Lubaina Himid

1954 | Zanzibar, Tanzania
Informations
Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Hollybush Gardens © Photo: Edmund Blok for Modern Art Oxford

Sponsors
— Hollybush Gardens — Studio Lubaina Himid

British visual artist.

Lubaina Himid is one of Britain’s most prominent artists. She is also a curator and a professor of contemporary art at the University of Lancashire. Her prolific pictorial production, which makes an abundant use of textile motifs, lettering, and bold colour blocks, questions the history of the portrait in Western painting. Her work utilises tales of the African diaspora within the framework of art history and combines them with an analysis of the surface’s materiality (canvas, paper, ceramic, and wood).
Large wooden veneer silhouettes are covered in paintings and collages and presented to the public as A Fashionable Marriage (1986). In this piece, a moral satire of the painting The Toilette from William Hogarth’s series Marriage A-la-Mode (circa 1743) serves as a basis for the racialised plot: at its centre stands a black woman, elegant and dynamic, surrounded by the figures of Margaret Thatcher, Ronald Reagan, an art critic, and a sitting teenage girl, and a series of critical readings. With just one scene, Himid manages to capture the world of art and politics in the 1980s.
Very early on, Gilane Tawadros identified in Himid’s works the articulation of a politics of difference with a semiotic technique that “situates black women and black women’s artistic discourse firmly within history.” (1989). As a feminist, Himid deconstructs the domination of bodies throughout history (Revenge, 1991-1992) and in the canons of accounts of Western art (Freedom and Change, 1984).

Hers is a style of painting with strong evocative potential. Le Rodeur (2016) is made up of bold acrylic colour blocks. Against a diptych of abstract interiors with windows opening onto the ocean stand figures whose theatrical postures summon up a mysterious mythology suspended in time: in 1819, a slave ship, the Rôdeur, left Le Havre for Bonny, on the African coast, where it illegally loaded slaves bound for Guadeloupe. There, the passengers it unloaded were suffering from an unknown illness that had turned them blind. Many passengers were gone: the crew had thrown them overboard so as not to have to feed a population whose condition forbade them from being sold. The artist’s taste for abstraction can also be found in the geometrical shimmering prisms in shades of blue on blue wash of her painting Zanzibar-Sea, Wave Goodbye Say Hello (1999), an evocation of her first journey back to her town of birth.
In 2007, on the occasion of her invitation to the bicentenary of the abolition of slavery in Great Britain at Lancashire Museums, the artist painted a variety of portraits, seascapes, ship hulls, names of animal species – especially shellfish – maps, and textile patterns onto 100 plates, tureens and serving dishes (Swallow Hard: The Lancaster Dinner Service, 2007). A daily reading of the Guardian, in which she highlighted news on black politicians, athletes, and celebrities (Negative Positives, 2007-2015) continues her critical approach of pre-existing material.

Himid graduated from the Royal College of Art and participated in the emergence of British Black Art. She played a central curatorial part in the visibility of mixed-race and black women artists and feminists in Great Britain, especially with Five Black Women Artists (London, Africa Centre, 1983), The Thin Black Line (London, Institute of Contemporary Arts, 1985), and as the director of the Elbow Room in London (which she founded with Maud Sulter in 1986).
As a co-finalist of the Turner Prize in 2017, Himid was very active on the art scene that year, particularly with her retrospective exhibition Invisible Strategies at Modern Art Oxford (21 January-30 April 2017) and Navigation Charts exhibition at Spike Island, Bristol (20 January-26 March 2017).

Read more

Sophie Orlando

© 2018 Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Le Rodeur: The Exchange, 2016, acrylic on canvas, 183 x 244 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid and Hollybush Gardens, © Photo: Andy Keate

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Always Have A Plan, 2016, acrylic and pencil on paper, 72 x 102 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid and Hollybush Gardens, © Photo: Andy Keate

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Freedom And Change, 1984, plywood, fabric, mixed media, acrylic paint, 290 x 590 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid et Hollybush Gardens, © Photo: Andy Keate

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Naming The Money, 2004 100 life size figures, audio, dimensions variable, installation view Navigation Charts, Spike Island Bristol 2017, Courtesy Lubaina Himid, Hollybush Gardens and National Museums Liverpool: The International Slavery Museum, © Photo: Stuart Whipps

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Shutters Only Hide The Sun (Zanzibar), 1999. acrylic on canvas, 101 x 304 cm. Courtesy Lubaina Himid and Hollybush Gardens, © Photo: Andy Keate

Magazine
Linked article
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lubaina Himid

1954 | Zanzibar, Tanzanie
Informations
Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Hollybush Gardens © Photo : Edmund Blok for Modern Art Oxford

Soutiens
— Hollybush Gardens — Studio Lubaina Himid

Plasticienne britannique.

