Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vivienne Koorland

1957 | Cape Town, South Africa
Informations
Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery, © Vivienne Koorland

Sponsor
— Richard Saltoun Gallery

South African painter.

Vivienne Koorland has spent the last forty years questioning and redefining the practices of painting and drawing. Her early formation as a painter was heavily influenced by her upbringing in Apartheid South Africa. Acutely aware of the injustices and violence that surrounded her, she worked on student and labour protest pamphlets. The question of art’s relationship to political struggle was foundational for her. Her work continues to grapple with the ethics of picture making and aesthetic responses to historical events and catastrophes.
After completing her BA at the Michaelis School of Fine Art, University of Cape Town in 1978, V. Koorland travelled to West Berlin to complete her MFA at the Hochschule der Kunste in 1981. Thereafter she studied at the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris and at Columbia University, New York, where she graduated with a second MFA in 1984. She has remained a resident of New York ever since, but her immersion in European history and art, her deep connection to Africa, and her critical engagement with its fate under colonialism and capitalism have produced a corpus of work that navigates the intertwined fates of commodities, symbols, and lives and brings apparently disparate geographies into productive and poetic exchange.

Eschewing gestural and expressionist modes as well as conventional forms of realism and abstraction, she recycles and repurposes icons, words, letters and marks, drawn from past representations and settings. The result is a profoundly palimpsestic and mediated practice comprised of reworked images and materials, often pasted on her signatory burlap supports and sometimes in dialogue with the purloined pages of old books that function as over-determined grids, filled with historical references. Maps, alphabets, musical notes, quotations, photographs and recycled drawings, sometimes produced by children or unskilled witnesses of history, provide the substrate of her dense and archivally rich surfaces. The Local Monuments I: Childhood 1995 is a case in point, combining collaged post-cards and photographs alongside borrowed script, resonant toponyms and schematic facades to construct a private memory map of the Cape Town of V. Koorland’s youth.

One of South Africa’s foremost contemporary painters, V. Koorland showed fourteen paintings at the landmark exhibition Trade Routes: History and Geography at the 2nd Johannesburg Biennale in 1997. Subsequent shows have included 2007’s Reisemalheurs (Travel Woes) at the Freud Museum in London, HomeLands/LandMarks: Contemporary Art from South Africa, at the Haunch of Venison Gallery in  London in 2008 and William Kentridge and Vivienne Koorland: Conversations in Letters and Lines at the Fruitmarket Gallery in Edinburgh in 2016-2017. In 2019 her show Made Routes: Mapping and Making, alongside Berni Searle (born in 1964), at Richard Saltoun in London revisited the themes of Trade Routes and her life-long engagement with lists and maps, recycled icons and collaged composites, which register the material density of lived experience as it is mediated via language and image. A form of critical “history” painting, V. Koorland’s art is as much about the traces of the past as it is about the cataclysmic events that have shaped her life and ours.

Read more

Tamar Garb


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Beethoven’s Birthday: Pluck Roses On Earth And Forget Me Not, 1989, graphite on paper and bookboards, 33 x 26 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Panorama, 1989, oil, tar, bookpages, cigarette cards and glue on canvas, 287 x 205.7 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, 1200 – 1943 – 1990 Laos: The Poorest Country On Earth, 1990, chinese paint, charcoal, card and glue on mapboard, 69.8 x 79.4 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Two Panels from Self-Portrait In Heaven: Right Panel with Stars, 1989, oil, tar, paper, charcoal and glue on stitched linen, 86.4 x 61 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Beethoven’s Birthday: Forgive Me, 1989, charcoal and graphite on card and bookboards, 27.9 x 25.4 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, The Local Monuments I: Childhood, 1995, oil, paper and glue on linen, 270 x 228 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Wannsee, 1995, oil, newspring and glue on linen, 61 x 50.8 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, The Local Monuments II: Central Africa, 1997, oil, charcoal, paper and glue on linen, 270 x 228 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Small Africa, 2006, oil, graphite, newsprint and glue on linen, 61 x 50.8 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Pays Inconnu, 2016, oil and twine on stitched linen and burlap, 244 x 366 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vivienne Koorland

1957 | Le Cap, Afrique du Sud
Informations
Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery, © Vivienne Koorland

Soutien
— Richard Saltoun Gallery

Peintre sud-africaine.

