Lola Álvarez Bravo

1907Lagos de Moreno, Mexico | 1993Mexico City, Mexico
Informations
Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Autoportrait, c. 1950, Tucson, Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona

Mexican photographer.

Lola Álvarez Bravo learnt photography helping her husband, Mexican photographer Manuel Álvarez Bravo (1902-2002; they married in 1925 and separated in 1934). Between 1935 and the late 1950s she made a living as a documentary photographer for various government agencies, including the Secretaría de Educación Pública (SEP) and the Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes. She also taught art in SEP public schools. She used photomontage – El sueño de los pobres [The dream of the poor, 1935] and La capital de la República Mexicana [The capital of the Mexican Republic, 1946] – and created political propaganda as well as large scale photomontage murals for office buildings such as the Chrysler’s factory Auto-Mex (1954) and the Communications and Public Works Ministry building (SCOP 1954-1955), in Mexico City.

In the early 1930s L. Álvarez Bravo covered her husband’s commission documenting the work of the Mexican Muralists for the magazine Mexican Folkways; that job trained both her aesthetic taste and her eye. Most of her fine art photographs were taken while she was on commission documenting the reality of the Mexican countryside but also industrialization, urban growth and development. She declared that while documenting she would stumble upon an image that she considered was for herself, and which she would photograph and later print as part of her own oeuvre. She approached her human subjects with respect and empathy, sometimes negotiating the pose, at other times capturing a passing moment without their noticing. Her work appeared in publications such as the SEP’s El maestro rural [The rural teacher, 1935-1937] and architectural magazines like Espacios and Arquitectura México [Spaces and Architecture Mexico, 1940s-1950s]. For President Manuel Ávila Camacho she illustrated the report of his tenure in Seis años de Actividad Nacional [Six years of national action, 1946], with sixty photographs and a few photomontages. L. Álvarez Bravo is considered a prominent portraitist of her contemporaries, Mexican artists, writers and intellectuals, a noted architectural photographer and a curious experimenter, as in Homenaje a Salvador Toscano [Tribute to Salvador Toscano, c. 1949]. In the 1951 she illustrated the book Acapulco en el sueño [Acapulco in the dream] and her photograph Entierro en Yalalag [Burial in Yalalag, 1946] was included in the famous New York’s Museum of Modern Art exhibition and book The Family of Man In 1955.

In Mexcio City, in the 1930s L. Álvarez Bravo organised one of the first film clubs and she also had a gallery, Galería de Arte Contemporáneo (1951-1958), where she exhibited the work of many of her friends. It was here in 1953 that she organized Frida Kahlo’s only solo exhibition in Mexico while still alive. L. Álvarez Bravo’s first collective show was for the women’s section of the LEAR (Liga de Escritores y Artistas Revolucionarios) organised by Mexican painter María Izquierdo in 1935. In 1944 she had her first solo exhibition in the Palacio de Bellas Artes. Her largest retrospective was held in 1992 at the Centro Cultural Arte Contemporáneo, some months before her death. Art historian and critic Olivier Debroise interviewed her extensively during the 1980s; these recordings are held at the Centro de Documentación Arkheia in Museo Universitario de Arte Contemporáneo (MUAC-UNAM). L. Álvarez Bravo’s archive is held at the Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona, Tucson.

Read more

Deborah Dorotinsky Alperstein

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Hiedra (ruinas) [Ivy (Ruina)], 1930, gelatin silver print, Private collection

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Frida Kahlo regardant dans un miroir, avec des chiens, vers 1944, 22.5 x 18 cm, Private collection

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Les uns montent, les autres descendent, 1940, gelatin silver print, 20.3 x 15.4 cm, Fundacion Televisa

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, 11am, vers 1948, gelatin silver print, 23.7 x 19.6 cm, Patronat du Museo Nacional de Arte, Mexico

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Le Rêve des pauvres, vers 1935, gelatin silver print, photomontage, 44 x 44 cm, Private collection

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Maudelle Bass, 1947, gelatin silver print

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Sexo vegetal [Vegetable Sex], 1948, gelatin silver print, 18.8 x 23.1 cm, Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Telas [Fabrics], 1950, gelatin silver print, Private collection

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Saliendo de la opera [Leaving the opera], 1950, gelatin silver print, 22.9 x 18.4 cm, Private collection

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Sirènes dans l’air, vers 1958, gelatin silver print, 20.1 x 15.3 cm, Private collection

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, El Numéro 17 [The Numero No17], c. 1958, gelatin silver print, 23.6 x 16 cm, MoMA

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Lola Álvarez Bravo

1907Lagos de Moreno, Mexique | 1993Mexico, Mexique
Informations
Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Autoportrait, vers 1950, Tucson, Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona

Photographe mexicaine.

