisting of areas of precise, almost plain, colour – were arranged on the surface of the canvas. She later took this approach in multiple directions, showing great freedom in her manner of execution. While the simplicity of her Campanile (1957) resuscitates that of the pre-Renaissance primitives, her Blue Still Life (1949) brings to mind both Matisse’s transparency effects and the smooth and clinical workmanship in Amédée Ozenfant and Le Corbusier’s works.
In the 1950s, V. Pagava tried her hand at optical effects achieved through a multiplication of the motifs and an intermingling of planes. The silhouettes in her battle scenes, such as The Fall of the Angels (1953), are reminiscent of Matisse’s various “dances” (1930-1933) and also prefigure the folded coloured arabesques that Simon Hantaï would create ten years later. In her series of cities, she experimented with interlocking coloured rectangles – an innovative extension of similar formal explorations in Robert Delaunay’s simultaneist works and Piet Mondrian’s cubist pieces from the 1910s.

By 1960, V. Pagava no longer needed the “crutch” of figuration, and predominantly painted geometric shapes with rounded and irregular edges. This very liberal approach to geometry, which she had already explored in her biomorphic paintings from the late 1930s (Shape with Guitar,1938, for instance) brought fluidity and organicity to these rough elements, making her more akin to Sophie Taeuber than to De Stijl disciples. Her work later became increasingly ethereal. The watercolours she showed alongside other artists at the 1966 Venice Biennale’s French Pavilion, as well as her large canvases, such as the almost monochromatic Presence (1963), echo Mark Rothko’s atmospheric monochromes. The final years of her career were characterized by her use of geometric shapes depicting stars, skies, mountains, and “ascensions”. These simple yet effective “celestial bodies” appear to be the graceful manifestations of an intimate and spiritual cosmos – the last stage in a rich and diverse career that is a testament to her constantly renewed inventiveness.
Born an only child to wealthy and cultivated Georgian parents, V. Pagava fled Soviet annexation with her family and settled in Montrouge, France, in 1923. She studied mainly at the Académie Ranson, in the workshop of painter Roger Bissière, and first showed her work in 1944 at the Jeanne Bucher Gallery. From then on, she took part in many collective exhibitions in France and abroad. She also worked on several public commissions, most prominently the stained glass windows and furnishings of St. Joseph’s Church in Dijon, which were inaugurated in 1987.

Read more

Marion Alluchon

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, La Lune rousse, 1969, oil on canvas, 73 x 92 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Tissu 2, ca 1930, craft, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Non titrée [Nu au tabouret], ca. 1935, oil on canvas, 46 x 38 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Sans Titre [Forme Abstraite avec guitare], ca. 1937, oil on canvas, 65 x 50 x 15 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Les Trois grâces, 1947, oil on canvas, 100 x 65 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Les Magnan, 1947, oil on canvas, 73 x 92 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Nature morte bleue, 1949, oil on hessian, 100 x 165, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, La bataille des thermopyles, 1950, oil on canvas, 130 x 162 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, La Ville morte, 1956, oil on canvas, 97 x 130 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Les Instruments de la passion, 1952, oil on canvas, 88.5 x 116 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Non Titrée [Formes rectangulaires], 1964, oil on canvas, 92 x 47 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Nuit d’été, 1976, oil on canvas, 73 x 60 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Non Titrée, 1986, oil on canvas, 73 x 73 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vera Pagava

1906TBILISSI, Géorgie | 1988Montrouge, France
Informations

Peintre géorgienne.

