Judy Chicago

1939 | Chicago, United States
Informations
Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Judy Chicago

Sponsor
— Studio Judy Chicago

American visual artist.

In 1964, Judy Cohen graduated from the University of California’s art school. She then gained recognition for her near-minimalist art pieces such as Rainbow Pickets, exhibited for the first time during Primary Structures (exhibition, Jewish Museum, New York, 1966), a landmark event for minimal art. Today she is known as one of the founders of the feminist art movement in the United States. Calling into question the language of minimalism, which she felt was too exclusively formalist, she then devoted herself to the exploration of her feminine experiences. In 1969, she created the first feminist education programme in California, the Feminist Art Program, at Fresno State College, before repeating the experience from 1971 to 1973 with artist Miriam Shapiro (1923) at CalArts (California Institute of the Arts): the two women would encourage their students to give a voice to their experiences and support their ambitions. In the famous Womanhouse exhibition (1972), 17 projects illustrated the experiences of women within a discriminatory society (household chores, the construction of femininity), echoing Betty Friedan’s book The Feminine Mystique (1963). Both artists advocated a specific representation of women based on vaginal centrality. This assertion is amply debated within feminist circles: some criticize its essentialism – you are born as a woman, you do not become one – objecting to the biological determination of these images in favour of a cultural and social construction.

In 1973, together with Sheila Levrant de Bretteville (1940) and Arlene Raven (1944 – 2006), Judy Chicago inaugurated the Woman’s Building in Los Angeles, a multi-purpose space for exhibitions and art education exclusively reserved for women. She became famous with The Dinner Party (Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art, Brooklyn Museum, New York 1974 – 1979). The 39 place settings of this enormous triangular Last Supper pay tribute to important historical and mythological women. The ceramic, porcelain, and textile art work, which was made in collaboration with about one hundred women, has become an icon of feminist art from the 1970s, but also garnered its share of detractors.  In the 1980s, several of her realistic pictorial series featured specific issues. Thus, Birth Project (1980 – 1985) depicts the experience of giving birth, between pain, realism, and spirituality; Powerplay portrays the construction of masculinity and its abuses of power. In her autobiography, the creator explains what compelled her to make art: her fight for the recognition of a certain view of women, while providing a visual showcase for work considered “feminine.” She is aware of the simplifications inherent in her message, and owns up to these limitations, which she considers necessary to insert the female experience into art, alter how reality is perceived, and operate cultural change.

Read more

Fabienne Dumont

Translated from French by Toby Cayouette.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, The Dinner Party (detail), 1979, ceramic, porcelain, textile, various materials, 91.5 x 1463 x 1463 cm, 36 x 576 x 576 in., collection of the Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, New York, © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Through the Flower, 1973, sprayed acrylic on canvas, 152.4 x 152.4 cm, 60 x 60 in., © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Red Flag, 1971, photo-lithograph, 50.8 x 61 cm, 20 x 24 in., © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Birth Hood, 1965-2011, sprayed automotive lacquer on car hood, 109 x 109 x 10.9 cm, 42.9 x 42.9 x 4.3 in., © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Rainbow Pickett, 1965 (recreated 2004), latex paint on canvas-covered plywood, 320 x 320 x 279.4 cm, 126 x 126 x 110 in., © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Earth Birth, from the Birth Project, 1983, sprayed Versatex and DMC floss on fabric, 1.57 x 3.47 m, 62.75 x 136.75 in., needlework by Jacquelyn Moore Alexander, © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago and Donald Woodman, Rainbow Shabbat, from the Holocaust Project, 1992, stained glass, 137 x 518 cm, 54 x 804 in., © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago and Donald Woodman, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Home Sweet Home from Resolutions: A Stitch in Time, 2000, sprayed acrylic and embroidery, 61 x 45.7 cm, 24 x 18 in., needlework by Pamela Nesbit, © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Grand Toby Head with Copper Eye, 2010, copper gilding on cast glass and cast bronze, 76,2 x 66 x 66 cm, 30 x 26 x 26 in., © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, A Butterfly for Brooklyn, 2014, fireworks, flares and LED lights, © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago & Pyro Spectaculars, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, The Dinner Party, 1979, ceramic, porcelain, textile, various materials, 91.5 x 1463 x 1463 cm, 36 x 576 x 576 in., collection of the Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, New York, © Photo: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked articles
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Judy Chicago

1939 | Chicago, États-Unis
Informations
Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Judy Chicago

Soutien
— Studio Judy Chicago

Plasticienne américaine.