Lola Álvarez Bravo apprend la photographie en travaillant comme assistante de son époux, le photographe mexicain Manuel Álvarez Bravo (1902-2002 ; le couple se marie en 1925 et se sépare en 1934). De 1935 à la fin des années 1950, elle gagne sa vie comme photographe documentaire pour divers organismes gouvernementaux, notamment la Secretaría de Educación Pública (SEP, secrétariat à l’Éducation publique) et l’Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes. Elle enseigne également les arts plastiques dans des écoles du réseau SEP. Elle se sert de la technique du photomontage (El Sueño de los Pobres [Le rêve des pauvres, 1935] et La Capital de la República Mexicana [La capitale de la République mexicaine, 1946]) pour créer des œuvres de propagande politique, ainsi que de grandes fresques destinées à des immeubles de bureaux tels que celui de l’usine Chrysler Automex (1954) et celui de la Secretaría de Comunicaciones y Obras Públicas (SCOP, ministère de la Communication et des Travaux publics, 1954-1955) à Mexico.

Au début des années 1930, L. Álvarez Bravo documente une commande de son mari, qui couvre la production des muralistes mexicains pour le magazine Mexican Folkways ; ce travail se révélera formateur pour elle, en ce qui concerne à la fois ses préférences esthétiques et sa vision artistique. Elle prend la majorité de ses photographies d’art à l’occasion de commandes publiques pour lesquelles elle doit rendre compte des réalités de la vie rurale mexicaine, de l’industrialisation et du développement urbain. Elle remarque que, lors de ces processus de documentation, il lui arrive de décider de garder une image pour elle, et elle conserve alors le tirage au sein de son œuvre personnelle. Elle aborde ses sujets humains avec respect et empathie, en discutant parfois avec eux de la pose adéquate, mais aussi en saisissant des moments à la volée, sans qu’ils ne s’en aperçoivent. Son travail paraît dans des publications comme El Maestro Rural (1935-1937, édité par le SEP) ou des revues d’architecture telles qu’Espacios et Arquitectura México (années 1940 et 1950). Elle illustre le compte rendu de la présidence de Manuel Ávila Camacho dans Seis Años de Actividad Nacional [Six Ans d’action nationale, 1946], avec soixante photographies et quelques photomontages. L. Álvarez Bravo est considérée comme une portraitiste de renom dans son pays, où elle immortalise ses contemporain·e·s, à la fois artistes, écrivain·e·s et intellectuel·le·s mexicain·e·s, ainsi qu’un éminent photographe d’architecture et expérimentateur singulier dans Homenaje a Salvador Toscano [Hommage à Salvador Toscano, vers 1949]. En 1951, elle illustre l’ouvrage Acapulco en el Sueño (Acapulco dans un rêve) puis, en 1955, son cliché Entierro en Yalalag [Enterrement à Yalalag, 1946] figure dans la célèbre exposition The Family of Man au Museum of Modern Art de New York et dans le catalogue qui l’accompagne.

À Mexico, L. Álvarez Bravo fonde l’un des premiers ciné-clubs dans les années 1930 et tient une galerie, la Galería de Arte Contemporáneo (de 1951 à 1958), où elle présente les œuvres de nombreux·ses ami·e·s. En 1953, elle y consacrera une exposition individuelle à Frida Kahlo, la seule qui ait eu lieu à Mexico du vivant de l’artiste. L. Álvarez Bravo participe à sa première exposition collective au sein de la section dédiée aux femmes artistes de la Liga de Escritores y Artistas Revolucionarios (LEAR, Ligue des écrivains et artistes révolutionnaires), organisée par la peintre mexicaine María Izquierdo en 1935. Elle bénéficie de sa première exposition individuelle en 1944 au Palacio de Bellas Artes. La plus importante rétrospective de son œuvre se tient en 1992-1993 au Centro Cultural Arte Contemporáneo, quelques mois avant sa mort. L’historien de l’art et critique Olivier Debroise l’interviewe à de nombreuses reprises au cours des années 1980 ; les enregistrements de ces entretiens se trouvent au Centro de Documentación Arkheia du Museo Universitario de Arte Contemporáneo de l’Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico (MUAC-UNAM). Les archives de L. Álvarez Bravo sont conservées au Center for Creative Photography de l’University of Arizona à Tucson.

Lire plus

Deborah Dorotinsky Alperstein

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Hiedra (ruinas) [Lierre (Ruine)], 1930, épreuve gélatino-argentique, Collection particulière

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Frida Kahlo regardant dans un miroir, avec des chiens, vers 1944, 22,5 x 18 cm, Collection particulière

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Les uns montent, les autres descendent, 1940, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 20,3 x 15,4 cm, Fundacion Televisa

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, 11am, vers 1948, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 23,7 x 19,6 cm, Patronat du Museo Nacional de Arte, Mexico

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Le Rêve des pauvres, vers 1935, épreuve gélatino-argentique, photomontage, 44 x 44 cm, Collection particulière

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Maudelle Bass, 1947, épreuve gélatino-argentique

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Sexo vegetal [Sexe végétal] 1948, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 18,8 x 23,1 cm, Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Telas [Tissus], 1950, épreuve gelatino-argentique, Collection particulière

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Saliendo de la opera [Quitter l’Opéra], 1950, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 22,9 x 18,4 cm, Collection particulière

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, Sirènes dans l’air, vers 1958, épreuve gelatino-argentique, 20,1 x 15,3 cm, Collection particulière

Lola Álvarez Bravo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lola Álvarez Bravo, El Numéro 17 [Le Numéro 17], vers 1958, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 23,6 x 16 cm, MoMA

 

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29