Dans les années 1980, se remémorant l’orientation prise 20 ans plus tôt, Vera Pagava confie : « Je n’en pouvais plus de la figuration, je n’avais plus besoin de la béquille que représente la figuration. » Dès le début de sa carrière dans les années 1930 à Paris, la peinture de l’artiste géorgienne, bien que figurative, témoigne d’une forte inclination pour les principes de l’abstraction. Dans une veine postcubiste, le schématisme épuré de ses premières œuvres, soutenu par une palette sombre et restreinte, traduit déjà sa volonté d’aller à l’essentiel. Qu’il s’agisse de ses portraits, de ses natures mortes ou de ses scènes religieuses, elle semble moins intéressée par le potentiel narratif des sujets que par la manière dont les motifs, zones de couleurs précises et quasi unies, s’agencent à la surface de la toile. C’est avec une grande liberté qu’elle poursuit ensuite ce travail dans de multiples directions. Tandis que la simplification du Campanile (1957) ressuscite les primitifs prérenaissants, la Nature morte bleue (1949) évoque autant les jeux de transparence matissiens que la facture lisse et aseptisée des toiles d’Amédée Ozenfant et de Le Corbusier.
Dans les années 1950, V. Pagava s’essaie à des jeux optiques liés à la démultiplication du motif et à la confusion des plans. Les silhouettes de ses scènes de bataille comme La Chute des anges (1953) rappellent les différentes « danses » (1930-1933) d’Henri Matisse autant qu’elles annoncent les arabesques colorées que Simon Hantaï réalisera par pliage dix ans plus tard. Avec la série des villes, elle expérimente les imbrications de rectangles colorés, semblant poursuivre, de manière tout à fait innovante, les recherches du Robert Delaunay simultanéiste et du Piet Mondrian cubiste des années 1910.

Dès 1960, débarrassée de la « béquille » de la figuration, V. Pagava ne peint presque plus que des formes géométriques aux contours courbes et irréguliers. Déjà exploré dans ses peintures biomorphiques de la fin des années 1930 – Forme à la guitare (1938) par exemple –, ce traitement très libre de la géométrie confère fluidité et organicité à ces éléments bruts, ce qui la rapproche davantage de l’œuvre de Sophie Taeuber que de celles des partisans de De Stijl. Son travail devient ensuite de plus en plus éthéré. Ses aquarelles exposées, avec les pièces d’autres artistes, au pavillon français de la Biennale de Venise en 1966, comme ses grandes toiles, tel le quasi-monochrome noir Présence (1963), font écho aux monochromes atmosphériques de Mark Rothko. La fin de sa carrière se caractérise par des formes géométriques représentant des astres, des ciels ou des montagnes, des « ascensions ». Simples et efficaces, ces « corps célestes » semblent être les gracieuses manifestations d’un cosmos intime et spirituel, ultime étape d’un parcours dont la richesse et la diversité témoignent d’une inventivité sans cesse renouvelée.
Fille unique d’une famille géorgienne aisée et cultivée, V. Pagava a fui, avec ses proches, l’annexion soviétique et s’est installée en France, à Montrouge, en 1923. Formée principalement à l’Académie Ranson dans l’atelier du peintre Roger Bissière, elle présente pour la première fois ses peintures à la galerie Jeanne Bucher en 1944. À partir de cette date, elle participe à de nombreuses expositions collectives en France comme à l’étranger. L’artiste a également réalisé quelques commandes publiques dont la plus importante concerne les vitraux et le mobilier de l’église Saint-Joseph à Dijon, inaugurés en 1987.

Lire plus

Marion Alluchon

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, La Lune rousse, 1969, huile sur toile, 73 x 92 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Tissu 2, ca 1930, tissu, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Non titrée [Nu au tabouret], ca. 1935, huile sur toile, 46 x 38 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Sans Titre [Forme Abstraite avec guitare], ca. 1937, huile sur toile, 65 x 50 x 15 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Les Trois grâces, 1947, huile sur toile, 100 x 65 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Les Magnan, 1947, huile sur toile, 73 x 92 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Nature morte bleue, 1949, huile sur toile de jute, 100 x 165, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, La Bataille des thermopyles, 1950, huile sur toile, 130 x 162 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, La Ville morte, 1956, huile sur toile, 97 x 130 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Les Instruments de la passion, 1952, huile sur toile, 88,5 x 116 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Non Titrée [Formes rectangulaires], 1964, huile sur toile, 92 x 47 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Nuit d’été, 1976, huile sur toile, 73 x 60 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Vera Pagava — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Pagava, Non Titrée, 1986, huile sur toile, 73 x 73 cm, Collection AC/VP, © Alex Krassowski

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29