Lubaina Himid est une artiste britannique majeure. Elle est également curatrice et professeure d’art contemporain à l’université du Lancashire. Sa production picturale prolixe, abondante en motifs textiles, écritures et aplats de couleur, met en question l’histoire du portrait dans la peinture occidentale. Les récits des diasporas africaines sont convoqués au sein de l’histoire de l’art et associés à une analyse de la matérialité de la surface (toile, papier, céramique et bois).
De grandes silhouettes en bois de placage, recouvertes de peintures et de collages, font face au public sous le titre A Fashionable Marriage (1986). La satire morale du tableau The Toilette, de la série de William Hogarth Marriage A-la-Mode (vers 1743), sert ici de trame à l’intrigue racisée : au centre apparaît une femme noire, élégante et dynamique, autour de laquelle sont disposés Margaret Thatcher, Ronald Reagan, un critique d’art et une adolescente assise, entourée d’une série de lectures critiques. L. Himid saisit en un seul geste le monde de l’art et le monde politique des années 1980.
Gilane Tawadros a identifié très tôt l’articulation d’une politique de la différence à une technique sémiotique plaçant « fermement dans l’histoire les femmes noires et le discours artistique de celles-ci » (1989). Féministe, L. Himid déconstruit la domination des corps dans l’histoire (Revenge, 1991-1992) et dans les canons des récits de l’art occidental (Freedom and Change, 1984).

Elle déploie une peinture à forte puissance évocatoire. Le Rodeur (2016) est constitué de vifs aplats d’acrylique. Ce diptyque d’intérieurs abstraits aux fenêtres ouvertes sur l’océan accueille des personnages dont les postures théâtrales convoquent une mystérieuse mythologie dans un temps suspendu : en 1819, un bateau négrier, le Rôdeur, quitta Le Havre, atteignit Bonny, sur la côte africaine, où il chargea illégalement des esclaves à destination de la Guadeloupe. Il y déposa ses passagers, pris d’un mal inconnu, désormais aveugles. On comptait de nombreux absents, jetés par-dessus bord pour que l’équipage n’ait pas à nourrir une population dont la nouvelle condition ne permettait pas la revente. Ce goût de l’abstraction géométrise des facettes miroitantes de camaïeux bleus sur lavis bleu dans Zanzibar-Sea, Wave Goodbye Say Hello (1999), témoin de son premier voyage dans la ville dans laquelle elle est née en 1954.
En 2007, conviée à participer au bicentenaire de l’abolition de l’esclavage en Grande-Bretagne (Lancashire Museums), l’artiste a appliqué sur 100 assiettes, soupières et plats de service une variété de portraits, de paysages maritimes, de dessins de coques de navire, de noms d’espèces animales, notamment de coquillages, de cartes, de motifs textiles (Swallow Hard : The Lancaster Dinner Service, 2007). La lecture quotidienne du Guardian, dans lequel elle vient souligner l’actualité des politicien·ne·s, athlètes et célébrités noir·e·s (Negative Positives, 2007-2015), poursuit ce geste d’intervention critique sur un support existant.

Diplômée du Royal College of Art, L. Himid participe à l’émergence du British Black Art. Elle a tenu un rôle curatorial nodal dans la visibilité des productions des artistes femmes et féministes métisses et noires en Grande-Bretagne, notamment avec Five Black Women Artists (Londres, Africa Centre, 1983) et The Thin Black Line (Londres, Institute of Contemporary Arts, 1985), et comme directrice de l’Elbow Room, à Londres (fondée avec Maud Sulter en 1986).
Lauréate du Turner Prize en 2017, L. Himid est très présente sur la scène artistique cette même année, notamment avec une exposition rétrospective, Invisible Strategies, au Modern Art Oxford (21 janvier-30 avril 2017), et concomitante de Navigation Charts à Spike Island, à Bristol (20 janvier-26 mars 2017).

Lire plus

Sophie Orlando

© 2018 Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Le Rodeur: The Exchange, 2016, acrylique sur toile, 183 x 244 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid et Hollybush Gardens, © Photo : Andy Keate

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Always Have A Plan, 2016, acrylique et crayon sur papier, 72 x 102 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid et Hollybush Gardens, © Photo : Andy Keate

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Freedom And Change, 1984, contreplaqué, tissu, techniques mixtes, peinture acrylique, 290 x 590 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid et Hollybush Gardens, © Photo : Andy Keate

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Naming The Money, 2004, 100 figures grandeur nature, audio, dimensions variables, vue d’exposition au Navigation Charts, Spike Island Bristol 2017, Courtesy Lubaina Himid, Hollybush Gardens et National Museums Liverpool: The International Slavery Museum, © Photo : Stuart Whipps

Lubaina Himid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lubaina Himid, Shutters Only Hide The Sun (Zanzibar), 1999, acrylique sur toile, 101 x 304 cm, Courtesy Lubaina Himid et Hollybush Gardens, © Photo : Andy Keate

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29