Ces quarante dernières années, Vivienne Koorland n’a cessé de remettre en question et de redéfinir les pratiques de la peinture et du dessin. Sa première formation en peinture laisse paraître la forte influence de son enfance dans une Afrique du Sud marquée par l’apartheid. Sa conscience aiguë des injustices et de la violence qui l’entourent la pousse à créer des tracts pour les manifestations d’étudiant·e·s et de travailleurs et travailleuses. En effet, pour elle la question du lien entre l’art et les luttes politiques est fondamentale. À ce jour encore, son œuvre continue de s’attaquer à l’éthique de l’acte pictural et à la manière d’apporter des réponses esthétiques aux événements et aux catastrophes historiques.
Après avoir passé une licence en arts à la Michaelis School of Fine Art à l’université du Cap en 1978, V. Koorland se rend à Berlin pour compléter son diplôme de master à la Hochschule der Künste en 1981. Elle étudie ensuite à l’École des beaux-arts de Paris et à la Columbia University à New York, où elle obtient un second master en arts en 1984. Bien qu’elle vive à New York depuis cette époque, son immersion dans l’histoire et l’art européens, son lien profond avec l’Afrique, ainsi que sa vision critique du sort de ce continent livré aux mains du colonialisme et du capitalisme, ont donné vie à un corpus d’œuvres qui compose avec les destins mêlés des marchandises, des symboles et des vies en instaurant un dialogue fertile et poétique entre des éléments géographiques au premier abord disparates.

En s’affranchissant des approches gestuelle et expressionniste, ainsi que de toute forme conventionnelle de réalisme ou d’abstraction, V. Koorland recycle et remanie les icônes, lettres, marques et mots issus de représentations et de contextes passés. Il en résulte une pratique profondément palimpseste et médiatrice, faite d’images et de matériaux retravaillés, souvent collés sur des supports caractéristiques en toile de jute et parfois mis en parallèle avec des pages empruntées à de vieux livres, qui jouent le rôle de grilles prédéterminées et pleines de références historiques. Cartes, alphabets, partitions, citations, photographies et dessins recyclés, dont certains créés par des enfants ou d’autres témoins de l’histoire non spécialistes, constituent le substrat de surfaces denses et riches en archives. The Local Monuments I: Childhood (1995) illustre parfaitement cette démarche, avec son collage de cartes postales et de photographies juxtaposé à des reproductions de textes, à des toponymes évocateurs et à des façades schématisées, mettant ainsi en scène une cartographie intime du Cap tel que l’artiste l’a connu dans sa jeunesse.

Considérée comme l’une des peintres contemporaines les plus importantes d’Afrique du Sud, V. Koorland présente quatorze toiles lors de la IIe Biennale de Johannesburg en 1997, une manifestation majeure intitulée Trade Routes: History and Geography. Parmi ses autres expositions, citons Reisemalheurs (Travel Woes) au Freud Museum de Londres (2007) ; HomeLands/LandMarks: Contemporary Art from South Africa à la Haunch of Venison Gallery de Londres (2008) ; William Kentridge and Vivienne Koorland: Conversations in Letters and Lines, à la Fruitmarket Gallery à Édimbourg (2016-2017). En 2019, son exposition Made Routes: Mapping and Making à la Richard Saltoun Gallery à Londres, en compagnie de Berni Searle (née en 1964), revisite les thèmes abordés dans Trade Routes et son utilisation, tout au long de sa vie, de listes et de cartes, d’icônes recyclées et de collages composites, tout un ensemble d’éléments qui traduisent la densité matérielle de l’expérience vécue à travers le maniement du langage et de l’image. Telle une forme de peinture « historique » critique, l’art de V. Koorland parle tout autant des traces du passé que des événements cataclysmiques qui ont modelé notre vie comme la sienne.

Lire plus

Tamar Garb

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Beethoven’s Birthday: Pluck Roses On Earth And Forget Me Not, 1989, graphite sur papier et classeurs, 33 x 26 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Panorama, 1989, huile, goudron, pages de livres, cartes de cigarettes et colle sur toile, 287 x 205,7 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, 1200 – 1943 – 1990 Laos: The Poorest Country On Earth, 1990, chinese paint, charcoal, card and glue on mapboard, 69,8 x 79,4 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Two Panels from Self-Portrait In Heaven: Right Panel with Stars, 1989, huile, goudron, papier, charbon de bois et colle sur lin cousu, 86,4 x 61 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Beethoven’s Birthday: Forgive Me, 1989, fusain et graphite sur cartes et classeurs, 27,9 x 25,4 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, The Local Monuments I: Childhood, 1995, huile, papier et colle sur lin, 270 x 228 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Wannsee, 1995, huile, papier journal et colle sur toile de lin, 61 x 50,8 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, The Local Monuments II: Central Africa, 1997, huile, charbon de bois, papier et colle sur toile de lin, 270 x 228 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Small Africa, 2006, huile, graphite, papier journal et colle sur toile, 61 x 50,8 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Vivienne  Koorland — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vivienne Koorland, Pays Inconnu, 2016, huile et ficelle sur lin cousu et toile de jute, 244 x 366 cm, © Vivienne Koorland, Courtesy Richard Saltoun Gallery

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29