En 1964, Judy Cohen sort diplômée de l’école d’art de l’université de Californie. Elle se fait connaître par des œuvres proches du minimalisme, comme Rainbow Pickets, exposée pour la première fois lors du Primary Structures (exposition, Jewish Museum, New York, 1966), manifestation de référence pour l’art minimal. Elle est aujourd’hui reconnue comme l’une des fondatrices du mouvement féministe artistique aux Etats-Unis. Remettant en cause le langage du minimalisme, qu’elle juge trop exclusivement formaliste, elle se consacre ensuite à l’exploration de ses expériences féminines. En 1969, elle fonde le premier programme d’enseignement féministe en Californie, le Feminist Art Program, à l’Université d’État de Fresno, puis elle poursuit cette expérience de 1971 à 1973 avec l’artiste Miriam Shapiro (1923) à CalArts (California Institute of the Arts) : les deux femmes encouragent les étudiantes à s’exprimer sur leurs expériences et soutiennent leurs aspirations. Dans la fameuse Womanhouse (exposition, 1972), 17 projets illustrent des expériences de femmes dans une société discriminante (tâches domestiques, construction de la féminité), en écho du livre de Betty Friedan La Femme Mystifiée (1963). Les deux artistes théorisent une représentation spécifique des femmes, basée sur l’image d’une centralité vaginale. Cette assertion est amplement débattue dans les cercles féministes : certaines lui reprochent son essentialisme – on naît femme, on ne le devient pas -, opposant à la détermination biologique de ces images une construction culturelle et sociale.

En 1973, J. Chicago fonde, avec Sheila Levrant de Bretteville (1940) et Arlene Raven (1944 – 2006), le Woman’s Building à Los Angeles, un espace complet d’exposition et de formation artistique réservé aux femmes. Elle accède à la célébrité avec The Dinner Party (Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art, Brooklyn Museum, New York 1974 – 1979). Les 39 couverts de cette gigantesque cène triangulaire rendent hommage aux femmes importantes de l’histoire et de la mythologie. L’œuvre, réalisée en céramique, en porcelaine et en textile, avec la collaboration d’une centaine de femmes, est devenue une icône de l’art féministe des années 1970, mais elle sera également contestée. Dans les années 1980, plusieurs séries picturales réalistes mettent en scène des revendications particulières. Ainsi, Birth Project (« Projet de naissance », 1980 – 1985) représente l’expérience de la maternité, entre douleur, réalisme et spiritualité ; Powerplay met en scène la construction masculine et les abus de pouvoir. Dans son autobiographie, la créatrice a expliqué le moteur de son art : sa lutte pour faire reconnaître une sculpture spécifique des femmes, tout en valorisant plastiquement les travaux considérés comme « féminins ». Elle se consciente des simplifications de son discours et assume cette limite qu’elle juge nécessaire pour insérer les expériences des femmes dans l’art, changer la manière dont la réalité est perçue et transformer la culture.

Lire plus

Fabienne Dumont

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, The Dinner Party (détail), 1979, céramique, porcelaine, textile, matériaux divers, 91,5 x 1463 x 1463 cm, collection du Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, New York, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Through the Flower, 1973, acrylique pulvérisée sur toile, 152,4 x 152,4 cm, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Red Flag, 1971, photolithographie, 50,8 x 61 cm, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Birth Hood, 1965-2011, laque automobile pulvérisée sur capot de voiture, 109 x 109 x 10,9 cm, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Rainbow Pickett, 1965 (recréée en 2004), latex peint sur toile recouverte en contreplaqué, 320 x 320 x 279,4 cm, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Earth Birth, Birth Project, 1983, Versatex pulvérisée et fil DMC, 1,57 x 3,47 m, couture de Jacquelyn Moore Alexander, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago et Donald Woodman, Rainbow Shabbat, Holocaust Project, 1992, vitrail, 137 x 518 cm, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago and Donald Woodman, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Home Sweet Home from Resolutions: A Stitch in Time, 2000, acrylique pulvérisée, 61 x 45,7 cm, 24 x 18 in., couture de Pamela Nesbit, © Phot o: Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, Grand Toby Head with Copper Eye, 2010, dorure en cuivre sur verre coulé et bronze moulé, 76,2 x 66 x 66 cm, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, A Butterfly for Brooklyn, 2014, feu d’artifice, flammes et lumières LED, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago & Pyro Spectaculars, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Chicago — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Chicago, The Dinner Party, 1979, céramique, porcelaine, textile, matériaux divers, 91,5 x 1463 x 1463 cm, collection du Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, New York, © Photo : Donald Woodman, © Judy Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Articles liés
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29