Valérie Belin

1964 | Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Informations
Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Leemage Valérie Belin

French Photographer and Visual artist.

Trained at the School of Fine Arts in Bourges, Valérie Belin was influenced by the American minimalism that she studied in her philosophy of art classes at the Sorbonne, where she graduated in 1988. Working primarily with light, she invented a specific photographic process in 1993. Her series of large format prints, mostly in black and white, presented objects or people in a single theme from the same font angle, framed in the same neutral way; thus de-contextualized and de-individualized, the subjects of her work appear as a sort of specimens—between luminous specters and tangible objects, expressiveness and withdrawal, reality and potentiality—under the impassive eye of a process which tends towards abstraction. Her first attempts were with objects in Cristal (1993), then Argenterie (1994). Her Robes vénitiennes (Venetian dresses, 1996) stretched out in coffins, formed figures with the appearance of substance, but whose flatness suggested the absence of the body they should have clothed; the sumptuous material lead chillingly to emptiness.

Beginning in 1999 this formal dialogue was applied to the human body, in her series Bodybuilders, Transsexuels, Mannequins et sosies, Mariés marocaines in traditional outfits, taken on white backgrounds. These individuals, giving off no affect of their own, become subjects or objects of a physical transformation. Most of the expression, reinforced by the monumentality of the large format, comes from what is within the frame; from the high contrast of the black and white tones, to the serializing and framing of the body’s position, which both de-individualizes and reifies the forms. The same tension can be found in her 1998 series of wrecked cars and meat carcasses.

Other series work with groups of faces, in color since 2006, from the very pale Modèles (Models) on a white background, to Femmes noirs (Black Women), and Métisses (Mixed-race people), as well as Robots, bags of Chips, Chiens (Dogs), and Moteurs (motors), using the same systematic approach. The detachment of the artist’s work tackles both profound issues of personal identity, as well as larger social themes like stereotyping, race, industry, and beauty, in both an esthetic and political investigation. Since 1994, Belin has been regularly exhibited in France and Europe. In 2007 and 2008 a retrospective of her work traveled to museums in Amsterdam, Paris, and Lausanne.

Read more

Anne-Cécile Guilbard

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2006, color photograph, pigmentary print, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Body Builders II, 2000, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2001, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2000, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Michael Jackson #5, 2003, black and white photograph, silver print, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2006, photograph, pigmentary inks on paper, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Ballroom Dancers #2, 2008, black and white photograph, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Têtes couronnées #2, 2009, color photograph, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Magazine
Linked article
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Valérie Belin

1964 | Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Informations
Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Leemage V. BELIN

Photographe et plasticienne française.

Formée à l’école des Beaux-Arts de Bourges, Valérie Belin est influencée par l’art minimal américain étudié en philosophie de l’art à la Sorbonne, dont elle sort diplômée en 1988. Travaillant d’abord sur la lumière, elle invente en 1993 un protocole photographique précis. Ses séries de grands formats, essentiellement en noir et blanc, présentent dans le même axe, frontal, et le même cadre, neutre, les objet d’une thématique : ainsi décontextualisés et désindividualisés : êtres et objets apparaissent comme des sortes de spécimens, entre spectre lumineux et matière tangible, expressivité et retrait, réalité et virtualité, sous l’œil impassible d’une démarche qui tend vers l’abstraction. Elle s’attache d’abord à des objets en Cristal (1993) puis d’Argenterie (1994). Ses Robes vénitiennes (1996) étendues dans des écrins cercueils forment des figures d’une matérialité picturale dont la planéité suggère l’absence des corps qui devraient en être vêtus : le somptueux y renvoie froidement au vide.

Cette dialectique formelle touche, à partir de 1999, au corps humain avec ses séries sur fond blanc de Bodybuilders, Transsexuels, Mannequins et sosies, Mariées marocaines en costumes traditionnels. Aucun affect ne ressort de ces individus, devenus sujets ou objets d’une transformation physique : la charge expressionniste, à l’impact encore renforcé par la monumentalité des grands formats, est retenue, contenue à l’intérieur du cadre par le traitement noir et blanc très contrasté ainsi que par la sériation de la post et du cadre qui désindividualisent et réifie les formes. La même tension résidait dans les séries des voitures accidentées et des carcasses de viande, en 1998.

D’autres ensembles s’attachent à des visages, en couleur depuis 2006, de Modèles très pâles sur fond blanc, de Femmes noirs, de Métisses qui rejoignent Robots, paquets de Chips, Chiens et Moteurs, dans la même démarche, systématique. L’œuvre de distanciation de l’artiste interroge ainsi aussi bien l’identité profonde que des thématiques sociales comme le stéréotype, la race, l’industrie, la beauté, dans une recherche à la fois esthétique et politique. Depuis 1994, elle expose régulièrement en France et en Europe. Une rétrospective de son œuvre a circulé dans les musées d’Amsterdam, de Paris et de Lausanne en 2007-2008.

Lire plus

Anne-Cécile Guilbard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2006, photographie couleur, tirage pigmentaire, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Body Builders II, 2000, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2001, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2000, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Michael Jackson #5, 2003, photographie noir et blanc, tirage argentique, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Sans titre, 2006, photographie, encres pigmentaires sur papier, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Ballroom Dancers #2, 2008, photographie noir et blanc, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Valérie Belin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Valérie Belin, Têtes couronnées #2, 2009, photographie couleur, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29